sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Utah.

Utah does issue carry permit/licenses to residents and non-residents.

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Utah for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.

Utah Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Utah's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in Utah as a valid concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Utah Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Important Links

    State CCW Site
    How to Apply
    CCW Application
    Online Renewal
    Forms
    General Information
    State FAQ Site
    State Statutes
    St CCW Law/Rules
    State Admin Rules
    State Reciprocity Info
    State Attorney General

  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Utah

  • Utah Honors the following States:

    Utah honors all other states Permit/Licenses.

    Utah Honors Non-Resident Permits/Licenses From the States They Honor.

    76-10-523. Persons Exempt From Weapons Laws.

    (1) This part and Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Weapon Act, do not apply to any of the following:
    (a) a United States marshal;
    (b) a federal official required to carry a firearm;
    (c) a peace officer of this or any other jurisdiction;
    (d) a law enforcement official as defined and qualified under Section 53-5-711;
    (e) a judge as defined and qualified under Section 53-5-711;
    (f) a common carrier while engaged in the regular and ordinary transport of firearms as merchandise; or
    (g) a nonresident traveling in or through the state, provided that any firearm is:
    (i) Unloaded; and
    (ii) securely encased as defined in Section 76-10-501
    (2) The provisions of Subsections 76-10-504(1) and (2), and Section 76-10-505 do not apply to any person to whom a permit to carry a concealed firearm has been issued:
    (a) pursuant to Section 53-5-704; or
    (b) by another state or county.

  • Applying for a Resident Permit

    Application for resident applicants in Utah must be done in person. Application is accepted from 7:00am-5:30am at the office address showing below:

    Bureau of Criminal Identification
    3888 West 5400 South
    Taylorsville, UT 84129
    801-965-4445

    The application charge is $39 and the minimum requirements in applying for concealed firearms are as follows:
    • Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
    • Proof of good character...whereas the applicant;
    • has not been convicted of a felony;
    • has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
    • has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
    • has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
    • has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
    • has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
    • has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
    *A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.

    Application must accompany with:

    • A Photocopy of your Driver License
    • Photograph. One recent color photograph of passport quality. *Photos may be taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification.
    • Fingerprint Card. One fingerprint card. Must be filled out completely. Writing and prints must be legible. Fingerprint should be taken by a trained fingerprint technician. Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application.

    *Fingerprint services are available from BCI or may be offered through your local law enforcement agency. There are private businesses that also offer this service. Check in your local phone directory. Photos and fingerprints may be obtained at the Bureau of Criminal Identification (3888 W 5400 S, Taylorsville, UT. The cost is $15.00 for 1 photo and $15.00 for up to 3 fingerprint cards.

    • Weapon Familiarity Certification. Applicants must complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI. The course must be completed before you apply for a permit. Please have your instructor complete the certification information on the application. View a list of (in-state) (out-of-state) certified instructors
    Online Renewal.

    Utah Concealed Firearm Permit holders may renew their permit online. There is a $0.75 convenience fee to renew over the internet. The applicant will need to upload a passport quality photo and a copy of his/her own states concealed firearm permit or concealed weapon permit, if applicable.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    Non-resident applies the same way as the resident applicant does. They need to secure a Firearm Safety class from a certified Utah instructor. However, the cost for this application is $49

    Based on Senate Bill 36, non-residents need some additional requirements. This law applies to both new and for renewal non-resident applicants. Those requirements are as follows:

    53-5-704

    (4)
    (a) In addition to meeting the other qualifications for the issuance of a concealed firearm permit under this section, a nonresident applicant who resides in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah permit or has reciprocity with Utah's concealed firearm permit law shall:
    i Hold a current concealed firearm or concealed weapon permit issued by the appropriate permitting authority of the nonresident applicant's state of residency; and
    ii Submit a photocopy or electronic copy of the nonresident applicant's current concealed firearm or concealed weapon permit referred to in Subsection (4)(a)(i).
    (b) A nonresident applicant who knowingly and willfully provides false information to the bureau under Subsection (4)(a) is prohibited from holding a Utah concealed firearm permit for a period of 10 years.
    (c) Subsection (4)(a) applies to all applications for the issuance of a concealed firearm permit that are received by the bureau after May 10, 2011.
    (d) Beginning January 1, 2012, Subsection (4)(a) also applies to an application for renewal of a concealed firearm permit by a nonresident.

    Note: To apply for a permit, the applicant must be living in United States. If the applicant is resident from other state that has reciprocity or honors permit/license from Utah, then he/she must have a permit from g\his/her state of residency to apply after May 10, 2011 and renew after January 1, 2012. If the applicant, on the other hand, is from a state that does not issue a permit/license to carry nor acknowledge a permit/license from Utah, then he/she may apply as in the past.

    Same as resident applicants, non-resident applicants may also renew their permit online for a convenience fee of $0.75. The applicant still needs to provide a copy of his/her own state concealed firearm permit or concealed weapon permit and must upload a passport quality photo.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    It is unlawful for a person with a firearm permit to carry a concealed firearm in the following locations:

    • Any secure area in which firearms are prohibited and notice of the prohibition is posted
    • A secure area of an airport
    • Any courthouse, courtroom, mental health facility or correctional facility that may provide by rule that no firearm may be transported, sold, given, or possessed upon the facility. At least one notice shall be prominently displayed at each entrance to a secure area in which a dangerous weapon, firearm, or explosive is restricted
    What about private business, can they post signs prohibiting someone from carrying a gun into their business even though the person may have a firearm permit? Naturally, private property owners may apply whatever restrictions they want, whether or not these restrictions violates one’s personal rights is for the civil courts to decide. But the only statutory restriction on a permit holder is secured areas such as airports and federal buildings.
    May I carry my loaded and concealed firearm into a bar or other drinking other establishment? There is nothing in state statute that prohibits permit holders from being in a bar with a concealed firearm. However, it is illegal to be intoxicated and in possession of a firearm. The level of intoxication that is considered illegal is held to the same standard as when driving a car.
    76-10-530 Trespass with a Firearm in a House of Worship or Private Residence -- Notice -- Penalty.

    (1) A person, including a person licensed to carry a concealed firearm pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Weapon Act, after notice has been given as provided in Subsection (2) that firearms are prohibited, may not knowingly and intentionally:
    (a) transport a firearm into:
    i. a house of worship; or
    ii. a private residence; or
    (b) while in possession of a firearm, enter or remain in:
    i. a house of worship; or
    ii. a private residence.
    (2) Notice that firearms are prohibited may be given by:
    (a) personal communication to the actor by:
    i. the church or organization operating the house of worship;
    ii. the owner, lessee, or person with lawful right of possession of the private residence; or
    iii. a person with authority to act for the person or entity in Subsections (2)(a)(i) and (ii);
    (b)posting of signs reasonably likely to come to the attention of persons entering the house of worship or private residence;
    (c) announcement, by a person with authority to act for the church or organization operating the house of worship, in a regular congregational meeting in the house of worship;
    (d) publication in a bulletin, newsletter, worship program, or similar document generally circulated or available to the members of the congregation regularly meeting in the house of worship; or
    (e)publication:
    i. in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the house of worship is located or the church or organization operating the house of worship has its principal office in this state; and
    ii. as required in Section 45-1-101.
    (3) A church or organization operating a house of worship and giving notice that firearms are prohibited may:
    (a) revoke the notice, with or without supersedure, by giving further notice in any manner provided in Subsection (2); and
    (b) provide or allow exceptions to the prohibition as the church or organization considers advisable
    (c)
    (4)
    (a)
    i. Within 30 days of giving or revoking any notice pursuant to Subsection (2)(c), (d), or (e), a church www.handgunlaw.us 5 or organization operating a house of worship shall notify the division on a form and in a manner as the division shall prescribe.
    ii. The division shall post on its website a list of the churches and organizations operating houses of worship who have given notice under Subsection (4)(a)(i).
    (b) Any notice given pursuant to Subsection (2)(c), (d), or (e) shall remain in effect until revoked or for a period of one year from the date the notice was originally given, whichever occurs first.
    (5) Nothing in this section permits an owner who has granted the lawful right of possession to a renter or lessee to restrict the renter or lessee from lawfully possessing a firearm.

    76-8-311.1. Secure areas -- Items prohibited -- Penalty.

    (1) In addition to the definitions in Section 76-10-501, as used in this section:
    (a) "Correctional facility" has the same meaning as defined in Section 76-8-311.3.
    (b) (b) "Explosive" has the same meaning as defined for "explosive, chemical, or incendiary device" defined in Section 76-10-306.
    (c) "Law enforcement facility" means a facility which is owned, leased, or operated by a law enforcement agency.
    (d) "Mental health facility" has the same meaning as defined in Section 62A-15-602
    (e)
    i. "Secure area" means any area into which certain persons are restricted from transporting any firearm, ammunition, dangerous weapon, or explosive.
    ii. A "secure area" may not include any area normally accessible to the public.
    (2)
    (a) A person in charge of a correctional, law enforcement, or mental health facility may establish secure areas within the facility and may prohibit or control by rule any firearm, ammunition, dangerous weapon, or explosive
    (b) Subsections (2)(a), (3), (4), (5), and (6) apply to higher education secure area hearing rooms referred to in Subsections 53B-3-103(2)(a)(ii) and (b).
    (3) At least one notice shall be prominently displayed at each entrance to an area in which a firearm, ammunition, dangerous weapon, or explosive is restricted.
    (4)
    (a) Provisions shall be made to provide a secure weapons storage area so that persons entering the secure area may store their weapons prior to entering the secure area.
    (b) The entity operating the facility shall be responsible for weapons while they are stored in the storage area.
    (5) It is a defense to any prosecution under this section that the accused, in committing the act made criminal by this section, acted in conformity with the facility's rule or policy established pursuant to this section.
    (6)
    (a) Any person who knowingly or intentionally transports into a secure area of a facility any firearm, ammunition, or dangerous weapon is guilty of a third degree felony.
    (b) Any person violates Section 76-10-306 who knowingly or intentionally transports, possesses, distributes, or sells any explosive in a secure area of a facility.

    76-9-102. Disorderly conduct.

    (3) The mere carrying or possession of a holstered or encased firearm, whether visible or concealed, without additional behavior or circumstances that would cause a reasonable person to believe the holstered or encased firearm was carried or possessed with criminal intent, does not constitute a violation of this section. www.handgunlaw.us 6 nothing in this Subsection may limit or prohibit a law enforcement officer from approaching or engaging any person in a voluntary conversation.

    Note: Firearms in all churches in Utah are banned. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has submitted with 76-10-530 and notifies Utah’s BCI that they don’t want any firearms on their churches.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    76-10-530. Trespass with a Firearm in a House of Worship or Private Residence -- Notice -- Penalty.

    (1) A person, including a person licensed to carry a concealed firearm pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Weapon Act, after notice has been given as provided in Subsection (2) that firearms are prohibited, may not knowingly and intentionally:
    (a) transport a firearm into:
    i. a house of worship; or
    ii. a private residence; or
    (b) while in possession of a firearm, enter or remain in:
    i. a house of worship; or
    ii. a private residence.
    (2) Notice that firearms are prohibited may be given by:
    (a) personal communication to the actor by:
    i. the church or organization operating the house of worship;
    i. the owner, lessee, or person with lawful right of possession of the private residence; or
    ii. a person with authority to act for the person or entity in Subsections (2)(a)(i) and (ii);
    (b) posting of signs reasonably likely to come to the attention of persons entering the house of worship or private residence;
    (c) announcement, by a person with authority to act for the church or organization operating the house of worship, in a regular congregational meeting in the house of worship;
    (d) publication in a bulletin, newsletter, worship program, or similar document generally circulated or available to the members of the congregation regularly meeting in the house of worship; or
    (e) publication:
    i. in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the house of worship is located or the church or organization operating the house of worship has its principal office in this state; and ii. as required in Section 45-1-101.
    (3) A church or organization operating a house of worship and giving notice that firearms are prohibited may:
    (a) revoke the notice, with or without supersedure, by giving further notice in any manner provided in Subsection (2); and
    (b) provide or allow exceptions to the prohibition as the church or organization considers advisable.
    (4)
    (a)
    i. Within 30 days of giving or revoking any notice pursuant to Subsection (2)(c), (d), or (e), a church or organization operating a house of worship shall notify the division on a form and in a manner as the division shall prescribe.
    ii. The division shall post on its website a list of the churches and organizations operating houses of worship who have given notice under Subsection (4)(a)(i).
    (b) Any notice given pursuant to Subsection (2)(c), (d), or (e) shall remain in effect until revoked or for a period of one year from the date the notice was originally given, whichever occurs first.
    (5) Nothing in this section permits an owner who has granted the lawful right of possession to a renter or lessee to restrict the renter or lessee from lawfully possessing a firearm in the residence.
    (6) A violation of this section is an infraction.

    This law covers Houses of Worship and Private Residences and is very specific. Businesses posted would not fall under this part of the law and the sign would not have the force of law in those places like a House of Worship or Private Residence. In the case of businesses “Handgunlaw.us highly recommends that you not enter a place that is posted "No Firearms" no matter what the state laws read/mean on signage. We recommend you print out the No Guns = No Money Cards and give one to the owner of the establishment that has the signage." As responsible gun owners and upholders of the 2nd Amendment we should also honor the rights of property owners to control their own property even if we disagree with them.”

    “No Firearm” signs in Utah have no force of law unless they are posted on property that is specifically mentioned in State Law as being off limits to those with a Permit/License to Carry. If you are in a place not specifically mentioned in the law that is posted and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave then you are breaking the law and can be charged. Even if the property is not posted and you are asked to leave you must leave. Always be aware of the possibility that responding Police Officers who may have been called without your knowledge and may not know the laws on trespass etc. could arrest you even if you are within the law.

  • Parking Lot Storage Law

    34-45-101. Title. This Chapter is Known as "Protection of Activities in Private Vehicles."

    34-45-102. Definitions.

    As used in this chapter:

    (1) "Firearm" has the same meaning as provided in Section 76-10-501 .
    (2) "Motor vehicle" has the same meaning as provided in Section 41-1a-102 .
    (3) "Person" means an individual, property owner, landlord, tenant, employer, business entity, or other legal entity.

    34-45-103. Protection of Certain Activities -- Firearms -- Free Exercise of Religion.

    (1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a person may not establish, maintain, or enforce any policy or rule that has the effect of:
    (a) prohibiting any individual from transporting or storing a firearm in a motor vehicle on any property designated for motor vehicle parking, if:
    i. the individual is legally permitted to transport, possess, purchase, receive, transfer, or store the firearm;
    ii. the firearm is locked securely in the motor vehicle or in a locked container attached to the motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is not occupied; and
    iii. the firearm is not in plain view from the outside of the motor vehicle; or
    9b) prohibiting any individual from possessing any item in or on a motor vehicle on any property designated for motor vehicle parking, if the effect of the policy or rule constitutes a substantial burden on that individual's free exercise of religion.
    (2) A person may establish, maintain, or enforce a policy or rule that has the effect of placing limitations on or prohibiting an individual from transporting or storing a firearm in a motor vehicle on property the person has designated for motor vehicle parking if:
    (a) the person provides, or there is otherwise available, one of the following, in a location www.handgunlaw.us 8 reasonably proximate to the property the person has designated for motor vehicle parking:
    i. alternative parking for individuals who desire to transport, possess, receive, transfer, or store a firearm in the individual's motor vehicle at no additional cost to the individual; or
    ii. a secured and monitored storage location where the individual may securely store firearm before proceeding with the vehicle into the secured parking area; or
    (b) the person complies with Subsection 34-45-107 (5).

    34-45-104. Protection from Liability.

    A person that owns or controls a parking area that is subject to this chapter and that complies with the requirements of Section 34-45-103 is not liable in any civil action for any occurrence resulting from, connected with, or incidental to the use of a firearm, by any person, unless the use of the firearm involves a criminal act by the person who owns or controls the parking area.

    34-45-105. Cause of Action for Noncompliance -- Remedies.

    (1) An individual who is injured, physically or otherwise, as a result of any policy or rule prohibited by Section 34-45-103 , may bring a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction against any person that violates the provisions of Section 34-45-103.
    (2) Any individual who asserts a claim under this section is entitled to request:
    (a) declaratory relief;
    (b) temporary or permanent injunctive relief to prevent the threatened or continued violation;
    (c) recovery for actual damages sustained; and
    (d)punitive damages, if:
    i. serious bodily injury or death occurs as a result of the violation of Section 34-45-103 ; or
    ii. the person who violates Section 34-45-103 has previously been notified by the attorney general that a policy or rule violates Section 34-45-103.
    (3) The prevailing party in an action brought under this chapter may recover its court costs and reasonable attorney fees incurred.
    (4) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed or held to affect any rights or claims made in relation to Title 34A, Chapter 2, Workers' Compensation Act.

    34-45-106. Enforcement by Attorney General

    (1) The attorney general may bring an action to enforce this chapter and may request any relief that is provided for under Section 34-45-105 , including a request for damages on behalf of any individual suffering loss because of a violation of this chapter.
    (2) Upon entry of final judgment for a cause of action brought under this section, the court may award restitution, when appropriate, to any individual suffering loss because of a violation of this chapter if proof of loss is submitted to the satisfaction of the court.

    34-45-107. Exemptions -- Limitations on Chapter -- School Premises -- Government Entities – Religious Organizations -- Single Family Detached Residential Units.

    (1)
    (a) School premises, as defined in Subsection 76-3-203.2 (1), are exempt from the provisions of this chapter.(a)
    (b) Possession of a firearm on or about school premises is subject to the provisions of Section 76- 10-505.5.(a)
    (2) Government entities, including a local authority or state entity, are subject to the requirements of Title 53, Chapter 5a, Firearm Laws, but are otherwise exempt from the provisions of this chapter.(a)
    (3) Religious organizations, including religious organizations acting as an employer, are exempt from, and are not subject to the provisions of this chapter.(a)
    (4) Owner-occupied single family detached residential units and tenant-occupied single family detached residential units are exempt from the provisions of this chapter.(a)
    (5) A person who is subject to federal law that specifically forbids the presence of a firearm from www.handgunlaw.us 9 property designated for motor vehicle parking, or a person who is subject to Section 550 of the United States Department of Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2007, Pub. L. No. 109-295 or regulations enacted in accordance with that section, is exempt from Section 34-45-103 if:(a)
    (a) providing alternative parking or a storage location under Subsection 34-45-103 (2)(a) would pose an undue burden on the person; and(a)
    (b) the person files a statement with the attorney general citing the federal law that forbids the presence of a firearm and detailing the reasons why providing alternative parking or a storage location poses an undue burden.(a)
    (6) A person who is subject to Section 550 of the United States Department of Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2007, Pub. L. No. 109-295 or regulations enacted in accordance with that section is exempt from this chapter if:(a)
    (a) the person has attempted to provide alternative parking or a storage location in accordance with Subsection 34-45-103 (2)(a);(a)
    (b) the secretary of the federal Department of Homeland Security notifies the person that the provision of alternative parking or a storage location causes the person to be out of compliance with Section 550 of the United States Department of Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2007, Pub. L. No. 109-295 or regulations enacted in accordance with that section and the person may be subject to punitive measures; and(a)
    (c) the person files a detailed statement with the attorney general notifying the attorney general of the facts under Subsections (6)(a) and (b).

  • Police on Carry Requirements

    If in case an officer gets to stop a person for a reason and that person, at that moment, has a gun on his possession, it is best advised to inform the officer that he has it. Though the person is not legally required to identify himself to the law enforcement officer, however, it is recommended to do so. By having an initiative to do this, the officer may have an assurance that he is dealing with a law abiding citizen.

  • Traveling with Firearm Inside a Vehicle

    Utah Code
    Title 76 Utah Criminal Code
    Chapter 10 Offenses Against Public Health, Safety, Welfare, and Morals
    Section 505 Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle or on street.

    76-10-505. Carrying Loaded Firearm in Vehicle or on Street.

    (1) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a person may not carry a loaded firearm:
    (a) in or on a vehicle, unless:
    i. the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession; or
    ii. the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle;
    (b) on a public street; or
    (c) in a posted prohibited area
    (2) Subsection (1)(a) does not apply to a minor under 18 years of age, since a minor under 18 years of age may not carry a loaded firearm in or on a vehicle.
    (3) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a)(i) and (ii), a person may not possess a loaded rifle, shotgun, or muzzle-loading rifle in a vehicle.
    (4) A violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor.

    76-10-511. Possession of Loaded Firearm At Residence or on Real Property Authorized. Except for persons described in Section 76-10-503 and 18 U.S.C. Sec. 922(g) and as otherwise prescribed in this part, a person may have a loaded firearm:

    (1) at the person's place of residence, including any temporary residence or camp; or
    (2) on the person's real property.

    Note: New law authorizes all legal age to have and carry their handguns with them, whether loaded or unloaded. It also allows them to carry a handgun inside the vehicle if:

    • Vehicle is in the lawful possession of the person carrying the gun; or
    • Vehicle’s lawful possessor consents to the gun possession.

  • Open Carry

    Loaded Open Carry is legal for those with a valid permit/license to carry a concealed firearm. Vehicle carry is legal for anyone who is 18 or older and can legally possess a firearm in a vehicle if the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession; or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle. See the “RV/Car Carry Without a Permit” section for carrying in a vehicle. Those without any valid permit/license must carry an unloaded firearm outside the vehicle. The law is below. For an autoloader you can have a full mag but no round in the chamber. The two actions required to fire it are racking the slide and then pressing the trigger. For a double action revolver the hammer must down on a loaded chamber and the next chamber to rotate up to the firing position must be empty. That talks two presses of the trigger to make it fire making two actions to fire it. Single actions pistols can be carried with hammer down on an empty chamber. Cocking the hammer and pressing the trigger are the two required actions. Places as listed in the “Places Off Limits” above apply to those who open carry. Also be aware that Schools and other places are off limits unless you have a valid permit/license to carry a firearm. Read the laws well as those without a permit/license to carry have more places off limits than those with a permit/license. When open carrying, be prepared for Police Officers to question you as open carrying firearm gets their attention.

    The state preempts all firearm laws in the state and local authorities can’t have Laws/Ordinances against open carry. Remember that if you enter any property and the owner/responsible person ask you to leave you must leave. Failure to leave can result in Trespass Charges.

    76-10-505. Carrying Loaded Firearm in Vehicle or On Street.

    (1) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a person may not carry a loaded firearm: (a) in or on a vehicle, unless:
    i. the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession; or
    ii. the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle;
    (b) on a public street; or
    (c) in a posted prohibited area.
    (2) Subsection (1)(a) does not apply to a minor under 18 years of age, since a minor under 18 years of age may not carry a loaded firearm in or on a vehicle.
    (3) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a)(i) and (ii), a person may not possess a loaded rifle, shotgun, or muzzle-loading rifle in a vehicle.
    (4) A violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor. Amended by Chapter 362, 2009 General Session

    76-10-502. When Weapon Deemed Loaded.

    (1) For the purpose of this chapter, any pistol, revolver, shotgun, rifle, or other weapon described in this part shall be deemed to be loaded when there is an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile in the firing position.
    (2) Pistols and revolvers shall also be deemed to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile is in a position whereby the manual operation of any mechanism once would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile to be fired.
    (3) A muzzle loading firearm shall be deemed to be loaded when it is capped or primed and has a powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or cylinders.

    76-9-102. Disorderly conduct.

    (3) The mere carrying or possession of a holstered or encased firearm, whether visible or concealed, without additional behavior or circumstances that would cause a reasonable person to believe the holstered or encased firearm was carried or possessed with criminal intent, does not constitute a violation of this section. Nothing in this Subsection may limit or prohibit a law enforcement officer from approaching or engaging any person in a voluntary conversation.

  • State Preemption

    76-10-500. Uniform law.

    (1) The individual right to keep and bear arms being a constitutionally protected right, the Legislature finds the need to provide uniform laws throughout the state. Except as specifically provided by state law, a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien shall not be:
    (a) prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing, selling, transferring, transporting, or keeping any firearm at his place of residence, property, business, or in any vehicle lawfully in his possession or www.handgunlaw.us 12 lawfully under his control; or
    (b) required to have a permit or license to purchase, own, possess, transport, or keep a firearm.
    (2) This part is uniformly applicable throughout this state and in all its political subdivisions and municipalities. All authority to regulate firearms shall be reserved to the state except where the Legislature specifically delegates responsibility to local authorities or state entities. Unless specifically authorized by the Legislature by statute, a local authority or state entity may not enact or enforce any ordinance, regulation, or rule pertaining to firearms.

  • Deadly Force Laws

    Title 76, Chapter 2, Part 4
    76-2-401. Justification as defense - When allowed.
    76-2-402. Force in defense of person - Forcible felony defined.
    76-2-403. Force in arrest.
    76-2-404. Peace officer's use of deadly force.
    76-2-405. Force in defense of habitation.
    76-2-406. Force in defense of property.
    76-2-407. Deadly force in defense of persons on real property.
    78B-3-110. Defense to Civil Action for Damages Resulting From Commission of Crime.

  • Notes

    76-10-502. When Weapon Deemed Loaded.

    (1) For the purpose of this chapter, any pistol, revolver, shotgun, rifle, or other weapon described in this part shall be deemed to be loaded when there is an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile in the firing position.
    (2) Pistols and revolvers shall also be deemed to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile is in a position whereby the manual operation of any mechanism once would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile to be fired.
    (3) A muzzle loading firearm shall be deemed to be loaded when it is capped or primed and has a powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or cylinders.

    State Emergency Powers

    53-2a-204. Authority of governor -- Federal assistance -- Fraud or willful misstatement in application for financial assistance -- Penalty.

    (1) In addition to any other authorities conferred upon the governor, if the governor issues an executive order declaring a state of emergency, the governor may:
    (a) utilize all available resources of state government as reasonably necessary to cope with a state of emergency;
    (b) employ measures and give direction to state and local officers and agencies that are reasonable and necessary for the purpose of securing compliance with the provisions of this part and with orders, rules, and regulations made pursuant to this act;
    (c) recommend and advise the evacuation of all or part of the population from any stricken or threatened area within the state if necessary for the preservation of life;
    (d) recommend routes, modes of transportation, and destination in connection with evacuation;
    (e) in connection with evacuation, suspend or limit the sale, dispensing, or transportation of alcoholic beverages, explosives, and combustibles, not to include the lawful bearing of arms;

    Note: Federal Law can apply if the state is receiving monetary and/or other assistance from the Federal Government.

    Minimum Age for Possessing and Transporting of Handguns.

    Utah 18 Y/O 76-10-509.

    18 years old is the minimum age that can carry and transporting an unloaded handgun and bring into a vehicle without the presence or carrying any type of license or permit.

    Note: This restriction is not applicable for some states. For some state carrying and transporting a handgun can be found in Gun Shop, Shooting range and other places that legally possessing a firearm.

  • Revision

    12/19/2015- Initial Page Created

Scroll to Top