While our online training program may not allow you to apply for Maryland’s permit/license to carry, residents of Maryland can utilize our online training program to apply for a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Maryland’s permit alone.
Maryland issues carry permits/licenses to residents and nonresidents. But, Maryland does not recognize permits from any other states. Anyone wanting to bring a firearm into Maryland should be very careful to comply with all state laws. Maryland does NOT recognize the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License as a legal way to concealed carry in their state.
However, by getting the State of New Hampshire’s Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you can INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.
Maryland Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Maryland’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020.
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in Maryland. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in Maryland. This is valid reciprocity with other states only for Maryland residents and nonresidents.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/Licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
New HampshireDivision of State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Maryland Conceal Carry Laws Updated As of 2020.*
Reciprocity Guidelines for Maryland
Within the state of Maryland, they have the “Coordination and Analysis Center”. They have cameras that are capable of reading the license plates of firearms. They are used for criminal background check purposes and to monitor the permit holders coming from the other states.
When driving in Maryland, carriers must be cautious. Law enforcement officers would know if you are carrying one inside the vehicle. Other states have their own systems that are similar to the Maryland.
Maryland does not recognize permits/licenses issued by other states. Exception applies only to those armored car drivers who possess valid permits issued by their states and are on active duty in Maryland.
Applying for a Permit in Maryland
Note: First time applicants should submit their fingerprint to the FBI and CJIS through the Electronic Fingerprint Processing Center which is accredited by the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services.
1. Applying for a Carry Permit in Maryland
Attention: Submission of an application for a carry permit does not give you the permission to carry and transport firearms. You must first have the carry permit on your hand before you are allowed to carry a handgun within the state of Maryland.
When applying, you’ll need to submit the following items:
• Completed application form, with page 7 and page 13 notarized.
• Two (2) 1½ ” x 1½ ” photos with white background (must show full face and shoulders, hats and sunglasses are not allowed). The photo must be taken within 30 prior to submission of your application.
• Fingerprints to be submitted on any private agency listed here.
• Payment of $75 and service fee for the fingerprints. Payments made cannot be refunded.
Additional Requirements Based on Category of Handgun Permit:
a. Business owner or employee.
• Photocopy of either Traders License or Business License
Based on the purpose of the carry permit:
• Making deposits: Xerox copies of six (6) deposit slips within 1 year prior to submission of the application obtained from the bank to prove that there is a good monetary flow in the business.
• Cash flow: Photocopies of ten (10) purchase receipts for your supplies and proof of payments received for your services.
• Asking for a permit for an employee or an employee with a permission from the business owner: A letter signed by the employer explaining the reasons why a handgun is necessary for your job.
b. Professionals including doctors and establishments like pharmacies: Valid license for the profession or business and evidences to show that the activities are legitimate.
c. Correctional Officers: Proof of employment and evidences of assaults and threats.
d. Resigned or Retired Police Officer: If you are a former police officer, submit a proof of your tenure in law enforcement like a letter from the Agency you belonged to.
e. Private Investigator, Special Police, Railroad Police and Security Guards: Submit a proof of qualification to own a handgun obtained from a handgun instructor accredited by the Maryland State Police on an MSP form. Information regarding the substantial reasons for owning a handgun and the location where it will be used should be submitted also.
f. Self-defense purposes: Applicants must provide evidences of threats, assaults and robberies that must be supported by the reports from the police or statements from the witnesses of such crimes.
Fees are based on the category of handgun permit you are applying for. Fee schedule can be viewed through this link.
Standard Operating Procedure of Maryland State Police can be viewed here.
Note: Permits for first-time applicants are valid for 2 years, while renewed permits are valid for 3 years.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
The process for applying a non-resident permit in Maryland is the same as applying for a resident permit.
Carry Permit Limitations
MD Criminal Law § 4-102.
Under the law, individuals are not allowed to carry firearms, knives or other deadly weapons inside public schools. “Public schools” refer to the K-12 Public Schools. Colleges, Universities and Private Schools are not covered by this law. When going to Colleges, Universities and Private Schools, be cautious and research on the regulations of a property before carrying handguns.
MD Criminal Code § 4-208. Possession of Firearm at Public Demonstration.
Possession of a firearm is not permitted in a public place or inside a vehicle that is within 1,000 feet from a public demonstration. Law enforcement officers have the power to advise carriers about a public demonstration that is happening at a public location and to order them to leave the area.
MD Code Title 2
§2-1702. Interference with Legislative Process
Restriction of Firearms and other deadly weapons
A person is not allowed to carry his firearm or other destructive devices in any building used by the Senate or the House or any office used by the members and officials of the General Assembly. However, this law does not apply to the following;
a. A law enforcement officer who is on active duty in the office
b. A person summoned by an officer to help in arresting another person
Any person who violates the law may be subjected to fine of not more than $1000 or imprisonment of not more than 1 year or the two.
MD Code Business Regulations
Title 15 Subtitle 2
§ 15-203. Providing of Lodging and Services
Innkeepers have the right to refuse to provide services to individuals who are believed to possess firearms or other deadly weapons that can be harmful to other people.
Chesapeake Forest Lands
MD Admin Code 08.01.07.14
Under this regulation, a “weapon” is defined as “a device capable of Inflicting death or bodily harm to an individual, maiming or killing wildlife or destroying property.” Possession of any kind of weapon in Chesapeake Forest Lands is not allowed. Guns must be unloaded and arrows should be kept when going to this location.
There are designated shooting areas for those who want to do target shooting. Inside these shooting ranges, the rules and the policies are posted.
Discharging of firearms is not permitted on land or waters that are controlled by the Service, except if a person is going for a legal hunting and target shooting.
Community Adult Rehabilitation Centers
MD Admin Rules 12.02.03.10
Community rehabilitation centers prohibit the possession of firearms and other deadly weapons. In Maryland’s law, signage is not required to show that they are government’s property and that firearms are not allowed there.
§ 18.2-308. Personal Protection; Carrying Concealed Weapons
A carry permit issued in Maryland may be valid in the Commonwealth of Virginia if the permit’s holder is allowed by Maryland to perform duties that are similar to the ones performed by branch pilots in Virginia and that he is at least 21 years or older. “Branch pilots” refer to the Maryland Pilots of Vessels on Virginia Waters.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
It is not determined whether establishments with “No Gun” signs are supported by the law in Maryland, but nationalcarryacademy.com recommends carriers to treat every “No Gun” sign for any property as having the force of law. When you encounter the sign in an establishment, you should leave the premises immediately.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
A licensed carrier who comes in contact with a police officer is not obliged to inform about his firearm immediately.
Public Safety § 5-308. Possession of Permit Required
However, when carrying, transporting or wearing a firearm, the carrier must present his license when asked by a law enforcement officer to do so.
Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations
Transporting Firearms within the State
Transportation of firearms within Maryland is considered legal, provided that the places the firearms will be transported from and to allow possession of such, provided that the ammunition is not attached to the chamber and the firearm is kept in a separate compartment. If there is no separate compartment in the driver’s vehicle, the firearm should be stored and locked in a container.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Maryland Permit
Carrying loaded firearms in any vehicle within the state of Maryland is considered illegal. Within the state of Maryland, they have the “Coordination and Analysis Center”. They have cameras that are capable of reading the license plates of firearms. They are used for criminal background check purposes and to monitor the permit holders coming from the other states.
§ 4-203. Wearing, carrying, or transporting handgun
Carrying without a permit within Maryland on a vehicle, whether concealed or not, is not permitted. Exceptions apply to the following:
a. An unloaded gun enclosed in a separate compartment or container, if the vehicle has no compartment, is transported to and from the gun shop, repair shop, owner’s home or business.
b. Carrying of a handgun is connected to an activity of the military, a target shooting, shooting practice for a competition or sports. Again, the firearm must be kept in a container and should be unloaded.
c. Transporting the handgun collection of an owner enclosed in a container from home or any private property to a public or private location for an exhibit.
To be able to transport your firearms within the state of Maryland, make sure that they are unloaded and the ammunition is separated. Putting the handgun inside a locked container and keeping it in the trunk of the vehicle is recommended. In essence, the places where you are allowed to transport firearms are gun shops, repair shops, shooting rangers, sporting events location, your home and your business. To know more information about this, contact the Licensing Division through this link.
§ 926A. Interstate Transportation of Firearms
Any person who is not prohibited by the state to transport, ship or receive a firearm shall be allowed to transport a firearm legally to and from any place he is allowed to carry it. When transporting a firearm, he must separate the ammunition from the gun and keep it in an enclosed container and put it at a compartment where the gun is not easily accessible for the owner. If there is no compartment inside the vehicle, the ammunition must be kept in a locked container.
Note: Traveling within Maryland with your gun unloaded and the ammunition separated, you will be covered by the state law. The rules for handguns within the state are not applicable to long guns.
Open Carry Laws for Maryland
Open carrying requires an individual to have a valid license in Maryland. Even though the state legally allows carriers to carry openly, this is not commonly seen among them. Open carrying can be a ground for the state to revoke one’s license to carry.
Carry Law Preemptions for Maryland
Maryland Criminal Law § 4-209. Regulation of Weapons and Ammunition.
Municipal corporations, counties and special taxing districts have the opportunity to implement their regulations regarding purchasing, using, repairing, manufacturing, possessing and transporting of firearms and ammunition. Exceptions apply for locations that are within 100 yards away from church, park, school, public building and public assembly.
Likewise, training courses for firearms safety or use of handguns, rifle, shotguns and ammunition should not be prohibited.
Discharging of handguns, shotguns and rifles can be regulated by municipal corporations, counties and special taxing districts.
Maryland Laws for Use of Deadly Force
To know more about the laws on the people’s right of self-defense in the state of Maryland, check this Wikipedia link. This is so far the only reliable information found in the Internet that is related to the laws on using deadly force.
Because most of the self-defense laws in Maryland are based on Case law and not statute, they also follow the common law that an individual outside his property has the responsibility “‘to retreat or avoid danger if such means were within his power and consistent with his safety,’ before resorting immediately to the use of deadly forces. If it’s not safe for him to retreat, then the use of a deadly force is reasonable. “[I]f the peril of the defendant was imminent, he did not have to retreat but had a right to stand his ground and to defend and protect himself.”
It is also stated in the common law that one’s duty to retreat is not applicable to his own home. “[A] man faced with the danger of an attack upon his dwelling need not retreat from his home to escape the danger, but instead may stand his ground and, if necessary to repel the attack, may kill the attacker.”
“A man is not bound to retreat from his house. He may stand his ground there and kill an[y] person who attempts to commit a felony therein, or who attempts to enter by force for the purpose of committing a felony, or of inflicting great bodily harm upon an inmate. In such a case the owner or any member of the family, or even a lodger in the house, may meet the intruder at the threshold, and prevent him from entering by any means rendered necessary by the exigency, even to the taking of his life, and the homicide will be justifiable.” To know more about the common law, read through this link.
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
To know more on laws governing the use and carrying of knives in Maryland, check this link.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
Restaurant carrying is allowed in Maryland. The term “restaurant carrying” refers to carrying firearms in a place that serves alcohol unless there is a “No Gun” sign posted. Examples would be Friday’s and Red Lobster. Carriers may sit into the bar area of the restaurant to eat but should not consume alcohol.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
Criminal Law § 4-109. Electronic Control Device
Definitions. Under this section, “crime of violence” is defined the same as with § 14-101 of this article. “Electronic Control Device” is any portable device that has the capacity to injure, immobilize or kill another person with the discharge of electric current.
To be able to use electronic control devices, an individual must be 18 years or older. He must also have not been convicted of any crime of violence and had not violated the § 5-602, § 5-603, § 5-604, § 5-605, § 5-606, § 5-613, and § 5-614 of this article.
Manufacturers of electronic control devices are required to provide audio, manual, or audiovisual instructions for their customers. They should also keep the records of the original buyers’ of the devices and make sure that they do not have criminal history with the state of Maryland. They must provide the law enforcement office with an access to the records of the buyers.
Stun guns are not allowed in the following cities:
• Annapolis, MD – Municipal Code 1.44.070
• Baltimore, MD – City Code 115
• Baltimore County, – Maryland Co. Code 17-2-104
• oward County, MD – Sec. 8.404
• Ocean City, MD – Sec. 58-162
Magazines with Higher Capacity:
Individuals are not allowed to sell, manufacture or transport detachable magazines that can contain more than 10 rounds of ammunition within the state, but there are no restrictions on possessing higher capacity magazines. “Detachable magazines” are defined as devices that can contain ammunition and can be removed from the firearm without the need of disassembling the firearm or without using any tool.
Under this section, exceptions apply to .22 calibers with tubular magazines.
New regulations on firearms and magazines take in effect on October 1, 2013. They can be viewed through this link.
Maryland LEOSA Information
More information about the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act and application in Maryland in this link.
Title 4 Subtitle 3 § 4-305. Detachable magazines
Under this section, no person shall be allowed to sell, manufacture, buy or receive a detachable magazine that can contain more than 10 rounds. However, this section does not apply to .22 caliber rifles with tubular magazines, law enforcers and former members of the law enforcement agency in the state.
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Maryland AG
• Maryland AG on Integrated Mechanical Safety Device
• Maryland AG on Preemption of Firearms Regulation
• Maryland Supreme Court on Self-Defense
• Maryland AG on Carrying Separated, Loaded Magazines in a Vehicle
• U.S. District Ct – “Good and Substantial Reason” For the Issuance of Permit/License
• Maryland AG Response about Long gun carrying
• Maryland AG on the Definition of Enclosed Holster
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
No laws regarding carrying of guns inside the airport are found, but this does not necessarily mean that there are no existing laws. The validity of an individual’s training is up to 2 years.
Establishing One’s Residency
“A person who moves into the state with the intent of becoming a resident shall register all regulated firearms with the Secretary [of the Maryland State Police] within 90 days after establishing residency.”
The minimum age of acquiring a permit/license is 18 years old. Carrying handguns while bow hunting is considered legal provided that it is for self-defense purpose only.
• Use of Firearms – Public Safety 5-101 Thru 5-504 & Criminal Code 4-101 thru 4-503
• Use of Knives – Public Safety 5-101 & 5-105
• Use of Body Armor – Criminal Code 4-106 & 4-107
• Use of Chemical and Electric Weapons – Criminal Code 4-101
What is considered as a loaded firearm in Maryland?
§ 10-410. Restrictions on Hunting Wildlife Generally
Individuals are not allowed to shoot any wildlife species from any type of vehicle and carry any type of firearm with ammunition on the chamber while riding in a vehicle, except as provided in § 4-203(b) of the Criminal Law Article and Title 5, Subtitle 3 of the Public Safety Article. Carrying a loaded magazine in a vehicle is legal, but the ammunition must be separated from the gun.
To know more about AG opinion on this matter, check the ‘Maryland AG on Carrying Separated, Loaded Magazines in a Vehicle’ link on the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Maryland AG” section above.
Title 14. Emergency Management
Subtitle 3. Governor’s Emergency Powers
Md. PUBLIC SAFETY Code Ann. § 14-303 (2012)
Under this section, the governor has the authority to proclaim a state of emergency within Maryland and designate emergency areas if the public is in danger. After the proclamation of the state of emergency, he has the power to implement orders and regulations that are necessary to preserve the lives of the public and any property. The governor may suspend the operation of the public and private means of transportation and control the movement of the people and vehicles within the state.
During the state of emergency, possession firearms, explosives and other deadly weapons can be controlled by the governor, particularly if those are the seen cause of emergency within the state. But before exercising his powers under state of emergency, the notice shall be known to all through the following:
a. Newspaper announcement
b. Television or radio emergency announcement
c. Posts and signs for emergency areas
• For more information, check the Maryland Emergency Management in the Maryland Code Under Public Safety Title 14.
• Federal laws may apply if, during the state of emergency, the state is receiving funds from the Federal Government.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age requirement for carrying or moving firearms in Maryland without the need for any kind of license is 21 years old. For some states, identification cards or firearms registration is required by the law. Meanwhile, other state would allow possession and transportation to and from the gun shop, shooting range and own property only. To know more about transporting firearms in a vehicle, review the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Maryland Permit” section above.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.