Our online training course will allow you to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit/License which is honored in Arkansas.
Arkansas offers carry permit/licenses to nonresidents. For Arkansas nonresidents who want to INCREASE the number of states they CAN carry in our course would be perfect.
Arkansas does NOT issue carry permit/licenses to nonresidents. Arkansas recognizes the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License.
Arkansas Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Arkansas’ Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020*
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in Arkansas as a valid concealed carry permit.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
The New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License is valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). For details.
- If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of New Hampshire State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2020*
State Concealed Handgun Carry Licensing
Concealed Handgun Carry License Application
Arkansas State Police Application Information
Online Application Process
Frequently Asked Questions
Public Access Arkansas Code
Rule and Regulations
Attorney General of Arkansas
Arkansas State Code
Concealed Handgun License Rules
Reciprocity Guidelines for Arkansas
The State of Arkansas honors all other states permits and licenses including the non-resident permits issued by that state.
Many organizations state that Arkansas is an open carry and permit less carry state, however this contradicts what many authorities in Arkansas are stating. This issue means you must be very careful to obey local laws and double check requirements before carrying.
State Reciprocity laws:
5-73-321. Recognition of Other States’ Licenses. A person in possession of a valid license to carry a concealed handgun issued to the person by another state is entitled to the privileges and subject to the restrictions prescribed by this subchapter. HISTORY: Acts 2009, No. 748, § 43; 2013, No. 1089, § 1.
Applying for a permit within Arkansas
Information for applying for a permit is located at the Arkansas State Police website.
The age for applicants for a permit is defined in Arkansas statute 5-73-309.
5-73-309 (3) Is at least:
(A) Twenty-one (21) years of age; or
(B) Eighteen (18) years of age and is:
(i) Currently a federally recognized commissioned or noncommissioned officer or an enlisted Links State CCW Site CCW Application CHCL App Instructions Apply/Renew Online With Instructions State FAQ Site State Statutes State Admin Rules State Reciprocity Info State Attorney General AR CHCL Laws CHCL Admin Rules Last Updated: 3/8/15 www.handgunlaw.us 2 member on active duty in the United States Armed Forces;
(ii) In the National Guard or a reserve component of the United States Armed Forces; or
(iii) A former member of the United States Armed Forces that has been honorably discharged;
Mailed in application requirements:
If you are 64 years old or younger mailing a new application, the fees are $144.94.
If you are 65 years old or older mailing a new application, the fees are $89.75.
Filing an application online:
If you are 64 years old or younger filing a new license the fee is $144.94 and includes the online application fee and background check.
If you are 65 years old or older filing a new license the fee is $93.44 and includes the online application fee and background check.
Renewal fees are the same regardless of age.
The Concealed Handgun Carry License (CHCL) application for the Arkansas State Police information is outline below.
Note – your firearms safety instructor can also provide assistance in applying for a permit.
All application paperwork has to be filled in with ink or be typewritten. If applications cannot be read it is possible for the application to be denied. Any false information in the application will cause it to be denied and possibly could result in criminal charges.
The application for the concealed carry license must include:
1. The completed application must be the original, no copies are permitted, and it is permitted to maintain a copy.
2. All fees are non-refundable and should be payable to the Arkansas State Police. Fees are non-refundable.
3.When you apply you must include a classifiable set of fingerprints and they must be using form AR920570Z which are printed in the ORI section to be accepted. Fingerprint cards must be filled in with black ink and it is best to use a local law enforcement agency for the prints so they are legible. There are also fingerprint technicians and the firearms safety instructors qualified to complete the fingerprinting information. Make sure to not fold the fingerprint card when submitting this information.
4. The application package must be completed properly by an instructor who is certified with the Arkansas State Police and received within 6 months of the training date. Applications should be mailed to: Arkansas State Police, CHCL Section, 1 State Police Plaza Dr., Little Rock, AR 72209
The receipt date for the application packet is determined by when the packet is received and not by the post mark date. It is also an option to bring an application to the Arkansas State Police headquarters rather than mailing the application located in Interstate 30 and the Geyer Springs Rd. exit 133 in Little Rock. The application will not be processed while you wait if you bring it in person.
Do not call the office to check the status of the application only check status online. After the application is submitted and 120 days have passed it is possible to email for a status at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Renewing a permit:
Permits can be renewed online by going to the State Police website and following the directions that are provided.
5-73-319 Transfer of a License to Arkansas
(a) Any person who becomes a resident of Arkansas who has a valid license to carry a concealed handgun issued by a reciprocal state may apply to transfer his or her license to Arkansas… See Code and/or Contact the Issuing Agency for more information.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
There are no non-resident permits available for the State of Arkansas except for active duty military personnel and their spouses. To apply requires all the application documentation as well as military paperwork showing active duty status, signed letter from the Commanding Officer or the designee showing station information for the State of Arkansas. Additional information is available from the Arkansas State Police unit responsible for licensing.
Note – There is some confusion regarding residents in the military and whether they may apply at 18 or must may not apply when you are a non-resident service member.
Carry Permit Limitations
5-73-306 Prohibited Places
No license to carry a concealed handgun issued pursuant to this subchapter authorizes any person to carry a concealed handgun into:
(1) Any police station, sheriff’s station, or Department of Arkansas State Police station;
(2) Any Arkansas Highway Police Division of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department facility;
(3) (A) Any building of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department or onto grounds adjacent to any building of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department. (B) However, subdivision
(3)(A) of this section does not apply to a rest area or weigh station of the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department;
(4) Any detention facility, prison, or jail;
(5) Any courthouse;
(6) (A) Any courtroom. (B) However, nothing in this subchapter precludes a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon into his or her courtroom;
(7) Any polling place;
(8) Any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity;
(9) Any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly;
(10) Any state office;
(11) Any athletic event not related to firearms;
(12) Any portion of an establishment, except a restaurant as defined in § 3-5-1202, licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises;
(13) Any portion of an establishment, except a restaurant as defined in § 3-5-1202, where beer or light wine is consumed on the premises;
(14) Any school, college, community college, or university campus building or event, unless for the purpose of participating in an authorized firearms-related activity;
(15) Inside the passenger terminal of any airport, except that no person is prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the passenger terminal if the firearm is encased for shipment for purposes of checking the firearm as baggage to be lawfully transported on any aircraft;
(16) Any church or other place of worship; However, this subchapter does not preclude a church or other place of worship from determining who may carry a concealed handgun into the church or other place of worship; (The Church can also determine who can carry in a Private K-12 School on Church Property) (17) Any place where the carrying of a firearm is prohibited by federal law;
(18) Any place where a parade or demonstration requiring a permit is being held, and the licensee is a participant in the parade or demonstration; or
(19) (A) Any place at the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of the place by placing at each entrance to the place a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than ten feet (10′) that “carrying a handgun is prohibited”. (B) (i) If the place does not have a roadway entrance, there shall be a written notice placed anywhere upon the premises of the place. (ii) In addition to the requirement of subdivision
v (19)(B)(i) of this section, there shall be at least one (1) written notice posted within every three (3) acres of a place with no roadway entrance. (C) A written notice as described in subdivision (19)(A) of this section is not required for a private home. (D) Any licensee entering a private home shall notify the occupant that the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun. HISTORY: Acts 1995, No. 411, § 2; 1995, No. 419, § 2; 1997, No. 1239, § 2; 2003, No. 1110, § 1; 2007, No. 664, § 2; 2009, No. 294, § 28; 2011, No. 758, § 1. §3-9-402
(11) “Restaurant” means any public or private place which is kept, used, maintained, advertised, and held out to the public or to a private or restricted membership as a place where complete meals are actually and regularly served, such place being provided with adequate and sanitary kitchen and dining equipment and a seating capacity of at least fifty (50) people and having employed a sufficient number and kind of employees to prepare, cook, and serve suitable food for its guests or members. At least one (1) meal per day shall be served, and the place shall be open a minimum of five (5) days per week, with the exception of holidays, vacations, and periods of redecorating.
Act 1110 passed in 2003 was put in place to allow people to carry in public parks and Section 1 covers place where concealed weapons are not allowed such as a state office or school.
State parkdirectives including specific buildings listed below:
1. The Bladesmith School at Old Washington
2. DeGray Lake Resort Lodge and Convention Center
3. Maintenance Buildings
4. Marina Sales Offices
5. Mather Lodge
6. Mount Magazine Lodge and Conference Center
7. Museum Buildings with Offices
8. Ozark Folk Center Lodge Office, Recreation Room and Gift Shop
9. All Restaurants / Cafes
10. Queen Wilhelmina Lodge
11. Visitor Information Centers
These locations will be posted for clarity.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
Gun signs in the State of Arkansas have the force of law.
(19) (A) Any place at the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of the place by placing at each entrance to the place a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than ten feet (10′) that “carrying a handgun is prohibited”.
(B) (i) If the place does not have a roadway entrance, there shall be a written notice placed anywhere upon the premises of the place. (ii) In addition to the requirement of subdivision (19)(B)(i) of this section, there shall be at least one (1) written notice posted within every three (3) acres of a place with no roadway entrance.
(C) A written notice as described in subdivision (19)(A) of this section is not required for a private home.
(D) Any licensee entering a private home shall notify the occupant that the licensee is carrying a concealed handgun. (b) (1) In addition to the places enumerated in this section, the carrying of a concealed handgun may be disallowed in any place in the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of such place by the placing of a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than ten feet (10′) that the “carrying of a handgun is prohibited.” (2) Provided, no sign shall be required for private homes, and any licensee entering a private home shall notify the occupants that he is carrying a concealed handgun. (c) No license issued pursuant to this subchapter shall authorize the participants in a parade or demonstration www.handgunlaw.us 6 or which a permit is required to carry a concealed handgun. History. Acts 1995, No. 411, § 2; 1995, No. 419, § 2; 1997, No. 1239, § 2.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
When you are contacted by a law enforcement officer you must immediately notify the officer that you are carrying.
AR Administrative Rules CHAPTER 3. License Possession Requirements Rule 3.2 Contact With Law Enforcement (b) In any official contact with law enforcement, if the licensee IS in possession of a handgun, when the officer asks the licensee for identification (driver’s license, or personal information, such as name and date of birth), the licensee shall notify the officer that he or she holds a concealed handgun carry license and that he or she has a handgun in his or her possession.
Carry Restrictions For State, National and Other Public Lands
The following areas allow people to carry a firearm:
Directive 3070 allows carrying in state parks with some restrictions for certain buildings.
Section 1413 has 14 CCRS that permit firearms in State and National forests.
Firearms are allowed in state WMAs.
Firearms are allowed in road side rest areas.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Arkansas Permit
Arkansas Code Annotated 5-73-120. Carrying a Weapon.
(a) A person commits the offense of carrying a weapon if he or she possesses a handgun, knife, or club on or about his or her person, in a vehicle occupied by him or her, or otherwise readily available for use with a purpose to attempt to unlawfully employ the handgun, knife, or club as a weapon against a person.
(b) As used in this section: (3) “Journey” means travel beyond the county in which a person lives;
(c) It is permissible to carry a handgun under this section if at the time of the act of carrying a weapon: (4) The person is carrying a weapon when upon a journey, unless the journey is through a commercial airport when presenting at the security checkpoint in the airport or is in the person’s checked baggage and is not a lawfully declared weapon;
Note – the law does not specify how the firearm should be carried or the specific destination of a journey. There is a court case that defined journey with the State of Arkansas.
Johnson v. State, 252 Ark. 1113, 482 S.W.2d 600 (1972). A journey has long been defined as where one travels a distance from home sufficient to carry him beyond the circle of his neighbors and general acquaintances and outside of the routine of his daily business…. “The prohibition was designed to stop the carrying of weapons among one’s habitual associates; the exception was designed to permit it when necessary to defend against perils of the highway to which strangers are exposed, and that are not supposed to exist among one’s own neighbors.” Ellington v. Denning, 99 Ark. 236, 237, 138 S.W. 453, 453 (1911) (quoting Hathcote v. State, 55 Ark. 181, 185, 17 S.W. 721, 722 (1891). The court in Hathcote also stated that, “while we cannot state an unbending rule by which to define the scope of the exception, it should in every case be interpreted in the light of good sense and with regard to the spirit and intent of the statute.
Open Carry Laws for Arkansas
Current laws within the State of Arkansas do not allow open carry without a license and sometimes the wording for open carry with a license is open to interpretation. Open carry laws have attempted to be passed but have been unsuccessful. Check specific laws to determine if open carry laws have been modified before carrying.
Carry Law Preemptions for Arkansas
14-16-504. Regulation by Local Unit of Government.
(a) As used in this section, “local unit of government” means a city, town, or county.
(b)(1)(A) A local unit of government shall not enact any ordinance or regulation pertaining to, or regulate in any other manner, the ownership, transfer, transportation, carrying, or possession of firearms, ammunition for firearms, or components of firearms, except as otherwise provided in state or federal law. (B) This shall not prevent the enactment of an ordinance regulating or forbidding the unsafe discharge of a firearm. www.handgunlaw.us 8 (2)(A) A local unit of government shall have no authority to bring suit and shall have no right to recover against any firearm or ammunition manufacturer, trade association, or dealer for damages, abatement, or injunctive relief resulting from or relating to the lawful design, manufacture, marketing, or sale of firearms or ammunition to the public.
(B) The authority to bring any suit and the right to recover against any firearm or ammunition manufacturer, trade association, or dealer for damages, abatement, or injunctive relief shall be reserved exclusively to the State of Arkansas.
(C) Provided, this shall not prevent a local unit of government from bringing suit against a firearm or ammunition manufacturer or dealer for breach of contract or warranty as to firearms or ammunition purchased by the local unit of government. (c)(1) Notwithstanding subsection (b) of this section, the governing body of a local unit of government, following the proclamation by the Governor of a state of emergency, may enact an emergency ordinance regulating the transfer, transportation, or carrying of firearms or components of firearms. (2) Such emergency ordinance shall not be effective for a period of more than twenty (20) days and shall be enacted by a two-thirds (2/3) majority of the governing body. History. Acts 1993, # 1100, §§ 1-3; 1999, No. 951, § 1.
Arkansas Laws for Use of Deadly Force
Laws for the use of deadly force are outlined in the below statutes and laws.
Title 5. Criminal Offenses.
Subtitle 1. General Provisions.
Chapter 2. Principles of Criminal Responsibility. Subchapter 6. Justification.
5-2-603. Execution of public duty.
5-2-604. Choice of evils.
5-2-605. Use of physical force generally.
5-2-606. Use of physical force in defense of a person.
5-2-607. Use of deadly physical force in defense of a person.
5-2-608. Use of physical force in defense of premises.
5-2-609. Use of physical force in defense of property.
5-2-610. Use of physical force by law enforcement officers.
5-2-611. Use of physical force by private person aiding law enforcement officers.
5-2-612. Use of physical force in resisting arrest.
5-2-613. Use of physical force to prevent escape from correctional facility.
5-2-614. Use of reckless or negligent force.
5-2-620. Use of force to defend persons and property within home.
5-2-621. Attempting to protect persons during commission of a felony.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
Section 5-72-306 allows for people to carry in places that serve alcohol unless the location is posted with a no guns sign or no carry. This does not distinguish by location within the establishment such as the bar or the restaurant.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
Statute 5-73-124 says it is legal to possess both tear gas and pepper spray for the purposes of self-defense as long as it does not exceed a certain capacity.
Arkansas LEOSA Information
No specific LEOSA information was available for the State of Arkansas.
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
Information regarding carrying within an airport:
Statute 5-73-306 does not allow carry within the airport terminal or sterile areas.
Training for concealed carry is good for 6 months.
Residency requires that a resident has a valid Arkansas license and be living within the state with the intent to make Arkansas their permanent residence.
The minimum age for a permit is for 21 years old, or 18 years for commissioned or noncommissioned active duty officers.
Permit information is not public.
State reciprocity requirements are outline in statute 5-73-321.
State firearms laws are outlined in statutes 5-73-301 to 5-73-321.
Deadly force laws are outline in statutes including 5-2-601 to 5-2-621.
State knife laws are outlined in statute 5-73-120.
Chemical and electric weapon laws are outlined in statute 5-73-12 for chemical and 5-73-133 for electronic.
Body armor laws are outline in statute 5-79-101.
Arkansas permits are only for firearms per statute 5-73-133.
Carrying a firearm for protection while hunting is permitted per the Game and Fish Code Book.
There is no specific definition for a loaded or unloaded firearm for the State of Arkansas. Be cautious when carrying since there is no specific information.
Emergency Power definition:
12-75-114. Governor Disaster Emergency Responsibilities. (Edited for Space Considerations)
(a) The Governor is responsible for meeting and mitigating, to the maximum extent possible, dangers to the people and property of the state presented or threatened by disasters.
(e) In addition to any other powers conferred upon the Governor by law, the Governor may:
(1) Suspend the provisions of any regulatory statutes prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business, or the orders, rules, or regulations of any state agency, if strict compliance with the provisions of any statute, order, rule, or regulation would in any way prevent, hinder, or delay necessary action in coping with the emergency;
(2) Utilize all available resources of the state government and of each political subdivision of the state as reasonably necessary to cope with the disaster emergency;
(3) Transfer the direction, personnel, or functions of state departments and agencies or units of state www.handgunlaw.us 11 departments and agencies for the purpose of performing or facilitating emergency management;
(4) Subject to any applicable requirements for compensation under § 12-75-124, commandeer or utilize any private property if he or she finds this necessary to cope with the disaster emergency;
(5) Direct and compel the evacuation of all or part of the population from any stricken or threatened area within the state if the Governor deems this action necessary for the preservation of life or other disaster mitigation, response, or recovery;
(6) Prescribe routes, modes of transportation, and destinations in connection with evacuation;
(7) Control ingress and egress to and from a disaster area, the movement of persons within the area, and the occupancy of premises therein;
(8) Suspend or limit the sale, dispensing, or transportation of alcoholic beverages, explosives, and combustibles; and
(9) Make provision for the availability and use of temporary emergency housing.
HISTORY: Acts 1973, No. 511, § 8; 1985, No. 629, § 2; A.S.A. 1947, § 11-1941; Acts 1993, No. 1049, § 3; 1995, No. 116, § 2; 1999, No. 449, § 7; 1999, No. 646, §§ 20, 21; 2001, No. 1278, § 4; 2007, No. 1290, § 86; 2009, No. 165, §§ 38, 39.
There are specific requirements regarding carrying if the state is receiving federal aid which can be found at this link. This applies to both funding and emergency situations.
Statute 14-16-504 Regulation by local unit of government
(a) As used in this section, “local unit of government” means a city, town, or county.
(b) (1) (A) A local unit of government shall not enact any ordinance or regulation pertaining to, or regulate in any other manner, the ownership, transfer, transportation, carrying, or possession of firearms, ammunition for firearms, or components of firearms, except as otherwise provided in state or federal law.
(c) (1) The governing body of a local unit of government, following the proclamation by the Governor of a state of emergency, is prohibited from enacting an emergency ordinance regulating the transfer, transportation, or carrying of firearms or components of firearms. (2) A person who has his or her firearm seized in violation of subdivision (c)(1) of this section may bring an action in the circuit court having jurisdiction for the return of the seized firearm.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age for possessing and transporting firearms in the State of Arkansas is 18 years old per Title 5 Chapter 73 Subtitle 6 5-73-109 unloaded and secured in a vehicle with no permit. There can be more restrictions when transporting so check the local requirements.
5/20/15 – Initial page created.