sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

While our online training program may not allow you to apply for Rhode Island permit/license to carry, residents of Rhode Island can utilize our online training program to apply for a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Rhode Island’s permit alone.

While Rhode Island does issue carry permit/licenses to residents, non-residents will have a more difficult time acquiring a carry permit/license. Rhode Island does NOT recognized the Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License as a legal way to conealed carry in their state.

However, by getting the State of Virginia’s Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you can  INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.

Rhode Island Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Rhode Island's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in Rhode Island.  This is good for recoprocity to other states only for Rhode Island residents and non-residents.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Rhode Island Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Rhode Island

    The state of Rhode Island does not recognize permits/licenses issued by other states.

  • Applying for a Permit in Rhode Island

    Local police and sheriffs are the ones responsible in issuing carry permits in the state of Rhode Island. Application for local agencies may vary, so you must check with the authority for all the information you need to know.

    Concealed Carry Permit Application Instructions
    Unless the following are accomplished, the issuing authority will not continue with the processing of the application:
    1. A completed and notarized application form with the information printed or typed.
    2. Two 1”x1” photos of the applicant. There should be no headgear or eye glasses. The photo must show the full face and the head. Have the applicant’s name printed at the back of each photo. Photos should not be laminated.
    3. Proof of training completion obtained from a certified firearms instructor or NRA instructor.
    4. Notarized photocopies of two identification cards
    5. Complete set of fingerprints submitted on FBI Fingerprint Applicant Card. This should be signed by the applicant. Renewal applicants do not need to submit this.
    6. If the application for a carry permit is for employment purposes, the applicant must include a printed letter on the employer’s letterhead must be included in the documents during application
    7. If the permit is not for employment, a printed letter with the date explaining the reasons why a carry permit is necessary should be submitted. Photocopies of signature will not be accepted.
    8. Retired law enforcement officers applying for carry permits should include a verification letter from the department’s Chief of Police on where they retired from, to prove that they have provided 20 years of service.
    9. A processing fee of $40.00

    The notice of approval or denial will be sent by mail to the applicant. If the applicant is approved, he or she must claim the permit personally. The documents submitted upon application shall become part of the Burrillville Police Department records and will not be returned to the applicant.

    Carry permits issued by Rhode Island are valid up to 4 years. Renewal of permits should be done at least 90 days before the expiration.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    Non-resident may apply for carry permits to the local authorities and attorney general of Rhode Island.

    § 11-47-11. License or Permit to Carry Concealed Pistol or Revolver.
    An individual who is 21 years of age or older and is a bona fide resident of United States or having a business within Rhode Island and a permit holder issued by another state which is valid for 4 years shall be issued a carry permit by the state if he or she provides a good reason to possess a firearm. The permit should contain the licensee’s fingerprint, photo, full name, address, signature and description and reason for the issuance of the permit. The serial number of any firearm shall not be included.

    There should be three copies of the permit; the original copy shall be given to the licensee.

    Licensing authorities are not allowed to give the permit holders’ information including name, address or date of birth to any person, association, firm or corporation. However, this does not apply to the release of statistical data including gender and age and release of information for a court case of which the person is involved.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    § 11-47-52. Carrying of Weapon While Under the Influence of Liquor or Drugs.
    Possession and transportation of firearms while an individual is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotic drugs are illegal.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    It is not clearly determined whether the “No Firearm” signs in Rhode Island have the force of the law, but nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you to treat each sign prohibiting firearms on private establishments as having the force of the law.

    It is also advised that you produce “No Firearm = No Money” cards and hand them to the manager of the establishment that prohibits the possession of firearms.

  • Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements

    Individuals who are carrying firearms are not required to immediately inform police officer on contact.

    § 11-47-27. Standard of Proof Under §§ 11-47-1 – 11-47-34
    The possession of firearms contrary to the provisions under §§ 11-47-1 – 11-47-34 is considered as unlawful possession, but the accused individual shall have the right to present facts and evidences to prove that such possession is lawful.

    Note: The law mentioned above means that the authority has the right to arrest an individual who carries a firearm without a valid carry permit. The arrested individual has the right to defend himself and prove that his possession is legal.

  • Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands

    Carrying of firearms in state parks, national forests and state WMA’s is not allowed. Possession of firearms on road side rest areas is allowed.

  • Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Rhode Island Permit

    Title 11
    Criminal Offenses
    Chapter 11-47 Weapons
    Section 11-47-8. An individual who does not have a valid carry permit shall not carry a pistol or revolver in a vehicle, either concealed or unconcealed, within the state of Rhode Island. This does not apply to the possession of a firearm on his own home or place of business. This is also not applicable to individuals who are issued carry permits by other states that allow them to carry weapons, provided that the person is just transporting the firearm within the state and the trip will be uninterrupted. Individuals who violate this section may be punished by a fine of up to $10,000 or not less than a year and not more than ten years of imprisonment, or both.

  • Open Carry Laws for Rhode Island

    Open carrying is allowed only for those who possess valid concealed carry permits. Off limits places mentioned in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section should be avoided by those who open carry. For more information about carrying a firearm in a vehicle, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Rhode Island Permit” section above.

    State and local authorities shall not be allowed to establish ordinances and laws against open carrying. However, if a property owner asks you to leave the premises, you should leave immediately. Failure to do so may result to Criminal Trespass.

    Some states do not allow open carrying in places that allow concealed carrying. To know more information about open carrying, visit the website at www.opencarry.org or search the keywords “Rhode Island Open Carry” on Google. You may also check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Rhode Island AG” section below for legal opinions about open carrying.

  • Carry Law Preemptions for Rhode Island

    § 11-47-58. Firearms – State Preemption.
    The state shall have the right to regulate the possession, use, transportation, registration, licensing, purchase and sale of firearms, ammunition and other related supplies.

  • Rhode Island Laws for Use of Deadly Force

    § 11-8-8. Injury or Death – Defense.

  • State and City Laws for Carrying Knives

    To know more about the laws concerning the use and possession of knives, click on this link.

  • Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served

    Restaurant carrying is allowed in the state of Rhode Island. “Restaurant carrying” means carrying a firearm in a restaurant that serves alcohol. This may or may not mean that the carrier is allowed to sit at the bar area of the restaurant. Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you not to sit on the bar area because in some states, this is illegal.

    There are some places that use “No Gun” signs like Friday’s and Red Lobster, and if you come across such places, you should leave immediately. When carrying, an individual should not consume alcohol because a single drink can be considered illegal in some states. For further information on restaurant carrying, check the laws that apply to your state.

  • Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws

    Stun Guns and Electric Weapons
    § 11-47-42. Stun guns and electric weapons are considered illegal in the state of Rhode Island.

    § 11-47-57. "Mace" or Similar Substances.
    Individuals who are 18 years of age and older are allowed to carry mace or liquids that can be used for self-defense. However, if the substance is used for other unlawful purpose, an individual may be punished by a fine not exceeding $25.00.

  • Rhode Island LEOSA Information

    There is no information found regarding Rhode Island LEOSA. To know more about LEOSA, visit the USA Page and scroll to the LEOSA section.

  • Additional Information and Airport Requirements

    No laws are found regarding airport carrying in Rhode Island. The time period for the validity of training is 1 year. An individual’s residency is established once a Rhode Island Driver’s License is obtained.

    The minimum age required for obtaining a carry permit is 21 years old.

    Laws on Using Firearms: 11-47-1 thru 11-47-62
    Laws on Using Deadly Force: § 11-8-8
    Laws on Using Knives: 11-47-42
    Laws on Using Chemical and Electric Weapons: 11-47-57 and 11-47-42

    There are no laws found concerning the use of body armor.

  • Supplemental Information

    § 11-47-51. Loaded Weapons in Vehicles.
    Carrying of a loaded shotgun or rifle in a vehicle while on a public highway or road is considered illegal in Rhode Island.

    Rhode Island is a Shall Issue state for the Local Issuing Authority and a May Issue state for the Attorney General.

    Note: Some local officials in the state do not issue carry permit, while others require psychological testing. There are some local authorities that send all the documents for application to the AG.

    § 11-47-11. License or Permit to Carry Concealed Pistol or Revolver.
    An individual who is 21 years of age or older and is a bona fide resident of United States or having a business within Rhode Island and a permit holder issued by another state which is valid for 4 years SHALL be issued a carry permit by the licensing authorities of the state if he or she provides a good reason to possess a firearm. The permit should contain the licensee’s fingerprint, photo, full name, address, signature and description and reason for the issuance of the permit. The serial number of any firearm shall not be included.

    There should be three copies of the permit; the original copy shall be given to the licensee.

    Licensing authorities are not allowed to give the permit holders’ information including name, address or date of birth to any person, association, firm or corporation. However, this does not apply to the release of statistical data including gender and age and release of information for a court case of which the person is involved.

    § 11-47-18. License or Permit Issued by Attorney General on Showing of Need – Issuance to Retired Police Officers.
    The attorney general of the state MAY issue a carry permit to an individual who is 21 years of age or older who has properly shown the need for a permit. Likewise, a permit MAY be issued to a retired police officer who had served for at least 20 years and received a “good standing” during his or her retirement.

    The attorney general is not allowed to give the permit holders’ information including the name, address or date of birth to any person, association, firm or corporation. However, this does not apply to the release of statistical data including gender and age and release of information for a court case of which the person is involved.

    State of Emergency
    § 30-15-9. Governor's Responsibilities Relating to Disaster Emergencies.

    The Governor is responsible in declaring a state of emergency if he or she discovers that a natural disaster or public crisis has occurred. The emergency shall continue until there are no more threats or dangers existing. The General Assembly has the right to terminate the state of emergency any time.

    After the proclamation, the emergency plans of the state shall be activated and all the forces necessary to cope with the emergency shall be deployed.

    The Governor shall be the commander-in-chief of all the agencies and forces that will be used in responding to the emergency.

    During the state of emergency, the Governor may exercise the following powers as deemed necessary to address the problems:
    a. Suspend the statute provisions if it is believed to delay or prevent the action needed to cope with the emergency. The suspension of the statute shall only be effective during the state of emergency.
    b. Make use of all the available resources of the state if it is necessary to deal with the public crisis or natural disaster
    c. Delegate powers to the different agencies of the state
    d. Make use of private properties if it is necessary in coping with the emergency
    e. Order evacuation among residents of affected areas to preserve their lives
    f. Prescribe transportation and destinations for the evacuees
    g. Limit the movement of the people within the affected area
    h. Restrict the sale and transportation of firearms, explosives, combustibles and alcoholic beverages

    Note: The federal laws may be applicable is the state is receiving financial assistance from the federal government. To know more about the laws during state of emergencies, check the US Code 42-5207.

  • Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms

    The minimum age requirement to carry and transport a firearm in a vehicle within Rhode Island without the need for any type of permit is 18 years old.

    Note: Some states are restrictive when it comes to carrying and transporting of firearms that they only allow transporting to and from the gun shops, repair shops, shooting range, carrier’s own house, business or other property. Other states do not have restriction.

    To know more about carrying and transporting handguns, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Rhode Island Permit” section above.

  • Revisions

    4/12/15 – Initial page created.

Scroll to Top