sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Even though Wyoming is considered a permitless state, Wyoming does still issues permits.  Plus by getting the Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you can carry legally in many more states too!

While Wyoming does issue carry permit/licenses to residents, residents also have the option of permitless carry.

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Wyoming for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.

Wyoming Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Wyoming's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in Wyoming as a valid concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Wyoming Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Important Links

    State CCW Site
    State CCW Pamphlet
    CCW Application
    State FAQ Site
    State Statutes
    State Admin Rules
    State Reciprocity Info
    State Attorney General
    2nd CCW Info Site
    WY Firearm Laws

  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Wyoming

    The State of Wyoming honors non-resident permits/licenses of the states they honor. For Permits/Licenses, Wyoming honors the following states below:

     
    Alabama
    Alaska
    Arizona
    Arkansas
    Colorado
    Florida
    Georgia
    Idaho
    Indiana
    Iowa
    Kansas
    Kentucky
    Louisiana
    Maine
    Michigan
    Mississippi
    Missouri
    Montana
    Nebraska
    Nevada
    New Hampshire
    New Mexico
    North Carolina
    North Dakota
    Ohio
    Oklahoma
    Pennsylvania
    South Carolina
    South Dakota
    Tennessee
    Texas
    Utah
    Virginia
    West Virginia
    Wisconsin

    Effective July 1, 2011, Wyoming residents who meets all the requirements under Wyoming Statute 6-8-104 can carry concealed handgun anywhere in the state. It is no longer necessary to have any type of permit/license from the state to exercise their 2nd Amendment rights. This law is applicable to all the legal residents of Wyoming.

    For non-residents, they must have a permit/license that Wyoming honors to carry.

    Wyoming Statute 6-8-104
    www.handgunlaw.us

    (i) Is a resident of the United States and has been a resident of Wyoming for not less than six (6) months prior to filing the application. The Wyoming residency requirements of this paragraph do not apply to any person who holds a valid permit authorizing him to carry a concealed firearm authorized and issued by a governmental agency or entity in another state that recognizes Wyoming permits and is a valid statewide permit;
    (ii) Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
    (iii) Does not suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a firearm;
    (iv) Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to 18 U.S.C. section 922(g) or W.S. 6-8-102;
    (v) Has not been:

    (A) Committed to a state or federal facility for the abuse of a controlled substance, within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted;
    (B) Convicted of a felony violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7- 1001 through 35-7-1057 or similar laws of any other state or the United States relating to controlled substances and has not been pardoned; or
    (C) Convicted of a misdemeanor violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057 or similar laws of any other state or the United States relating to controlled substances within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted

    (vi) Does not chronically or habitually use alcoholic liquor and malt beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired. It shall be presumed that an applicant chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired if the applicant has been involuntarily committed, within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted, to any residential facility pursuant to the laws of this state or similar laws of any other state as a result of the use of alcohol;
    (vii) Is not currently adjudicated to be legally incompetent; and
    (viii) Has not been committed to a mental institution.

    Starting on November 1, 2012 is the date wherein the residents of Wyoming can bring their defensive handgun in the state of Oklahoma without any type of license or permit. They must bring only their ID’s when carrying their firearms in the said state.

  • Applying for a Resident Permit

    New or renewal of permit applications should only be obtained through the Sheriff’s office and the costs are as follows:

    • New Permit - $74.00
    • Renewal - $50.00

    ***Renewing of permits after the expiration date will incur additional $10.00.

    Concealed Firearms Permits are good for 5 years.

    A person who is interested to apply for a new permit must provide a copy of Hunter Safety Card, DD-214 from the military, or other proof of firearms proficiency from National Rifle Association or any Wyoming Certified Firearms Instructor to be submitted to the Sheriff’s office. Then, the Sheriff will either assist to fingerprint or will advise where to do it.

    Note: If the person moves from Wyoming State, he/she must notify DCI about the change of address within 30 days for the permit to be valid until it expires, Unfortunately, it can’t be renewed.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    Unfortunately, the State of Wyoming does not issue non-resident permit/license.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    Wyoming Code 6-8-104. Wearing or Carrying Concealed Weapons; Penalties; Exceptions; Permits.

    (t)(i) Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations or administration without the written consent of the chief administrator.
    (t)(ii) Any detention facility, prison or jail.
    (t)(iii) Any Courtroom.
    (t)(iv) Any meeting of a government entity.
    (t)(v) Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof.
    (t)(vi) Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms.
    (t)(vii) Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose.
    (t)(viii) Any place where persons are assembled for public worship, without the written consent of the chief administrator of that place.
    (t)(ix) Any Elementary or Secondary School facility.
    (t)(x) Any College or University facility without the written consent of the security service of the college or university.
    (t)(xi) Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation.

    Wyoming Code 6-5-209. Taking Deadly Weapons Into Jails, Penal Institutions or Mental Hospitals; Penalties.

    If a person that has a deadly weapon and bring it to jail, that person has a violation and might be fine for not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00) or imminent of imprisonment for not more than ten years if he/she confirmed and guilty the about their violation. The person in charge will only allowed and authorized to have their firearms with them.

    Wyoming Admin Code 006-041-006

    (a) No dangerous weapon may be carried in the State Capitol building or in any buildings under the Jurisdiction of the SBC. The Capitol Security Police are authorized to request that any persons carrying a dangerous weapon in any State building relinquish the weapon. The weapon will be returned to the person when he/she leaves the state building, unless the Capitol Security Police determine that other law enforcement personnel should be involved. If a person carrying a dangerous weapon refuses to relinquish the weapon he/she shall be denied access to the State Capitol building.

  • Gun Sign Requirement and Limitation

    In the State of Wyoming , “no gun signs” do have the force of the law.

    6-3-303. Criminal Trespass; Penalties.

    (a) A person is guilty of criminal trespass if he enters or remains on or in the land or premises of another person, knowing he is not authorized to do so, or after being notified to depart or to not trespass. For purposes of this section, notice is given by:
    (i) Personal communication to the person by the owner or occupant, or his agent, or by a peace officer; or
    (ii) Posting of signs reasonably likely to come to the attention of intruders.
    (b) Criminal trespass is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or both.
    (c) This section does not supersede W.S. 1-21-1003.

  • Police on Carry Requirements

    6-8-104.

    (b) The permittee shall carry the permit, together with valid identification at all times when the permittee is carrying a concealed firearm and shall display both the permit and proper identification upon request of any peace officer.

  • Traveling with Firearm inside a Vehicle

    At any given time, non-residents of Wyoming must carry a Valid Permit License to Carry which this state honors to carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle. A person who legally owns a firearm may carry a loaded of handgun inside their vehicle anywhere as long as it is not concealed on the person and must be visible. The only scope of Wyoming’s law is the concealed carry of a defensive firearm in a vehicle.

    However, for residents who own a firearm legally, may carry it concealed in a vehicle without any permit/license. They may also carry it concealed anywhere as long as that person has been issued with a permit/license to carry in Wyoming. They call it Permitless Carry Law that has been passed recently which is applicable for residents of this state only.

  • Open Carry

    In Wyoming, open carry is legal. Those places mentioned above in Carry Permit Limitations applies open carry.
    The state pre-empts all firearm laws, therefore, local authorities can’t exercise laws/ordinances against open carry
    Though in some states, open carry is not allowed in places even with a valid permit/license can carry.

  • State of Wyoming Preemption

    Wyoming Code 6-8-401. Firearm, Weapon and Ammunition Regulation and Prohibition by State.

    (a) The sale, transfer, purchase, delivery, taxation, manufacture, ownership, transportation, storage, use and possession of firearms, weapons and ammunition shall be authorized, regulated and prohibited by the state, and regulation thereof is preempted by the state. Except as authorized by W.S. 15-1-103(a)(xviii), no city, town or county shall authorize, regulate or prohibit the sale, transfer, purchase, delivery, taxation, manufacture, ownership, transportation, storage, use or possession of firearms, weapons and ammunition except as specifically provided by this chapter. This section shall not affect zoning or other ordinances which encompass firearms businesses along with other businesses. Zoning and other ordinances which are designed for the purpose of restricting or prohibiting the sale, purchase, transfer or manufacture of firearms or ammunition as a method of regulating firearms or ammunition are in conflict with this section and are prohibited. (b) As used in this article, "firearm" means any weapon which will or is designed to expel any projectile by the action of an explosive.

  • Deadly Force Laws

    6-1-204. from civil action for justifiable use of force.

    6-2-504. Reckless endangering; penalty.

    6-2-602. Use of force in self defense

  • Notes

    What Does Wyoming Consider A Loaded Firearm?

    The law of Wyoming does not consider of defining the difference of Unloaded and Loaded Firearms.

    State Emergency Powers

    19-13-104. Powers of Governor Generally; Director, Office of Homeland Security. (Edited for Space Considerations)

    (e) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to confer upon the governor, the director, the executive heads or governing bodies of the political subdivisions of the state, sheriffs, chiefs of police or any employee or agent of the state or any governmental unit within the state the power to:

    (i) Confiscate a firearm from a person, unless:
    (A) The person is in unlawful possession of the firearm as provided in title 6 of the Wyoming statutes;
    (B) The person is unlawfully carrying the firearm as provided in title 6 of the Wyoming statutes; or
    (C) The firearm is confiscated by a peace officer who is acting in the lawful discharge of his duties and under the reasonable belief that the confiscation is necessary for the protection of the peace officer, the person carrying the firearm or a third party. The peace officer shall return the firearm to the person before discharging the person unless the officer arrests that person for engaging in criminal activity or seizes the firearm as evidence pursuant to an investigation for the commission of a crime.
    (ii) Impose additional restrictions as to the lawful possession, transfer, sale, carrying, storage, display or use of: (A) Firearms;
    (B) Ammunition; or
    (C) Components of firearms or ammunition

    Note: According to the US Code 42-5207 for Federal Law, It can apply if the state is getting financial assistance from the Government.

  • Minimum Age for Carrying and Transporting a Firearm.

    Wyoming 18 years old 6-8-104.

    18 years old is the least possible age that can possess and transporting an unloaded handgun without carrying any type of license or permit.

    Note: This restriction is not applicable for some states. For some states carrying and transporting a handgun can be found in a Gun Shop, Shooting range and other places that legally possess a firearm.

    Reciprocity/How This State Honors Other States Permit/Licenses

    6-8-104. Wearing or Carrying Concealed Weapons; Penalties; Exceptions; Permits.

    (i) Is a resident of the United States and has been a resident of Wyoming for not less than six (6) months prior to filing the application. The Wyoming residency requirements of this paragraph do not apply to any person who holds a valid permit authorizing him to carry a concealed firearm authorized and issued by a governmental agency or entity in another state that recognizes Wyoming permits and is a valid statewide permit;
    (ii) Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
    (iii) Does not suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a firearm;
    (iv) Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to 18 U.S.C. section 922(g) or W.S. 6-8-102;
    (v) Has not been:
    (A) Committed to a state or federal facility for the abuse of a controlled substance, within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted;
    (B) Convicted of a felony violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7- 1001 through 35-7-1057 or similar laws of any other state or the United States relating to controlled substances and has not been pardoned; or
    (C) Convicted of a misdemeanor violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057 or similar laws of any other state or the United States relating to controlled substances within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted.
    (vi) Does not chronically or habitually use alcoholic liquor and malt beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired. It shall be presumed that an applicant chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired if the applicant has been involuntarily committed, within the one (1) year period prior to the date on which application for a permit under this section is submitted, to any residential facility pursuant to the laws of this state or similar laws of any other state as a result of the use of alcohol;
    (vii) Demonstrates familiarity with a firearm. A legible photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes or a notarized affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant or a copy of any document which shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation of firearms competition, shall constitute evidence of qualification under this paragraph. Any one (1) of the following activities listed in this paragraph shall be sufficient to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm:
    (A) Completion of any certified firearm safety or training course utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Wyoming law enforcement academy;
    (B) Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division of law enforcement or security enforcement;
    (C) Experience with a firearm through participation in an organized handgun shooting competition or military service;
    (D) Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor;
    (E) Be certified as proficient in firearms safety by any Wyoming law enforcement agency under procedures established by that agency; or
    (F) Honorable retirement as a federal or state peace officer who has a minimum of ten (10) years of service
    (viii) Is not currently adjudicated to be legally incompetent; and
    (ix) Has not been committed to a mental institution.

  • Revisions

    12/09/15 – Initial page created

Scroll to Top