sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Residents Carry Permit/Licenses which is honored in New Mexico.

While New Mexico does issue carry permit/licenses to residents, non-residents cannot receive a New Mexico carry permit/license.

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in New Mexico for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.

New Mexico Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding New Mexico's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in New Mexico as a valid concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

New Mexico Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Reciprocity Guidelines for New Mexico

    The state of New Mexico recognizes resident and non-resident permits issued by the following states: Arizona, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming. Only Enhanced Permits from Idaho are honored by New Mexico.

    New Mexico will honor resident and non-resident permits issued by the mentioned states if the permit holders are U.S. citizens.

    29-19-12. Rules; Department to Administer; Reciprocal Agreements with Other States.
    The state honors carry permits issued by other states if they meet the following:
    a. Expiration date printed on the carry permit
    b. Verification of a permit status made within three days upon request by New Mexico

    Under this section, applicants for concealed carry permits should have their criminal history record checked and should not be previously prevented by the federal or state law from possessing firearms. Training on firearms and its safe use and handling should be taken by the applicants.

  • Applying for a Permit in New Mexico

    Notice: Electronic fingerprinting is done by the “3M Cogent”. For more information about the company, visit their web page here. An amount of $44.00 shall be paid for the fingerprint services and $56.00 to the Department of Public Safety in New Mexico along with the other requirements shall be sent.

    You may also use the fingerprint cards for your application. Two fingerprint cards shall be completed with the name and signature of the applicant, the social security number, date of birth, home address, place of birth and other information as required. A trained fingerprint technician should be the one to obtain the fingerprints and must sign the card with the date, the name and address of the employer under it. Law enforcement agencies are authorized to take fingerprints. If the fingerprint cards are not approved by the FBI, they will ask for another set of cards which will mean that the processing of your application will be delayed.

    Application forms can be obtained from the State Police District offices or may be downloaded through this link. All the documents shall be sent by mail to the following address:
    NM Department of Public Safety
    SID/Concealed Carry Unit
    6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310
    Albuquerque, NM 87110

    Requirements
    a. Completed application form
    b. A copy of the applicant’s New Mexico Driver’s License
    c. Payment of $44.00 for the criminal background check and $56.00 for the application
    d. An original copy of birth certificate issued by a vital statistics agency in the state where the applicant was born.
    (Photocopies will not be accepted. If you want the original one to be returned, include a stamped envelope with your home address.
    e. Proof of Completion of Training issued by certified instructors (The list of New Mexico certified instructors can be viewed here.)
    f. Background check and Electronic Fingerprint receipt from Cogent
    g. Authorization for Release of Information
    h. Authorization to Obtain Health Information

    Law enforcement agencies are authorized to obtain the fingerprints from the applicants and they may charge service fees for doing so. The permit to carry is valid up to 4 years.

    When the department receives the documents sent by the applicant, they will do an evaluation to determine if the applicant may obtain a carry permit license. The fingerprints shall be submitted to the bureau of investigation for them to do a criminal background check. If qualified, the applicant will be issued a license to carry.

    Applications with incomplete documents may not proceed with the process. Payments made cannot be refunded.

    29-19-14. Military/Mounted Patrol/Law Enforcement --Requirements.
    Military members and law enforcers are not required to submit payment for the application or renewal of permit. Military service persons who are discharged not more than twenty years before the submission of application shall not be required to undergo refresher training course. Two fingerprint sets and a color photograph shall be submitted to the department.

    10.8.2.16 Terms and Conditions of License.
    • Permit holders shall carry firearms that are listed on the license. Carrying of a different firearm category is prohibited. Only one firearm should be carried at a time.
    • Alcohol consumption when carrying is not permitted.
    • Carrying of firearms while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited.

    10.8.2.18. Additional Handgun Endorsement.
    Adding of a different category or a higher caliber firearm to a license can be done by submitting an application to the department for a renewal. The applicant will also have to submit a proof of completion of a training course and competency on a category of handgun which will provided by a certified instructor in New Mexico and a copy of the current license. Processing costs $5.00. The issuance of the new permit usually takes 10 days upon the completion of the application. The expiration date of the new license will be the same as the date on the replaced license. Unless the applicant obtains his renewed license, he shall not carry a different category of handgun other than the one stated on his current license.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    The state of New Mexico does not issue carry permits to non-residents. But if a person recently moves in to New Mexico, he or she may transfer the current residence license.
    10.8.2.17 License Renewal and Transfer.
    An individual may apply for a transfer of license and obtain a renewed license from New Mexico by completing the form given by the department. Possession of a firearm within the state shall not be allowed until the person receives his or her renewed license.

    Other Requirements:
    Aside from the application form that should be completed, the person applying for a transfer of license shall submit the following:
    a. Proof of citizenship
    b. Proof of New Mexico residency
    c. Proof of age
    d. A copy of the current license
    e. Completion of a refresher training course if the training required by the other state does not meet the standards of New Mexico

    Processing time.
    Upon the completion of the requirements, the state will review the documents to identify if the applicant is qualified to obtain a renewed license. Criminal background check will be done and the process may take up to 30 days.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    The state of New Mexico allows carrying of only one concealed handgun at a time. This restriction is not applicable to the firearms carried in a vehicle.

    The following locations do not allow carrying of firearms either open or concealed:
    • Schools, except when the firearm is in a vehicle (30-7-2.1 NMSA 1978) – Violation is a fourth degree felony.
    • Universities, except when the firearm is in a vehicle (30-7-2.4 NMSA 1978) – Violation is a petty misdemeanor.
    • Preschools (29-19-8 NMSA 1978)
    • Courthouses and courtrooms, except when the judge authorized the person (29-19-11 NMSA 1978)
    • Tribal territories (29-19-10, NMSA)
    • Public transportation (30-7-13 NMSA 1978)
    • Airport terminals
    • Military bases
    • Private property where an owner prohibits possession of firearms

    10.8.2.16 Terms and Conditions of License.
    • Permit holders shall carry firearms that are listed on the license. Carrying of a different firearm category is prohibited. Only one firearm should be carried at a time.
    • Alcohol consumption when carrying is not permitted.
    • Carrying of firearms while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited.

    30-7-3. Unlawful Carrying Of a Firearm in Licensed Liquor Establishments.
    Carrying of either an unloaded or loaded firearm on a place that serves alcoholic beverages is unlawful except for the following:
    • Law enforcement officers who are on their active duty
    • The owner of the property
    • An individual with a valid concealed carry permit, but only on the premises licensed to sell alcohol beverages but does not allow consumption of such on their premises and places that sell alcoholic beverages and derives half of the annual income from such.

    A person who is guilty of unlawful carrying of a firearm in licensed liquor establishments can be charged with fourth degree felony.

    29-19-10. Validity of License on Tribal Land.
    Tribal lands do not recognize carry permits and permit holders shall seek authorization from the governing body to be able to carry their firearms.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    “No Gun” signs on establishments within New Mexico have the force of the law.

    10.8.2.16
    F. Carrying prohibited on private property.
    An individual who is carrying a handgun shall not be allowed to enter an establishment with a “No Gun” sign or if the property owner has denied entrance due to the firearm being carried.

    10.8.2.27. Prohibiting the Carrying of Concealed Handguns on Private Property.
    An individual may prohibit the possession of concealed firearms within the premises of his or her private property by posting “No Gun” signs or by informing the carrier who plans on entering the property.

    30-7-3. Unlawful Carrying of a Firearm in Licensed Liquor Establishments.
    Permit holders are allowed to carry their firearms on restaurants that are licensed to dispense beer and wine and derives more than half of its sales on food, unless there is “No Gun” sign in the place or the owner instructed an individual to leave the premises

    Note: Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends that gun owners should leave a property owner once a “No Gun” sign is noticed.

  • Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements

    The law doesn’t require concealed carriers to immediately inform police officer on contact.

    29-19-9. Possession of license.
    A permit holder shall always have his license whenever carrying a concealed firearm.

    10.8.2.16 D. Display of license on demand.
    When demanded by a police officer, the licensee shall present his license to carry a concealed firearm.

  • Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands

    Possession of firearms in state parks, national forests and road side rest areas is legal. Firearms are prohibited on state WMA’s.

  • Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a New Mexico Permit

    New Mexico Statutes
    30-7-2.2. An individual should be 19 years of age or older to carry a firearm.

    Department of Public Safety Frequently Asked Questions:
    Question: “Do I have to be licensed to have a concealed loaded handgun inside my vehicle?”
    Answer: “No. New Mexico law allows a person who is not otherwise prohibited to have a concealed loaded firearm in his/her vehicle (including motorcycles and bicycles). See 30-7-2 NMSA 1978. If you are not licensed to carry concealed in this State or in a state that NM recognizes, you may not have the weapon concealed on your person when you exit your vehicle or motorcycle.”

    30-7-1. Carrying a Deadly Weapon.
    “Carrying a deadly weapon” is defined as possessing a deadly weapon or having a firearm on one’s person making it easy to access for that person.

    30-7-2. Unlawful Carrying of A Deadly Weapon.
    “Unlawful carrying of a deadly weapon” is defined as possessing a concealed handgun anywhere, but this does not apply to the following:
    a. A concealed carrier on his own house or property
    b. A concealed carrier in a private vehicle

    29-19-10. Validity of License On Tribal Land.
    A carry permit is not recognized on tribal territories, except if the governing body of the tribe authorizes carrying of firearms.

  • Open Carry Laws for New Mexico

    Many people carry openly in New Mexico because it is legal. The ‘off limits’ places listed in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section above shall apply to the open carriers. To know more about carrying in a vehicle, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a New Mexico Permit” section above.

    30-7-3. Only the permit holders are allowed to carry firearms in places that serve alcohol, so open carrying in such places without a valid carry permit is prohibited.

    State and local authorities in New Mexico shall not pass laws and ordinances to prohibit open carrying. Open carriers, on the other hand, shall leave a property when asked by the owner to leave. Failure to do so may result to Trespass Charges. The minimum age requirement for open carrying is 19 years old.

    Some states do not allow individuals to carry openly on places where concealed carrying is allowed. To know more information about open carrying in Montana, visit the website at www.opencarry.org or search the keywords “New Mexico Open Carry” on Google. Also check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Montana AG” section below to know more about the court’s decision and opinions of the Attorney General.

  • Carry Law Preemptions for New Mexico

    New Mexico Supreme Court Ruling
    Opinion Number: 2002-NMSC-017

    “We determine that the Legislature's delegation of authority to local governments to prohibit the carrying of concealed weapons in Section 29-18-11(D) violates the constitutional proscription against municipal and county regulation of an incident of the right to keep and bear arms in Article II, Section 6 of the New Mexico Constitution.”

  • New Mexico Laws for Use of Deadly Force

    Chapter 30. Homicide
    30-2-5. Excusable homicide.
    30-2-6. Justifiable homicide by public officer or public employee.
    30-2-7. Justifiable homicide by citizen.
    30-2-8. When homicide is excusable or justifiable defendant to be acquitted.

  • State and City Laws for Carrying Knives

    To know more about the laws concerning the possession of knives within the state of New Mexico, click this link.

  • Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served

    Possession of firearms on places that serve alcohol is legal in New Mexico.

    30-7-3 (A)(4)(b). Permit holders are allowed to carry their firearms on restaurants that are licensed to dispense beer and wine and derives more than half of its sales on food, unless there is “No Gun” sign in the place or the owner instructed an individual to leave the premises.

    Note: Carrying of firearms on restaurants that serve hard liquor is therefore not allowed.

  • Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws

    No laws regarding the use of electric weapons, defensive sprays and high capacity feeding devices are found.

  • New Mexico LEOSA Information

    There is no information on Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act found. To know more about LEOSA, visit the USA page and see the LEOSA section.

  • Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of New Mexico AG

  • Additional Information and Airport Requirements

    Possession of firearms on airport terminals and parking lots is allowed. An individual’s training is valid for 90 days only. Residency is established when a person obtains a driver’s license and another type of ID issued by New Mexico.

    The minimum age requirement to obtain a carry permit is 21 years old.

    Laws on State Reciprocity: 29-19-12.
    Laws on Using Firearms: 29-19-1 thru 14 and 30-7-1 thru 16
    Laws on Using Deadly Force: 30-2-5 thru 30-2-8
    Laws on Using Knives: 30-1-12, 30-7-2 and 30-7-8

    There are no laws found on using body armor and chemical and electrical weapons.

  • Supplemental Information

    The law of New Mexico does not define a loaded firearm.
    Note: Without the definition, it should be assumed that an unloaded firearm means that the magazine is detached from it or the cartridge is not inserted on the firing chamber.

    State of Emergency
    12-10-18. Emergency Restrictions.
    During a state of emergency that is proclaimed by the Governor, he may exercise the following powers:
    a. Establish a curfew period
    b. Prohibit people from gathering on public places
    c. Regulate or prohibit the manufacture, purchase, sale, transportation and possession of explosives
    d. Regulate or prohibit the manufacture, purchase, sale, transportation and possession of deadly weapons
    e. Prohibit the sale of alcohol and other goods
    f. Close certain streets and public highways
    g. Take the actions that are necessary to protect the residents
    Note: The federal law is applicable during a state of emergency if the state is receiving financial assistance from the federal government. To know more about the federal laws applicable during state of emergencies, check the US Code 42-5207

  • Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms

    The minimum age requirement to be able to carry and transport an unloaded firearm in a vehicle without the need for any type of permit in New Mexico is 19 years old.

    Note: Some states are very restrictive when it comes to possession and transportation of firearms that they only allow doing so to and from the gun shops, repair shops, shooting range, and the gun owner’s property like house and place of business.

    To know more about transporting a firearm in a vehicle within Mexico, read the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a New Mexico Permit” section above.

  • Revisions

    4/12/15 – Initial page created.

Scroll to Top