sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Texas.

Texas does issue carry permit/licenses to both residents and non-residents.

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Texas for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.

Texas Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Texas' Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in Texas as a valid concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Texas Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Important Links

    State CCW Site
    CCW Related Laws
    Printed Application
    Forms
    Apply/Renew Online
    State FAQ Site
    State Statutes
    State Admin Rules
    State Reciprocity Info
    State Attorney General
    CHL Administrative Rules
    Secretary of State

  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Texas

    In Texas, non‐resident permit/license is being honored from other states. These states are as follows:

    Alabama
    Alaska
    Arizona
    Arkansas
    California
    Colorado
    Connecticut
    Delaware
    Florida
    Georgia
    Hawaii
    Idaho
    Indiana
    Iowa
    Kansas
    Kentucky
    Louisiana
    Maryland
    Massachusetts
    Michigan
    Mississippi
    Missouri
    Montana
    Nebraska
    Nevada
    New Jersey
    New Mexico
    New York
    North Carolina
    North Dakota
    *Ohio
    Oklahoma
    Pennsylvania
    *Rhode Island
    South Carolina
    South Dakota
    Tennessee
    Utah
    Virginia
    Washington
    West Virginia
    Wyoming

    1-Rhode Island – Texas only honors RI Permits issued by the Attorney General of Rhode Island.
    2-Ohio - Texas only honors Ohio Permits issued/renewed on or after 3/23/15.

    Reciprocity/How This State Honors Other States Permit/Licenses

    Government Code
    Title 4. Executive Branch
    Subtitle B. Law Enforcement And Public Protection
    Chapter 411. Department Of Public Safety Of The State Of Texas
    Subchapter A. General Provisions And Administration

    411.173 Nonresident License.

    (b)
    The governor shall negotiate an agreement with any other state that provides for the issuance of a license to carry a concealed handgun under which a license issued by the other state is recognized in this state or shall issue a proclamation that a license issued by the other state is recognized in this state if the attorney general of the State of Texas determines that a background check of each applicant for a license issued by that state is initiated by state or local authorities or an agent of the state or local authorities before the license is issued. For purposes of this subsection, "background check" means a search of the National Crime Information Center database and the Interstate Identification Index maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

    (c) The attorney general of the State of Texas shall annually:
    1. submit a report to the governor, lieutenant governor, and speaker of the house of representatives listing the states the attorney general has determined qualify for recognition under Subsection (b); and
    2. review the statutes of states that the attorney general has determined do not qualify for recognition under Subsection (b) to determine the changes to their statutes that are necessary to qualify for recognition under that subsection.
    (d) The attorney general of the State of Texas shall submit the report required by Subsection (c)(1) not later than January 1 of each calendar year

  • Applying for a Resident Permit

    The applicant may apply online. Additionally, some instructors may provide the required forms to the students.

    Or contact the DPS at the Address Below.
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Concealed Handgun - MSC 0245
    PO Box 4087
    Austin, TX 78773-0001
    Contact them by phone: (512) 424-7293

    CHL applicants must have done one of the following to schedule an appointment with MorphoTrust USA (formerly L-1 Identity Solutions):

    (1) An online application must have been submitted, OR
    (2) TXDPS must be in receipt of the paper CHL application.
    (a) Applicants who choose to submit a paper application must wait to schedule their MorphoTrust USA (formerly L-1 Identity Solutions) appointment after the application has been processed through the mail and they have received confirmation the application has been entered into the CHL database.

    To reduce processing time, TXDPS encourages all applicants to utilize the secure online application.

    Age Requirements:
    An applicant must be 21 years of age to submit an application for a Texas Concealed Handgun License OR must be at least 18 years of age if the applicant:
    (1) is a member or veteran of the United States armed forces, including a member or veteran of the reserves or national guard;
    (2) was discharged under honorable conditions, if discharged from the United States armed forces, reserves, or national guard.

    Effective March 1, 2011, all fingerprints for original Concealed Handgun License Applications must be submitted through L-1 Enrollment Services.

    Cost is $140.00 for initial and &70.00 for Renewal. Active Military, Honorably Discharged Veterans, Retired Law Enforcement, Senior Citizens and others get a discount.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    Same as resident applicants, non-residents may also apply online. Aside from the completed application form, non-resident applicants must have the following:

    (1) Proficiency certificate. The applicant must submit a handgun proficiency certificate (TR 100) issued upon successful completion of a handgun proficiency course approved by the department and taught by a certified handgun instructor. A proficiency certificate submitted by an original applicant will not be accepted by the department if it is more than two years old. A proficiency certificate submitted by a renewal applicant will not be accepted by the department if it is more than six months old
    (2) Out-of-state residents need to provide a color copy, front and back, of your state issued identification or driver license.
    Effective March 1, 2011, all fingerprints for original Concealed Handgun License Applications must be submitted through L-1 Enrollment Services.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    Title 10 Chpt. 46 § 46.03 and 46.035

    • On the physical premises of a school or educational institution, any grounds or building on which an activity sponsored by a school or educational institution is being conducted, or a passenger transportation vehicle of a school or educational institution, whether the school or educational institution is public or private, unless pursuant to written regulations or written authorization of the institution
    • On the premises where a high school, collegiate, or professional sporting event or interscholastic event is taking
    place, unless the license holder is a participant in the event and a handgun is used in the event
    • On the premises of a polling place on the day of an election or while early voting is in progress
    • On the premises of any government court or offices utilized by the court, unless pursuant to written regulations or written authorization of the court
    • On the premises of a racetrack. (Racetrack means a facility that is licensed for the conduct of parimutuel wagering on greyhound racing or horse racing.)
    • In or into a secured area of an airport. (Secured area means an area of an airport terminal building to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property under federal law.)
    • On the premises of a business that derives 51 percent or more of its income from the sale or service of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption
    • On the premises of a correctional facility
    • *On the premises of a hospital or nursing home, unless the license holder has written authorization of the hospital or nursing home administration
    • *In an amusement park. (Amusement park means a permanent indoor or outdoor facility or park where amusement rides are available for use by the public that is located in a county with a population of more than one million, encompasses at least 75 acres in surface area, is enclosed with access only through controlled entries, is open for operation more than 120 days in each calendar year, and has security guards on the premises at all times. The term does not include any public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area.)
    • *on the premises of a church, synagogue, or other established place of religious worship
    • *at any meeting of a governmental entity
    • *Public or private premises conspicuously posted with a Sign that meets these Criteria.

    Premises means a building or a portion of a building. The term does not include any public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area.

    Items above marked * do not apply if effective notice was not given under Section 30.06.

    Sec. 411.209. Wrongful Exclusion of Concealed Handgun License Holder.

    (a) A state agency or a political subdivision of the state may not provide notice by a communication described by Section 30.06, Penal Code, or by any sign expressly referring to that law or to a concealed handgun license, that a license holder carrying a handgun under the authority of this subchapter is prohibited from entering or remaining on a premises or other place owned or leased by the governmental entity unless license holders are prohibited from carrying a handgun on the premises or other place by Section 46.03 or 46.035, Penal Code.
    (b) A state agency or a political subdivision of the state that violates Subsection (a) is liable for a civil penalty of:
    1. not less than $1,000 and not more than $1,500 for the first violation; and
    2. not less than $10,000 and not more than $10,500 for the second or a subsequent violation.
    (c) Each day of a continuing violation of Subsection (a) constitutes a separate violation.
    (d) A citizen of this state or a person licensed to carry concealed handgun under this subchapter may file a complaint with the attorney general that a state agency or political subdivision is in violation of Subsection (a) if the citizen or person provides the agency or subdivision a written notice that describes the violation and specific location of the sign found to be in violation and the agency or subdivision does not cure the violation before the end of the third business day after the date of receiving the written notice. (See complete statute. Edited for space Considerations.)

    PC §46.03(a)(5) (As amended by HB554)

    (e-1) It is a defense to prosecution under Subsection (a)(5) that the actor:
    (1) possessed, at the screening checkpoint for the secured area, a concealed handgun that the actor was licensed to carry under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code; and
    (2) exited the screening checkpoint for the secured area immediately upon completion of the required Screening processes and notification that the actor possessed the handgun.
    (e-2) A peace officer investigating conduct that may constitute an offense under Subsection (a)(5) and that consists only of an actor's possession of a concealed handgun that the actor is licensed to carry under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, may not arrest the actor for the offense unless:
    (1) the officer advises the actor of the defense available under Subsection (e-1) and gives the actor an opportunity to exit the screening checkpoint for the secured area; and
    (2) the actor does not immediately exit the checkpoint upon completion of the required screening processes.
    Note: Sec. 2155.101 Thru Sec. 2155.103 States that if a Hotel/Motel has restrictions on firearms on their property they must display that on their website. If a hotel provides a written confirmation or a written statement of terms and conditions to a consumer after accepting the consumer’s hotel reservation by telephone, the hotel shall include information specifying how the consumer may review applicable guest policies. The guest policies must indicate the hotel’s policy regarding the possession, storage, and transportation of firearms by guests. The hotel can be fined if they do not list their restrictions.

    Legislative Changes by Senate Bill 11 concerning Campus Carry that takes effect Aug. 1, 2016.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    30.06(e) It is an exception to the application of this section that the property on which the license holder carries a handgun is owned or leased by a governmental entity and is not a premises or other place on which the license holder is prohibited from carrying the handgun under Section 46.03 or 46.035. In order to provide notice that entry on property by a license holder with a concealed handgun is forbidden, Penal Code Section 30.06(c)(3)(A) requires that a written communication contain the following Language: 30.06 Sign.

    30.06(c)(3)(B) further states that a sign must meet the following requirements:

    i Includes the language described by Paragraph (A) in both English and Spanish;
    ii appears in contrasting colors with block letters at least one inch in height; and
    iii is displayed in a conspicuous manner clearly visible to the public.

    Texas No Gun Signs must meet certain criteria or they are not valid.

    Sec. 411.209. Wrongful Exclusion of Concealed Handgun License Holder.

    (a) A state agency or a political subdivision of the state may not provide notice by a communication described by Section 30.06, Penal Code, or by any sign expressly referring to that law or to a concealed handgun license, that a license holder carrying a handgun under the authority of this subchapter is prohibited www.handgunlaw.us 6 from entering or remaining on a premises or other place owned or leased by the governmental entity unless license holders are prohibited from carrying a handgun on the premises or other place by Section 46.03 or 46.035, Penal Code.
    (b) A state agency or a political subdivision of the state that violates Subsection (a) is liable for a civil penalty of:
    1. not less than $1,000 and not more than $1,500 for the first violation; and
    2. not less than $10,000 and not more than $10,500 for the second or a subsequent violation.
    (c) Each day of a continuing violation of Subsection (a) constitutes a separate violation.
    (d) A citizen of this state or a person licensed to carry concealed handgun under this subchapter may file a complaint with the attorney general that a state agency or political subdivision is in violation of Subsection (a) if the citizen or person provides the agency or subdivision a written notice that describes the violation and specific location of the sign found to be in violation and the agency or subdivision does not cure the violation before the end of the third business day after the date of receiving the written notice.

    Note: Texas also has a different sign that is posted in and about every establishment that derives 51% or more of its income from the sale or service of alcoholic beverages for on premises consumption. Carry in these establishments is against the law even with a Permit/License to Carry. The 51% sign must be posted by law on any establishment that derives more than 50% of their income from the sale of alcohol. You can see an image of the 51% Signs Here 30.06 Sign Here (Both signs have size requirements in the statutes.)

  • Parking Lot Storage Law

    Labor Code Subchapter G
    52.061. Restriction on Prohibiting Employee Access to or Storage of Firearm or Ammunition.
    A public or private employer may not prohibit an employee who holds a license to carry a concealed handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, who otherwise lawfully possesses a firearm, or who lawfully possesses ammunition from transporting or storing a firearm or ammunition the employee is authorized by law to possess in a locked, privately owned motor vehicle in a parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area the employer provides for employees.

    Sec. 52.062. Exceptions.

    (a) Section 52.061 does not:
    (1) authorize a person who holds a license to carry a concealed handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, who otherwise lawfully possesses a firearm, or who lawfully possesses ammunition to possess a firearm or ammunition on any property where the possession of a firearm or ammunition is prohibited by state or federal law; or
    (2) Apply to:
    (A) a vehicle owned or leased by a public or private employer and used by an employee in the course and scope of the employee ’s employment, unless the employee is required to transport or store a firearm in the official discharge of the employee ’s duties;
    (B) a school district;
    (C) an open-enrollment charter school, as defined by Section 5.001, Education Code;
    (D) a private school, as defined by Section 22.081, Education Code;
    (E) property owned or controlled by a person, other than the employer, that is subject to a valid, unexpired oil, gas, or other mineral lease that contains a provision prohibiting the possession of firearms on the property; or
    (F) property owned or leased by a chemical manufacturer or oil and gas refiner with an air authorization under Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code, and on which the primary business conducted is the manufacture, use, storage, or transportation of hazardous, combustible, or explosive materials, except in regard to an employee who holds a license to carry a concealed handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and who stores a firearm or ammunition the employee is authorized by law to possess in a locked, privately owned motor vehicle in a parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area the employer provides for employees that is outside of a secured and restricted area:
    i that contains the physical plant;
    ii that is not open to the public; and
    iii the ingress into which is constantly monitored by security personnel.
    (b) Section 52.061 does not prohibit an employer from prohibiting an employee who holds a license to carry a concealed handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, or who otherwise lawfully possesses a firearm, from possessing a firearm the employee is otherwise authorized by law to possess on the premises of the employer ’s business. In this subsection, "premises" has the meaning assigned by Section 46.035(f)(3), Penal Code.

    Sec. 411.203. Rights of Employers. This subchapter does not prevent or otherwise limit the right of a public or private employer to prohibit persons who are licensed under this subchapter from carrying a concealed handgun on the premises of the business. In this section, "premises" has the meaning assigned by Section 46.035(f)(3), Penal Code.

    Note: This is not the complete law on Parking Lot Storage.

    Sec.A411.2032. Transportation and Storage of Firearms and Ammunition By License Holders In Private Vehicles On Certain Campuses.

    (a) For purposes of this section:
    (1) "Campus" means all land and buildings owned or leased by an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education.
    (2) "Institution of higher education" and "private or independent institution of higher education" have the meanings assigned by Section 61.003, Education Code.
    (b) An institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education in this state may not adopt or enforce any rule, regulation, or other provision or take any other action, including posting notice under Section 30.06, Penal Code, prohibiting or placing restrictions on the storage or transportation of a firearm or ammunition in a locked, privately owned or leased motor vehicle by a person, including a student enrolled at that institution, who holds a license to carry a concealed handgun under this subchapter and lawfully possesses the firearm or ammunition:
    (1) on a street or driveway located on the campus of the institution; or
    (2)in a parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area located on the campus of the institution.

  • Police on Carry Requirements

    Sec. 411.205. Requirement to Display License.

    If a license holder is carrying a handgun on or about the license holder's person when a magistrate or a peace officer demands that the license holder display identification, the license holder shall display both the license holder's driver's license or identification certificate issued by the department and the license holder's handgun license.

    Note: In Texas, if a person is carrying a concealed handgun when an officer asks him/her for an ID , then he/she must show his/her permit/license, otherwise, it’ll be considered as not following the law. No particular penalty if the person refuses to inform the officer but as a law abiding citizen, it is best advised to always follow the law.

  • Traveling with Firearm Inside a Vehicle

    From the Texas DPS FAQ Page:

    Q. Can I carry a handgun without a license when driving or traveling in a Motor Vehicle?

    A. Effective September 1, 2007 a person who can legally possess a firearm may possess or carry a handgun in motor vehicle (including a recreational vehicle with living quarters) and watercraft that is owned by or under the lawful control of the person. However, the firearm must be concealed, the person may not be engaged in criminal activity, and also may not be a member of “Criminal Street Gang.” The person may also carry the firearm to and from his vehicle without a license. (See Texas Penal Code 46.02 (a). However, DPS recommends that you seek the advice of an attorney with any questions regarding the unlicensed carrying of firearms.

    The Law is Written

    Title 10 . Section 1

    Section 46.02

    (a) A person commits an offense if the person [he] intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about his or her person a handgun, illegal knife, or club if the person is not:
    (1)on the person's own premises or premises under the person's control; or
    (2) inside of or directly en route to a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person's control.
    (a-1) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carries on or about www.handgunlaw.us 9 his or her person a handgun in a motor vehicle or watercraft that is owned by the person or under the person's control at any time in which:

    (1) the handgun is in plain view; or
    (2) the person is:
    (a) engaged in criminal activity, other than a Class C misdemeanor that is a violation of a law or ordinance regulating traffic or boating;
    (b) prohibited by law from possessing a firearm; or
    (c) a member of a criminal street gang, as defined by Section 71.01

    (a-2) For purposes of this section, "premises" includes real property and a recreational vehicle that is being used as living quarters, regardless of whether that use is temporary or permanent. In this subsection, "recreational vehicle" means a motor vehicle primarily designed as temporary living quarters or a vehicle that contains temporary living quarters and is designed to be towed by a motor vehicle. The term includes a travel trailer, camping trailer, truck camper, motor home, and horse trailer with living quarters.

    (a-3) For purposes of this section, "watercraft" means any boat, motorboat, vessel, or personal watercraft, other than a seaplane on water, used or capable of being used for transportation on water.

    Section 2.

    (b) Section 46.02 does not apply to a person who:
    (1) is in the actual discharge of official duties as a member of the armed forces or state military forces as defined by Section 431.001, Government Code, or as a guard employed by a penal institution;
    (2) is on the person's own premises or premises under the person's control unless the person is an employee or agent of the owner of the premises and the person's primary responsibility is to act in the capacity of a security guard to protect persons or property, in which event the person must comply with Subdivision (5);
    (3) is traveling;
    (4) is engaging in lawful hunting, fishing, or other sporting activity on the immediate premises where the activity is conducted, or is en route between the premises and the actor's residence, motor vehicle, or watercraft if the weapon is a type commonly used in the activity;
    (5) holds a security officer commission issued by the Texas [Board of Private Investigators and] Private Security Board [Agencies], if:
    (A) the person is engaged in the performance of the person's duties as a security officer or traveling to and from the person's place of assignment;
    (B) the person is wearing a distinctive uniform; and
    (C) the weapon is in plain view;
    (6) is carrying a concealed handgun and a valid license issued under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code [Article 4413(29ee), Revised Statutes], to carry a concealed handgun of the same category as the handgun the person is carrying;
    (7) holds a security officer commission and a personal protection officer authorization issued by the Texas [Board of Private Investigators and] Private Security Board [Agencies] and [who] is providing personal protection under Chapter 1702, Occupations Code [the Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies Act (Article 4413(29bb), Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes)]; or
    (8) holds an alcoholic beverage permit or license or is an employee of a holder of an alcoholic beverage permit or license if the person is supervising the operation of the permitted or licensed premises.

    Section 3. The following provisions are repealed:

    (1) Section 46.15(h), Penal Code; and
    (2) Section 46.15(i), Penal Code, as added by Chapter 288, Acts of the 79th Legislature, Regular Session, 2005.

    Section 4. The change in law made by this Act applies only to an offense committed on or after the effective date of this Act. An offense committed before the effective date of this Act is governed by the law in effect when the offense was committed, and the former law is continued in effect for that purpose. For purposes of this section, an offense was committed before the effective date of this Act if any element of the offense was committed before that date.

    Section 5. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.

  • Open Carry

    Open Carry is illegal in Texas. Last 2013, some bills were proposed to make open carry of handgun legal but it didn’t pass the legislature.

  • State Preemption

    Local Government Code § 229.001. Firearms; Air Guns; Knives; Explosives.

    (a) Notwithstanding any other law, including Section 43.002 of this code and Chapter 251, Agriculture Code, a municipality may not adopt regulations relating to:

    (1) the transfer, private ownership, keeping, transportation, licensing, or registration of firearms, air guns, knives, ammunition, or firearm or air gun supplies; or

    (2) the discharge of a firearm or air gun at a sport shooting range.

    (b) Subsection (a) does not affect the authority a municipality has under another law to:

    (1) require residents or public employees to be armed for personal or national defense, law enforcement, or another lawful purpose;
    (2) regulate the discharge of firearms or air guns within the limits of the municipality, other than at a sport shooting range;
    (3) regulate the use of property, the location of a business, or uses at a business under the municipality's fire code, zoning ordinance, or land-use regulations as long as the code, ordinance, or regulations are not used to circumvent the intent of Subsection (a) or Subdivision (5) of this subsection; www.handgunlaw.us 11
    (4) regulate the use of firearms, [or] air guns, or knives in the case of an insurrection, riot, or natural disaster if the municipality finds the regulations necessary to protect public health and safety;
    (5) regulate the storage or transportation of explosives to protect public health and safety, except that 25 pounds or less of black powder for each private residence and 50 pounds or less of black powder for each retail dealer are not subject to regulation;
    (6) regulate the carrying of a firearm or air gun by a person other than a person licensed to carry a concealed handgun under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, at a:
    (A) public park;
    (B) public meeting of a municipality, county, or other governmental body;
    (C) political rally, parade, or official political meeting; or
    (D) nonfirearms-related school, college, or professional athletic event;
    (7) regulate the hours of operation of a sport shooting range, except that the hours of operation may not be more limited than the least limited hours of operation of any other business in the municipality other than a business permitted or licensed to sell or serve alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption; or
    (8) regulate the carrying of an air gun by a minor on:
    (A) public property; or
    (B) private property without consent of the property owner.
    (c) The exception provided by Subsection (b)(6) does not apply if the firearm or air gun is in or is carried to or from an area designated for use in a lawful hunting, fishing, or other sporting event and the firearm or air gun is of the type commonly used in the activity.
    (d) The exception provided by Subsection (b)(4) does not authorize the seizure or confiscation of any firearm, air gun, knife, or ammunition from an individual who is lawfully carrying or possessing the firearm, air gun, knife, or ammunition.
    (e) In this section:
    (1) "Air gun" means any gun that discharges a pellet, BB, or paintball by means of compressed air, gas propellant, or a spring.
    (2) "Knife" has the meaning assigned by Section 46.01, Penal Code.
    (3) "Sport shooting range" has the meaning assigned by Section 250.001.
    (f) The attorney general may bring an action in the name of the state to obtain a temporary or permanent injunction against a municipality adopting a regulation in violation of this section.

    Chapter 236. County Regulation of Firearms, Knives, Ammunition, Firearm Supplies, and Sport Shooting Ranges (Edited for space considerations)

    Section 236.002(a),

    (a) Notwithstanding any other law, including Chapter 251, Agriculture Code, a county may not adopt regulations relating to:

    (1) the transfer, private ownership, keeping, transportation, licensing, or registration of firearms, air guns, knives, ammunition, or firearm or air gun supplies; or

    (2) the discharge of a firearm or air gun at a sport shooting range.

    Section 7. (a) A municipality or county may not enforce a regulation adopted by the municipality or county before the effective date of this Act that relates to knives, if the adoption of the regulation would be prohibited under Section 229.001 or 236.002, Local Government Code, as amended by this Act.

    (b) A court in which a proceeding is pending for a violation of a regulation described by Subsection (a) of this section shall dismiss the proceeding.

    (c) The prohibition of enforcement of a regulation under Subsection (a) of this section does not:

    (1) affect a final judgment of a court upholding a penalty under a regulation described by Subsection (a); or

    (2) entitle a person who has paid a penalty for a violation of the regulation to a refund of the penalty.

    Minimum Age for Possessing and Transporting of Handguns.

    Texas 18 Y/O Title 10 Sec. 46.06

    18 years old is the minimum age that can carry and transporting an unloaded handgun and bring into a vehicle without the presence or carrying any type of license or permit.

    Note: This restriction is not applicable for some states. For some state carrying and transporting a handgun can be found in Gun Shop, Shooting range and other places that legally possessing a firearm.

  • Revision

    12/21/15 – Initial page created

Scroll to Top