Minnesota Reciprocity Changes

September 23, 2015

Minnesota Reciprocity Changes

Minnesota-State

Changes To Minnesota Reciprocity

By: Jay Busch

Reciprocity. It is great until it isn’t.

Over the past week, Minnesota has made some changes to the guidelines for reciprocity. As we all know, these agreements change over time, some for the better, some for the worse.

The most recent changes at a national level come out of Minnesota. The governor has made some changes over the past seven days that directly effect Minnesota residents and non-residents alike that utilize a Utah permit to carry in Minnesota.

Who Does This Effect?

These changes to Minnesota reciprocity effect anyone that uses a Utah permit to carry in the state of Minnesota. Effective retroactively as of August 1st, Minnesota has severed reciprocity with Utah, Missouri, Texas, and Wyoming, claiming differences in training requirements. The other three states have very limited impact as most people that carry in MN with an out of state permit do so with the Utah Permit.

What Does This Mean To You?

If you currently use a Utah permit to carry in Minnesota (or any of the other three states as well) you will no longer be able to do so. This effects Iowa and Wisconsin residents the most that either work or spend time in the state of Minnesota.

If you are one of these people, effective immediately, you will no longer be legally carrying in Minnesota. Please note this because if you carry with that permit and are stopped, you could potentially be breaking felony level gun laws.

What Do You Do?

Now that you know about the changes, how do you become legal? If you are still looking to carry in Minnesota, your best option will be to obtain a Minnesota Permit (or Minnesota Non-Resident if you reside in a different state.) You can do this by taking a course from a Minnesota BCA approved instructor.

How National Carry Academy Can Help!

These changes are never enjoyable. It is unfortunate that something that was completely legal yesterday can arbitrarily change is asinine in my opinion, but unfortunately it is the way it works.

National Carry Academy would like to help. For the month of August, we are offering all Utah permit holders a discounted Minnesota Hybrid Course. This course requires you to watch the classroom portion online and complete a in person shooting qualification (usually between 30-45 minutes) after you have taken the course.

So instead of spending six hours on a weekend taking the course and completing the shooting qualification, you can watch the course on your own time and show up for under and hour to complete the shooting portion of the course.

Additionally, if you show your Utah permit in the class, you will receive a $15 savings off the course price.

To take advantage of this offer, please follow these steps:

1. Head over to www.nationalcarryacademy.com/take-the-course/minnesota-purchase

2. Click on “Purchase Online Course”

3. Take the course, pass the test, and sign up for a shooting qualification.

4. Show your Utah permit in person for a $15 refund after the shooting qualification is completed.

We look forward to seeing you on the range!

Leave a reply