Contact Us     
sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia non-residents permit/licenses which is honored in Idaho.

Idaho also offers non residents a carry permit/license.  Idaho also recognize the Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License.

Idaho Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Idaho's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in Idaho as a valid concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Idaho Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Idaho

    The State of Idaho honors all other permits and licenses that states have issued per the statute below.

    18-3302. Concealed Weapons

    (5) The requirement to secure a license to carry concealed weapons under this section shall not apply to the following persons:

    (g) Any person who has physical possession of his valid license or permit authorizing him to carry concealed weapons from another state; and

    (h) Any person who has physical possession of a valid license or permit from a local law enforcement agency or court of the United States authorizing him to carry concealed weapons




  • Carrying without a permit within Idaho

    It is legal in the State of Idaho for anyone who is at least 21 years of age to own and carry a firearm concealed as long as they are outside city boundaries. Incorporated areas that obtained at least the 125 votes required will have similar requirements.

    Statute outlining carrying laws in the State of Idaho:

    18-3302 (3) No person shall carry concealed weapons on or about his person without a license to carry concealed weapons, except: (a) In the person's place of abode or fixed place of business; (b) On property in which the person has any ownership or leasehold interest; (c) On private property where the person has permission to carry concealed weapons from any person with an ownership or leasehold interest; (d) Outside the limits of or confines of any city.

    (4) Subsection (3) of this section shall not apply to restrict or prohibit the carrying or possession of: (a) Any deadly weapon located in plain view; (b) Any lawfully possessed shotgun or rifle; (c) A firearm that is not loaded and is concealed in a motor vehicle; (d) A firearm that is not loaded and is secured in a case; and (e) A firearm that is disassembled or permanently altered such that it is not readily operable.

    50-101. Incorporation. The residents of any unincorporated contiguous area (village) containing not less than 125 qualified electors may present a petition signed by a majority of the said electors to the board of commissioners of the county in which said petitioners reside, praying that they be incorporated as a city, designating the name they wish to assume and the metes and bounds of the proposed city.

  • Applying for a Permit in Idaho

    Applying for a permit in the State requires that you go to the Sheriff’s department in your region and complete all application paperwork and requirements at that time. When applying make sure you have both an identification with a photo and the completed training certificate. In some areas the Sheriff’s office will offer training.

    The Sheriff’s office is authorized to collect all appropriate fees for processing fingerprints and other materials as necessary. For specific information on fees contact the Sheriff’s office as they may change.

    The permit is good for a period of five years.

    18-3302. Issuance of Licenses to Carry Concealed Weapons.

    (7) The sheriff of a county, on behalf of the state of Idaho, must, within ninety (90) days after the filing of a license application by any person who is not disqualified as provided herein from possessing or receiving a firearm under state or federal law, issue a license to the person to carry concealed weapons on his person within this state. Such license shall be valid for five (5) years from the date of issuance.

    (8) The sheriff must make license applications readily available at the office of the sheriff, at other public offices in his or her jurisdiction and on the website of the Idaho state police. The license application shall be in a form to be prescribed by the director of the Idaho state police.

    (9) The sheriff may require the applicant to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm and must accept any one

    (1) of the following as evidence of the applicant's familiarity with a firearm: (a) Completion of any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the department of fish and game or a similar agency of another state; (b) Completion of any national rifle association firearms safety or training course or any national rifle association hunter education course or any equivalent course; (c) Completion of any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, university or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the national rifle association or the Idaho state police; (d) Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or offered for any division or subdivision of a law enforcement agency or security enforcement agency; (e) Evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service; (f) Is currently licensed to carry concealed weapons pursuant to this section, unless the license has been revoked for cause; (g) Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state certified or national rifle association certified firearms instructor; or (h) Other training that the sheriff deems appropriate.

    (10) Any person applying for original issuance of a license to carry concealed weapons must submit his fingerprints with the completed license application.

    (11) A license to carry concealed weapons shall not be issued to any person who: (a) Is under twenty-one (21) years of age, except as otherwise provided in this section;

    (14) The fee for original issuance of a license shall be twenty dollars ($20.00), The sheriff may collect the actual cost of any additional fees necessary to cover the cost of processing fingerprints lawfully required by any state or federal agency or department, and the actual cost of materials for the license lawfully required by any state agency or department, which costs must be paid to the state.

    (15) The fee for renewal of the license shall be fifteen dollars ($15.00), Additional Fees may be collected as stated in (14) above.

    (17) No city, county or other political subdivision of this state shall modify or add to the requirements of this section, nor shall a city, county or political subdivision ask the applicant to voluntarily submit any information not required in this section.

    (19) The sheriff of a county may issue a license to carry a concealed weapon to those individuals between the ages of eighteen (18) and twenty-one (21) years who in the judgment of the sheriff warrant the issuance of the license. Such issuance shall be subject to limitations which the issuing authority deems appropriate.

    Information on enhanced concealed licenses:

    18-3302K. Issuance of Enhanced Licenses to Carry Concealed Weapons.

    (4) The sheriff must deny an enhanced license to carry a concealed weapon if the applicant is disqualified under any of the criteria listed in section 18-3302(11), Idaho Code, or does not meet all of the following qualifications:

    (a) Is over the age of twenty-one (21) years;

    (b) Has been a legal resident of the state of Idaho for at least six (6) consecutive months before filing an application under this section or holds a current license or permit to carry concealed weapons issued by his state of residence; and

    (c) Has successfully completed within the twelve (12) months immediately preceding filing an application, a qualifying handgun course as specified in this paragraph and taught by a certified instructor who is copy of the certificate of successful completion of the handgun course, in a form to be prescribed by the director of the Idaho state police and signed by the course instructor, must be submitted to the sheriff at the time of filing an application under this section.

    Fees for the enhanced permit are the same as those for the normal so check with the Sheriff’s office for specifics. The same application and forms are used as well for both. The license will also appear the same but will have the word enhanced written on it.

    Emergency License 18-3302

    (6) The sheriff of the county of the applicant's residence or, if the applicant has obtained a protection order pursuant to chapter 63, title 39, Idaho Code, the sheriff of a county where the applicant is temporarily residing may issue a temporary emergency license for good cause pending review of an application made under subsection (7) of this section. Temporary emergency licenses must be easily distinguishable from regular licenses. A temporary emergency license shall be valid for not more than ninety (90) days.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    Idaho does allow nonresidents to apply for permits by contacting the Canyon County Sheriff’s Department or the Ada County Sheriff’s Department. In both cases, they will mail an application which the nonresident can complete and return.

    The processing of the application takes approximately 90 days and requires that the applicant go in person to pick it up after processing.

    The Ada County process for obtaining a concealed permit requires the applicant to go to the Driver’s Licensing Unit and bring proof of training and photo identification. Idaho applicants may use a military ID as proof of training. Fingerprinting will be completed at time of application.

    18-3302K

    (4)(a) Has been a legal resident of the state of Idaho for at least six (6) consecutive months before filing an application under this section or holds a current license or permit to carry concealed firearms issued by his state of residence

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    Per Statute 18-3302 C – Carrying is not allowed in courthouses, juvenile detention centers, jails or private and public schools.

    18-3302D. Possessing Weapons or Firearms on School Property

    (d) Any adult over eighteen (18) years of age and not enrolled in a public or private elementary or secondary school who has lawful possession of a firearm or other deadly or dangerous weapon, secured and locked in his vehicle in an unobtrusive, nonthreatening manner; (e) A person who lawfully possesses a firearm or other deadly or dangerous weapon in a private vehicle while delivering minor children, students or school employees to and from school or a school activity; (f) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 18-3302C, Idaho Code, a person or an employee of the school or school district who is authorized to carry a firearm with the permission of the board of trustees of the school district or the governing board.

    18-3309. Authority of Governing Boards of Public Colleges and Universities Regarding Firearms

    (1) The board of regents of the university of Idaho, the boards of trustees of the state colleges and universities, the board of professional-technical education and the boards of trustees of each of the community colleges established under chapter 21, title 33, Idaho Code, hereby have the authority to prescribe rules and regulations relating to firearms.
    (2) Notwithstanding any other provision of state law, this authority shall not extend to regulating or prohibiting the otherwise lawful possession, carrying or transporting of firearms or ammunition by persons licensed under section 18-3302H or 18-3302K, Idaho Code. (a) However, a person issued a license under the provisions of section 18-3302H or 18- 3302K, Idaho Code, shall not carry a concealed weapon: (i) Within a student dormitory or residence hall; or (ii) Within any building of a public entertainment facility, provided that proper signage is conspicuously posted at each point of public ingress to the facility notifying attendees of any restriction on the possession of firearms in the facility during the game or event. (b) As used in this section: (i) "Public entertainment facility" means an arena, stadium, amphitheater, auditorium, theater or similar facility with a seating capacity of at least one thousand (1,000) persons that is owned or operated by the board of regents of the university of Idaho, a board of trustees of a state college or university, the state board of professional-technical education or a board of trustees of a community college established under chapter 21, title 33, Idaho Code, that is primarily designed and used for artistic, theatrical, cultural, charitable, musical, sporting or entertainment events, but does not include publicly accessible outdoor grounds or rights-of-way appurtenant to the facility, including parking lots within the facility used for the parking of motor vehicles. (ii) "Student dormitory or residence hall" means a building owned or operated by the board of regents of the university of Idaho, a board of trustees of a state college or university, the state board of professional-technical education or a board of trustees of a community college established under chapter 21, title 33, Idaho Code, located on or within the campus area owned by the university or college to house persons residing on campus as students, but does not include off-campus housing or publicly accessible outdoor grounds or rights- of-way appurtenant to the building, including parking lots within the building used for the parking of motor vehicles.
    (c) The provisions of subsection (2)(a) shall not apply to the following persons: (i) A person or persons complying with the provisions of section 19-202A, Idaho Code. (ii) A person or an employee who is authorized to carry a firearm by the university or college board of trustees, board of regents, governing board or a person or entity with authority over the building or facility. (iii) A person who possesses a firearm for authorized use in an approved program, event, activity or other circumstance approved by a person or entity with authority over the building or facility. (iv) A person who possesses a firearm in a private vehicle while delivering students, employees or other persons to and from a university, college or public entertainment facility. (v) An on-duty or off-duty certified peace officer.
    (3) Any rule, regulation or policy that is contrary to this section is null and void.

    Note: several educational institutions such as the University of Idaho have published separate carry requirements and it is advisable to understand these requirements as well.
    Chapter 3, 5-343. Immunity of Colleges and Universities Allowing Firearms. (Effective 7/1/14)

    No action shall lie or be maintained for civil damages in any court of this state against the board of regents of the university of Idaho, the boards of trustees of the state colleges and universities, a dormitory housing commission, the board of professional-technical education or the boards of trustees of each of the community colleges established under chapter 21, title 33, Idaho Code, where the claim arises out of the policy of the board or commission to either specifically allow or not prohibit the lawful possession and storage of firearms on its property.

    600. Personal Safety, Firearms. State Parks

    No person may purposefully or negligently endanger the life of any person or creature within any land administered by the Department. No person may discharge firearms or other projectile firing devices within any lands administered by the Department, except in the lawful defense of person, persons, or property or in the course of lawful hunting, or for exhibition or at designated ranges as authorized by the Director. (7-1- 09)T

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    Gun signs do not have the force of law in the state. The only time that these signs have the force of law is when they are posted in locations that are already prohibited by state laws and requirements. If a property is posted and you are asked to leave it is imperative that you leave the property.

  • Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements

    Per the below statutes you are not required to immediately notify an officer if you make contact that you are carrying concealed. Additionally, there is vagueness as to whether you are required to have a permit while carrying openly but concealed does require that you carry a permit.

    Idaho Statutes 18-3302

    (12) The requirement to secure a license to carry a concealed weapon under this section shall not apply to the following persons: (g) Any person who has a valid permit from a state or local law enforcement agency or court authorizing him to carry a concealed weapon. A permit issued in another state will only be considered valid if the permit is in the licensee's physical possession.

    18-3302. Issuance of Licenses to Carry Concealed Weapons

    (7) Except in the person's place of abode or fixed place of business, or on property in which the person has any ownership or leasehold interest, a person shall not carry a concealed weapon without a license to carry a concealed weapon. For the purposes of this section, a concealed weapon means any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver or any other deadly or dangerous weapon. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any lawfully possessed shotgun or rifle. (9) While in any motor vehicle, inside the limits or confines of any city, a person shall not carry a concealed weapon on or about his person without a license to carry a concealed weapon. This shall not apply to any firearm located in plain view whether it is loaded or unloaded. A firearm may be concealed legally in a motor vehicle so long as the weapon is disassembled or unloaded.

  • Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations

    Employers are permitted to post that firearms are prohibited, even within vehicles however the below statute is intended to protect employers from liability due to firearms in private vehicles.

    Title 5 Chapter 3 5-341 Immunity of Employers Allowing Employee Firearm Storage. No action shall lie or be maintained for civil damages in any court of this state against an employer where the claim arises out of the policy of an employer to either specifically allow or not prohibit the lawful storage of firearms by employees in their personal motor vehicles on the employer's business premises.

  • Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands

    Carrying is permitted in the following areas: State Parks, State Forests, National Forests, State WMAs and road side rest areas.

  • Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Idaho Permit

    The State of Idaho allows anyone who is at least 21 years old to legally possess and carry concealed outside city limits. Incorporation requirements are outlined below which have additional rights for whether you may carry.
    18-3302.

    (9) While in any motor vehicle, inside the limits or confines of any city, a person shall not carry a concealed weapon on or about his person without a license to carry a concealed weapon. This shall not apply to any firearm located in plain view whether it is loaded or unloaded. A firearm may be concealed legally in a motor vehicle so long as the weapon is disassembled or unloaded.

    (3) No person shall carry concealed weapons on or about his person without a license to carry concealed weapons, except: (a) In the person's place of abode or fixed place of business; (b) On property in which the person has any ownership or leasehold interest; (c) On private property where the person has permission to carry concealed weapons from any person with an ownership or leasehold interest; (d) Outside the limits of or confines of any city. (4) Subsection (3) of this section shall not apply to restrict or prohibit the carrying or possession of: (a) Any deadly weapon located in plain view; (b) Any lawfully possessed shotgun or rifle; (c) A firearm that is not loaded and is concealed in a motor vehicle; (d) A firearm that is not loaded and is secured in a case; and (e) A firearm that is disassembled or permanently altered such that it is not readily operable.

    50-101. Incorporation. The residents of any unincorporated contiguous area (village) containing not less than 125 qualified electors may present a petition signed by a majority of the said electors to the board of commissioners of the county in which said petitioners reside, praying that they be incorporated as a city, designating the name they wish to assume and the metes and bounds of the proposed city.

    8-3302. (2)(e) "Loaded" means: (i) For a firearm capable of using fixed ammunition, that live ammunition is present in: 1. The chamber or chambers of the firearm; 2. Any internal magazine of the firearm; or 3. A detachable magazine inserted in the firearm; (ii) For a firearm that is not capable of using fixed ammunition, that the firearm contains: 1. A propellant charge; and 2. A priming cap or primer cap.

  • Open Carry Laws for Idaho

    The State of Idaho allows open carry in all allowed locations. See specific sections on this page for requirements such as vehicles and other places that are off limits.

    State law preempts all local laws regarding carrying within the state. Property owners to have rights on who may carry on their property so be sure to respect their wishes.

    When traveling, make sure to check the requirements for the state you will be visiting to ensure that you follow all local laws.

  • Carry Law Preemptions for Idaho

    The State Preemption laws are outlined below:

    18-3302J. Preemption of Firearms Regulation.

    (1) The legislature finds that uniform laws regulating firearms are necessary to protect the individual citizen's right to bear arms guaranteed by amendment 2 of the United States Constitution and section 11, article I of the constitution of the state of Idaho. It is the legislature's intent to wholly occupy the field of firearms regulation within this state.

    (2) Except as expressly authorized by state statute, no county, city, agency, board or any other political subdivision of this state may adopt or enforce any law, rule, regulation, or ordinance which regulates in any manner the sale, acquisition, transfer, ownership, possession, transportation, carrying or storage of firearms or any element relating to firearms and components thereof, including ammunition.

    (3) A county may adopt ordinances to regulate, restrict or prohibit the discharge of firearms within its boundaries. Ordinances adopted under this subsection may not apply to or affect: (a) A person discharging a firearm in the lawful defense of person or persons or property; (b) A person discharging a firearm in the course of lawful hunting; (c) A landowner and guests of the landowner discharging a firearm, when the discharge will not endanger persons or property; (d) A person lawfully discharging a firearm on a sport shooting range as defined in section 55-2604, Idaho Code; or (e) A person discharging a firearm in the course of target shooting on public land if the discharge will not endanger persons or property.

    (4) A city may adopt ordinances to regulate, restrict or prohibit the discharge of firearms within its boundaries. Ordinances adopted under this subsection may not apply to or affect: (a) A person discharging a firearm in the lawful defense of person or persons or property; or (b) A person lawfully discharging a firearm on a sport shooting range as defined in section 55-2604, Idaho Code.

    (5) This section shall not be construed to affect: (a) The authority of the department of fish and game to make rules or regulations concerning the management of any wildlife of this state, as set forth in section 36-104, Idaho Code; and (b) The authority of counties and cities to regulate the location and construction of sport shooting ranges, subject to the limitations contained in chapter 26, title 55, Idaho Code.

    (6) The provisions of this section are hereby declared to be severable. And if any provision is declared invalid for any reason, such declaration shall not affect the validity of the remaining portions of this section.

  • Idaho Laws for Use of Deadly Force

    Below are the specific laws within Idaho regarding use of deadly force:

    Title 19 Criminal Procedure
    Chapter 2 Prevention of Public Offenses
    19-201 Lawful Resistance
    19-202 Resistance by Threatened Party
    19-202a Legal Jeopardy in Cases of Self-Defense and Defense of Other Threatened Parties
    19-203 Resistance by Other Parties
    19-204 Prevention of Offenses by Officers of Justice
    19-205 Prevention by Persons Assisting Officers

  • State and City Laws for Carrying Knives

    Knife laws are highlighted in sections 18-3301 and 18-3302.

  • Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served

    Carrying is permitted in restaurants where alcohol is served unless the property is specifically posted prohibited firearms. This also includes bars where alcohol is primarily served. When traveling check the specific requirements for that establishment and location.

  • Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws

    No specific laws or restrictions were found regarding chemical sprays, stun guns or high capacity magazines.

  • Idaho LEOSA Information

    LEOSA Information for the State of Idaho.

  • Relevant Court Cases and Opinions

    No specific cases were found regarding carrying within the state.

  • Additional Information and Airport Requirements

    No specific laws discuss carrying within an airport in the state.

    Training for the enhanced permit is valid for 12 months.

    Residency is established when you obtain a state driver’s license.

    Minimum age for a permit is 21 years.

    Permit information is not considered public per 9-340 B.

    Reciprocity laws are outlined in statute 18-3302.

    Firearms laws are outlined in statutes 18-3301 to 18-3325.

    Deadly force laws are found in sections 19-201 to 19-205.

    Knife laws are highlighted in sections 18-3301 and 18-3302.

    Chemical weapons and electric weapons laws are found in sections 18-3324 and 18-3325.

    No laws on body armor were found.

    Concealed carry permits to apply to weapons other than firearms per section 18-3302.

    It is permissible to carry concealed while hunting in Idaho per statute 36-401 and administrative rules number 13.01.08.

  • Supplemental Information

    A loaded firearm is defined in the below statute:

    8-3302. (2)(e) "Loaded" means: (i) For a firearm capable of using fixed ammunition, that live ammunition is present in: 1. The chamber or chambers of the firearm; 2. Any internal magazine of the firearm; or 3. A detachable magazine inserted in the firearm; (ii) For a firearm that is not capable of using fixed ammunition, that the firearm contains: 1. A propellant charge; and 2. A priming cap or primer cap.

    State Emergency Powers are defined below:

    46-1008. The Governor and Disaster Emergencies.

    (1) Under this act, the governor may issue executive orders, proclamations and amend or rescind them. Executive orders and proclamations have the force and effect of law. (7) During the continuance of any state of disaster emergency, neither the governor nor any agency of any governmental entity or political subdivision of the state shall impose restrictions on the lawful possession, transfer, sale, transport, storage, display or use of firearms or ammunition.

    Different laws exist for states receiving federal funds so it is important to see if those requirements apply.

  • Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms

    The minimum age for transporting firearms in the State of Idaho is 18 years old per 18-3302A. Other states will have more restrictive requirements so it is important to check and understand the requirements where you are traveling.

  • Revisions

    7/12/15 – Initial page created.

Scroll to Top