While our online training program may not allow you to apply for California permit/license to carry, nonresidents of California can utilize our online training program to apply for a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License.
California, with strict gun control laws, does not honor permit/licenses from any other states, nor does California issue carry permit/licenses to nonresidents. California, however, issues carry permits/licenses for California nonresidents. California does NOT recognize the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License as a legal way to concealed carry in their state.
However, by getting the State of New Hampshire’s Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you can INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.
California Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding California’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020*
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in California. This is valid reciprocity with other states for California nonresidents and nonresidents.
How Long Is a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License is valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of the New Hampshire State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
California Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2020*
State of California Department of Justice Attorney General
California Firearms Laws Summary
Initial and Renewal Application for Concealed Weapon
Frequently Asked Question Sites
California State Statutes
California Code of Regulations
California Gun Laws Wiki
California Gun Laws Frequently Asked Questions
California State Attorney General Website
Mendocino County Sheriff’s Office Website
California Secretary of State
Reciprocity Guidelines for California
California will not honor the concealed carry permits of any other state.
Applying for a Permit in California
Information regarding applying for a permit to carry in California is available here as of result of a recent ruling with the California 9th Circuit Court. This foundation will have the most up to date information regarding the laws of California on how to apply for a permit.
The local sheriff and police will issue licenses and permits, information to apply can be found at this link.
A permit is good for two years and the cost for the permit is $100 and this fee can be split during application where $20 goes for the application and $80 collected with the permit is issued.
Per California legislative code PC 26190 additional fees can be charged equal to the processing fees, fingerprinting costs but shall not be greater than $100 dollars total.
(a) When a person applies for a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person, the sheriff of a county may issue a license to that person upon proof of all of the following: (1) The applicant is of good moral character. (2) Good cause exists for issuance of the license. (3) The applicant is a resident of the county or a city within the county, or the applicant’s principal place of employment or business is in the county or a city within the county and the applicant spends a substantial period of time in that place of employment or business. (4) The applicant has completed a course of training as described in Section 26165. (b) The sheriff may issue a license under subdivision (a) in either of the following formats: (1) A license to carry concealed a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person. (2) Where the population of the county is less than 200,000 persons according to the most recent federal decennial census, a license to carry loaded and exposed in only that county a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person.
The Calguns Foundation provides additional information regarding classes and fees that show the total fees can be close to $300 dollars for the permit that lasts two years. The initial training and application shows no minimum training requirement for the initial application but PC 26165 identifies the max training as 16 hrs total or 24 post class. For renewal the renewal is four hour training.
As of 10/10/11 the new law signed by the California State Governor contains additional information.
(a) For new license applicants, the course of training for issuance of a license under Section 26150 or 26155 may be any course acceptable to the licensing authority, shall not exceed 16 hours, and shall include instruction on at least firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm. (b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), the licensing authority may require a community college course certified by the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training, up to a maximum of 24 hours,but only if required uniformly of all license applicants without exception. (c) For license renewal applicants, the course of training may be any course acceptable to the licensing authority, shall be no less than four hours, and shall include instruction on at least firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm. No course of training shall be required for any person certified by the licensing authority as a trainer for purposes of this section, in order for that person to renew a license issued pursuant to this article. (d) The applicant shall not be required to pay for any training courses prior to the determination of good cause being made pursuant to Section 26202.
(a) (1) Each applicant for a new license or for the renewal of a license shall pay at the time of filing the application a fee determined by the Department of Justice. The fee shall not exceed the application processing costs of the Department of Justice for the direct costs of furnishing the report required by Section 26185. www.handgunlaw.us 3 (2) After the department establishes fees sufficient to reimburse the department for processing costs, fees charged shall increase at a rate not to exceed the legislatively approved annual cost-of-living adjustments for the department’s budget.
(3) The officer receiving the application and the fee shall transmit the fee, with the fingerprints if required, to the Department of Justice. (b) (1) The licensing authority of any city, city and county, or county may charge an additional fee in an amount equal to the actual costs for processing the application for a new license, including any required notices, excluding fingerprint and training costs, but in no case to exceed one hundred dollars ($100), and shall transmit the additional fee, if any, to the city, city and county, or county treasury. (2) The first 20 percent of this additional local fee may be collected upon filing of the initial application. The balance of the fee shall be collected only upon issuance of the license. (c) The licensing authority may charge an additional fee, not to exceed twenty-five dollars ($25), for processing the application for a license renewal, and shall transmit an additional fee, if any, to the city, city and county, or county treasury. (d) These local fees may be increased at a rate not to exceed any increase in the California Consumer Price Index as compiled and reported by the Department of Industrial Relations. (e) (1) In the case of an amended license pursuant to Section 26215, the licensing authority of any city, city and county, or county may charge a fee, not to exceed ten dollars ($10), for processing the amended license. (2) This fee may be increased at a rate not to exceed any increase in the California Consumer Price Index as compiled and reported by the Department of Industrial Relations. (3) The licensing authority shall transmit the fee to the city, city and county, or county treasury. (f) (1) If psychological testing on the initial application is required by the licensing authority, the license applicant shall be referred to a licensed psychologist used by the licensing authority for the psychological testing of its own employees. The applicant may be charged for the actual cost of the testing in an amount not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150). (2) Additional psychological testing of an applicant seeking license renewal shall be required only if there is compelling evidence to indicate that a test is necessary. The cost to the applicant for this additional testing shall not exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150). (g) Except as authorized pursuant to this section, no requirement, charge, assessment, fee, or condition that requires the payment of any additional funds by the applicant, or requires the applicant to obtain liability insurance, may be imposed by any licensing authority as a condition of the application for a license.
Upon making the determination of good cause pursuant to Section 26150 or 26155, the licensing authority shall give written notice to the applicant of the licensing authority’s determination. If the licensing authority determines that good cause exists, the notice shall inform the applicants to proceed with the training requirements specified in Section 26165. If the licensing authority determines that good cause does not exist, the notice shall inform the applicant that the request for a license has been denied and shall state the reason from the department’s published policy, described in Section 26160, as to why the determination was made.
The licensing authority shall give written notice to the applicant indicating if the license under this article is approved or denied. The licensing authority shall give this notice within 90 days of the initial application for a new license or a license renewal, or 30 days after receipt of the applicant’s criminal background check from the Department of Justice, whichever is later. If the license is denied, the notice shall state which requirement was not satisfied.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
There are no options for non-resident permits in the State of California.
Carry Permit Limitations
Penal Code 27330
No person at a gun show or event, other than security personnel or sworn peace officers, shall possess at the same time both a firearm and ammunition that is designed to be fired in the firearm.
Penal Code 171c(a)(1)
Any person who brings a loaded firearm into, or possesses a loaded firearm within, the State Capitol, any legislative office, any office of the Governor or other constitutional officer, or any hearing room in which any committee of the Senate or Assembly is conducting a hearing, or upon the grounds of the State Capitol, which is bounded by 10th, L, 15th, and N Streets in the City of Sacramento
Elections Code 18544 (a)
Any person in possession of a firearm or any uniformed peace officer, private guard, or security personnel or any person who is wearing a uniform of a peace officer, guard, or security personnel, who is stationed in the immediate vicinity of, or posted at, a polling place without written authorization of the appropriate city or county elections official
Penal Code 17510
Any person who does any of the following acts while engaged in picketing, or other informational activities in a public place relating to a concerted refusal to work, is guilty of a misdemeanor: (1) Carries concealed upon his person or within any vehicle which is under his or her control or direction any pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person. (2) Carries a loaded firearm upon his or her person or within any vehicle which is under his or her control or direction
Penal Code 171(b)(2)(B)
Notwithstanding subparagraph (A), subdivision (a) shall apply to any person who brings or possesses any weapon specified therein within any courtroom if he or she is a party to an action pending before the court.
Penal Code 25300(a)
A person commits criminal possession of a firearm when he or she carries a firearm in a public place or on any public street while masked so as to hide his or her identity.
Requirements from the standard application regarding concealed carry permits.
When exercising the rights granted to a concealed weapons permit holder in California no licensee shall commit the following acts:
• Consume any alcoholic beverages
• Be present in any location that serves alcoholic beverages
• Be under the influence of any medication , even prescribed medications
• May not refuse to surrender a concealed weapon upon demand by a peace officer
• Interfere or impede a peace officer in performing their duties
• May not present themselves as a peace officer unless they are truly licensed as a peace officer
• May not unjustifiably show that they are carrying a concealed weapon
• May not carry a weapon that is not included in the permit designation
• May not carry in times not allowed or permitted by the permit
There are restrictions that can be placed on the application and when you are carrying concealed you must follow all restriction.
Pursuant to U.S. Government Code – Title 49, Chapter 26, Section 1472 (1) and Federal Aviation Regulation 121.583, a license to carry a concealed weapon does not authorize a person to carry a firearm, tear gas, or any dangerous weapon aboard commercial airlines. Further, a person must declare that he/she is carrying such firearm, tear gas, or dangerous weapon BEFORE entering the boarding area of an air terminal where the security checks are made. Such violation can result in arrest by law enforcement.
Specific requirements regarding the laws of carrying concealed within the State of California.
Any person over the age of 18 who is not prohibited from possessing firearms, and if otherwise lawful, may keep and carry a firearm or have a firearm loaded at his or her place of residence, temporary residence, campsite, or on private property owned or lawfully possessed by the person. (Penal Code §§ 12026, 12031(h) and (l).) Any person engaged in any lawful business (including nonprofit organizations) or any officer, employee, or agent authorized for lawful purposes connected with the business may possess a loaded firearm within the place of business if that person is over 18 years of age and not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms. (Penal Code §§ 12026, 12031(h).)
Notes: The place where a person works, resides, camps or owns property may be in areas where carrying is prohibited including State or federal buildings, game preserves, parks and other types of public lands. When specific places are questioned contact local authorities for guidelines.
(a) A license issued pursuant to this article may include any reasonable restrictions or conditions that the issuing authority deems warranted, including restrictions as to the time, place, manner, and circumstances under which the licensee may carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person. (b) Any restrictions imposed pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be indicated on any license issued.
Important Note regarding the possession of AP ammunition or tracer ammunition with any long guns or handguns in the State of California is felony. Transporting a firearm with a loaded magazine cannot be carried with the firearm if they are loaded. There are some regions that consider a loaded magazine the same as a firearm.
There are specific requirements by city within the State of California.
Police Code Article 9
C. 1 Possession or Sale of Firearms or Ammunition on County Property Prohibited. No person shall: (1) Bring onto or possess on county property a firearm, loaded or unloaded, ammunition for a firearm. (2) Sell on county property a firearm, loaded or unloaded, or ammunition for a firearm
Penal Code Section 626-626.11
626. (a) As used in this chapter, the following definitions apply: (1) “University” means the University of California, and includes any affiliated institution thereof and any campus or facility owned, operated, or controlled by the Regents of the University of California. (2) “State university” means any California state university, and includes any campus or facility owned, operated, or controlled by the Trustees of the California State University. (3) “Community college” means any public community college established pursuant to the Education Code. (4) “School” means any public or private elementary school, junior high school, four-year high school, senior high school, adult school or any branch thereof, opportunity school, continuation high school, regional occupational center, evening high school, or technical school or any public right-of-way situated immediately adjacent to school property or any other place if a teacher and one or more pupils are required to be at that place in connection with assigned school activities. 626.9. (a) This section shall be known, and may be cited, as the Gun-Free School Zone Act of 1995. (b) Any person who possesses a firearm in a place that the person knows, or reasonably should know, is a school zone, as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (e), unless it is with the written permission of the school district superintendent, his or her designee, or equivalent school authority, shall be punished as specified in subdivision (f). (c) Subdivision (b) does not apply to the possession of a firearm under any of the following circumstances: (1) Within a place of residence or place of business or on private property, if the place of residence, place of business, or private property is not part of the school grounds and the possession of the firearm is otherwise lawful. (2) When the firearm is an unloaded pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed on the person and is in a locked container or within the locked trunk of a motor vehicle. This section does not prohibit or limit the otherwise lawful transportation of any other firearm, other than a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed on the person, in accordance with state law. (3) When the person possessing the firearm reasonably believes that he or she is in grave danger because of circumstances forming the basis of a current restraining order issued by a court against another person or persons who has or have been found to pose a threat to his or her life or safety. This subdivision may not apply when the circumstances involve a mutual restraining order issued pursuant to Division 10 (commencing with Section 6200) of the Family Code absent a factual finding of a specific threat to the person’s life or safety. Upon a trial for violating subdivision (b), the trier of a fact shall determine whether the defendant was acting out of a reasonable belief that he or she was in grave danger. (4) When the person is exempt from the prohibition against carrying a concealed firearm pursuant to Section 25615, 25625, 25630, or 25645. 626.9 (l) This section does not apply to a duly appointed peace officer as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, a full-time paid peace officer of another state or the federal government who is carrying out official duties while in California, any person summoned by any of these officers to assist in making arrests or preserving the peace while he or she is actually engaged in assisting the officer, a member of the military forces of this state or of the United States who is engaged in the performance of his or her duties, a person holding a valid license to carry the firearm pursuant to Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 26150) of Division 5 of Title 4 of Part 6, or an armored vehicle guard, engaged in the performance of his or her duties, as defined in subdivision.
Penal Code 629
(l) This section does not apply to a duly appointed peace officer as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, a full-time paid peace officer of another state or the federal government who is carrying out official duties while in California, any person summoned by any of these officers to assist in making arrests or preserving the peace while he or she is actually engaged in assisting the officer, a member of the military forces of this state or of the United States who is engaged in the performance of his or her duties, a person holding a valid license to carry the firearm pursuant to Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 26150) of Division 5 of Title 4 of Part 6, or an armored vehicle guard, engaged in the performance of his or her duties, as defined in subdivision.
Special note – Carry on school property is legal with a California permit to carry. Schools are allowed to permit students and faculty from carrying when they work at the school and are permitted to expel them from premises.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
In the State of California gun sign laws do not carry the force of law and if you have a permit you should not under any circumstances carry in a location that has expressly prohibited carrying a firearm.
If a location is posted within the State of California within the state these signs do not have the force of law unless they are expressly designated as being of limits to those with a valid permit.
If you are carrying legally and asked to leave you are required to leave the premises.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
Carrying is allowed in State Parks, State and National forests and road side rest areas but is not allowed in State WMAs or game refuges.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a California Permit
In order to carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle you must have a permit.
The transportation or carrying of any pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person by any citizen of the United States over the age of 18 years who resides or is temporarily within this state, and is not within the excepted classes prescribed by Penal Code Sections 29800 or 29900 or Welfare and Institutions Code sections 8100 & 8103, provided that the following applies: 1. the firearm is within a motor vehicle and it is locked in the vehicle’s trunk or in a locked container in the vehicle other than the utility or glove compartment, 2. and when the firearm is carried by the person to or from any motor vehicle for any lawful purpose, the firearm must be contained in a locked container while being physically carried. (Penal Code § 16850)
California Penal Code section 25400 does not prevent a citizen of the United States over 18 years of age who is not lawfully prohibited from firearm possession, and who resides or is temporarily in California, from transporting by motor vehicle any pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person provided the firearm is unloaded and stored in a locked container. The term “locked container” means a secure container which is fully enclosed and locked by a padlock, key lock, combination lock, or similar locking device.
This includes the trunk of a motor vehicle, but does not include the utility or glove compartment. For more information, refer to California Penal Code Section 25610.
SHOTGUNS AND RIFLES Nonconcealable firearms (rifles and shotguns) are not generally covered within the provisions of California Penal Code section 25400 and therefore are not required to be transported in a locked container. However, as with any firearm, nonconcealable firearms must be unloaded while they are being transported. A rifle or shotgun that is defined as an assault weapon pursuant to Penal Code 30510 or 30515 must be transported in accordance with Penal Code section 25610.
REGISTERED ASSAULT WEAPONS California Penal Code section 30945 requires that registered assault weapons may be transported only between specified locations and must be unloaded and in a locked container when transported. The term “locked container” means a secure container which is fully enclosed and locked by a padlock, key lock, combination lock, or similar locking device. This includes the trunk of a motor vehicle, but does not include the utility or glove compartment. For more information, refer to California Penal Code Section 25610.
Open Carry Laws for California
Open carry is not legal within the State of California in most instances. For specific laws and requirements reference the specific state laws.
Carry Law Preemptions for California
Per code 53071
It is the intention of the Legislature to occupy the whole field of regulation of the registration or licensing of commercially manufactured firearms as encompassed by the provisions of the Penal Code, and such provisions shall be exclusive of all local regulations, relating to registration or licensing of commercially manufactured firearms, by any political subdivision as defined in Section 1721 of the Labor Code.
California Laws for Use of Deadly Force
California Penal Code Section 196-199 195. Homicide is excusable in the following cases: 196. Homicide is justifiable when committed by public officers and those acting by their command in their aid and assistance 197. Homicide is also justifiable when committed by any person in any of the following cases: 198. Bare fear 198.5 person using force intended or likely to cause death or great bodily injury within his or her residence \ 199. The homicide appearing to be justifiable or excusable, the person indicted must, upon his trial, be fully acquitted and discharged.
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
11/29/12 the California court of appeals ruled that a knife with assisted opening is not considered a switchblade.
Limited information is available for carrying knives within the State of California.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
There is no law that states carrying a firearm in restaurants that serve alcohol is illegal.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
California law prohibits manufacturing, owning or importing high capacity magazines within the state.
Code § 16740. A “large capacity magazine” is defined as any ammunition feeding device with the capacity to accept more than ten rounds, but does not include any .22 caliber tube ammunition feeding device, any feeding device that has been permanently altered so that it cannot accommodate more than ten rounds, or any tubular magazine that is contained in a lever-action firearm. PC Section 16740. California does not ban the possession of large capacity magazines. Upon a showing of good cause, the California Department of Justice may issue permits for the possession, transportation, or sale of large capacity ammunition magazines between a licensed California firearms dealer and an out-of-state customer. PC Section 16740. This requirement applies for only the out-of-state importation and exportation of large capacity ammunition magazines, including the transportation of such magazines as necessary to complete a transfer to or from an out of state source. See Cal. Code Regs. tit. 11, § 978.40. Large capacity magazines may be manufactured for any federal, state, or local government or law enforcement agency, or for use by agency employees in the discharge of their official duties, whether on or off duty. PC Section 32440. Large capacity magazines may also be purchased or loaned for the sole use as a motion picture, television or video prop. PC Section 32445, PC 32450. Such magazines may also be resold to law enforcement agencies, government agencies, or the military, pursuant to applicable federal regulations. PC Section 32450). For additional large capacity ammunition magazine regulations, see Cal. Code Regs. tit. 11, §§ 978.40- 978.44.
California prohibits stun guns on state university property.
5 CCR § 100015 Stun guns and TASERS are not permitted on the property of any state universities. PC Part 1 Title 7 Chpt. 7 – Part 171b Illegal to have stun guns within any state or local public building or at any meeting required to be open to the public PC 626.10. upon the grounds of, or within, any public or private school providing instruction in kindergarten or any of grades 1 to 12, inclusive.
Defensive sprays are allowed per PC22810.
PC 22810 Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person may purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon for the projection or release of tear gas if the tear gas or tear gas weapon is used solely for self-defense purposes, subject to the following requirements: (a) No person convicted of a felony or any crime involving an assault under the laws of the United States, the State of California, or any other state, government, or country, or convicted of misuse of tear gas under subdivision (g), shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon. (b) No person addicted to any narcotic drug shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon. (c) No person shall sell or furnish any tear gas or tear gas weapon to a minor. (d) No minor shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon. (e) (1) No person shall purchase, possess, or use any tear gas weapon that expels a projectile, or that expels the tear gas by any method other than an aerosol spray, or that contains more than 2.5 ounces net weight of aerosol spray.
(2) Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that states: “WARNING: The use of this substance or device for any purpose other than self-defense is a crime under the law. The contents are dangerous – use with care.”
San Francisco has specific limitations that must be followed on ammunition.
Police Code Article 9 Prohibited Ammunition Section 618 (a) Definition. For purposes of this Section, “Prohibited Ammunition” shall mean: (1) Ammunition sold under the brand name “Winchester Black Talon,” or that has physical properties resulting in ballistics performance identical to ammunition presently or formerly sold under the brand name Winchester Black Talon; or, (2) Ammunition designated by its manufacturer for purchase by law enforcement or military agencies only, unless other ammunition is available to the general public that has physical properties resulting in ballistics performance identical to such ammunition. (b) Possession Prohibited; Exceptions. No person, firm, corporation or other entity may possess Prohibited Ammunition within the City and County of San Francisco, except that this subsection shall not apply to the otherwise-lawful possession of Prohibited Ammunition by the following: (1) Peace officers in possession of Prohibited Ammunition issued to them by their employing agency; (2) Federal law enforcement officers or other federal employees in possession of Prohibited Ammunition issued to them by their employing agency; (3) Members of the armed forces of the United States in possession of Prohibited Ammunition issued to them by the military agency to which they belong; (4) Patrol special police officers, animal control officers or zookeepers, harbor police officers, sheriff’s security officers, or police security officers in possession of Prohibited Ammunition issued to them by their employing agencies; or, (5) Businesses licensed as firearms dealers under this Article in possession of Prohibited Ammunition for sale to law enforcement and military agencies. Agencies employing persons listed in subsection (b)(4) are considered law enforcement agencies for purposes of this Section. (c) Sale or Transfer. No business licensed as a firearm dealer under this Article may sell, lease or otherwise transfer Prohibited Ammunition except to law enforcement and military agencies. (d) Police Database. The San Francisco Police Department shall prepare or cause to be prepared a public database of brands and product lines of ammunition meeting the definition of “Prohibited Ammunition” in subsection (a). Failure of the Police Department to create or maintain such a database, or the omission from the database of a particular brand or product line of ammunition otherwise qualifying as “Prohibited Ammunition,” under subsection (a), shall not be a defense to or otherwise excuse a violation of this Section. (e) Penalty. Violation of any of the provisions of this Section is a misdemeanor and upon conviction the violator may be punished by a fine not to exceed $1,000.00 or by imprisonment in the county jail not to exceed six months, or by both.
Police Code Article 9 Sec. 619 (b) Definition. “Large capacity magazine” means any detachable ammunition feeding device with the capacity to accept more than 10 rounds, but shall not be construed to include any of the following: (1) A feeding device that has been permanently altered so that it cannot accommodate more than 10 www.handgunlaw.us 12 rounds: (2) A .22 caliber tube ammunition feeding device; or (3) A tubular magazine that is contained in a lever-action firearm. (c) Prohibition on Possession of Large Capacity Magazines. (1) No person, corporation, or other entity in the City may possess a large capacity magazine, weather assembled or disassembled. (2) Any person who, prior to the effective date of this chapter, was legally in possession of a large capacity magazine shall have 90 days from such effective date to do any of the following without being subject to prosecution: (A) Remove the large capacity magazine from the city; (B) Surrender the large capacity magazine to the Police Department for destruction; or (C) Sell or transfer the large capacity magazine lawfully in accordance with Penal Code 12020.
Sunnyvale, California ban on magazines.
9.44.050. Possession of large-capacity ammunition magazines prohibited. (a) No person may possess a large-capacity magazine in the City of Sunnyvale whether assembled or disassembled. For purposes of this section, “large-capacity magazine” means any detachable ammunition feeding device with the capacity to accept more than ten (10) rounds, but shall not be construed to include any of the following: (1) A feeding device that has been permanently altered so that it cannot accommodate more than ten (10) rounds; or (2) A .22 caliber tubular ammunition feeding device; or (3) A tubular magazine that is contained in a lever-action firearm.
Legal action is pending on these actions and the laws could be amended.
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
Airport carry laws are quite restrictive in the State of California and people have reported being arrested and their firearms confiscated for just having them in their vehicle on airport property.
Sterile area of Airport (From the Application for a Permit from the state of California) Pursuant to U.S. Government Code – Title 49, Chapter 26, Section 1472 (1) and Federal Aviation Regulation 121.583, a license to carry a concealed weapon does not authorize a person to carry a firearm, tear gas, or any dangerous weapon aboard commercial airlines.
Training requirements state initial training shall not exceed 16 hours and refresher courses must be a minimum of 4 hours.
Residency establishment is not clearly defined.
The minimum age for a permit is 18 years.
Permit and license information is considered public information.
State firearms laws are defined in PC 23500 to 28070.
Deadly force laws are outlined in PC 196-199
Knife laws are outlined in PC 20310 to 21590
Chemical and electric weapons laws are in PC22810 to 23025 and 22610 to 22625 Body armor laws are outlined in PC 31310 to 31360
Concealed permits only pertain to firearms per PC 26150
Carrying a firearm for protection while hunting is permitted per PC 25640
Information regarding carrying in State Parks:
§ 4313. Weapons and Traps. (California Code of Regulations) (a) No person shall carry, possess or discharge across, in or into any portion of any unit any weapon, firearm, spear, bow and arrow, trap, net, or device capable of injuring, or killing any person or animal, or capturing any animal, or damaging any public or private property, except in underwater parks or designated archery ranges where the Department of Parks and Recreation finds that it is in its best interests. www.handgunlaw.us 14 (b) Nothing herein contained shall be construed in derogation of the use of weapons permitted by law or regulation and to be used for hunting in any unit, or portion thereof, open to hunting. (c) Firearms not having a cartridge in any portion of the mechanism, other unloaded weapons or devices such as traps, nets, and bows and arrows may be possessed within temporary lodging or mechanical mode of conveyance when such implements are rendered temporarily inoperable or are packed, cased, or stored in a manner that will prevent their ready use. Exceptions to this regulation are granted in the California Penal Code Section 25900 pertaining to law enforcement and retired law enforcement personnel and PC Section 26010 for citizens with Carry Concealed Weapon permits. CCR 4313 is regulatory, whereas the California Penal Code is Statutory. Regulations give way to activities specifically granted in Statute. However, any restrictions placed on the CCW by the issuing agency would also be applicable in California State Parks. For example, if the CCW is only valid in the CCW holder’s City of residence or County, it would not be valid in a State Park Unit located outside the City or County of the holder.
Loaded firearm definition:
California Penal Code Section 16840 (a) As used in Section 25800, a firearm shall be deemed to be “loaded” whenever both the firearm and the unexpended ammunition capable of being discharged from the firearm are in the immediate possession of the same person. (b) As used in Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 25100) of Division 4 of Title 4, in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (6) of subdivision (c) of Section 25400, and in Sections 25850 to 26055, inclusive, (1) A firearm shall be deemed to be “loaded” when there is an unexpended cartridge or shell, consisting of a case that holds a charge of powder and a bullet or shot, in, or attached in any manner to, the firearm, including, but not limited to, in the firing chamber, magazine, or clip thereof attached to the firearm. www.handgunlaw.us 15 (2) Notwithstanding paragraph (1), a muzzle-loader firearm shall be deemed to be loaded when it is capped or primed and has a powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or cylinder.
State emergency powers:
§ 8571.5. Prohibition on Seizure of Firearms (From CA Emerg. Services Act. Still Looking For Governor Authority) Nothing in this article shall authorize the seizure or confiscation of any firearm or ammunition from any individual who is lawfully carrying or possessing the firearm or ammunition, or authorize any order to that effect, provided however, that a peace officer who is acting in his or her official capacity may disarm an individual if the officer reasonably believes it is immediately necessary for the protection of the officer or another individual. The officer shall return the firearm to the individual before discharging the individual, unless the officer arrests that individual or seizes the firearm as evidence pursuant to an investigation for the commission of a crime.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age is 18 years old for the State of California per PC 29610 and 29615. There are different permit requirements for carrying in different areas so be sure to check the local laws.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.