Our online training course will allow you to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Nebraska for residents and nonresidents, as well as honored in many other states.
Nebraska Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Nebraska’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020*
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in Nebraska. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in the state you reside as a valid concealed carry permit.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/Licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
New HampshireDivision of State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Nebraska Conceal Carry Laws Updated As of 2020.*
Reciprocity Guidelines for Nebraska
Nebraska is a Shall Issue state that honors permits/licenses issued by the following states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and District of Columbia. Nebraska only honors the Non-Professional Permit from Iowa and the Class 1 Permit from North Dakota.
The state also honors non-resident permits issued by the mentioned states. Permit holders who are below 21 years old will not be honored by Nebraska.
69-2448. License or Permit Issued by Other State or District of Columbia; How Treated.
The state of Nebraska shall recognize permits/licenses issued by other states or the District of Columbia as long as the permit holder is not a resident of Nebraska and the Attorney General has declared that the standards of where the permit was issued is the same or greater than the standards of the state. There should be an established list of the states honored by Nebraska which should be maintained by the Attorney General.
Applying for a Permit in Nebraska
Individuals who are interested in applying for a carry permit in Nebraska are required to complete a training from certified instructors in the state. The application form can be obtained from one of the State Patrol Troop Area Headquarters of Nebraska, from the Criminal Identification Division in Lincoln or from the Nebraska State Patrol site. The application should be obtained in advance because it needs to be notarized at the Troop Area Headquarters.
• Troop A Headquarters
4411 S 108th St.
• Troop B Headquarters
1401 Eisenhower Ave
• Troop C Headquarters
3431 Old Potash Highway
Grand Island Nebraska
• Troop D Headquarters
300 W South River Rd
North Plate Nebraska
• Troop E Headquarters
4500 Avenue I
• Criminal Identification Division
3800 NW 12th St Suite A
a. Color photograph of the applicant to be taken by the Nebraska State Patrol
b. Applicant’s fingerprints which will be obtained by the Nebraska State Patrol using the live scan equipment of their Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS). If the system is not available on the area of application, fingerprints should be obtained on two fingerprint cards.
c. Permit fee which costs $100.00 (This can be paid either in cash or check, or debit and credit cards. The payment is refundable if the application for a permit is not approved, but charges for criminal history record check will be deducted.)
d. Incomplete application will not be processed, and the applicant will receive a notice that explains the deficiency. Twenty calendar days will be given for the applicant to complete the documents and if he fails to comply within the deadline, the application will be denied and the payment will be returned. The applicant will need to start again with the process.
e. Application form: This should be completed and notarized.
f. Proof of completion of training from an approved instructor by Nebraska. Military members or members of the National Guard may present a document to prove that they have completed training and safety course, while a certified instructor of the Handgun Training and Safety Course who wants to obtain a Nebraska permit may sign his own certificate of training.
g. Proof of vision obtained from a Nebraska licensed ophthalmologist or as shown on Nebraska motor vehicle operator’s license.
h. Proof of identification like Nebraska driver’s license, Nebraska identification card or military identification card
i. Proof of U.S. citizenship including birth certificate, naturalization documents, Certificate of citizenship or U.S. passport.
j. Proof of address
k. Applicant’s signature
A Nebraska carry permit is valid for 5 years. When renewing, applicants may use the same form used for initial application. The process will be the same as the initial applicants, but the permit fee costs $50 only. There is no need to present the proof of citizenship.
Personal appearance is required when renewing a CCW permit. When a carry permit is renewed before the expiration date, the permit holder will not be required to retake the training course.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
Nebraska does not issue non-resident permits. Only those who are military members and are stationed in Nebraska are allowed to apply for a carry permit. The application process is the same as the residents.
Carry Permit Limitations
69-2441. Permit Holder; Locations; Restrictions; Posting of Prohibition; Consumption of Alcohol; Prohibited.
Permit holders in Nebraska are not allowed to carry their firearms on the following places:
• Sheriff, police or highway patrol station and office
• Juvenile detention facility, correctional facility, prison or jail
• Voting places during an election
• Buildings used by the counties, public schools, municipalities and other political subdivisions
• Financial Institution
• Sports stadium where athletic events are held
• Buildings or facilities used by public and private universities, college or community college
• Churches or other places of worship
• Hospital facilities
• Political rally
• Restaurants that derive more than half of its sales on alcoholic beverages
• Private property where the owner prohibits possession of firearms
• Other places where the state law prohibits possession of firearms
Carrying a firearm in a vehicle that is in a public parking area is not a violation of the law, but the owner must keep the firearm in a secured container or in a separate compartment when leaving it unattended.
A security personnel of a financial institution or a church who is authorized to carry a concealed firearm while on duty does not violate this law, provided that he complies with the Concealed Handgun Permit Act and has a carry permit in his possession.
A property that is open to the public should use “No Gun” signs to prohibit possession of firearms among visitors. If no signs are posted and a permit holder comes in with his firearm, he does not violate this section of the law.
Employees who have their carry permits may be prohibited by the employer to carry their firearms in vehicles owned by the employer.
Permit holders are not allowed to carry their firearms when they consume alcoholic beverages or when there are still traces of alcohol in the urine, blood or breath.
28-1204.04. Unlawful possession of a firearm at a School; Penalty; Exceptions; Confiscation of Certain Firearms; Disposition.
No person shall be allowed to carry a firearm inside the school building, school bus and other facilities used by the students. Violation of the law can result to a criminal offense of unlawful possession of a firearm at a school which is a Class IV felony. This section is not applicable to the following:
• Members of the Armed Forces of the United States, National Guard, peace officers and law enforcement officers who are on active duty
• Law enforcement officers authorized by the administration for security purposes during a school event
• Members of the university rifle team who possess firearms as part of their duties
• School’s employees whose nature of job requires possession of firearms
• Nonstudent adults with unloaded firearms secured in containers or compartment in vehicles
• Concealed carry permit holders who are carrying their firearms in vehicles onto parking areas that are open to public, provided that the firearms are kept in containers or compartment away from ordinary observation.
18-1703. Cities and villages should not regulate the ownership, registration, possession, transportation, selling and purchasing of firearms. Existing laws or ordinances that regulate the ownership, registration, possession, transportation, selling and purchasing of firearms are null and void.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
“No Gun” signs in Nebraska have the force of the law.
69-2441. A person who is in control of a property may prohibit possession firearms within such premises by posting “No Firearm” signs. The official Nebraska prohibition sign can be viewed here.
69-2443. Violations; penalties; revocation of permit.
First violation of sections 69-2440, 69-2441 or 69-2442 is considered as Class III misdemeanor. The second violation is a Class I misdemeanor. Guilty of misdemeanor may result to revocation of carry permit.
Note: Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends that when you come to a building with a “No Firearms” sign, you should just leave the premises.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
Carriers who are on contact with a police officer or emergency personnel should inform them immediately about carrying a concealed handgun.
Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations
69-2441. Permitholder; Locations; Restrictions; Posting of Prohibition; Consumption of Alcohol; Prohibited.
Permit holders are not allowed to carry their firearms in police, sheriff or highway patrol office or station; juvenile detention centers, correctional facilities, prison or jail; courthouses and courtrooms; voting locations during an election; facilities used by the county, public school district, municipality and political subdivisions for their meetings; financial institution; locations of sports events; public and private schools and the property they own; churches or other places of worship; hospital facilities; political rally; places that serve alcoholic beverages; public or private property where the owner prohibit possession of firearms and places where the federal law prohibits firearms.
Carrying of firearms in a vehicle which is in a parking area open to the public is allowed, but the owner must keep the firearm in a secured container or compartment when leaving it unattended.
Employers are allowed to prohibit their employees or their building’s visitors from possessing firearms.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
Carrying of firearms in state parks and road side areas is allowed in Nebraska.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Nebraska Permit
Carrying a firearm inside and outside a vehicle requires a valid Nebraska carry permit. Carrying a loaded handgun in a vehicle is illegal, but only applies to concealed carrying.
Note: Omaha Ordinance Section 20-206. The City of Omaha prohibits carrying of firearms in vehicles without a Nebraska carry permit. Other cities do not have such law.
37-522. Shotgun on Highway; Restrictions; Violation; Penalty.
Carrying a loaded shotgun in a vehicle on any highway in Nebraska is illegal. Violation of this section is considered a Class III misdemeanor and may result to a punishment of at least $50 fine. The state gives the cities the right to have their own regulations on concealed carrying without a carry permit.
17-556. Public safety; Firearms; Explosives; Riots; Regulation.
Second class cities and villages are allowed to regulate the possession, transportation and discharge of firearms, explosives, fireworks and other dangerous tools in the streets, lots and buildings to avoid noises, disturbances and disorder. However, concealed carrying that complies with the Concealed Handgun Permit Act should not be prohibited.
28-1202. Carrying Concealed Weapon; Penalty; Affirmative Defense.
Any person who is carrying a concealed handgun, knife, brass knuckles or other dangerous weapon commits an offense of carrying concealed weapon which is a Class I misdemeanor. Second offense is considered as Class IV felony. Under this section, Nebraska carry permit holders who are issued permit under the Concealed Handgun Permit Act are exempted.
28-1212. Presence of Firearm in Motor Vehicle; Prima Facie Evidence.
The presence of firearms including machine guns, rifles and shotguns as well as knives and brass knuckles inside a vehicle shall mean that all the persons inside possess the item. If the weapon is found in the possession of one of the passengers, this section is not applicable. This also does not apply to lawful carriers.
69-2429. Terms, Defined.
Under this section, the following terms are defined:
• “Concealed handgun” means that all the parts of the handgun are hidden.
• “Handgun” refers to any firearm with a barrel not longer than sixteen inches and can be discharged using one hand.
69-2445. Carrying Concealed Weapon Under Other Law; Act; How Construed.
Individuals shall not be prohibited from carrying concealed weapons for self-defense purposes or as a part of his business or employment.
Open Carry Laws for Nebraska
Open carrying is considered legal in Nebraska, but local governments may regulate open carrying. “Off limits” places that are mentioned in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section above should also apply to open carriers. To know more about carrying in a vehicle, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Nebraska Permit” section above.
17-556. Local authorities can’t pass ordinances or laws to regulate concealed carrying but may establish regulations on open carrying. The gun owner, on the other hand, should be responsible in knowing the regulations that are implemented on the area he or she would like to enter into. If an authorized person who is taking control of a property asks you to leave, do not refuse. Failure to leave may result to Criminal Trespass. The required age for open carrying is at least 18 years old.
Some states do not allow open carrying in places where permit holders can carry concealed. To know more about open carrying, visit the website at www.opencarry.org or search the keywords “Nebraska Open Carry” on Google. Also check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Nebraska AG” section below to know about the court’s decision and attorney general’s opinion.
Carry Law Preemptions for Nebraska
17-556. Public Safety; Firearms; Explosives; Riots; Regulation.
Second-class cities and villages are allowed to regulate the possession, transportation and discharge of firearms, explosives, fireworks and other dangerous tools in the streets, lots and buildings to avoid noises, disturbances and disorder. However, concealed carrying that complies with the Concealed Handgun Permit Act should not be prohibited.
Nebraska Laws for Use of Deadly Force
28-1406. Terms, defined.
28-1407. Justification; choice of evils.
28-1408. Public duty; execution.
28-1409. Use of force in self-protection.
28-1410. Use of force for protection of other persons.
28-1411. Use of force for protection of property.
28-1412. Use of force in law enforcement.
28-1413. Use of force by person with special responsibility for care, discipline, or safety of others.
28-1414. Mistake of law; reckless or negligent use of force.
28-1415. Justification in property crimes.
28-1416. Justification an affirmative defense; civil remedies unaffected.
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
Laws on carrying and use of knives can be found here.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
Restaurant carrying is allowed in the state of Nebraska. “Restaurant carrying” means carrying a firearm in a restaurant that serves alcohol. This may or may not mean that the carrier is allowed to sit at the bar area of the restaurant. Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you not to sit on the bar area because in some states, this is illegal.
There are some places that use “No Gun” signs like Friday’s and Red Lobster, and if you come across such places, you should leave immediately. When carrying, an individual should not consume alcohol because a single drink can be considered illegal in some states. For further information on restaurant carrying, check the laws that apply to your state.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
There are no restrictions on the use of electric weapons, defensive sprays and high capacity magazines in Nebraska.
Nebraska LEOSA Information
No information regarding the Nebraska LEOSA is available.
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Nebraska AG
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
No laws are found regarding carrying firearms in airports. Validity of training in Nebraska is up to 3 years. To be able to establish residency, an individual must be a resident of Nebraska for 180 days.
The minimum age requirement to obtain a permit in Nebraska is 21 years old.
Laws on State Reciprocity: 69-2448.
Laws on Using Firearms: 28-1201 – 1212 and 69-2427-2445
Laws on Using Deadly Force: 28-1406 – 28-1416
Laws on Using Knives: 28-1201 (4)
Carrying of firearms when bow hunting is not allowed.
Loaded and unloaded firearm are not defined in Nebraska law.
Note: Without the definition, unloaded firearm should mean that there is no cartridge in the firing chamber or there is no magazine attached to it.
State of Emergency
81-829.40. Governor; Powers and Duties.
In the event of a natural disaster, emergency or public crisis, the Governor may assume operational control on the emergency management functions within Nebraska and should be responsible to carry out the Emergency Management Act provisions.
Other powers of the Governor during a state of emergency include the following:
a. Issue orders and amend the laws if they are necessary for the safety of the residents
b. Assign and delegate authorities to the different organizations
c. Use any property that is necessary to cope with the emergency or disaster
d. Order the residents to evacuate from an affected area
e. Prescribe mode of transportation and destinations for the evacuees
f. Restrict the movement of the residents on the affected area
g. Regulate the sales, possession and transportation of explosives and alcoholic beverages
h. Determine temporary emergency houses
Note: During a state of emergency, the federal law is applicable if the state receives financial assistance from the federal government. To know more about the federal laws that apply to state of emergencies, check the US Code 42-5207.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age requirement for possessing and transporting unloaded firearms that are secured in vehicles without the need for any type of permit is 18 years old.
Note: Some states have restrictions on the possession and transportation of firearms that they only allow doing so to and from the gun shops, repair shops, shooting ranges, and the carrier’s own business, home or other property. Other states do not impose restrictions.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.