sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

While our online training program may not allow you to apply for Illinois permit/license to carry, residents of Illinois can utilize our online training program to apply for a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Illinois’ permit alone.

Illinois does issue carry permit/licenses to residents of Illinois through the Illinois State Police. Illinois does not recognize the Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License in lieu of their permits.

However, by getting the State of Virginia’s Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you can  INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.

Illinois Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Illinois' Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in illinois.  This is good for recoprocity to other states only for Illinois residents and non-residents.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Illinois Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*

  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Illinois

    Currently the State of Illinois does not honor permits from any other states.

    Only concealed carry permits from the State of Illinois are recognized.

    Concealed Carry Guide for the State of Illinois overview provided by Illinois State Senator Jason Barickman.

  • Applying for a Permit in Illinois

    Below are the minimum requirements for Illinois State residents to apply for a permit:

    • Each applicant must complete 16 hours of training that is provided by an approved instructor from ISP
    • Applicants must provide an electronic copy of the training certificate which will be uploaded when applicants apply
    • Applicants must have an Illinois Digital ID (The Illinois Digital ID website has the process to apply, important – only Internet Explorer is supported on this site and you must have JAVA enabled)
    • Each applicant must possess an identification card from the State of Illinois or driver’s license
    • Applications must include a valid FOID
    • Current photograph that shows the head and shoulders in the frame
    • Show residency status for the previous ten years
    • Provide fingerprints, note that electronic Live Scan sites are available to complete your fingerprints electronically which can expedite the application process, make sure to note that fingerprints are for a Concealed Carry application when you apply
    • Application fee of $150.00 which can be paid by electronic check or credit card

    Information on applying for a permit is available at this link.

    Medical records are required in order to apply for a permit, the process to apply and obtain records is included on the Application.

    Training must be completed with a certified instructor and must be a minimum of 16 total hours. Prior training can be used in certain conditions. For more information on the training requirements follow this link.

    Note - Illinois State law provides 90 days to allow the police to process the application and send you the permit. If fingerprints are not submitted at the same time then allow an additional 30 days for processing.

    When doing fingerprints you will be provided with a TCN or transaction control number which you should use when completing the concealed carry application.

    Note – As of March 8, 2015 changes were made to the CCL and FOID application process. Applicants do not need to apply for the Illinois digital identification with the Illinois Dept. of Central Management Services which makes the application process easier overall for new applications. All returning and new applicants for the CCL now need to register with the police within the State of Illinois and create a user account with name and login information. The updated website for this process is scheduled to go live on March 13, 2015, inquiries and questions can be submitted at 217-782-7980.

    Phone Applications
    There is an option to apply by phone by contacting the Illinois State Police Customer Service Department and apply by providing the same information that you would provide in the online form.

    The call center will need the following:
    • Full name and any previous names used
    • Date of birth
    • Driver’s license information or State ID information
    • Firearms Owner Identification number
    • Mailing address
    • Residence information for at least ten years
    • Fingerprint identification number TCN
    • Instructors name and ID number from training course

    Data provided will be validated and then payment will be processed electronically via their secure payment system.

    After the validation and payment are completed an application will be mailed to the applicant. The applicant needs to review that all information is correct on the application and initial in the appropriate areas. Then answer all background questions, sign and date prior to returning the application with a 2x2 inch recent photo showing head and shoulders and training certificate.

    The Illinois State Police will begin processing the application once it is received.

    Firearms Owner Identification (FOID) Card Information
    The State of Illinois uses a firearms identification system to allow them to identify eligible people who can both possess and purchase firearms. This was a part of a public safety program initiated by the state in 1968.

    Anyone who possesses or acquires a firearm in the State of Illinois must have a valid FOID in their name.

    Note – After March 9, 2015 there are updates to the FOID program and they will no longer accept paper applications for those over the age of 21. Under 21 and with no driver’s license applicants will still use the paper application.

    For information on applying for the FOID card contact the Illinois State Police.

    The FOID card expires 10 years after the date of issuance, previously this was five years.

    Note – The State of Illinois laws for handguns will preempts all local laws and handgun restrictions. Local authorities may restrict long guns still. No new long gun restrictions can be passed 10 days after concealed carry laws go into effect.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    Non-residents are eligible to apply for a Concealed Carry License in the State of Illinois as long as their state of residency has similar rules as the State of Illinois and you have a concealed carry permit from that state. Four States currently meet these requirements including: Virginia, South Carolina, New Mexico and Hawaii.

    Only the residents of these four states may apply for an Illinois permit. Specific requirements for this permit are located at this link. When another state becomes eligible the site will be updated to reflect the new state(s).

    Requirements for non-resident applicants:

    • Complete 16 hours of training by a certified instructor
    • Provide a copy of the concealed license from the home state
    • Copies of the completed training certificates uploaded electronically
    • Current photograph showing head and shoulders
    • Valid driver’s license or identification card issued by the state
    • Provide residency information for the past ten years
    Documented and notarized proof of eligibility that applicant is eligible and understands all laws pertaining to owning, possessing and transporting firearms.
    • Proof that mental health standards have been met
    • Payment of $300 via credit card or electronic check

    Non-residents are able to apply by phone similar to the resident application. Instructions are available here.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    The Firearm Concealed Carry Act Section 65 outlines the locations where a weapon can and cannot be carried:(430 ILCS 66/65)
    Sec. 65. Prohibited areas.
    (a) A licensee under this Act shall not knowingly carry a firearm on or into:
    (1) Any building, real property, and parking area
    under the control of a public or private elementary or secondary school.
    (2) Any building, real property, and parking area
    under the control of a pre-school or child care facility, including any room or portion of a building under the control of a pre-school or child care facility. Nothing in this paragraph shall prevent the operator of a child care facility in a family home from owning or possessing a firearm in the home or license under this Act, if no child under child care at the home is present in the home or the firearm in the home is stored in a locked container when a child under child care at the home is present in the home.
    (3) Any building, parking area, or portion of a
    building under the control of an officer of the executive or legislative branch of government, provided that nothing in this paragraph shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm onto the real property, bikeway, or trail in a park regulated by the Department of Natural Resources or any other designated public hunting area or building where firearm possession is permitted as established by the Department of Natural Resources under Section 1.8 of the Wildlife Code.
    (4) Any building designated for matters before a
    circuit court, appellate court, or the Supreme Court, or any building or portion of a building under the control of the Supreme Court.
    (5) Any building or portion of a building under the
    control of a unit of local government.
    (6) Any building, real property, and parking area
    under the control of an adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail.
    (7) Any building, real property, and parking area
    under the control of a public or private hospital or hospital affiliate, mental health facility, or nursing home.
    (8) Any bus, train, or form of transportation paid
    for in whole or in part with public funds, and any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public transportation facility paid for in whole or in part with public funds.
    (9) Any building, real property, and parking area
    under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment's gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol. The owner of an establishment who knowingly fails to prohibit concealed firearms on its premises as provided in this paragraph or who knowingly makes a false statement or record to avoid the prohibition on concealed firearms under this paragraph is subject to the penalty under subsection (c-5) of Section 10-1 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934.
    (10) Any public gathering or special event conducted
    on property open to the public that requires the issuance of a permit from the unit of local government, provided this prohibition shall not apply to a licensee who must walk through a public gathering in order to access his or her residence, place of business, or vehicle.
    (11) Any building or real property that has been
    issued a Special Event Retailer's license as defined in Section 1-3.17.1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special Event Retailer's license, or a Special use permit license as defined in subsection (q) of Section 5-1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special use permit license.
    (12) Any public playground.
    (13) Any public park, athletic area, or athletic
    facility under the control of a municipality or park district, provided nothing in this Section shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm while on a trail or bikeway if only a portion of the trail or bikeway includes a public park.
    (14) Any real property under the control of the Cook
    County Forest Preserve District.
    (15) Any building, classroom, laboratory, medical
    clinic, hospital, artistic venue, athletic venue, entertainment venue, officially recognized university-related organization property, whether owned or leased, and any real property, including parking areas, sidewalks, and common areas under the control of a public or private community college, college, or university.
    (16) Any building, real property, or parking area
    under the control of a gaming facility licensed under the Riverboat Gambling Act or the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975, including an inter-track wagering location licensee.
    (17) Any stadium, arena, or the real property or
    parking area under the control of a stadium, arena, or any collegiate or professional sporting event.
    (18) Any building, real property, or parking area
    under the control of a public library.
    (19) Any building, real property, or parking area
    under the control of an airport.
    (20) Any building, real property, or parking area
    under the control of an amusement park.
    (21) Any building, real property, or parking area
    under the control of a zoo or museum.
    (22) Any street, driveway, parking area, property,
    building, or facility, owned, leased, controlled, or used by a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission. The licensee shall not under any circumstance store a firearm or ammunition in his or her vehicle or in a compartment or container within a vehicle located anywhere in or on the street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility described in this paragraph.
    (23) Any area where firearms are prohibited under
    federal law. (a-5) Nothing in this Act shall prohibit a public or private community college, college, or university from:
    (1) prohibiting persons from carrying a firearm
    within a vehicle owned, leased, or controlled by the college or university;
    (2) developing resolutions, regulations, or policies
    regarding student, employee, or visitor misconduct and discipline, including suspension and expulsion;
    (3) developing resolutions, regulations, or policies
    regarding the storage or maintenance of firearms, which must include designated areas where persons can park vehicles that carry firearms; and
    (4) permitting the carrying or use of firearms for
    the purpose of instruction and curriculum of officially recognized programs, including but not limited to military science and law enforcement training programs, or in any designated area used for hunting purposes or target shooting.
    (a-10) The owner of private real property of any type may prohibit the carrying of concealed firearms on the property under his or her control. The owner must post a sign in accordance with subsection (d) of this Section indicating that firearms are prohibited on the property, unless the property is a private residence.
    (b) Notwithstanding subsections (a), (a-5), and (a-10) of this Section except under paragraph (22) or (23) of subsection (a), any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location specified in subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area.

    A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle's trunk, provided the licensee ensures the concealed firearm is unloaded prior to exiting the vehicle. For purposes of this subsection, "case" includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container.
    (c) A licensee shall not be in violation of this Section while he or she is traveling along a public right of way that touches or crosses any of the premises under subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section if the concealed firearm is carried on his or her person in accordance with the provisions of this Act or is being transported in a vehicle by the licensee in accordance with all other applicable provisions of law.
    (d) Signs stating that the carrying of firearms is prohibited shall be clearly and conspicuously posted at the entrance of a building, premises, or real property specified in this Section as a prohibited area, unless the building or premises is a private residence. Signs shall be of a uniform design as established by the Department and shall be 4 inches by 6 inches in size. The Department shall adopt rules for standardized signs to be used under this subsection.
    (Source: P.A. 98-63, eff. 7-9-13.)

    Laser Site Considerations within the State of Illinois

    Special requirements are in effect for the possession of laser sites, silencers and any type of firearm muffler within certain locations of the state.

    8-20-060 Possession of a laser sight accessory, firearm silencer or muffler.
    (a) It is unlawful for any person to carry, possess, display for sale, sell or otherwise transfer any laser sight accessory, or a firearm silencer or muffler.
    (b) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any members of the armed forces of the United States, or the organized militia of this or any other state, or peace officers, to the extent that any such person is otherwise authorized to acquire or possess a laser sight accessory, or firearm silencer or muffler, and is acting within the scope of his duties.
    (c) Any laser sight accessory, or firearm silencer or muffler, carried, possessed, displayed or sold in violation of this section is hereby declared to be contraband and shall be seized by and forfeited to the city.
    (Added Coun. J. 7-2-10, p. 96234, § 4)

    A notice and Chicago ordinance has been put into effect instructing officers to confiscate any offending firearms. The firearms laws are being updated, however, take caution until these new laws are put into effect.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    Gun signs do have the force of law per the following.

    (d) Signs stating that the carrying of firearms is prohibited shall be clearly and conspicuously posted at the entrance of a building, premises, or real property specified in this Section as a prohibited area, unless the building or premises is a private residence. Signs shall be of a uniform design as established by the Department and shall be 4 inches by 6 inches in size. The Department shall adopt rules for standardized signs to be used under this subsection.

    Specific requirements for signage must be followed and if you are carrying concealed and see a “No Firearms” allowed sign of any type it is recommended that you do not carrying.

    The specifications for “No Carry” signage can be found at the following location.

  • Contact with Law Enforcement Requirements

    Whenever you are carrying a concealed weapon with the State of Illinois, you must have your concealed weapons license in your possession as well. If you are stopped for any reason by a police officer, and the officer asks if you are carrying concealed then you must disclose that you are carrying concealed and show proof of license. This applies to all persons in a vehicle as well. Carry information is by request only.

  • Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations

    Parked Vehicle Firearm Storage

    Requirements for storing in a parked vehicle are outlined here:

    Section 65 (b) Notwithstanding subsections (a), (a-5), and (a-10) of this Section except under paragraph (22) or (23) of subsection (a), any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location specified in subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle's trunk, provided the licensee ensures the concealed firearm is unloaded prior to exiting the vehicle. For purposes of this subsection, "case" includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container. (See Places Off Limits for those places listed in Subsections (a), (a-5 and (a-10).)

  • Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands

    The State of Illinois allows people to carry in all state parks, state and national forests, and WMA’s.

    No carrying is permitted on roadsides or state rest areas.

    For full information visit the FAQs.

  • Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Illinois Permit

    You must possess a valid license in order to carry a loaded firearm within a vehicle:

    Section 40 (e) Nothing in this Act shall prohibit a non-resident from transporting a concealed firearm within his or her vehicle in Illinois, if the concealed firearm remains within his or her vehicle and the non-resident: (1) is not prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under federal law; (2) is eligible to carry a firearm in public under the laws of his or her state or territory of residence, as evidenced by the possession of a concealed carry license or permit issued by his or her state of residence, if applicable; and (3) is not in possession of a license under this Act. If the non-resident leaves his or her vehicle unattended, he or she shall store the firearm within a locked vehicle or locked container within the vehicle in accordance with subsection (b) of Section 65 of this Act. (Source: P.A. 98-63, eff. 7-9-13.)

    Subsection (b) of Section 65 States: www.handgunlaw.us 10 (b) Notwithstanding subsections (a), (a-5), and (a-10) of this Section except under paragraph (22) or (23) of subsection (a), any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area of a prohibited location specified in subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle's trunk, provided the licensee ensures the concealed firearm is unloaded prior to exiting the vehicle. For purposes of this subsection, "case" includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container.
    Important considerations for traveling with firearms within the State of Illinois:

    • Concealed firearm is defined as a firearm that is either loaded or unloaded and is being carried on a person that is mostly concealed from the public view.
    • If you are traveling and stop your vehicle, a loaded firearm can be stored in a locked compartment or case as long as it is out of view within the vehicle.
    • Do not leave a handgun in a vehicle without first unloading and securing it in a closed container or trunk in order to exit the vehicle.
    • Travelers who do not stop within the state are governed by federal laws for transporting firearms. If you stop you will then fall under state laws.
    • It is legal to have both ammunition and a firearm stored in the same case as long as all other carry requirements are met.
    • Firearms can be stored in hotel rooms as long as all other laws are being followed.

    US Code 926 A outlines the requirements for transporting firearms:

    Notwithstanding any other provision of any law or any rule or regulation of a State or any political subdivision thereof, any person who is not otherwise prohibited by this chapter from transporting, shipping, or receiving a firearm shall be entitled to transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from any place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm to any other place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm if, during such transportation the firearm is unloaded, and neither the firearm nor any ammunition being transported is readily accessible or is directly accessible from the passenger compartment of such transporting vehicle: Provided, That in the case of a vehicle without a compartment separate from the driver’s compartment the firearm or ammunition shall be contained in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console.

  • Open Carry Laws for Illinois

    Open carry is not legal within the State of Illinois. If a person possesses an Illinois Permit to Carry license the handgun must be concealed from view.

  • Carry Law Preemptions for Illinois

    Preemptions for the State of Illinois:

    The regulation, licensing, possession, registration, and transportation of concealed handguns and ammunition for concealed handguns by licensees are exclusive powers and functions of the State. Any ordinance or regulation, or portion thereof, enacted on or before the effective date of this Act that purports to impose regulations or restrictions on licensees or concealed handguns and ammunition for concealed handguns in a manner inconsistent with this Act shall be invalid in its application to licensees under this Act on the effective date of this Act. This Section is a denial and limitation of home rule powers and functions under subsection (h) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution.

  • Illinois Laws for Use of Deadly Force

    Illinois deadly force laws allow for the following:

    Sec. 7-1. Use of force in defense of person. Sec. 7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling. Sec. 7-3. Use of force in defense of other property. Sec. 7-4. Use of force by aggressor. Sec. 7-5. Peace officer's use of force in making arrest. Sec. 7-6. Private person's use of force in making arrest. Sec. 7-7. Private person's use of force in resisting arrest. Sec. 7-8. Force likely to cause death or great bodily harm. Sec. 7-9. Use of force to prevent escape. Sec. 7-11. Compulsion. Sec. 7-12. Entrapment. Sec. 7-13. Necessity. Sec. 7-14. Affirmative defense.

  • State and City Laws for Carrying Knives

    The State of Illinois outlines the requirements for carrying knives and a summary of these requirements is included at this site.

  • Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served

    It is permissible in the State of Illinois to carry firearms on the premises where alcohol is served except when the restaurant has posted a sign prohibiting firearms or carrying on the premises.

    (9) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment's gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol. The owner of an establishment who knowingly fails to prohibit concealed firearms on its premises as provided in this paragraph or who knowingly makes a false statement or record to avoid the prohibition on concealed firearms under this paragraph is subject to the penalty under subsection (c-5) of Section 10-1 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934.

  • Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws

    There are specific requirements for carrying electronic weapons and defensive sprays within the State of Illinois:

    720 ILCS 5/24-1 The use of a product “…containing a non-lethal noxious liquid gas or substance designed solely for personal defense carried by a person 18 years of age or older” (non-lethal is the key word in this Illinois Law) Illinois 430ILCS65/2 (from Ch. 38, par. 83-2) Sec. 2. Firearm Owner's Identification Card Required; Exceptions. (a) (1) No person may acquire or possess any firearm, stun gun, or taser within this State without having in his or her possession a Firearm Owner's Identification Card previously issued in his or her name by the Department of State Police under the provisions of this Act. (Electric weapons can only be carried ready for use in your home or place of business. In all other places including automobiles they must be secured and not ready for use even if you have a permit to carry a firearm.)

    Local ordinances outline bans regarding high capacity magazines:

    Local Restrictions on Magazines: Aurora (§ 29-49) bans the possession, sale, or acquisition of large capacity feeding devices (magazines with a capacity of more than 15 rounds). Chicago 8-20-010 Definitions Previous ordinances on the restrictions have been deleted and this sections has all the restrictions for handguns and long guns in Chicago. The new preemption law voids all handgun restrictions in Illinois. Franklin Park (§ 3-13G-3) bans the transfer, acquisition, possession, manufacture or distribution of assault ammunition (any detachable ammunition magazine having a capacity of more than 16 rounds). Oak Park (§§ 27-2-1 and 27-1-2) bans the possession and sale of large capacity feeding devices (magazines with a capacity of more than 10 rounds). Riverdale (§ 5.120.180 and 5.120.190) bans the possession, transfer, acquisition or manufacture of assault ammunition (a detachable magazine box with a capacity of “more than 35 rounds centerfire.”).

  • Illinois LEOSA Information

    Link to the Law Enforcement Officer’s Safety Act (LEOSA) for the State of Illinois.

  • Additional Information and Airport Requirements

    The below are addition carry information for the State of Illinois:

    • Carrying within an airport is not allowed, parking lot storage is allowed
    • Training period validity is not set
    • Residency is established once the person has a valid driver’s license or ID card issued by the state
    • Minimum age for a permit to carry is 21 years and 18 years for an FOID with parental consent
    • Concealed carry permit and FOID information is not public
    • Concealed carry permits only cover firearms
    • Hunters are allowed to carry concealed with a permit while hunting for self-defense purposes

  • Supplemental Information

    Additional information regarding concealed carry laws in the State of Illinois:

    Sec. 7. Emergency Powers of the Governor. (Edited for Space Considerations) (a) In the event of a disaster, as defined in Section 4, the Governor may, by proclamation declare that a disaster exists. Upon such proclamation, the Governor shall have and may exercise for a period not to exceed 30 days the following emergency powers; provided, however, that the lapse of the emergency powers shall not, as regards any act or acts occurring or committed within the 30 days period, deprive any person, firm, corporation, political subdivision, or body politic of any right or rights to compensation or reimbursement which he, she, it, or they may have under the provisions of this Act: (1) To suspend the provisions of any regulatory statute prescribing procedures for conduct of State business, or the orders, rules and regulations of any State agency, if strict compliance with the provisions of any statute, order, rule, or regulation would in any way prevent, hinder or delay necessary action, including emergency purchases, by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, in coping with the disaster. (2) To utilize all available resources of the State government as reasonably necessary to cope with the disaster and of each political subdivision of the State. (3) To transfer the direction, personnel or functions of State departments and agencies or units thereof for the purpose of performing or facilitating disaster response and recovery programs. (5) When required by the exigencies of the disaster, to sell, lend, rent, give, or distribute all or any part of property so or otherwise acquired to the inhabitants of this State, or to political subdivisions of this State, or, under the interstate mutual aid agreements or compacts as are entered into under the provisions of subparagraph (5) of paragraph (c) of Section 6 to other states, and to account for and transmit to the State Treasurer all funds, if any, received therefor. (6) To recommend the evacuation of all or part of the population from any stricken or threatened area within the State if the Governor deems this action necessary. (7) To prescribe routes, modes of transportation, and destinations in connection with evacuation. (8) To control ingress and egress to and from a disaster area, the movement of persons within the area, and the occupancy of premises therein. (9) To suspend or limit the sale, dispensing, or transportation of alcoholic beverages, firearms, explosives, and combustibles. (10) To make provision for the availability and use of temporary emergency housing.

  • Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms

    The minimum age for possessing and transporting a handgun is 18 years old and they must have an FOID card that requires parental consent under the age of 21.

    Possession and transport laws vary from state to state, check each state where you will be traveling to ensure compliance.

  • Revisions

    3/22/15 – Initial page created.

Scroll to Top