Contact Us     
sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

The National Carry Academy online training program will allow you to carry in Tennessee by applying for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License.

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Tenneessee for residents and non-residents for the firest 6 months then you must apply locally for a concealed carry permit, as well as honored in many other states.

Tennessee Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Tennessee's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted Tennessee for six months as a resident or non resident as a valid concealed carry permit then you must submit for a local concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Tennessee Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Important Links

    State CCW Site
    State CCW Pamphlet
    Steps To Apply For Permit
    State FAQ Site
    State Statutes
    State Admin Rules
    State Reciprocity Info
    State Attorney General
    TN CCW Laws
    Secretary of State

  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Tennessee

    Reciprocity/How This State Honors Other States Permit/Licenses
    39-17-1351. Handgun Carry Permits.
    (r) (1) A facially valid handgun permit, firearms permit, weapons permit or license issued by another state shall be valid in this state according to its terms and shall be treated as if it is a handgun permit issued by this state; provided, however, the provisions of this subsection (r) shall not be construed to authorize the holder of any out-of-state permit or license to carry, in this state, any firearm or weapon other than a handgun.

    (2) For a person to lawfully carry a handgun in this state based upon a permit or license issued in another state, the person must be in possession of the permit or license at all times the person carries a handgun in this state.

  • Applying for a Resident Permit

    In order to obtain a handgun carry permit in Tennessee, the applicant must accomplish a Handgun Safety Course from a handgun safety school duly certified by Department of Safety. Tennessee will now Links State CCW Site State CCW Pamphlet Steps To Apply for Permit State FAQ Site State Statutes State Admin Rules State Reciprocity Info State Attorney General TN CCW Laws Secretary of State. Accept two forms used by the Military which capture combat pistol training (CG-3029, DD-2586, DA-88-R and AF-522). These forms can now be used to verify military handgun training.

    The applicant may the application at any full service Driver Service Center. He/she needs to bring the original copy of his/her safety course completion certificate, Proof of US Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency, photo identification such as your Driver License, and NON-REFUNDABLE permit fee. This fee may be paid in cash, money order or with a certified check. If there are no problems with the application and applicant meets all requirements, he/she should receive the permit within 90 days from the date he/she submits the application.

    When your application is processed at the Driver Service Center, the applicant will be given instructions on being fingerprinted.

    Effective July 1, 2005, all handgun permit applicants seeking a new permit must provide Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency.

    Even though a person has a permit and is authorized to possess or carry a firearm pursuant to T.C.A. 39-17- 1315 or 39-17-1351, there are restrictions as to where firearms may be carried. Additional information pertaining to possession of and carrying a firearm are listed by Tennessee Annotated Code and Subject Matter. More information can be obtained online from the Tennessee Annotated Code Lookup.

    Processing
    • Applications are received and reviewed in the Handgun Carry Permit Office.
    • Proper documentation is forwarded to three (3) different agencies: (TBI, FBI, County Sheriff).
    • Upon a name search approval from TBI, the permit can be issued within ninety (90) days from date of application.
    • Upon issuance, the handgun carry permit will be mailed to the applicant.
    Incomplete applications cannot be processed.
    • Fees Are Non-Refundable

    Lifetime License

    39-17-1351

    (x) (1) Any resident of Tennessee who is a United States citizen or lawful permanent resident, as defined by § 55-50-102, who has reached twenty-one (21) years of age, may apply to the department of safety for a lifetime handgun carry permit. If the applicant is not prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm in this state pursuant to § 39-17-1316 or § 39-17-1307(b), 18 U.S.C. § 922(g), or any other state or federal law, and the applicant otherwise meets all of the requirements of this section, the department shall issue a permit to the applicant. The lifetime handgun carry permit shall entitle the permit holder to carry any handgun or handguns the permit holder legally owns or possesses and shall entitle the permit holder to any privilege granted to handgun carry permit

    (2) The department shall charge an application and processing fee of five hundred dollars ($500) for a lifetime handgun carry permit. The application process shall otherwise be the same as the application process for a handgun carry permit as set out in this section. A lifetime handgun carry permit shall not expire and shall continue to be valid for the life of the permit holder unless the permit holder no longer meets the requirements of this section. A lifetime handgun carry permit shall not be subject to renewal.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    State of Tennessee will issue a Permit/ Licenses to their Non-Resident who meet their qualifications listed below.

    39-17-1351. Handgun Carry Permits

    (C) (i) If a person who is a resident of and handgun permit holder in another state is employed in this state on a regular basis and desires to carry a handgun in this state, the person shall have six (6) months from the last day of the sixth month of regular employment in this state to obtain a Tennessee handgun carry permit. The permit may be issued based on the person having a permit from another state provided the other state has substantially similar permit eligibility requirements as this state. However, if during the six-month period the person applies for a handgun permit in this state and the application is denied, the person shall not be allowed to carry a handgun in this state based upon the other state's permit.

    (ii) The provisions of this subdivision (r)(3)(C) shall not apply if the state of residence of the person employed in Tennessee has entered into a handgun permit reciprocity agreement with this state pursuant to this subsection (r).

    (iii) As used in this subdivision (r)(3)(C), “employed in this state on a regular basis” means a person has been gainfully employed in this state for at least thirty (30) hours a week for six (6) consecutive months not counting any absence from employment caused by the employee's use of sick leave, annual leave, administrative leave or compensatory time.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    • Any room in which judicial proceedings are in progress.
    • Any public or private school building or bus, on any public or private school campus, grounds, recreation area, athletic field or any other property owned, used or operated by any board of education, school, college or university board of trustees, regents or directors for the administration of any public or private educational institution.
    • It is not an offense for a nonstudent adult to possess a firearm, if such firearm is contained within a private vehicle operated by the adult and is not handled by such adult, or by any other person acting with the expresses or implied consent of such adult, while such vehicle is on school property.
    • An individual, corporation, business entity or government entity or agent thereof is authorized to prohibit possession of weapons by any person otherwise authorized by this subsection, at meetings conducted by, or on premises owned, operated, managed or under control of such individual, corporation, business entity or government entity. Notice of such prohibition shall be posted in prominent locations, including all entrances primarily used by persons entering the building, portion of the building or buildings where weapon possession is prohibited. Cities/Counties can post their parks.

    Attorney General Opinion on Carrying in/on Property of a Church School.

    • It is a criminal offense to possess or carry weapons, including firearms, on those portions of the property of a religious institution being used for school purposes.
    • The prohibition against carrying weapons applies only to those portions of the property of the religious institution being used for school purposes.
    • The prohibition against carrying a firearm on the property of a religious institution applies only while the property is being used or operated by the school.

    39-17-1311. Carrying Weapons on Public Parks, Playgrounds, Civic Centers and Other Public Recreational Buildings and Grounds.

    (a) It is an offense for any person to possess or carry, whether openly or concealed, with the intent to go armed, any weapon prohibited by § 39-17-1302(a), not used solely for instructional, display or sanctioned ceremonial purposes, in or on the grounds of any public park, playground, civic center or other building facility, area or property owned, used or operated by any municipal, county or state government, or instrumentality thereof, for recreational purposes.

    (b)
    (1) Subsection (a) shall not apply to the following persons:
    (A) Persons employed in the army, air force, navy, coast guard or marine service of the United States or any member of the Tennessee national guard when in discharge of their official duties and acting under orders requiring them to carry arms or weapons;

    (E) Any pupils who are members of the reserve officers training corps or pupils enrolled in a course of instruction or members of a club or team, and who are required to carry arms or weapons in the discharge of their official class or team duties;

    (G) A registered security guard/officer, who meets the requirements of title 62, chapter 35, while in the performance of the officer's duties;

    (H) Persons possessing a handgun, who are authorized to carry the handgun pursuant to § 39-17- 1351, while within or on a public park, natural area, historic park, nature trail, campground, forest, greenway, waterway, or other similar public place that is owned or operated by the state, a county, a municipality, or instrumentality thereof;

    (I) Persons possessing a handgun, who are authorized to carry the handgun pursuant to § 39-17-1351, while within or on property designated by the federal government as a national park, forest, preserve, historic park, military park, trail or recreation area, to the extent permitted by federal law

    (g) For the purposes of this section, a "greenway" means an open-space area following a natural or manmade linear feature designed to be used for recreation, transportation, conservation, and to link services and facilities. A greenway is a paved, gravel-covered, woodchip covered, or wood-covered path that connects one greenway entrance with another greenway entrance. In the event a greenway traverses a park that is owned or operated by a county, municipality or instrumentality thereof, the greenway shall be considered a portion of that park unless designated otherwise by the local legislative body. Except as provided in this part, the definition of a greenway in this section shall not be applicable to any other provision of law.

    Note: If a school sponsored function or event is taking place in the park, a person carrying, under the new law, can’t be in the “Immediate Area” of the event/function but the rest of the park etc would be fine. Use Caution as “Immediate Area” is not defined in the new law.

    Note: Cities/Counties are not allowed to post Parks. Their old No Gun Signs are still up in some parks. By law they didn’t have to remove them until they needed replaced as they have more than just No Firearms Allowed restrictions listed on them. Permit Holders can carry in those parks as stated in 39-17-3311 (H).

    39-17-1307, Unlawful Carrying or Possession of a Weapon.

    (a) (1) A person commits an offense who carries with the intent to go armed a firearm or a club
    (2) (A) The first violation of subdivision (a)(1) is a Class C misdemeanor, and, in addition to possible imprisonment as
    provided by law, may be punished by a fine not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).
    (B) A second or subsequent violation of subdivision (a)(1) is a Class B misdemeanor.

    (e) It is an exception to the application of subsection (a) that a person is carrying or possessing a firearm in a motor vehicle if:

    39-16-201. Introduction or Possession of Weapons, Explosives, Intoxicants or Drugs into a Penal Institution Where Prisoners are Quartered.

    (b) It is unlawful for any person to:
    (1) Knowingly and with unlawful intent take, send or otherwise cause to be taken into any penal institution where prisoners are quartered or under custodial supervision any weapons, ammunition, explosives, intoxicants, legend drugs, or any controlled substances found in chapter 17, part 4 of this title;

    39-17-1314. Local Regulation of Firearms and Ammunition Preempted By State Regulation -- Actions Against Firearms or Ammunition Manufacturers, Trade Associations Or Dealers.

    (a) Except as provided in § 39-17-1311(d), which allows counties and municipalities to prohibit the possession of handguns while within or on a public park, natural area, historic park, nature trail, campground, forest, greenway, waterway or other similar public place that is owned or operated by a county, a municipality or instrumentality thereof, no city, county, or metropolitan government shall occupy any part of the field of regulation of the transfer, ownership, possession or transportation of firearms, ammunition or components of firearms or combinations thereof; provided, that this section shall be prospective only and shall not affect the validity of any ordinance or resolution lawfully enacted before April 8, 1986.

    Land Between The Lakes (USDA Forest Service (Valid Permit/License Carry Allowed)

    United States Department of Agriculture
    United States Forest Service
    Land Between The Lakes National Recreation Area

    ORDER NO. 60-01-13 and 60-09-13

    Pursuant to the provisions of 16 U.S.C. Section 551, and Title 36 C.F.R. Section 261.50(a) and (b), the following acts or omissions are prohibited on lands and waters within the legislative jurisdiction of the U.S.D.A. Forest Service, Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area. The area consists of over 170,000 acres of National Forest land located in Trigg and Lyon County in Kentucky and Stewart County in Tennessee, and is depicted on the attached map.
    1. Possession of firearms is prohibited except during legal firearms hunting seasons by licensed hunters and going to and from the LBL-NRA firearms range. Firearms must be cased and unloaded during transport. 36 CFR 261.53(e)
    2. Firearms possessed during legal hunting seasons by licensed hunters must be cased and unloaded (chamber and magazine) while being transported in a motorized vehicle. 36 CFR 261.53(e)

    The above prohibited acts are set forth in Title 36 C.F.R, Section 261. Pursuant to 36 C.F.R. 261.50(e) the following persons are exempt from the provisions of the above order.

    1. Persons with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act.
    2. Any Federal, State, or local officer in the performance of an official duty.

    Firearms on Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA Property)

    Firearms and Weapons - TVA campgrounds may receive use by hunters during hunting season. While firearms and weapons are generally prohibited, possession of firearms and other weapons associated with inseason hunting excursions are permissible if they are unloaded and properly cased. Possession of firearms at TVA public ramps, associated roads, and parking areas are allowed if the possession complies with the law of the state where the boat ramp is located and is not otherwise prohibited by law.

    Note: These areas are allowed to carry for hunting: undeveloped Shorelines, Boat Ramps, Boat Ramp Parking Areas and Associated Roads. But some TVA lands are still off limits like Day Use Areas, Campgrounds, and other developed recreational area.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    39-17-1359. Prohibition at Certain Meetings — Posting Notice.

    (a)(1) An individual, corporation, business entity or local, state or federal government entity or agent thereof is authorized to prohibit the possession of weapons by any person who is at a meeting conducted by, or on property owned, operated, or managed or under the control of the individual, corporation, business entity or government entity.
    (2) The prohibition in subdivision (a)(1) shall apply to any person who is authorized to carry a firearm by authority of § 39-17-1351

    (b)(1) Notice of the prohibition permitted by subsection (a) shall be accomplished by displaying one (1) or both of the notices described in subdivision (b)(3) in prominent locations, including all entrances primarily used by persons entering the property, building, or portion of the property or building where weapon possession is prohibited. Either form of notice used shall be of a size that is plainly visible to the average www.handgunlaw.us 7 person entering the building, property, or portion of the building or property, posted.
    (2) The notice required by this section shall be in English, but a duplicate notice may also be posted in any language used by patrons, customers or persons who frequent the place where weapon possession is prohibited.
    (3) (A) If a sign is used as the method of posting, it shall contain language substantially similar to the following:

    AS AUTHORIZED BY T.C.A. § 39-17-1359, POSSESSION OF A WEAPON ON POSTED PROPERTY OR IN A POSTED BUILDING IS PROHIBITED AND IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

    (B) As used in this section, “language substantially similar to” means the sign contains language plainly stating that:
    (i) The property is posted under authority of Tennessee law;

    (ii) Weapons or firearms are prohibited on the property, in the building, or on the portion of the property or building that is posted; and

    (iii) Possessing a weapon in an area that has been posted is a criminal offense.

    (C) A building, property or a portion of a building or property, shall be considered properly posted in accordance with this section if one (1) or both of the following is displayed in prominent locations, including all entrances primarily used by persons entering the property, building, or portion of the property or building where weapon possession is prohibited:
    (i) The international circle and slash symbolizing the prohibition of the item within the circle; or

    (ii) The posting sign described in this subdivision (b)(3).

    (c) (1) It is an offense to possess a weapon in a building or on property that is properly posted in accordance with this section.

    (2) Possession of a weapon on posted property in violation of this section is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by fine only of five hundred dollars ($500).

    (d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to alter, reduce or eliminate any civil or criminal liability that a property owner or manager may have for injuries arising on their property.

    (e) The provisions of this section shall not apply to title 70 regarding wildlife laws, rules and regulations.

    (f) This section shall not apply to the grounds of any public park, natural area, historic park, nature trail, campground, forest, greenway, waterway or other similar public place that is owned or operated by the state, a county, a municipality or instrumentality thereof. The carrying of firearms in those areas shall be governed by § 39-17-1311.

  • Parking Lot Storage Law

    39-17-1313.

    (a) Notwithstanding §§ 39-17-1309, 39-17-1311, or § 39-17-1359, unless expressly prohibited by federal law, the holder of a valid handgun carry permit recognized in Tennessee may transport and store a firearm or firearm ammunition in the permit holder’s motor vehicle, as defined in § 55-1-103, while on or utilizing any public or private parking area if:
    (1) The permit holder’s motor vehicle is parked in a location where it is permitted to be; and
    (2) The firearm or ammunition being transported or stored in the motor vehicle:
    (A) Is kept from ordinary observation if the permit holder is in the motor vehicle; or
    (B) Is kept from ordinary observation and locked within the trunk, glove box, or interior of the person’s motor vehicle or a container securely affixed to such motor vehicle if the permit holder is not in the motor vehicle.

    ( b ) No business entity, public or private employer, or the owner, manager, or legal possessor of the property shall be held liable in any civil action for damages, injuries or death resulting from or arising out of another’s actions involving a firearm or ammunition transported or stored in accordance with subsection (a) unless the business entity, public or private employer, or the owner, manager, or legal possessor of the property commits an offense involving the use of the stored firearm or ammunition or intentionally solicits or procures the conduct resulting in the damage, injury or death. Nor shall a business entity, public or private employer, or the owner, manager, or legal possessor of the property be responsible for the theft of a firearm or ammunition stored "by the holder of a valid handgun carry permit in the permit holder's privately-owned motor vehicle".

    (c) For purposes of this section:

    (1) “Parking area” means any property provided by a business entity, public or private employer, or the owner, manager, or legal possessor of the property for the purpose of permitting its invitees, customers, clients or employees to park privately-owned motor vehicles; and

    (2) “Parking area” does not include the grounds or property of a owner-occupied, single-family detached residence, or a tenant-occupied single-family detached residence.

    (d) A handgun carry permit holder transporting, storing or both transporting and storing a firearm or firearm ammunition in accordance with this section does not violate this section if the firearm or firearm ammunition is observed by another person or security device during the ordinary course of the handgun carry permit holder securing the firearm or firearm ammunition from observation in or on a motor vehicle.

    Note: Section (d) becomes effective on July 1, 2014

    50-1-312.


    (a) For the purposes of this section:
    (1) "Employee" means a natural person who performs services for an employer for valuable consideration and who possesses a valid handgun carry permit recognized in this state; and
    (2) "Employer" means a person, association, or legal or commercial entity receiving services from an employee and, in return, giving compensation of any kind to the employee.
    (b) (1) (A) No employer shall discharge or take any adverse employment action against an employee solely for transporting or storing a firearm or firearm ammunition in an employer parking area in a manner consistent with§ 39-17-1313(a).
    (B) An employee discharged, or subject to an adverse employment action, in violation of subdivision (b)(1)(A) shall have a cause of action against the employer to enjoin future acts in violation of this section and to recover economic damages plus reasonable attorney fees and costs.
    (C) Any action brought under this section shall be filed in the chancery or circuit court having jurisdiction in the county where the alleged violation of subdivision (b)(1)(A) occurred.

    (2) In any action brought pursuant to this section, the employee shall have the burden of establishing a prima facie case of discharge, or adverse employment action, based solely on the employee's transporting or storing a firearm or firearm ammunition in the employer's parking area in a manner consistent with § 39-17-1313(a). If the employee satisfies this burden, the burden shall then be on the employer to produce evidence that one (1) or more legitimate reasons existed for the employee's discharge or adverse employment action. The burden on the employer is one of production and not persuasion. If the employer produces such evidence, the presumption of discharge, or adverse employment action, raised by the employee's prima facie case is rebutted, and the burden shifts to the employee to demonstrate that the reason given by the employer was not the true reason for the employee's discharge, or adverse employment action, and that the stated reason was a pretext for discharge or adverse employment action. The allocations of burdens of proof set out in this subdivision (b )(2) shall apply at all stages of the proceedings, including motions for summary judgment. The employee at all times retains the burden of persuading the trier of fact that the employee has been the victim of discharge, or adverse employment action, based solely on the employee's adherence with§ 39-17- 1313(a).

    (3) The employee has one (1) year from the date of termination of employment, or the date of adverse employment action, to file an action pursuant to this section.
    (c) The presence of a firearm or ammunition within an employer's parking area in accordance with § 39-17- 1313 does not by itself constitute a failure by the employer to provide a safe workplace.
    (d) Except as otherwise provided in§ 39-17-1313 for parking areas, nothing in this section shall be construed as prohibiting an employer from prohibiting firearms or firearm ammunition on the premises of the employer.

    39-17-1313.

    (a) Notwithstanding §§ 39-17-1309, 39-17-1311, or § 39-17-1359, unless expressly prohibited by federal law, the holder of a valid handgun carry permit recognized in Tennessee may transport and store a firearm or firearm ammunition in the permit holder’s motor vehicle, as defined in § 55-1-103, while on or utilizing any public or private parking area if:
    (1) The permit holder’s motor vehicle is parked in a location where it is permitted to be; and
    (2) The firearm or ammunition being transported or stored in the motor vehicle:
    (A) Is kept from ordinary observation if the permit holder is in the motor vehicle; or
    (B) Is kept from ordinary observation and locked within the trunk, glove box, or interior of the person’s motor vehicle or a container securely affixed to such motor vehicle if the permit holder is not in the motor vehicle.
    (b) No business entity, public or private employer, or the owner, manager, or legal possessor of the property shall be held liable in any civil action for damages, injuries or death resulting from or arising out of another’s actions involving a firearm or ammunition transported or stored in accordance with subsection (a) unless the business entity, public or private employer, or the owner, manager, or legal possessor of the property commits an offense involving the use of the stored firearm or ammunition or intentionally solicits or procures the conduct resulting in the damage, injury or death. Nor shall a business entity, public or private employer, or the owner, manager, or legal possessor of the property be responsible for the theft of a firearm or ammunition stored "by the holder of a valid handgun carry permit in the permit holder's privately-owned motor vehicle".
    (c) For purposes of this section:
    (1) “Parking area” means any property provided by a business entity, public or private employer, or the owner, manager, or legal possessor of the property for the purpose of permitting its invitees, customers, clients or employees to park privately-owned motor vehicles; and (2) “Parking area” does not include the grounds or property of a owner-occupied, single-family detached residence, or a tenant-occupied single-family detached residence.
    (d)
    A handgun carry permit holder transporting, storing or both transporting and storing a firearm or firearm ammunition in accordance with this section does not violate this section if the firearm or firearm ammunition is observed by another person or security device during the ordinary course of the handgun carry permit holder securing the firearm or firearm ammunition from observation in or on a motor vehicle.

  • Police on Carry Requirements

    39-17-1351

    (n) (1) Except as provided in subdivision (n)(2), a permit issued pursuant to this section shall be good for four (4) years and shall entitle the permit holder to carry any handgun or handguns that the permit holder legally owns or possesses. The permit holder shall have the permit in the holder's immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer.

  • Traveling with Firearm Inside a Vehicle

    If the person legally owns a firearm, he/she may carry it openly or concealed in a privately owned vehicle without any type of permit/license to carry. The Firearm can be anywhere in the vehicle but it can’t be on his/her person.

    39-17-1307. Unlawful Carrying or Possession of a Weapon.

    (a) (1) A person commits an offense who carries with the intent to go armed a firearm or a club. (2) (A) The first violation of subdivision (a) (1) is a Class C misdemeanor, and, in addition to possible imprisonment as provided by law, may be punished by a fine not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).
    (B) A second or subsequent violation of subdivision (a)(1) is a Class B misdemeanor.

    (e) It is an exception to the application of subsection (a) that a person is carrying or possessing a firearm in a motor vehicle if:

    (1) The person is not otherwise prohibited from carrying or possessing a firearm; and

    (2) The motor vehicle is privately-owned.

    39-17-1308. Defenses to Unlawful Possession or Carrying of a Weapon.

    (a) It is a defense to the application of § 39-17-1307 if the possession or carrying was:

    Of an unloaded rifle, shotgun or handgun not concealed on or about the person and the ammunition for the weapon was not in the immediate vicinity of the person or weapon;

  • Open Carry

    In Tennessee, open carry is only legal for those with valid permit/license to carry a concealed firearm. Some says that open carry is rare is other cities but quite common in rural areas. Place mentioned above regarding Carry Limitations applies to those who open carry.

    The state preempts firearm laws but did allow local laws/ordinances at the time preemption passed (April 8, 1986) to be grandfathered. If anyone enters in any property, the owner or guardian of the place has the authority to demand them to leave their property. And if it fails to follow on its term, the person involve will be charge into trespass violation.

  • State Preemption

    39-17-1314. Local Regulation of Firearms and Ammunition Preempted by State Regulation - Actions Against Firearms or Ammunition Manufacturers, Trade Associations or Dealers.

    (a) Except as otherwise provided by state law or as specifically provided in subsection (b), the general assembly preempts the whole field of the regulation of firearms, ammunition, or components of firearms or ammunition, or combinations thereof including, but not limited to, the use, purchase, transfer, taxation, manufacture, ownership, possession, carrying, sale, acquisition, gift, devise, licensing, registration, storage, and transportation thereof, to the exclusion of all county, city, town, municipality, or metropolitan government law, ordinances, resolutions, enactments or regulation. No county, city, town, municipality, or metropolitan government nor any local agency, department, or official shall occupy any part of the field regulation of firearms, ammunition or components of firearms or ammunition, or combinations thereof.
    (b) A city, county, town, municipality or metropolitan government is expressly authorized to regulate by ordinance, resolution, policy, rule or other enactment the following:
    (1) The carrying of firearms by employees or independent contractors of the city, county, town municipality or metropolitan government when acting in the course and scope of their employment or contract, except as otherwise provided in § 39-17-1313;
    (2) The discharge of firearms within the boundaries of the applicable city, county, town, municipality or metropolitan government, except when and where the discharge of a firearm is expressly authorized or permitted by state law;
    (3) The location of a sport shooting range, except as otherwise provided in §§ 39-17-316 and 13-3-412; and
    (4) The enforcement of any state or federal law pertaining to firearms, ammunition, or components of firearms or ammunition, or combinations thereof.
    (c) The general assembly declares that the lawful design, marketing, manufacture and sale of firearms and ammunition to the public are not unreasonably dangerous activities and do not constitute a nuisance per se.
    (d)
    (1) The authority to bring suit and right to recover against any firearms or ammunition manufacturer, trade association or dealer by or on behalf of any state entity, county, municipality or metropolitan government for damages, abatement or injunctive relief resulting from or relating to the lawful design, manufacture, marketing or sale of firearms or ammunition to the public shall be reserved exclusively to the state.
    (2) Nothing in this subsection (d) shall be construed to prohibit a county, municipality, or metropolitan government from bringing an action against a firearms or ammunition manufacturer or dealer for breach of contract or warranty as to firearms or ammunition purchased by such county, municipality, or metropolitan government.
    (3) Nothing in this subsection (d) shall preclude an individual from bringing a cause of action for breach of a written contract, breach of an express warranty, or for injuries resulting from defects in the materials or workmanship in the manufacture of the firearm.
    (e) Subsections (c) and (d) shall not apply in any litigation brought by an individual against a firearms or ammunition manufacturer, trade association or dealer.
    (f) It is the intent of the general assembly that this part is preemptive with respect to the transfer, ownership, possession or transportation of knives and no city, county, or metropolitan government shall occupy any part of the field of regulation of the transfer, ownership, possession or transportation of knives.

  • Deadly Force Laws

    39-11-601. Justification a defense.
    39-11-602. Justification definitions.
    39-11-603. Confinement as justifiable force.
    39-11-604. Reckless injury of innocent third person.
    39-11-605. Civil remedies unaffected.
    39-11-609. Necessity.
    39-11-610. Public duty.
    39-11-611. Self-defense.
    39-11-612. Defense of third person.
    39-11-613. Protection of life or health.
    39-11-614. Protection of property.
    39-11-615. Protection of third person's property.
    39-11-616. Use of device to protect property.
    39-11-620. Use of deadly force by a law enforcement officer.
    39-11-621. Use of deadly force by private citizen.
    39-11-622. Justification for use of force — Exceptions — Immunity from civil liability.

  • Notes

    39-17-1319 & 39-17-1301

    (18) “Unloaded” means the rifle, shotgun or handgun does not have ammunition in the chamber, cylinder, clip or magazine, and no clip or magazine is in the immediate vicinity of the weapon.

    State Emergency Powers

    58-2-107. Emergency Management Powers of the Governor.

    (a)(1) The governor is responsible for addressing the dangers presented to this state and its people by emergencies. In the event of an emergency beyond local control, the governor, or, in the governor's absence, the governor's successor as provided by law, may assume direct operational control over all or any part of the emergency management functions within this state, and such person has the power through proper process of law to carry out the provisions of this chapter. The governor is authorized to delegate such powers as the governor may deem prudent.
    (2) Pursuant to the authority vested in the governor under subdivision (a) (1), the governor may issue executive orders, proclamations, and rules and may amend or rescind them. Such executive orders, proclamations, and rules have the force and effect of law.
    (b) The governor or the governor's designee, shall declare a state of emergency or a disaster declaration in one (1) of two (2) ways:
    (1) By executive order or proclamation; or
    (2) By the activation of the TEMP.

    These two (2) types of threats may be declared by the governor if the governor finds an emergency has occurred or the occurrence of threat thereof is imminent. The state of emergency shall continue until the www.handgunlaw.us 15 governor finds that the threat or danger has been dealt with to the extent that the emergency conditions no longer exist and the governor terminates the state of emergency by executive order or proclamation, but no state of emergency may continue for longer than sixty (60) days unless renewed by the governor. All executive orders or proclamations issued under this section shall indicate the nature of the emergency, the area or areas threatened, and the conditions which have brought the emergency about or which make possible its termination. An executive order or proclamation shall be promptly disseminated by means calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public; and, unless the circumstances attendant upon the emergency prevent or impede such filing, the order or proclamation shall be filed promptly with the department of state and in the office of the chief executive officer in each county to which the order or proclamation applies.

    (e) In addition to any other powers conferred upon the governor by law, the governor may:

    (1) Suspend the provisions of any law, order, rule or regulation prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business or the orders or rules or regulations of any state agency, if strict compliance with the provisions of any such law, order, rule, or regulation would in any way prevent, hinder, or delay necessary action in coping with the emergency;

    (4) Subject to any applicable requirements for compensation, commandeer or utilize any private property, which term shall not be construed to include firearms, ammunition, or firearm or ammunition components, if the governor finds this necessary to cope with the emergency;

    (5) Direct and compel the evacuation of all or part of the population from any stricken or threatened area within the state if the governor deems this action necessary for the preservation of life or other emergency mitigation, response, or recovery;

    (6) Prescribe routes, modes of transportation, and destinations in connection with evacuation;

    (7) Control ingress and egress to and from an emergency area, the movement of persons within the area, and the occupancy of premises therein;

    (8) Suspend or limit the sale, dispensing, or transportation of alcoholic beverages, explosives, or combustibles, which terms shall not be construed to include firearms, ammunition, or firearm or ammunition components;

    (11) Take measures concerning the conduct of civilians, the movement and cessation of movement of pedestrian and vehicular traffic prior to, during, and subsequent to drills and actual or threatened emergencies, the calling of public meetings and gatherings, and the evacuation and reception of civilian population, as provided in the TEMP and political subdivisions thereof; and

    (m) During any state of emergency, major disaster or natural disaster, the state, a political subdivision or a public official shall not prohibit nor impose additional restrictions on the lawful possession, transfer, sale, transport, carrying, storage, display or use of firearms and ammunition or firearm and ammunition components.

    Minimum Age for Possessing and Transporting of Handguns.

    Tennessee 18 Y/O 39-17-1319

    18 years old is the minimum age that can carry and transporting an unloaded handgun and bring into a vehicle without the presence or carrying any type of license or permit.

    Note: This restriction is not applicable for some states. For some state carrying and transporting a handgun can be found in Gun Shop, Shooting range and other places that legally possessing a firearm

  • Revision

    12/20/2015-Initial Page Created

Scroll to Top