Our online training course will allow you to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Kentucky for residents and nonresidents, as well as in many other states.
Kentucky Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Kentucky’s Concealed Carry Laws as of 2020
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in Kentucky. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in Kentucky as a valid concealed carry permit.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/Licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
New HampshireDivision of State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Kentucky Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2020*
Reciprocity Guidelines for Kentucky
Kentucky honors both resident and nonresident permits from all other states per the below statute:
237.110 License to Carry Concealed Deadly Weapon (20) (a) A person who has a valid license issued by another state of the United States to carry a concealed deadly weapon in that state may, subject to provisions of Kentucky law, carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky, and his or her license shall be considered as valid in Kentucky.
Applying for a Permit in Kentucky
The application process for a permit is outlined below:
KRS 237.110 2. An applicant, in lieu of a paper application, may submit an electronic application for a license, renewal of a license and an Emergency Protective Order License to carry a concealed deadly weapon to the Department of Kentucky State Police.
The online application form can be found at this link.
Applications and renewals can be done online as well as protective orders but you must register with the state. Information can be found at the Police website.
Applications can also be completed in person at the sheriff’s office in the county where you live and you can pay the appropriate fee at the time of application. The fee must be split between the sheriff ‘s office and the Kentucky State Treasurer. If the fee is not paid, the application will be sent back and not processed.
Applications are sent within 5 days and must include all form information, recent color photograph that is between 3.5×4 and 4×5 inches. Photocopies of training certificates must be provided as well.
CCDW license must be submitted to the sheriff and that application can be found here.
237.122 (8) No firearms instructor trainer or certified firearms instructor shall charge a fee in excess of seventy-five dollars ($75) for the conduct of an applicant training course. An instructor trainer or certified firearms instructor may charge a student the actual cost of range use, targets and associated range materials, and classroom rental not to exceed ten dollars ($10) for all of the items specified in this subsection.
Renewing a Permit
Renewals must be completed within 120 days of the permit expiration to avoid additional fees and notices are sent out by the police department. Download or complete the application for renew and submit to the sheriff’s department with a current color photograph. You cannot renew a license after six months and must reapply for a new license.
All photographs must clearly display the face of the applicant and must not have any sunglasses or hats obscuring facial features.
403.715 TO 403.785 (1) A petitioner for an order of protection granted under KRS 403.715 to 403.785 may apply for a temporary permit to carry a concealed deadly weapon on or about his or her person into those places and under the same conditions as a person holding a carry concealed deadly weapon license issued under KRS 237.110.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
The State of Kentucky will issue a license to carry to military personnel when the person is a citizen of the United States and is on active duty assigned to a location within the state.
(20) (b) If a person with a valid license to carry a concealed deadly weapon issued from another state that has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the Department of Kentucky State Police becomes a resident of Kentucky, the license issued by the other state shall be considered as valid for the first one hundred and twenty (120) days of the person’s residence in Kentucky, if within sixty (60) days of moving to Kentucky, the person completes a form promulgated by the Department of Kentucky State Police which shall include: (c) Within sixty (60) days of moving to Kentucky, the person shall deliver the form and accompanying documents by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address indicated on the form provided by the Department of Kentucky State Police pursuant to this subsection.
Carry Permit Limitations
(16) Except as provided in KRS 527.020, no license issued pursuant to this section shall authorize any person to carry a concealed firearm into: (a) Any police station or sheriff’s office; (b) Any detention facility, prison, or jail; (c) Any courthouse, solely occupied by the Court of Justice courtroom, or court proceeding; (d) Any meeting of the governing body of a county, municipality, or special district; or any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a member of the body, holding a concealed deadly weapon license, from carrying a concealed deadly weapon at a meeting of the body of which he or she is a member; (e) Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense beer or alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose; (f) Any elementary or secondary school facility without the consent of school authorities as provided in KRS 527.070, any child-caring facility as defined in KRS 199.011, any day-care center as defined in KRS 199.894, or any certified family child-care home as defined in KRS 199.8982, except however, any owner of a certified child-care home may carry a concealed firearm into the owner’s residence used as a certified child-care home; (g) An area of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property; or (h) Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law.
(17) The owner, business or commercial lessee, or manager of a private business enterprise, day-care center as defined in KRS 199.894 or certified or licensed family child-care home as defined in KRS 199.8982, or a health-care facility licensed under KRS Chapter 216B, except facilities renting or leasing housing, may prohibit persons holding concealed deadly weapon licenses from carrying concealed deadly weapons on the premises and may prohibit employees, not authorized by the employer, holding concealed deadly weapons licenses from carrying concealed deadly weapons on the property of the employer. If the building or the premises are open to the public, the employer or business enterprise shall post signs on or about the premises if carrying concealed weapons is prohibited. Possession of weapons, or ammunition, or both in a vehicle on the premises shall not be a criminal offense so long as the weapons, or ammunition, or both are not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on the premises. A private but not a public employer may prohibit employees or other persons holding a concealed deadly weapons license from carrying concealed deadly weapons, or ammunition, or both in vehicles owned by the employer, but may not prohibit employees or other persons holding a concealed deadly weapons license from carrying concealed deadly weapons, or ammunition, or both in vehicles owned by the employee, except that the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet may prohibit an employee from carrying any weapons, or ammunition, or both other than the weapons, or ammunition, or both issued or authorized to be used by the employee of the cabinet, in a vehicle while transporting persons under the employee’s supervision or jurisdiction. Carrying of a concealed weapon, or ammunition, or both in a location specified in this subsection by a license holder shall not be a criminal act but may subject the person to denial from the premises or removal from the premises, and, if an employee of an employer, disciplinary measures by the employer.
An area of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of Possession of weapons, or ammunition, or both in a vehicle on the premises shall not be a criminal offense so long as the weapons, or ammunition, or both are not removed from the vehicle or brandished while the vehicle is on the premises. A private but not a public employer may prohibit employees or other persons holding a concealed deadly weapons license from carrying concealed deadly weapons, or ammunition, or both in vehicles owned by the employer, but may not prohibit employees or other persons holding a concealed deadly weapons license from carrying concealed deadly weapons, or ammunition, or both in vehicles owned by the employee, except that the Justice Cabinet may prohibit an employee from carrying any weapons, or ammunition, or both other than the weapons, or ammunition, or both issued or authorized to be used Page 6 of 11 by the employee of the cabinet, in a vehicle while transporting persons under the employee’s supervision or jurisdiction.
Land Between The Lakes (USDA Forest Service (Valid Permit/License Carry Allowed)
United States Department of Agriculture
United States Forest Service
Land Between The Lakes National Recreation Area
ORDER NO. 60-01-13 and 60-09-13 (Edited for Space Considerations)
Pursuant to the provisions of 16 U.S.C. Section 551, and Title 36 C.F.R. Section 261.50(a) and (b), the following acts or omissions are prohibited on lands and waters within the legislative jurisdiction of the U.S.D.A. Forest Service, Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area. The area consists of over 170,000 acres of National Forest land located in Trigg and Lyon County in Kentucky and Stewart County in Tennessee, and is depicted on the attached map. 1. Possession of firearms is prohibited except during legal firearms hunting seasons by licensed hunters and going to and from the LBL-NRA firearms range. Firearms must be cased and unloaded during transport. 36 CFR 261.53(e) 2. Firearms possessed during legal hunting seasons by licensed hunters must be cased and unloaded (chamber and magazine) while being transported in a motorized vehicle. 36 CFR 261.53(e) The above prohibited acts are set forth in Title 36 C.F.R, Section 261. Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. 261.50(e) the following persons are exempt from the provisions of the above order. 1. Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act. 2. Any Federal, State, or local officer in the performance of an official duty.
Firearms on Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA Property)
4. Firearms and Weapons – TVA campgrounds may receive use by hunters during hunting season. While firearms and weapons are generally prohibited, possession of firearms and other weapons associated with inseason hunting excursions are permissible if they are unloaded and properly cased. Possession of firearms at TVA public ramps, associated roads, and parking areas are allowed if the possession complies with the law of the state where the boat ramp is located and is not otherwise prohibited by law.
Note – There are restrictions on day use areas, campgrounds and TVA lands where hunting is permitted. Also, carrying is allowed on boat ramps and boat parking areas, undeveloped shorelines and roads leading to those areas.
KRS 527.020 (As amended by HB484 ) (9) The provisions of this section shall not apply to a person who carries a concealed deadly weapon on or about his or her person without a license issued pursuant to KRS 237.110: (a) If he or she is the owner of the property or has the permission of the owner of the property, on real property which he or she or his or her spouse, parent, grandparent, or child owns; (b) If he or she is the lessee of the property or has the permission of the lessee of the property, on real property which he or she or his or her spouse, parent, grandparent, or child occupies pursuant to a lease; or (c) If he or she is the sole proprietor of the business, on real property owned or leased by the business.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
Gun signs do not have the force of law within the State of Kentucky per statute 237.110.
If a property is posted it is not advisable to enter the premises no matter what the state laws are regarding signage.
Always honor the rights of the property owner regarding carrying.
No firearms signs do have the force of law when posted on places where carrying is prohibited. If a property is posted and you are asked to leave, it is best to leave rather than risk being arrested and charged.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
You are not required to notify a police officer that you are carrying if contacted.
237.110 (15) The licensee shall carry the license at all times the licensee is carrying a concealed firearm or other deadly weapon and shall display the license upon request of a law enforcement officer. Violation of the provisions of this subsection shall constitute a noncriminal violation with a penalty of twenty-five dollars ($25), payable to the clerk of the District Court, but no court costs shall be assessed.
Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations
Laws regarding storing of firearms in personal vehicles:
237.106 Right of Employees and Other Persons to Possess Firearms in Vehicle — Employer Liable for Denying Right — Exceptions. (1) No person, including but not limited to an employer, who is the owner, lessee, or occupant of real property shall prohibit any person who is legally entitled to possess a firearm from possessing a firearm, part of a firearm, ammunition, or ammunition component in a vehicle on the property.
Note – Rulings have been made that an employee must inform an employer if they will have firearms legally stored in their vehicle or on how these firearms must be concealed.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
It is permissible to carry in State Parks, State and National Forests, State WMAs and Road Side rest areas within Kentucky.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Kentucky Permit
527.020 Carrying Concealed Deadly Weapon.
(8) A loaded or unloaded firearm or other deadly weapon shall not be deemed concealed on or about the person if it is located in any enclosed container, compartment, or storage space [regularly] installed as original equipment in a motor vehicle by its manufacturer, including but not limited to a glove compartment, center console, or seat pocket, regardless of whether said enclosed container, storage space, or compartment is locked, unlocked, or does not have a locking mechanism. No person or organization, public or private, shall prohibit a person from keeping a loaded or unloaded firearm or ammunition, or both, or other deadly weapon in a vehicle in accordance with the provisions of this subsection. Any attempt by a person or organization, public or private, to violate the provisions of this subsection may be the subject of an action for appropriate relief or for damages in a Circuit Court or District Court of competent jurisdiction. This subsection shall not apply to any person prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to KRS 527.040.
Open Carry Laws for Kentucky
Open carry is permitted in Kentucky. There are different laws that apply when you carry openly and rules and restrictions will change. Law enforcement officers may question you if you catch their attention while carrying openly or in a vehicle.
State law preempts all local laws regarding open carry. It is not permissible within the state for cities or counties to restrict carrying of a firearm.
Property owners can ask that you leave their property if they are against your carrying on their property so make sure to respect their wishes.
When traveling, check the requirements for the state where you are traveling because each state will have different open carry laws.
Carry Law Preemptions for Kentucky
State carry law preemptions:
65.870 Local Firearms Control Ordinances Prohibited.
(1) No existing or future city, county, urban-county government, charter county, consolidated local government, unified local government, special district, local or regional public or quasi-public agency, board, commission, department, public corporation, or any person acting under the authority of any of these organizations may occupy any part of the field of regulation of the manufacture, sale, purchase, taxation, transfer, ownership, possession, carrying, storage, or transportation of firearms, ammunition, components of firearms, components of ammunition, firearms accessories, or combination thereof.
(2) Any existing or future ordinance, executive order, administrative regulation, policy, procedure, rule, or any other form of executive or legislative action in violation of this section or the spirit thereof is hereby declared null, void, and unenforceable.
(3) Any person or organization specified in subsection (1) of this section shall repeal, rescind, or amend to conform, any ordinance, administrative regulation, executive order, policy, procedure, rule, or other form of executive or legislative action in violation of this section or the spirit thereof within six (6) months after the effective date of this Act July 12, 2012.
(4) Pursuant to Section 231 of the Constitution of Kentucky insofar as any person or organization specified in subsection (1) of this section is considered an agent of the Commonwealth, it is the intent of the General Assembly to exempt them from any immunity provided in Section 231 of the Constitution of Kentucky to the extent provided in this section. A person or an organization whose membership is adversely affected by any ordinance, administrative regulation, executive order, policy, procedure, rule or any other form of executive or legislative action promulgated or caused to be enforced in violation of this section or the spirit thereof may file suit against any person or organization specified in subsection (1) of this section in any court of this state having jurisdiction over any defendant to the suit for declaratory and injunctive relief. A court shall award the prevailing party in any such suit: (a) Reasonable attorney’s fees and costs in accordance with the laws of this state; and (b) Expert witness fees and expenses.
(5) If any person or organization specified in subsection (1) of this section violates this section or the spirit thereof, the court shall declare the improper ordinance, administrative regulation, executive order, policy, procedure, rule, or other form of executive or legislative action specified in subsection (1) of this section null, void, and unenforceable, and issue a permanent injunction against the person or organization specified in subsection (1) of this section prohibiting the enforcement of such ordinance, administrative regulation, executive order, policy, procedure, rule, or any other form of executive or legislative action specified in subsection (1) of this section.
(6) A violation of this section by a public servant shall be a violation of either KRS 522.020 or 522.030 depending on the circumstances of the violation.
(7) The provisions of this section shall not apply where a statute specifically authorizes or directs an agency or person specified in subsection (1) of this section to regulate a subject specified in subsection (1) of this section.
Kentucky Laws for Use of Deadly Force
Deadly force laws are outlined below:
Title L – Kentucky Penal Code
Chapter 503 General Principles of Justification
503.010 Definitions for chapter.
503.020 Justification — A defense.
503.030 Choice of evils.
503.040 Execution of public duty.
503.050 Use of physical force in self-protection — Admissibility of evidence of prior acts of domestic violence and abuse.
503.055 Use of defensive force regarding dwelling, residence, or occupied vehicle — Exceptions.
503.060 Improper use of physical force in self-protection.
503.070 Protection of another.
503.080 Protection of property.
503.085 Justification and criminal and civil immunity for use of permitted force — Exceptions.
503.090 Use of physical force in law enforcement.
503.100 Prevention of a suicide or crime.
503.110 Use of force by person with responsibility for care, discipline, or safety of others. v 503.120 Justification — General provisions.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
It is permissible to carry firearms in restaurants and establishments where alcohol is served per 237.110.
When traveling, make sure to check the requirements for the state where you are traveling to ensure you are following local laws. Laws will vary from state to state and could even allow carrying in the restaurant portion of the bar but not the bar. Additionally, it is illegal to consume alcohol while carrying a firearm.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
There were not specific laws found regarding defensive sprays, electric weapons or high capacity magazines.
Kentucky LEOSA Information
Information regarding LEOSA within the state can be found at the following links:
LEOSA information for the State of Kentucky:
LEOSA KRS 527.020
(5) (a) The following persons, if they hold a license to carry a concealed deadly weapon pursuant to KRS 237.110 or 237.138 to 237.142, may carry a firearm or other concealed deadly weapon on or about their persons at all times and at all locations within the Commonwealth of Kentucky, without any limitation other than as provided in this subsection: 1. A Commonwealth’s attorney or assistant Commonwealth’s attorney; 2. A retired Commonwealth’s attorney or retired assistant Commonwealth’s attorney; 3. A county attorney or assistant county attorney; 4. A retired county attorney or retired assistant county attorney; 5. A justice or judge of the Court of Justice; 6. A retired or senior status justice or judge of the Court of Justice; and 7. A retired peace officer who holds a concealed deadly weapon license issued pursuant to the federal Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act, 18 U.S.C. sec. 926C, and KRS 237.138 to 237.142.
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions
There are numerous cases regarding carry laws within the State of Kentucky, check the Attorney General page for the most recent decisions and rulings. Cases including carrying in city parks, city preemptions, court buildings, college campuses, firearms registration, firearms in vehicles on university property and employee storage requirements.
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
It is permissible to carry within an airport terminal and parking lot per 237.11.
There is no set period for training being valid.
License minimum age is 21 years.
Permit information is not public.
State reciprocity guidelines are outlined in 237.110.
Firearms laws are defined in 237.020 to 237.990.
Knife laws are outlined in 500.08.
No laws were found for chemical or electric weapons.
No laws found regarding body armor.
Permits cover weapons besides firearms per 237.110.
It is permissible to carry while hunting per the Hunting and Trapping Guide provided by the State of Kentucky.
Loaded firearm definition:
237.060 Definitions for KRS 237.060 to 237.090 and Certain Other Sections. (4) “Loaded” with respect to a firearm means: (a) There is ammunition in the chamber of the firearm; or (b) There is ammunition in the cylinder of the firearm; or (c) There is ammunition in the magazine of a firearm, if the magazine is attached to the firearm.
Emergency powers for the State of Kentucky:
237.104 Rights to Acquire, Carry, and Use Deadly Weapons Not to Be Impaired During Disaster or Emergency — Seizure of Deadly Weapons During Disaster or Emergency Prohibited — Application of Section.
(1) No person, unit of government, or governmental organization shall, during a period of disaster or emergency as specified in KRS Chapter 39A or at any other time, have the right to revoke, suspend, limit the use of, or otherwise impair the validity of the right of any person to purchase, transfer, loan, own, possess, carry, or use a firearm, firearm part, ammunition, ammunition component, or any deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.
(2) No person, unit of government, or governmental organization shall, during a period of disaster or emergency as specified in KRS Chapter 39A or at any other time, take, seize, confiscate, or impound a firearm, firearm part, ammunition, ammunition component, or any deadly weapon or dangerous instrument from any person.
(3) The provisions of this section shall not apply to the taking of an item specified in subsection (1) or (2) of this section from a person who is: (a) Forbidden to possess a firearm pursuant to KRS 527.040; (b) Forbidden to possess a firearm pursuant to federal law; (c) Violating KRS 527.020; (d) In possession of a stolen firearm; (e) Using a firearm in the commission of a separate criminal offense; or (f) Using a firearm or other weapon in the commission of an offense under KRS Chapter 150.
Note when a state is receiving federal money different laws will apply. It is important to check the requirements for the state where you are traveling to see if federal laws apply.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age in the State of Kentucky for transporting and possessing firearms is 18 per penal code 527.100. This applies to firearms that are secured in a vehicle with no permit.
When transporting in a different state check the requirements for that state to ensure that you are following the laws where you are traveling. Additional restrictions and guidelines may come into play for transporting to and from shooting ranges, gun shops or other property that you own.
7/21/15 – Initial page created.