Contact Us     
sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in West Virginia.

While West Virginia does issue carry permit/licenses to residents, the state does not issue carry permit/licenses to non-residents.

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in West Virginia for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.

West Virginia Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding West Virginia's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in West Virginia as a valid concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

West Virginia Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Important Links

    State CCW Site
    State CCW Pamphlet
    Attorney General FAQs
    CCW Application
    St. Police FAQs
    State Statutes
    State Admin Rules
    Reciprocity WVSP
    State Reciprocity Info
    State Attorney General
    2nd CCW Info Site
    WV Firearms Laws

  • Reciprocity Guidelines for West Virginia

    Note: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine and Vermont are the only states can carry a firearm without carrying permit.

    The state of West Virginia honors both resident and non-resident permits/licenses of the states they honor. These are the following:

    Alabama
    Alaska
    Arizona
    Arkansas
    Colorado
    Delaware
    Florida
    Georgia
    Idaho
    Iowa
    Kansas
    Kentucky
    Louisiana
    Michigan
    Mississippi
    Missouri
    Nebraska
    Nevada
    New Hampshire
    New Mexico
    North Carolina
    North Dakota
    Ohio
    Oklahoma
    Pennsylvania
    South Carolina
    South Dakota
    Tennessee
    Texas
    Utah
    Virginia
    Wyoming
  • Reciprocity/ How this State Honors Other States Permit/ Licenses

    §61-7-6a. Reciprocity and Recognition; Out-of-State Concealed Handgun Permits.
    a. Valid out-of-state permit or license to possess or carry a handgun is valid in this state for the carrying of a concealed handgun, if the following conditions are met:
    (i) The permit or license holder is 21 years or older;
    (ii) The permit or license is in his or her immediate possession;
    (iii) The permit or license holder is not a resident of the State of West Virginia; and,
    (iv) The Attorney General has been notified by the Government of the other state that the other state allows residents of West Virginia who are licensed in West Virginia to carry a concealed deadly weapon to carry concealed deadly weapon in that state

    b. A holder of a valid permit or license from another state who is authorized to carry a concealed handgun in this state pursuant to provisions of this section is subject to the same laws and restrictions with respect to carrying a concealed handgun as a resident of West Virginia who is so permitted, and must carry the concealed handgun in compliance with the laws of this state.

    c. A license or permit from another state is not valid in this state if the holder is or becomes prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.

    d. The West Virginia Attorney General shall seek to enter into and may execute reciprocity agreements on behalf of the State of West Virginia with states.

    e. Every twelve months after the effective date of this section, the West Virginia Attorney General shall make written inquiry of the concealed handgun licensing or permitting authorities in each other state as to: (i) Whether a West Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in their state based upon having a valid West Virginia concealed handgun permit; and (ii) whether a West Virginia resident may carry a concealed handgun in that state based upon having a valid West Virginia concealed handgun permit, pursuant to the laws of that state or by the execution of a valid reciprocity agreement between the states.

    f. The West Virginia State Police shall make available to the public a list of states which have entered into reciprocity agreements with the State of West Virginia or that allow residents of West Virginia who are licensed in West Virginia to carry a concealed deadly weapon to carry a concealed deadly weapon in that state.

    Note: The purpose of this bill is to extend credits in good faith to a non- resident of West Virginia who has a permit or license to carry a handgun in his/her state where that state allows the residents of West Virginia who has licensed to carry a concealed deadly weapon and to carry it also in other states.

  • Applying for a Resident Permit

    Take a Class as described below:

    All persons applying for a license must complete a training course in handling and firing a handgun. The successful completion of any of the following courses fulfills this training requirement:

    1. Any official National Rifle Association handgun safety or training course;
    2. Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an official law-enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college or private or public institution or organization or handgun training school utilizing instructors duly certified by the institution;
    3. Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified as such by the state or by the National Rifle Association;
    4. Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by any branch of the United States Military, Reserve or National Guard.

    An applicant must fire a handgun, which is part of the training. After attending the training, applicant may start completing the following requirements:

    • Course Certificate
    • West Virginia Driver’s License / ID to the Sheriff’s office of the county to where the applicant resides.
    • Request for the application form and fill it out.

    After submitting the requirements, the applicant will be contacted once the permit/license is ready for pick-up. For background check, there are some charges that will be applied. Sheriff charge is $75 plus $25 for State Police charge. Some sheriffs will add extra $5 for driver’s license type CHL and that give the applicant a total of $105.

    An applicant may contact an 800 toll free number to get connected to West Virginia State Police to verify if such permit/license is valid.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    The state of West Virginia does not issue a Permit/ License to Non-Residents.

  • Carry Permit Limitation

    From the WV AG’s Handbook on Firearm Laws for West Virginia
    1. Federal government properties or other places where firearms are prohibited by federal law. This includes areas of restricted access in airports
    2. Any property where firearms are prohibited by the owner, lessee or other person charged with the care, custody and control of the real property.
    3. The State Capitol Complex.
    4. Regional jails, detention facilities or State Division of Corrections facilities
    5. County courthouses or any facility housing a court of this state.
    6. Any primary or secondary school building, grounds or property, at any school sponsored function or on any school bus or conveyance.
    7. Any building or area limited by municipal code. (See Municipalities Below)
    While it is not a crime, when armed, to enter property where firearms are prohibited by the owner, lessee or other person charged with care, custody and control thereof, refusal to relinquish the weapon or refusal to leave the premises upon request while in possession of a firearm or other deadly weapon is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one thousand dollars and/or up to six months in jail. There is no requirement in the law that such property be posted as a “no gun” area. The provisions of this section only apply to property where firearms are not otherwise prohibited by law. §61-7-11a (b)(2)(C) A person who, as otherwise permitted by the provisions of this article, possesses an unloaded firearm or deadly weapon in a motor vehicle or leaves an unloaded firearm or deadly weapon in a locked motor vehicle; (Note: Unloaded firearm in vehicle is allowed in any school property)
    WV Capitol Grounds
    §61-6-19. Willful disruption of governmental processes; offenses occurring at State Capitol Complex; penalties.
    (b) It is unlawful for any person to bring upon the State Capitol Complex any weapon as defined in section two, article seven of this chapter: Provided, That a person who holds a valid, current concealed weapons permit issued by a sheriff of this state or the appropriate authority of another jurisdiction may keep a firearm in his or her motor vehicle upon the State Capitol Complex if the vehicle is locked and the weapon is out of normal view.
    §61-7-2. Definitions.
    (10) “Concealed” means hidden from ordinary observation so as to prevent disclosure or recognition. A deadly weapon is concealed when it is carried on or about the person in such a manner that another person in the ordinary course of events would not be placed on notice that the deadly weapon was being carried. For purposes of concealed handgun licensees, a licensee shall be deemed to be carrying on or about his or her person while in or on a motor vehicle if the firearm is located in a storage area in or on the motor vehicle.

    Municipalities
    (a) Except as provided by the provisions of this section and the provisions of section five of this article, neither a municipality nor the governing body of any municipality may, by ordinance or otherwise, limit the right of any person to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell or store any revolver, pistol, rifle or shotgun or any ammunition or ammunition components to be used therewith nor to so regulate the keeping of gunpowder so as to directly or indirectly prohibit the ownership of the ammunition in any manner inconsistent with or in conflict with state law.
    (b) For the purposes of this section:
    (1) “Municipally owned or operated building” means any building that is used for the business of the municipality, such as a courthouse, city hall, convention center, administrative building or other similar municipal building used for a municipal purpose permitted by state law: Provided, That “municipally owned or operated building” does not include a building owned by a municipality that is leased to a private entity where the municipality primarily serves as a property owner receiving rental payments.
    (2) “Municipally owned recreation facility” means any municipal swimming pool, recreation center, sports facility, facility housing an after-school program or other similar facility where children are regularly present.
    (c)(1) A municipality may enact and enforce an ordinance or ordinances that prohibit or regulate the carrying or possessing of a firearm in municipally owned or operated buildings.
    (2) A municipality may enact and enforce an ordinance or ordinances that prohibit a person from carrying or possessing a firearm openly or that is not lawfully concealed in a municipally owned recreation facility: Provided, That a municipality may not prohibit a person with a valid concealed handgun permit from carrying an otherwise lawfully possessed firearm into a municipally owned recreation facility and securely storing the firearm out of view and access to others during their time at the municipally owned recreation facility.
    (3) A person may keep an otherwise lawfully possessed firearm in a motor vehicle in municipal public parking facilities if the vehicle is locked and the firearm is out of view.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    In West Virginia, “No Firearm” signs have no force of law unless it is specifically posted and mentioned in State Law that it is off limits to those with permit/license to carry.

    If a person go to a place where there is a sign but not mentioned in the law and ask that person to leave, then he/she must leave at once, otherwise, it will be considered as breaking the law thus the person can be charged. Even without a sign, if the owner of the property asks the other person to leave, then he/she has to leave.

    Handgunlaw.us always recommends that a person must not enter any private premises especially with “No Firearm” sign no matter what the state law means as a sign of respect to the rights of the owners to control their own property.

  • Police on Carry Requirements

    §61-7-4. (n) All licensees must carry with them a state-issued photo identification card with the concealed weapons license whenever the licensee is carrying a concealed weapon. Any licensee who fails to have in his or her possession a state-issued photo identification card and a current concealed weapons license while carrying a concealed weapon is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $50 or more than $200 for each offense.

  • Traveling with Firearm Inside a Vehicle

    §20-2-6a. Carrying a handgun while afield.

    (a) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, a person who is not prohibited at the time from possessing a firearm pursuant to the provisions of section seven, article seven, chapter sixty-one of this code or by any applicable federal law may carry a handgun for self-defense purposes while afield hunting, hiking, camping or in or on a motor vehicle.

    (b) The provisions of this section shall not exempt any person from obtaining any hunting or fishing license or stamp required by the Division of Natural Resources.

  • Open Carry

    §20-2-6a. Carrying a handgun while afield.

    (a) Notwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, a person who is not prohibited at the time from possessing a firearm pursuant to the provisions of section seven, article seven, chapter sixty-one of this code or by any applicable federal law may carry a handgun for self-defense purposes while afield hunting, hiking, camping or in or on a motor vehicle.

    (b) The provisions of this section shall not exempt any person from obtaining any hunting or fishing license or stamp required by the Division of Natural Resources.

    Note: In West Virginia, a person carrying a firearm without a valid permit/license, the firearm must visible and/or in plain view especially inside a vehicle.

  • State Preemption

    §8-12-5a. Limitations Upon Municipalities’ Power To Restrict The Purchase, Possession, Transfer, Ownership, Carrying, Transport, Sale and Storage of Certain Weapons and Ammunition.

    (a) Except as provided by the provisions of this section and the provisions of section five of this article, neither a municipality nor the governing body of any municipality may, by ordinance or otherwise, limit the right of any person to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell or store any revolver, pistol, rifle or shotgun or any ammunition or ammunition components to be used therewith nor to so regulate the keeping of gunpowder so as to directly or indirectly prohibit the ownership of the ammunition in any manner inconsistent with or in conflict with state law.

    (b) For the purposes of this section:
    (1) “Municipally owned or operated building” means any building that is used for the business of the municipality, such as a courthouse, city hall, convention center, administrative building or other similar municipal building used for a municipal purpose permitted by state law: Provided, That “municipally owned or operated building” does not include a building owned by a municipality that is leased to a private entity where the municipality primarily serves as a property owner receiving rental payments.
    (2) “Municipally owned recreation facility” means any municipal swimming pool, recreation center, sports facility, facility housing an after-school program or other similar facility where children are regularly present.
    (c)
    (1) A municipality may enact and enforce an ordinance or ordinances that prohibit or regulate the carrying or possessing of a firearm in municipally owned or operated buildings.
    (2) A municipality may enact and enforce an ordinance or ordinances that prohibit a person from carrying or possessing a firearm openly or that is not lawfully concealed in a municipally owned recreation facility: Provided, That a municipality may not prohibit a person with a valid concealed handgun permit from carrying an otherwise lawfully possessed firearm into a municipally owned recreation facility and securely storing the firearm out of view and access to others during their time at the municipally owned recreation facility.
    (3) A person may keep an otherwise lawfully possessed firearm in a motor vehicle in municipal public parking facilities if the vehicle is locked and the firearm is out of view.
    (4) A municipality may not prohibit or regulate the carrying or possessing of a firearm on municipally owned or operated property other than municipally owned or operated buildings and municipally owned recreation facilities pursuant to subdivisions (1) and (2) of this section: Provided, That a municipality may prohibit persons who do not have a valid concealed handgun license from carrying or possessing a firearm on municipally owned or operated property.

    (d) It shall be an absolute defense to an action for an alleged violation of an ordinance authorized by this section prohibiting or regulating the possession of a firearm that the person:
    (1) Upon being requested to do so, left the premise with the firearm or temporarily relinquished the firearm in response to being informed that his or her possession of the firearm was contrary to municipal ordinance; and
    (2) but for the municipal ordinance the person was lawfully in possession of the firearm.
    (e) Any municipality that enacts an ordinance regulating or prohibiting the carrying or possessing of a firearm pursuant to subsection (c) of this section shall prominently post a clear statement at each entrance to all applicable municipally owned or operated buildings or municipally owned recreation facilities setting forth the terms of the regulation or prohibition
    (f) Redress for an alleged violation of this section may be sought through the provisions of chapter fifty-three of this code, which may include the awarding of reasonable attorneys fees and costs.
    (g) Upon the effective date of this section, section fourteen, article seven, chapter sixty-one of this code is inapplicable to municipalities. For the purposes of that section, municipalities may not be considered a person charged with the care, custody and control of real property.
    (h) This section does not:
    (1) Impair the authority of any municipality, or the governing body thereof, to enact any ordinance or resolution respecting the power to arrest, convict and punish any individual under the provisions of subdivision (16), section five of this article or from enforcing any such ordinance or resolution;
    (2) Authorize municipalities to restrict the carrying or possessing of firearms, which are otherwise lawfully possessed, on public streets and sidewalks of the municipality: Provided, That whenever pedestrian or vehicular traffic is prohibited in an area of a municipality for the purpose of a temporary event of limited www.handgunlaw.us 8 duration, not to exceed fourteen days, which is authorized by a municipality, a municipality may prohibit persons who do not have a valid concealed handgun license from possessing a firearm in the area where the event is held; or
    (3) Limit the authority of a municipality to restrict the commercial use of real estate in designated areas through planning or zoning ordinances.

  • Deadly Force Laws

    §55-7-22. Civil relief for persons resisting certain criminal activities.

  • Notes

    The state of West Virginia Consider on a Loaded Firearm
    §20-2-5. Unlawful Methods of Hunting and Fishing and Other Unlawful Acts. What is Loaded.
    (9) Have in his or her possession a crossbow with a nocked bolt, rifle or shotgun from which all cartridges have not been removed, in or on any vehicle or conveyance, or its attachments, within the state, except as may otherwise be provided by law or regulation. For the purposes of this section, a rifle or shotgun whose magazine readily detaches is considered unloaded if the magazine is detached, and no cartridges remain in the rifle or shotgun itself. Except as hereinafter provided, between five o’clock postmeridian of one day and seven o’clock antemeridian, eastern standard time of the day following, any unloaded firearm or crossbow, being lawfully carried in accordance with the foregoing provisions, may be so carried only when in a case or taken apart and securely wrapped. During the period from July 1 to September 30, inclusive, of each year, the foregoing requirements relative to carrying certain unloaded firearms are permissible only from eight-thirty o’clock postmeridian to five o’clock antemeridian, eastern standard time: Provided, That the time periods for carrying unloaded and uncased firearms are extended for one hour after the postmeridian times and one hour before the antemeridian times established above if a hunter is preparing to or in the process of transporting or transferring the firearms to or from a hunting site, campsite, home or other place of abode;

    State Emergency Powers
    §15-5-6. Emergency Powers of Governor.
    The provisions of this section shall be operative only during the existence of a state of emergency. The existence of a state of emergency may be proclaimed by the Governor or by concurrent resolution of the Legislature if the Governor in such proclamation, or the Legislature in such resolution, finds that an attack upon the United States has occurred or is anticipated in the immediate future, or that a natural or man-made disaster of major proportions has actually occurred or is imminent within the state, and that the safety and welfare of the inhabitants of this state require an invocation of the provisions of this section. Any such emergency, whether proclaimed by the Governor or by the Legislature, shall terminate upon the proclamation of the termination thereof by the Governor, or the passage by the Legislature of a concurrent resolution terminating such emergency. So long as such state of emergency exists, the Governor shall have and may exercise the following additional emergency powers:
    (a) To enforce all laws and rules relating to the provision of emergency services and to assume direct operational control of any or all emergency service forces and helpers in the state;
    (b) To sell, lend, lease, give, transfer or deliver materials or perform functions relating to emergency services on such terms and conditions as he or she shall prescribe and without regard to the limitations of any existing law and to account to the State Treasurer for any funds received for such property;
    (c) To procure materials and facilities for emergency services by purchase, condemnation under the provisions of chapter fifty-four of this code or seizure pending institution of condemnation proceedings within thirty days from the seizing thereof and to construct, lease, transport, store, maintain, renovate or distribute such materials and facilities. Compensation for property so procured shall be made in the manner provided in chapter fifty-four of this code;
    (d) To obtain the services of necessary personnel, required during the emergency, and to compensate them for their services from his or her contingent funds or such other funds as may be available to him or her;
    (e) To provide and compel the evacuation of all or part of the population from any stricken or threatened area within the state and to take such steps as are necessary for the receipt and care of such evacuees;
    (f) To control ingress and egress to and from a disaster area, the movement of persons within the area and the occupancy of premises therein;
    (g) To suspend the provisions of any regulatory statute prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business or the orders, rules or regulations of any state agency, if strict compliance therewith would in any way prevent, hinder or delay necessary action in coping with the emergency;
    (h) To utilize such available resources of the state and of its political subdivisions as are reasonably necessary to cope with the emergency;
    (i) To suspend or limit the sale, dispensing or transportation of alcoholic beverages, explosives and combustibles;
    (j) To make provision for the availability and use of temporary emergency housing; and
    (k) To perform and exercise such other functions, powers and duties as are necessary to promote and secure the safety and protection of the civilian population.
    No powers granted under this section may be interpreted to authorize any action that would violate the prohibitions of section nineteen-a of this article. (See 19a below)
    §15-5-19a. Possession of Firearms During A Declared State of Emergency.
    (a) No person acting on behalf or under the authority of the state or a political subdivision of the state may do any of the following during any federal or state declared state of emergency:
    (1) Prohibit or restrict the otherwise lawful possession, use, carrying, transfer, transportation, storage or display of an firearm or ammunition.
    (2) Seize, confiscate, or authorize the seizure or confiscation of any otherwise lawfully- possessed firearm or ammunition unless:
    (A) The person acting on behalf of or under the authority of the state or political subdivision is:
    (i) Defending himself or another from an assault; or,
    (ii) Arresting a person in actual possession of a firearm or ammunition for a violation of the law; or
    (B) The firearm or ammunition is being seized or confiscated as evidence of a crime; or
    (3) Requires registration of any firearm or ammunition.
    (b) The prohibitions of subsection (a)(1) do not prohibit the state or an authorized state or local authority from ordering and enforcing an evacuation or general closure of businesses in the affected area during a declared state of emergency.
    (c) Any individual aggrieve4
    (d) In addition to any other remedy at or in equity, an individual aggrieved by the seizure or confiscation of a firearm or ammunition in violation of this section may bring an action for the return of such firearm or ammunition in the circuit court of the county in which the individual resides or in which such firearm or ammunition is located.
    (e) In any action or proceeding to enforce this section, the court shall award a prevailing plaintiff costs and reasonable attorney fees.
    Minimum Age for Possessing and Transporting of Handguns.

    West Virginia 18 Y/O §61-7-8

    18 years old is the minimum age that can carry and transporting an unloaded handgun and bring into a vehicle without the presence or carrying any type of license or permit.

    Note: This restriction is not applicable for some states. For some state carrying and transporting a handgun can be found in Gun Shop, Shooting range and other places that legally possessing a firearm.

  • Revision

    12/11/15 – Initial page created

Scroll to Top