sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

While our online training program may not allow you to apply for Washington permit/license to carry, residents of Washington can utilize our online training program to apply for a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Washington’s permit alone.

Washington does issue carry permit/licenses to both residents and non-residents. Washington does NOT recognized the Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License as a legal way to conealed carry in their state. However, this course may assist you in gaining your Washington State Permit through the sheriff's office.

Also, by getting the State of Virginia’s Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you can INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.

Washington Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Washington's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in Washington.  This is good for recoprocity to other states only for Washington residents and non-residents.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Washington Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*

  • Important Links

    State CCW Site
    Application
    Requirements for CPL
    AG FAQ Site
    DPS FAQ Site
    State Statutes
    State Admin Rules
    State Reciprocity Info
    State Attorney General
    Firearm Laws/Rules
    2nd CCW Site

  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Washington

    Washington State honors non-resident permits/licenses from the states they honor. These are the following:

    *Idaho                     *North Dakota
    Kansas                     Ohio
    Louisiana                Oklahoma
    Michigan                 Tennesse
    North Carolina       Utah

    1 Idaho - Washington only honors the Idaho Enhanced Permit only.

    2North Dakota – Washington only honors the Class 1 North Dakota Permit.

    Reciprocity/ How this State Honors Other States Permit/ Licenses

    RCW 9.41.073 Concealed Pistol License — Reciprocity

    (1)(a) A person licensed to carry a pistol in a state the laws of which recognize and give effect in that state to a concealed pistol license issued under the laws of the state of Washington is authorized to carry a concealed pistol in this state if:
    (i) The licensing state does not issue concealed pistol licenses to persons under twenty-one years of age; and
    (ii) The licensing state requires mandatory fingerprint-based background checks of criminal and mental health history for all persons who apply for a concealed pistol license.
    (b) This section applies to a license holder from another state only while the license holder is not a resident of this state. A license holder from another state must carry the handgun in compliance with the laws of this state.

    (2) The attorney general shall periodically publish a list of states the laws of which recognize and give effect in that state to a concealed pistol license issued under the laws of the state of Washington and which meet the requirements of subsection (1)(a)(i) and (ii) of this section.

  • Applying for a Resident Permit

    Applicants may complete an application form at one of the following law enforcement offices:

    If you live in the unincorporated area of a county you must apply in person at your sheriff’s office
    If you live in an incorporated city within the county, you may apply in person at either the city police department or sheriff’s office.
    If you are not a Washington State resident, you may apply at any local law enforcement agency in Washington.

    Requirement for a Resident Permit:

    • Washington Identification card with photo (e.g. WA Driver’s License). If the applicant does not have a Washington State driver’s license or identification card, then he/she must provide a proof he/she have lived in the state for the last 90 days at least.

    • There’s a fee of $52.50 to the law enforcement agency that can be paid by cash, check or money order. This fee is non-refundable.

    • If the applicant is in military, his/her military ID and order listing on his/her state location are required.

  • Applying for a Non- Resident Permits

    Non-resident may apply for permit/license the same procedure as a resident does however, the non-resident applicant must have a personal appearance.

  • Carry Permit Limitation

    RCW 9.41.280:

    (1) It is unlawful for a person to carry onto, or to possess on, public or private elementary or secondary school premises, school-provided transportation, or areas of facilities while being used exclusively by public or private schools" (3) Subsection (1) of this section does not apply to:

    (e) Any person in possession of a pistol who has been issued a license under RCW 9.41.070, or is exempt from the licensing requirement by RCW 9.41.060, while picking up or dropping off a student;

    RCW 9.41.300 Weapons Prohibited In Certain Places — Local Laws and Ordinances — Exceptions — Penalty.

    (1) It is unlawful for any person to enter the following places when he or she knowingly possesses or knowingly has under his or her control a weapon:
    (a) The restricted access areas of a jail, or of a law enforcement facility, or any place used for the confinement of a person (i) arrested for, charged with, or convicted of an offense, (ii) held for extradition or as a material witness, or (iii) otherwise confined pursuant to an order of a court, except an order under chapter 13.32A or 13.34 RCW. Restricted access areas do not include common areas of egress or ingress open to the general public;

    (b) Those areas in any building which are used in connection with court proceedings, including courtrooms, jury rooms, judge's chambers, offices and areas used to conduct court business, waiting areas, and corridors adjacent to areas used in connection with court proceedings. The restricted areas do not include common areas of ingress and egress to the building that is used in connection with court proceedings, when it is possible to protect court areas without restricting ingress and egress to the building. The restricted areas shall be the minimum necessary to fulfill the objective of this subsection (1)(b).

    For purposes of this subsection (1)(b), "weapon" means any firearm, explosive as defined in RCW 70.74.010, or any weapon of the kind usually known as slung shot, sand club, or metal knuckles, or any knife, dagger, dirk, or other similar weapon that is capable of causing death or bodily injury and is commonly used with the intent to cause death or bodily injury.

    In addition, the local legislative authority shall provide either a stationary locked box sufficient in size for pistols and key to a weapon owner for weapon storage, or shall designate an official to receive weapons for safekeeping, during the owner's visit to restricted areas of the building. The locked box or designated official shall be located within the same building used in connection with court proceedings. The local legislative authority shall be liable for any negligence causing damage to or loss of a weapon either placed in a locked box or left with an official during the owner's visit to restricted areas of the building.

    The local judicial authority shall designate and clearly mark those areas where weapons are prohibited, and shall post notices at each entrance to the building of the prohibition against weapons in the restricted areas;

    (c) The restricted access areas of a public mental health facility certified by the department of social and health services for inpatient hospital care and state institutions for the care of the mentally ill, excluding those facilities solely for evaluation and treatment. Restricted access areas do not include common areas of egress and ingress open to the general public;

    (d) That portion of an establishment classified by the state liquor control board as off-limits to persons under twenty-one years of age; or

    (e) The restricted access areas of a commercial service airport designated in the airport security plan approved by the federal transportation security administration, including passenger screening checkpoints at or beyond the point at which a passenger initiates the screening process. These areas do not include airport drives, general parking areas and walkways, and shops and areas of the terminal that are outside the screening checkpoints and that are normally open to unscreened passengers or visitors to the airport. Any restricted access area shall be clearly indicated by prominent signs indicating that firearms and other weapons are prohibited in the area.

    RCW 70.108.150
    "It shall be unlawful for any person, except law enforcement officers, to carry, transport or convey, or to have in his possession or under his control any firearm while on the site of an outdoor music festival." From RCW 70.108.020: 'For the purposes of this chapter the following words and phrases shall have the indicated meanings: (1) "Outdoor music festival" or "music festival" or "festival" means an assembly of persons gathered primarily for outdoor, live or recorded musical entertainment, where the predicted attendance is two thousand persons or more and where the duration of the program is five hours or longer: PROVIDED, That this definition shall not be applied to any regularly established permanent place of worship, stadium, athletic www.handgunlaw.us 4 field, arena, auditorium, coliseum, or other similar permanently established places of assembly for assemblies which do not exceed by more than two hundred fifty people the maximum seating capacity of the structure where the assembly is held: PROVIDED, FURTHER, That this definition shall not apply to government sponsored fairs held on regularly established fairgrounds nor to assemblies required to be licensed under other laws or regulations of the state.' (emphasis in original)

    RCW 9.94.043 Deadly weapons — Possession on Premises by Person Not a Prisoner — Penalty.
    A person, other than a person serving a sentence in a penal institution of this state, is guilty of possession of contraband on the premises of a state correctional institution in the first degree if, without authorization to do so, the person knowingly possesses or has under his or her control a deadly weapon on or in the buildings or adjacent grounds subject to the care, control, or supervision of a state correctional institution. Deadly weapon is used as defined in RCW 9A.04.110: PROVIDED, That such correctional buildings, grounds, or property are properly posted pursuant to RCW 9.94.047, and such person has knowingly entered thereon: PROVIDED FURTHER, That the provisions of this section do not apply to a person licensed pursuant to RCW 9.41.070 who, upon entering the correctional institution premises, proceeds directly along an access road to the administration building and promptly checks his or her firearm(s) with the appropriate authorities. The person may reclaim his or her firearm(s) upon leaving, but he or she must immediately and directly depart from the premises.
    Possession of contraband on the premises of a state correctional institution in the first degree is a class B felony.

    RCW 46.10.495 Additional Violations — Penalty.
    (1) No person shall operate a snowmobile in such a way as to endanger human life.
    (2) No person shall operate a snowmobile in such a way as to run down or harass deer, elk, or any wildlife, or any domestic animal, nor shall any person carry any loaded weapon upon, nor hunt from, any snowmobile except by permit issued by the director of fish and wildlife under RCW 77.32.237.
    (3) Any person violating this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

    Washington State School for the Blind, and the Washington State School for the Deaf WAC 148-140-080 & 72-140-080
    (4) No person or group may use or enter onto school facilities having in their possession firearms or other weapons, even if licensed to do so, except duly appointed and commissioned law enforcement officers.

    Firearms, Weapons Prohibited In Administrative Hearings.
    WAC 10-20-010(1), 10-20-030)
    (1) Firearms or other dangerous weapons are prohibited at all facilities owned, leased, or operated by the office of administrative hearings and in rooms where the office of administrative hearings is conducting an administrative hearing. This prohibition applies to all parties or witnesses at hearings, all office of administrative hearings employees, and all other persons present. However, it does not apply to law enforcement personnel, security personnel, or military personnel, all while engaged in official duties.

    (3) Possession of a valid concealed weapons permit is not a defense to the prohibition in this section.

    Places listed below that have Rules that state no firearms allowed on Premises. Washington State Administrative Rules cover these areas.

    Colleges/Universities, Licensed Child Care Facilities, Racing Association Grounds, An Emergency www.handgunlaw.us 5 Respite Center, Licensed Pregnant and Parenting Teen Residential Programs And Their Facilities, Licensed Homes and Facilities That Provide Care To Children. Overnight Youth Shelter & Residence Operated By the Juvenile Rehabilitation Administration

    People who work or attend school at such places can be fired/expelled if they possess firearms on these listed properties. Some Colleges/Universities may have storage facilities for those who wish to possess firearms while attending college. Check with your school.

    Cities Can’t Ban Firearms in Their City Parks.

    This law stops all the cities in Washingtion from banning firearms in their city parks.

    Carry in Vehicle with a Valid Permit/License

    RCW 9.41.050 Carrying firearms
    (2)(a) A person shall not carry or place a loaded pistol in any vehicle unless the person has a license to carry a concealed pistol and: (i) The pistol is on the licensee's person, (ii) the licensee is within the vehicle at all times that the pistol is there, or (iii) the licensee is away from the vehicle and the pistol is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Laws

    “No Firearm” signs in Washington have no force of law unless they are posted on property that is specifically mentioned in State Law as being off limits to those with a permit/license to carry. If a person enters a private property or building, not specifically mentioned in the law, but the owner requests to leave, then that person must leave. If the person insists and refuses to leave, then he/she will face violation that can be charged. Even without signage, a person must leave the private property at once if it’s requested by the owner, otherwise, responding authority, who may not know the law by heart, will still arrest the person though it’s part of the law.

    Handgunlaw.us promotes respect on the rights of the owner to have a fair control over their property.

  • Police on Carry Requirements

    RCW 9.41.050 Carrying Firearms

    (b) Every licensee shall have his or her concealed pistol license in his or her immediate possession at all times that he or she is required by this section to have a concealed pistol license and shall display the same upon demand to any police officer or to any other person when and if required by law to do so. Any violation of this subsection (1)(b) shall be a class 1 civil infraction under chapter 7.80 RCW and shall be punished accordingly pursuant to chapter 7.80 RCW and the infraction rules for courts of limited jurisdiction.

  • Traveling with Firearm Inside a Vehicle

    Carrying a loaded firearm in any vehicle without legal permit/ license is illegal.

    RCW 9.41.050 Carrying Firearms.

    1.
    (a) Except in the person's place of abode or fixed place of business, a person shall not carry a pistol concealed on his or her person without a license to carry a concealed pistol.
    (b) Every licensee shall have his or her concealed pistol license in his or her immediate possession at all times that he or she is required by this section to have a concealed pistol license and shall display the same upon demand to any police officer or to any other person when and if required by law to do so. Any violation of this subsection (1)(b) shall be a class 1 civil infraction under chapter 7.80 RCW and shall be punished accordingly pursuant to chapter 7.80 RCW and the infraction rules for courts of limited jurisdiction.
    2.
    (a) A person shall not carry or place a loaded pistol in any vehicle unless the person has a license to carry a concealed pistol and:
    (i) The pistol is on the licensee's person,
    (ii) the licensee is within the vehicle at all times that the pistol is there, or
    (iii) the licensee is away from the vehicle and the pistol is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle.
    (b) A violation of this subsection is a misdemeanor
    (3)
    (a) A person at least eighteen years of age who is in possession of an unloaded pistol shall not leave the unloaded pistol in a vehicle unless the unloaded pistol is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle.
    (b) A violation of this subsection is a misdemeanor.
    4. Nothing in this section permits the possession of firearms illegal to possess under state or federal law.

    RCW 9.41.060 Exceptions to Restrictions on Carrying Firearms.
    The provisions of RCW 9.41.050 shall not apply to:
    (4) Any person engaged in the business of manufacturing, repairing, or dealing in firearms, or the agent or representative of the person, if possessing, using, or carrying a pistol in the usual or ordinary course of the business;

    (6) Regularly enrolled members of clubs organized for the purpose of target shooting, when those members are at or are going to or from their places of target practice;

    (7) Regularly enrolled members of clubs organized for the purpose of modern and antique firearm collecting, when those members are at or are going to or from their collector's gun shows and exhibits;

    (8) Any person engaging in a lawful outdoor recreational activity such as hunting, fishing, camping, hiking, or horseback riding, only if, considering all of the attendant circumstances, including but not limited to whether the person has a valid hunting or fishing license, it is reasonable to conclude that the person is participating in lawful outdoor activities or is traveling to or from a legitimate outdoor recreation area;

    (9) Any person while carrying a pistol unloaded and in a closed opaque case or secure wrapper.

  • Open Carry

    In Washington, open carry is legal as long as a person has a valid permit/license to carry or load a handgun inside a vehicle like in a car, bus or train. The firearm can be kept holstered with empty chamber on the hip inside the vehicle but make sure that loaded mag is removed. Places mentioned for off-limits apply to those who open carry.

    RCW 9.41.060 Exceptions to restrictions on carrying firearms.
    (8) Any person engaging in a lawful outdoor recreational activity such as hunting, fishing, camping, hiking, or horseback riding, only if, considering all of the attendant circumstances, including but not limited to whether the person has a valid hunting or fishing license, it is reasonable to conclude that the person is participating in lawful outdoor activities or is traveling to or from a legitimate outdoor recreation area;

    The Minimum age for Open Carry is 21. It is up to you to know those local ordinances. Remember that if you enter any property and the owner/responsible person ask you to leave you must leave. Failure to leave can result in Trespass Charges. Open Carry under RCW 9.41.060 you only have to be 18. Look for “Attorney General Opinions/Court Cases” Section for any written opinions/Cases on Open Carry. State Name Open Carry or Open Carry State Name for a search for open carry information in Washington State. Check with the State's RKBA Organization/s.

  • State Preemption

    RCW 9.41.290 State Preemption.
    The state of Washington hereby fully occupies and preempts the entire field of firearms regulation within the boundaries of the state, including the registration, licensing, possession, purchase, sale, acquisition, transfer, discharge, and transportation of firearms, or any other element relating to firearms or parts thereof, including ammunition and reloader components. Cities, towns, and counties or other municipalities may enact only those laws and ordinances relating to firearms that are specifically authorized by state law, as in RCW 9.41.300, and are consistent with this chapter. Such local ordinances shall have the same penalty as provided for by state law. Local laws and ordinances that are inconsistent with, more restrictive than, or exceed the requirements of state law shall not be enacted and are preempted and repealed, regardless of the nature of the code, charter, or home rule status of such city, town, county, or municipality.

  • Deadly Force Laws

    Chapter 9A.16 RCW Defenses
    9A.16.010 Definitions.
    9A.16.020 Use of force -- When lawful.
    9A.16.030 Homicide -- When excusable.
    9A.16.040 Justifiable homicide or use of deadly force by public officer, peace officer, person aiding. 9A.16.050 Homicide -- By other person -- When justifiable.
    9A.16.060 Duress.
    9A.16.070 Entrapment.
    9A.16.080 Action for being detained on mercantile establishment premises for investigation -- "Reasonable grounds" as defense.
    9A.16.090 Intoxication.
    9A.16.100 Use of force on children -- Policy -- Actions presumed unreasonable.
    9A.16.110 Defending against violent crime -- Reimbursement.

  • Chemical Sprays/Stun Gun/Higher Capacity Magazine Laws

    RCW 9.91.160 Personal protection spray devices.
    (1) It is unlawful for a person under eighteen years old, unless the person is at least fourteen years old and has the permission of a parent or guardian to do so, to purchase or possess a personal protection spray device. A violation of this subsection is a misdemeanor.
    (2) No town, city, county, special purpose district, quasi-municipal corporation or other unit of government may prohibit a person eighteen years old or older, or a person fourteen years old or older who has the permission of a parent or guardian to do so, from purchasing or possessing a personal protection spray device or from using such a device in a manner consistent with the authorized use of force under RCW 9A.16.020. No town, city, county, special purpose district, quasi-municipal corporation, or other unit of government may prohibit a person eighteen years old or older from delivering a personal protection spray device to a person authorized to possess such a device.
    (3) For purposes of this section:
    (a) "Personal protection spray device" means a commercially available dispensing device designed and intended for use in self-defense and containing a nonlethal sternutator or lacrimator agent, including but not limited to:
    (i) Tear gas, the active ingredient of which is either chloracetophenone (CN) or O chlorobenzylidene malonotrile (CS); or
    (ii) Other agent commonly known as mace, pepper mace, or pepper gas.
    (b) "Delivering" means actual, constructive, or attempted transferring from one person to another.
    (4) Nothing in this section authorizes the delivery, purchase, possession, or use of any device or chemical agent that is otherwise prohibited by state law.

    Bellingham , WA City Ordinance 10.30. Bans Stun Devices/Electric Weapons.
    Ruston, WA City Ordinance 9.11.015 Bans Stun Devices/Electric Weapons.

  • Notes

    RCW 9.41.010 Terms Defined.
    (14) "Loaded" means:
    (a) There is a cartridge in the chamber of the firearm;
    (b) Cartridges are in a clip that is locked in place in the firearm;
    (c) There is a cartridge in the cylinder of the firearm, if the firearm is a revolver;
    (d) There is a cartridge in the tube or magazine that is inserted in the action; or
    (e) There is a ball in the barrel and the firearm is capped or primed if the firearm is a muzzle loader.

    State Emergency Powers
    RCW 43.06.220 State of Emergency — Powers of Governor Pursuant to Proclamation.

    (1) The governor after proclaiming a state of emergency and prior to terminating such, may, in the area described by the proclamation issue an order prohibiting:
    (a) Any person being on the public streets, or in the public parks, or at any other public place during the hours declared by the governor to be a period of curfew;
    (b) Any number of persons, as designated by the governor, from assembling or gathering on the public streets, parks, or other open areas of this state, either public or private;
    (c) The manufacture, transfer, use, possession or transportation of a molotov cocktail or any other device, instrument or object designed to explode or produce uncontained combustion;
    (d) The transporting, possessing or using of gasoline, kerosene, or combustible, flammable, or explosive liquids or materials in a glass or uncapped container of any kind except in connection with the normal operation of motor vehicles, normal home use or legitimate commercial use;
    (e) The possession of firearms or any other deadly weapon by a person (other than a law enforcement officer) in a place other than that person's place of residence or business;
    (f) The sale, purchase or dispensing of alcoholic beverages;
    (g) The sale, purchase or dispensing of other commodities or goods, as he or she reasonably believes should be prohibited to help preserve and maintain life, health, property or the public peace;
    (h) The use of certain streets, highways or public ways by the public; and
    (i) Such other activities as he or she reasonably believes should be prohibited to help preserve and maintain life, health, property or the public peace.

    (2) The governor after proclaiming a state of emergency and prior to terminating such may, in the area described by the proclamation, issue an order or orders concerning waiver or suspension of statutory obligations or limitations in any or all of the following areas as further specified and limited by chapter 181, Laws of 2008:
    (a)Liability for participation in interlocal agreements;
    (b) (a) Liability for participation in interlocal agreements;
    (c) Application of the family emergency assistance program;
    (d) Regulations, tariffs, and notice requirements under the jurisdiction of the utilities and transportation commission;
    (e) Application of tax due dates and penalties relating to collection of taxes; and
    (f) Permits for industrial, business, or medical uses of alcohol.

    (3) In imposing the restrictions provided for by RCW 43.06.010, and 43.06.200 through 43.06.270, the governor may impose them for such times, upon such conditions, with such exceptions and in such areas of this state he or she from time to time deems necessary.

    (4) Any person willfully violating any provision of an order issued by the governor under this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

    Note: Federal Law can apply if the state is receiving monetary and/or other assistance from the Federal Government.

    Minimum Age for Possessing and Transporting of Handguns.
    Washington 18 Y/O 948.60
    18 years old is the minimum age that can carry and transporting an unloaded handgun and bring into a vehicle without the presence or carrying any type of license or permit.

    Note: This restriction is not applicable for some states. For some state carrying and transporting a handgun can be found in Gun Shop, Shooting range and other places that legally possessing a firearm.

  • Revision

    12/16/15 – Initial page created

Scroll to Top