sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

While our online training program may not allow you to apply for Michigan permit/license to carry, residents of Michigan can utilize our online training program to apply for a Virginia Non Residence Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Michigan’s permit alone.

Michigan does issue carry permit/licenses to residents. Non-residents can apply for the Michigan carry permit/license if you are on active duty in the military and are permanently stationed in Michigan. Otherwise, non-residents must have a carry permit/license from your home state. Michigan does NOT recognized the Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License as a legal way to conealed carry in their state.

However, by getting the State of Virginia’s Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you can  INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.

Michigan Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Michigan's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in Michigan.  This is good for recoprocity to other states only for Michigan residents and non-residents.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Michigan Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Important Links

    Michigan CCW Information 1
    Michigan CCW Information 2
    Instructions for Concealed Carry Permit Application
    County Clerk Directory of Michigan
    Frequently Asked Questions
    Michigan Laws
    State Administrative Regulations
    Attorney General of Michigan
    Laws on Using Firearms in Michigan
    Michigan State Police Legal Update

  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Michigan

    Michigan recognizes concealed carry permits/licenses for residents issued by other states. However, Michigan does not accept carry permits issued by other states for non-residents. Therefore, to be able to carry your firearm in Michigan, you must be a resident of the state where your license was issued.

    28.422 License to Purchase, Carry, Possess, or Transport Pistol; Issuance; Qualifications; Applications; Sale of Pistol; Exemptions; Nonresidents; Basic Pistol Safety Brochure; Forging Application; Implementation During Business Hours

    A person who is not a resident of Michigan, but wishes to carry his firearm within the state, may do so without being required to obtain a license if the following conditions are met:
    a. He is a resident of the state which issued his current license to carry.
    b. He has the carry permit in his possession.
    c. The firearm he is carrying or transporting is under his name.
    d. He is carrying or transporting the firearm for legal purposes.
    e. The individual will stay on the state for not more than 180 days and does not have plans of establishing residency in Michigan.

  • Applying for a Permit in Michigan

    28.425b. Individuals who want to be able to get a license from the state of Michigan shall go and apply to the county clerk of their residence. A fee of $115 shall be paid either for New application or Renewal.

    The country clerks will provide the applicants with the application kits which is free. An individual shall not be denied the right to have an application during normal business hours. Each application kit contains the following:
    • Application form for concealed carrying from the director of the state police department
    • Cards for the fingerprints
    • Written process on how to obtain a license to carry in Michigan
    • Written information on the organization/bodies that provide training as required under the section 5b(7)(c)

    Starting December 1, 2015, an individual who had established his residency in Michigan but holds a carry permit that is issued by another state, will not need to wait for 6 months to be able to apply for a concealed carry license. He can immediately file for an application once his residency is established. To be able to establish residency in Michigan, an individual must meet any of the following conditions:
    • Obtain a driver’s license or personal identification card from Michigan
    • Become a registered voter of Michigan
    • Be on active duty with the armed forces of the United States, assigned on another state but maintain his home of record in Michigan
    • Be on active duty with the armed forces of the United, assigned permanently in Michigan but maintain his home of record in another state

    28.425a. An individual has the right to obtain a license to carry for self-defense purposes at home if he has a personal protection order or if he is able to provide substantial proof that there are threats or the safety of his household may be endangered if he will not be able to obtain a carry permit. He must be able to provide police reports or other records from the law enforcement office, written or an audio that serves as a proof of threat to the household.

    An applicant’s training is considered valid if it consists of at least 8 hours of instruction and is completed not more than 5 years before the submission of his application.

    28.425L. A license to carry a firearm is valid until the holder’s birthday on the fourth year after receiving his license and the fifth year for renewed licenses.

    28.425b. Processing of the applicant’s license to carry will take up to 45 days.

    Note: The forms and other information required for you to obtain a license in Michigan should be all included in the application kit you will receive from the county clerk. The list of the trainers accredited by the state in the area will provided also by the county clerk. To learn more information about this, visit this link.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    28.425b. Starting December 1, 2015, an individual who had established his residency in Michigan but holds a carry permit that is issued by another state, will not need to wait for 6 months to be able to apply for a concealed carry license. He can immediately file for an application once his residency is established. To be considered as a legal resident of Michigan, you must be able to meet the following conditions:
    • Obtain a driver’s license or personal identification card from Michigan
    • Become a registered voter of Michigan
    • Be on active duty with the armed forces of the United States, assigned on another state but maintain his home of record in Michigan
    • Be on active duty with the armed forces of the United, assigned permanently in Michigan but maintain his home of record in another state

    Note: If you are moving in to the state of Michigan, and you hold a carry permit issued by another state or is currently on active duty with the military force and is stationed in Michigan, ask the country clerk to know all the information related to this.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    750.222. Under this section, “brandish” is defined as an act of pointing or displaying a threatening action by an individual to induce fear.

    28.425o. Amended Premises on Which Carrying Concealed Weapon Prohibited; “Premises” Defined; Exceptions to Subsection (1); Violation; Penalties.
    Public and private schools allow parents or legal guardian to carry with them firearms in their vehicles in parking lots while picking up or dropping off their children.

    Other places that do not allow carrying of weapons include the following:
    • Private and public day care centers
    • Sports stadium
    • Restaurant/bar that serves alcohol
    • Church, temple, synagogue or any place owned by such
    • A location that can hold 2,500 people or more
    • Hospital
    • College or university dormitory
    • Casino

    Note: Parking lots of the places mentioned above are not included.

    Administrative Order 2001-1 of the Supreme Court of Michigan
    "Weapons are not permitted in any courtroom, office, or other space used for official court business or by judicial employees unless the chief judge or other person designated by the chief judge has given prior approval consistent with the court’s written policy."

    28.519. “Implied consent to submit to chemical analysis; certificate holder under influence of alcoholic liquor or controlled substance; violation; penalty; exception; collection and testing of breath, blood, and urine specimens; refusal to take chemical test; report of violation to commission.”
    An individual with the license to carry a firearms and who is under the influence of alcohol shall by no means be prohibited from transporting his unloaded firearm to his vehicle’s trunk or compartment provided that the ammunition is separated and sealed in a container.

    Universities in Michigan
    Michigan State University, Wayne State University and University of Michigan have special status in the state. The preemption law does not apply on these universities and they have the power to pass ordinances to prohibit carrying of firearms inside the campus.
    Michigan State University
    Carrying of firearms is not allowed anywhere on the property of MSU. Residents of MSU shall surrender and keep their firearms, chemical sprays, electric devices or any kind of weapon with the Department of Police and Public Safety. Police officers and law enforcement officers are exempted from this ordinance.
    Wayne State University
    WSU prohibits carrying of all types of firearms, knives, explosives or any tool that may injure, inflict pain or kill another person.
    University of Michigan
    Carrying and discharging of dangerous weapons are not allowed on the university’s premises. University employees who are authorized to carry their firearms as part of their duties, law enforcement officers and individuals who are on military costume as part of a ceremony or other activities of the university are exempted from this ordinance. Violation of the ordinance may result to a punishment of ten days or more of imprisonment, or $50 fine, or both.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    Most “No Gun Signs” have the force of law in Michigan. There is no specific design of signage in the state. So, for a carry permit holder to know if guns are permitted or not in an area, he must either memorize the Gun Free Areas in Michigan or to look for signs on the area that communicates to the visitors the prohibition of weapons. If there are visible signs in the location and an individual ignore it and insist to enter the property, he will be charged with criminal trespass. This violation may affect the status of his CPL licensing.

    As per recommendation of nationalcarryacademy.com, when you notice signs that say guns are not welcomed in the area, you should walk away and leave at once. Give the owner a “No Gun=No Money” card so that they will realize they lost business with you.

  • Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements

    In Michigan, it is the permit holder’s responsibility to inform immediately a police officer on contact if he is carrying a firearm. According to the MCL 28.425f, “An individual licensed under this act to carry a concealed pistol and who is carrying a concealed pistol and who is stopped by a peace officer shall immediately disclose to the peace officer that he or she is carrying a pistol concealed upon his or her person or in his or her vehicle." Inform the police officer in a polite manner and let him understand that you are doing such as required by Michigan’s law. When asked by the officer, present your valid carry permit and driver’s license. Whenever you are carrying a firearm, you must always bring with you your license to carry and driver’s license or any other ID issued by the state.

    Violation of this law may result to a punishment of $100 fine and six-month suspension of carry permit.

  • Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands

    MCL 324.504. It is allowed by the law in Michigan to carry firearms on state parks, national forests and public lands.

  • Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Michigan Permit

    An individual without a License to Carry is not allowed to possess a loaded firearm in any type of vehicle.

    750.227d Transporting or Possessing Firearm in or Upon Motor Vehicle or Self-Propelled Vehicle Designed for Land Travel; Conditions; Violation as Misdemeanor; Penalty. Sec. 227d.
    No person shall be allowed to transport his firearm in any kind of land vehicle unless the firearm is unloaded, kept in a locked container in the trunk of the vehicle or not accessible to the owner of the gun. Violation of this law results to a punishment of $100.00 fine or imprisonment of 90 days or less, or both.

    750.231a Exceptions
    Exceptions apply for an individual who travels with a firearm for legal purposes and has kept the firearm on a secured container in the vehicle’s trunk.

  • Open Carry Laws for Michigan

    There are restrictions for open carrying in the state of Michigan. When carrying a loaded firearm in a vehicle, you must have a valid license to carry in Michigan. Residents who do not have license should carry firearms that are registered under their name. Non-residents who do not have license from the state of their residence are not allowed to carry openly. Individuals who are carrying their firearms openly without permits are not allowed in places that serve alcohol.

    Check the “Carry Permit Limitations” section above; “off-limits” places do not allow open carrying as well. Open carrying in the rural areas is common in Michigan.

    State and local authorities are not permitted to implement regulations that are against open carrying. If you happen to come to a private property and the owner asks you to leave, you should not hesitate to leave. Insisting on staying may result to you being charged with Criminal Trespass.

    Individuals who want to carry openly must be at least 18 years of age. For more laws on open carrying in Michigan, visit the website of the Michigan State Police here.

    You may also look for more information at www.opencarry.org or search the keywords “Michigan Open Carry” on Google to learn more.

  • Carry Law Preemptions for Michigan

    Firearms and Ammunition
    Act 319 of 1990


    123.1102 Regulation of Pistols or Other Firearms.

    No local authorities should adopt laws, ordinance, registration, taxation and regulations on selling, transferring, purchasing, transporting and carrying of firearms and ammunition that are not required by the state’s law.

  • Michigan Laws for Use of Deadly Force

    Act 328 of 1931 Chapter XXXIII

    750.200i Unlawful acts; penalties.
    750.200j Additional unlawful acts; penalties.
    750.200k Applicability of § 750.200h to 750.200j; exceptions.
    600.2922b Use of deadly force or other than deadly force by individual in self-defense; immunity from civil liability.
    600.2922c Individual sued for using deadly force or force other than deadly force; award of attorney fees and costs; conditions
    768.21c Use of deadly force by individual in own dwelling; "dwelling" defined.
    780.971 Short title.
    780.972 Use of deadly force by individual not engaged in commission of crime; conditions.
    780.973 Duty to retreat; effect of act on common law.
    780.974 Right to use deadly force; effect of act on common law.
    780.951 Individual using deadly force or force other than deadly force; presumption; definitions

  • State and City Laws for Carrying Knives

    To learn more information about the laws on carrying knives within the state of Michigan, visit this link.

  • Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served

    Michigan allows restaurant carrying. “Restaurant carrying” is defined as carrying a firearm in a place that serves alcohol. Carriers are allowed to bring their firearms on such premises as long as they will not consume alcohol. And if they enter one, they should not occupy the bar area of the restaurant because in some states, that is considered illegal.
    There are some places that use “No Gun” signs like the Friday’s and Red Lobster. Carriers should not enter such places when carrying their guns. As per recommendation of the nationalcarryacademy.com, individuals carrying their handguns should not consume alcohol when they are on places serving alcohol. For most states, taking just a single drink is already a violation. Make sure to check the laws of the state you are in to learn more information about this.

  • Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws

    Stun Guns and Electric Devices

    750.224a –Portable Device or Weapon Directing Electrical Current, Impulse, Wave, or Beam; Sale or Possession Prohibited; Exceptions; Use of Electro-Muscular Disruption Technology; Violation; Penalty; Definitions.

    Sec. 224a. The law against the use of stun guns and other electric weapons in Michigan became effective on August 6, 2012. Under the law, no person is allowed to sell and own any device that is discharged by an electrical current and is capable of incapacitating temporarily, injuring and killing. Individuals who are using electric weapons for legal and reasonable purposes, have the permit for concealed carrying and are trained in using such devices are exempted from this law.

    Dealers of such electronic weapons shall verify the identity and keep the record of their buyers. They should also provide them with detailed instructions and training on using and the risks of the device. Buyers, on the other hand, possess valid concealed carry permits when purchasing. Violation of the law would result to a punishment of 30 days of imprisonment or $500 fine, or both.

    The use of an electronic weapon shall be lawful and there should be evidences to justify such use of an individual. A person who is proven guilty of misdemeanor will be punished by 2 years or less imprisonment or $2000.00 fine or both.

    Note: The dealer/seller is responsible in training and giving instructions to the buyers. Non-dealers who are reselling electric weapons are illegal.

    Chemical Sprays
    750.224d.
    “Self-defense spray or foam device” refers to a device that ejects any of the following:
    a. combination of orthochlorobenzalmalononitrile and inert ingredients
    b. a solution with 10% oleoresin capsicum;

    or, a device that can release substance that is capable of disabling or incapacitating another person either temporarily or permanently.
    The unlawful use of defensive spray may result to a punishment of not more than 2 years of imprisonment or $2,000.00 worth of fine, or both. The use of chemical spray for self-defense purposes can be considered by the judge to reduce the defendant’s punishment.

    Minors are not allowed to buy chemical defensive sprays. An individual who sells one to a minor can be subjected to a punishment of 90 days or less of imprisonment or a $500 fine, or both.

    Under this section, an individual who is permitted by the county sheriff or chief of police to possess a chemical spray for self-defense and is trained to use it as a part of his duties shall not be prohibited by the law.

  • Michigan LEOSA Information

    Michigan LEOSA Information 1
    Michigan LEOSA Information 2
    FAQs on Michigan Commission On Law Enforcement Standards
    Michigan Retired Law Enforcement Officer's Firearm Carry Act

  • Additional Information and Airport Requirements

    Carrying firearms in an airport’s terminal and parking lot is allowed in Michigan. An individual’s Training is valid up to 5 years. Six months is required to establish residency in the state.

    A person may apply for a permit to carry if he is at least 21 years old.

    State Statutes:
    Recognizing Permits Issued by Other States: 28.422
    Laws on Using Firearms: Act 372 of 1927 28-421 thru 28-435
    Laws on Using Deadly Force: Act 328 of 1931 750-200h thru 750-200k
    Laws on Using Knives: Act 328 of 1931 750-226 thru 750-226a
    Laws on Using Chemical and Electric Weapons: 750-224a, 750--224d
    Laws on Using Body Armor: 750.227g

    In the state of Michigan, carrying concealed handguns for self-defense while hunting is legal.

  • Supplemental Information

    Transporting Firearms, Crossbows, and Bows and Arrows (Michigan Department of Natural Resources)
    When carrying firearms in a motor vehicle, the magazine must be unloaded and kept inside a container at the trunk of the vehicle. Crossbows, bows and arrows should be secured in a cage or kept in the vehicle’s trunk as well.

    When on off road vehicles, firearms must be unloaded and enclosed in a container with the trigger secured by a manufactured housing mechanism. Crossbows, bows and arrows must be inside a cage.

    When on motorboats, firearms should be unloaded while the boat is sailing. Loading of firearms is not allowed until the boat has stopped.

    For a percussion cap muzzleloading longarm, the percussion cap must be removed. For an electric muzzleloading firearm, the battery must be removed.

    State of Emergency
    Emergency Powers of Governor (Excerpt)
    Act 302 of 194
    5
    The governor has the power to declare a state of emergency and identify areas that are affected during times of disaster, public crisis or public emergency that can endanger the safety of the residents of Michigan. After the official proclamation, he may order rules that are necessary to preserve the lives of the people and protect the property of the state.

    The powers of the governor include, but are not limited to the following:
    a. Suspend public and private means of transportation
    b. Designate areas that are prohibited for the residents
    c. Designate evacuation areas
    d. Establish a curfew
    e. Control public parks and lands
    f. Suspend the sale and prohibit the use of alcoholic beverages
    g. Suspend the sale and prohibit the use of firearms and explosive devices
    During the state of emergency, the federal law may apply if the state is receiving financial assistance from the federal government. For more information on the federal laws for State of Emergency, check the US Code 42-5207.

  • Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms

    To be able to carry and transport unloaded handguns in a vehicle within Michigan without the need for any type of permit, an individual must be at least 18 years old. For some states, Firearms Identification Cards and registration of the firearms are needed.

    For most states, there are restrictions with the possession and transportation of handguns to and from gun shops, own properties and shooting ranges. Some states do not impose restrictions.

  • Revisions

    4/12/15 – Initial page created.

Scroll to Top