Our online training program will allow you to apply for your Oregon permit/license to carry.
While Oregon does issue carry permit/licenses to residents of Oregon, nonresident carry permit/licenses will only be issued to residents of bordering states.
Our online training program will allow you to apply for your Oregon permit/license to carry (excluding Marion County).
Oregon Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Oregon’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020.
Can I Apply For A Oregon Carry Permit/License As A Nonresident Of Oregon?
Yes, but only as a resident of a state that borders Oregon. Contact any Sheriff’s office in Oregon for specific application instructions.
How long is my permit Valid?
The Oregon Carry Permit/License is valid for 4 years.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Oregon Conceal Carry Laws Updated As of 2020.*
Reciprocity Guidelines for Oregon
The state of Oregon does not recognize permits/licenses issued by other states.
Applying for a Permit in Oregon
The county sheriffs issue the carry permits in the state of Oregon. Most counties in Oregon have the same application procedure as Marion County.
Requirements in Obtaining a Concealed Handgun Permit From the Sheriff of Marion County
a. Proof of skills in handling and using handguns which can either be a copy of the previous Oregon permit to carry, a certificate or a letter obtained from any of the following:
• Firearm safety instructors or NRA certified instructors who provide training courses for reserve law enforcement officers, security guards, military members and shooting sports competitors
• Training course for hunters certified by the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
b. A U.S. citizen. For individuals who are not born in U.S., Passport, Certification of Naturalization or a Birth Certificate should be provided as proof of citizenship. Legal resident aliens should present documents showing continuous residency for six months before the application and a written letter for the Immigration and Naturalization Service to declare that you are intending to become a citizen along with the proof of such declaration.
c. Driver’s license showing the current home address
d. 21 years of age or older
e. Individuals who have been under the jurisdiction of juvenile court for committing a violation should be discharged for not less than 4 years.
f. Processing fee which costs $65.00. All payments made are non-refundable.
Initial Application requires the following:
a. Clearly printed fingerprint cards
b. Accomplished application form
c. Two identification cards with thve applicant’s signature
d. Proof of training completion
e. Processing fee
f. Envelope with stamp and address where the license should be mailed.
Renewal Application requires the following:
a. Driver’s License issued by Oregon, with the current address printed
b. Expired Concealed Carry permit
c. Processing fee of $50 for the renewal, or $15 for changing of address
d. The office will perform a criminal background check upon receipt of the application and issue a new Concealed Carry permit.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
Only residents of Oregon and of the states that border it including California, Idaho, Washington and Nevada can apply for a carry permit in the state of Oregon. Non-residents whose states are listed may consult the nearest county sheriff for an application. Some counties will issue permits to non-residents, while others may issue, so it is best to call the county sheriff first and inquire about this matter.
166.291. An individual is considered a resident of a certain county if he or she has documents proving the ownership or lease of any property in such county.
Carry Permit Limitations
166.370 Possession of Firearm or Dangerous Weapon in Public Building or Court Facility; Exceptions; Discharging Firearm at School.
No person shall be allowed to possess a firearm or other dangerous weapons, either loaded or unloaded, in public buildings and court facilities. Violation of this section is considered as Class C Felony.
A person who is carrying a firearm in a court facility should immediately surrender it to a police officer. The presiding judge has the right to permit an individual to carry a firearm or any weapon in a court facility.
The following are exempted on this section:
• Police officers, county sheriffs, and peace officers while on their official duty
• An individual summoned by a police officer to assist with arresting
• Members of the military force of United States who are on active duty
• An individual who is licensed to carry a firearm under ORS 166.291 and 166.292
• An individual allowed by the authority to carry a firearm in a public building
• Employees of the US Department of Agriculture while on their official duty
• Individual carrying a firearm on school property but keeps the firearm unloaded and locked in a vehicle.
Discharge of firearms on a school property is considered as a Class C felony. However, this is not applicable to the following:
• Firearms discharged as part of a school program
• Law enforcement officers performing their official duties
• Employees of the US Department of Agriculture while on their official duty
Firearms that are carried in violation of this section shall be forfeited.
ORS 166.360. Definitions For ORS 166.360 to 166.380. As Used in ORS 166.360 to 166.380
The following terms are defined under this section:
• “Capitol Building” refers to the Capitol, State Library Building, State Office Building, State Transportation Building, Labor and Industries Building, Agriculture Building and Public Service Building.
• “Court Facility” refers to an establishment or portion of the establishment used by the Court of Appeals, Supreme Court or Oregon Tax Court or other officials related to the court operations.
• A “loaded firearm” refers to a handgun with a loaded cartridge or a magazine attached to the firearm.
• “Public building” refers to a public or private school, college, university, hospital, city hall and the establishments used by such.
Note: In March 2012, the State Board of Higher Education decided to prohibit all firearms in seven campuses. Individuals who are entering such universities should not carry their firearms. Carry permit holders are allowed on the campus, but not on the buildings and arenas. Students and faculty members who violate this rule may be expelled from the university system. Exceptions apply to law enforcement officers and members of the military force.
Department of Corrections
OAR 291-016-0030. Carrying of firearms, ammunition, narcotic drugs, alcoholic beverages, explosive devices and other dangerous materials in correctional facilities is prohibited.
OAR 462-130-0010. Possession of firearms and other deadly weapons on a racecourse is prohibited except for law enforcement officers, security guards and commission officials.
Indian Reservation and Indian Property
Individuals must seek authorization from the tribal judge before entering their lands while carrying firearms.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
“No Gun” signs in the state Oregon do not have the force of the law, except if they are posted in areas that are listed under off limits in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section. If the property owner asks you to leave the premises, you must do so even if the property is not posted. Police officers who will respond may not know the trespass laws may arrest you if you do not leave even though you follow the law.
Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you to produce “No Firearms = No Money” cards and give them to the owners of the establishments prohibiting possession of firearms. Responsible permit holders should also respect the right of the property owners.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
Carriers are not required to immediately inform a police officer on contact when carrying firearms.
166.292. Procedure for Issuing; Form of License; Duration.
The sheriff will issue a carry permit to an applicant who is approved. The wallet-sized permit will be sent by mail to the home address of the applicant within 45 days. This should be signed by the permit holder and carried along with the firearm always. Failure to possess a carry permit is a prima facie evidence of nonlicensure.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
Carrying of firearms in state parks, national forests, state WMA’s and road side rest areas is allowed in the state of Oregon.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without an Oregon Permit
The state of Oregon does not prohibit carrying of loaded firearms in vehicles, provided that such firearms are not concealed and not readily accessible for the passengers.
“Not readily accessible” means that the firearm is placed on the vehicle’s compartment or in a locked container, glove compartment or console if there is not separate compartment. However, local governments are allowed to regulate the possession of loaded handguns in public places including your vehicle, but this applies only for those without carry permits.
166.250. Unlawful Possession of Firearms.
Unlawful possession of a firearm is committed if:
a. An individual carries a concealed firearm in his or her person
b. An individual carries a readily accessible and concealed firearm in a vehicle
c. An individual has been previously convicted of a crime
d. An individual has mental disorders
e. A minor is under the jurisdiction of a juvenile court for a commission of a violation that is considered felony if committed by an adult
This section is not applicable to the following:
a. A minor who is not prohibited by this section to carry a firearm
b. A firearm is lawfully used for hunting or target shooting
Individuals carrying their firearms in belt holsters are not considered as concealed carrying.
Violation of this section is considered as Class A misdemeanor.
Open Carry Laws for Oregon
The state of Oregon considers open carrying as legal, but it allows local governments to have ordinances concerning the possession of loaded handguns without carry permits. Places mentioned in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section as off limits should apply to those who open carry as well.
Open carrying in public buildings without a valid carry permit is illegal. For more information about carrying in a vehicle, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without an Oregon Permit” section above. Local governments are not allowed to establish laws and ordinances against concealed carrying, but can have laws and ordinances on carrying loaded handguns without a valid permit.
Individuals who are asked by a property owner to leave the premises must do so. Failure to leave may result to Criminal Trespass. The minimum age for open carrying is 18 years old.
Some states are not allowing open carry in areas that allow concealed carrying for permit holders. To know more about open carrying, check the website at www.opencarry.org or search the keywords “Oregon Open Carry” on Google. You may also check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Oregon AG” section for legal opinions on open carrying.
Carry Law Preemptions for Oregon
ORS 166.170. State Preemption.
Only the Legislative Assembly has the power to regulate the possession, transportation, sale, purchase, ownership, storage and use of firearms, ammunition and handgun accessories. Counties, cities and local governments are not allowed to pass ordinances or laws that restrict the possession, transportation, sale, purchase, ownership, storage and use of firearms, ammunition and handgun accessories. Existing ordinances and laws established by local governments are considered void.
ORS 166.171. Authority of County to Regulate Discharge of Firearms.
Counties are allowed to regulate the discharge of firearms within boundaries, but ordinances or regulations shall not apply to the following:
a. An individual who is lawfully discharging a firearm to defend another person or property
b. An individual who is lawfully discharging a firearm for hunting
c. A property owner and his guest who discharge a firearm in the property but not endanger others’ properties.
d. An individual who is discharging a firearm in a public or private target shooting range
ORS 166.172. Authority of City to Regulate Discharge of Firearms.
Cities are allowed to regulate the discharge of firearms within boundaries, but ordinances or regulations shall not apply to the following:
a. An individual who is lawfully discharging a firearm to defend another person or property
b. An individual who is discharging a firearm in a public or private target shooting range
ORS 166.173. Authority of City or County to Regulate Possession of Loaded Firearms in Public Places.
Counties and cities are allowed to regulate carrying of loaded firearms in public places, but regulations do not apply to the following:
a. Law enforcement officers on their official duties
b. Military members on their official duties
c. Carry concealed permit holders
d. An individual who is allowed by the presiding judge to carry a loaded firearm in a court facility
ORS 166.174. Authority of City, County, Municipal Corporation or District to Regulate Possession or Sale of Firearms.
Counties and cities are not allowed to regulate the possession and sale of firearms in a public building on a person who is a currently renting such building.
ORS 166.175. Authority of City to Regulate Purchase of Used Firearms
Cities are allowed to restrict the purchase of dangerous weapons by secondhand stores and pawnshops. “Secondhand stores” refer to any business or store selling used items.
ORS 166.176. Exception to Preemption for Certain County Ordinances.
Preemption for County Ordinances shall not be applicable to ordinances that restrict and prohibit discharge of firearms on target shooting areas.
Oregon Laws for Use of Deadly Force
Chapter 161 — General Provisions
161.190. Justification as a defense.
161.195. “Justification” described.
161.200. Choice of evils.
161.205. Use of physical force generally.
161.209. Use of physical force in defense of a person.
161.215. Limitations on use of physical force in defense of a person.
161.219. Limitations on use of deadly physical force in defense of a person.
161.225. Use of physical force in defense of premises.
161.229. Use of physical force in defense of property.
161.235. Use of physical force in making an arrest or in preventing an escape.
161.239. Use of deadly physical force in making an arrest or in preventing an escape.
161.245. “Reasonable belief” described; status of unlawful arrest.
161.249. Use of physical force by private person assisting an arrest.
161.255. Use of physical force by private person making citizen’s arrest.
161.260. Use of physical force in resisting arrest prohibited.
161.265. Use of physical force to prevent escape.
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
To know more about the laws concerning the use and possession of knives, click on this link.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
Restaurant carrying is not illegal in Oregon. “Restaurant carrying” means carrying a firearm in a restaurant that serves alcohol. This may or may not mean that the carrier is allowed to sit at the bar area of the restaurant. Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you not to sit on the bar area because in some states, this is illegal.
There are some places that use “No Gun” signs like Friday’s and Red Lobster, and if you come across such places, you should leave immediately. When carrying, an individual should not consume alcohol because a single drink can be considered illegal in some states. For further information on restaurant carrying, check the laws that apply to your state.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
There are no laws found concerning the use of defensive sprays, electric weapons and high capacity magazines in Oregon.
Oregon LEOSA Information
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Oregon AG
• Oregon Attorney General on Self-Defense
• Oregon Court of Appeals on Open Carry in Cars
• Oregon Supreme Court on City Ordinances Regarding Permitless Carrying of Loaded Firearms
• Oregon Supreme Court of Appeals on Camp Site is Your Residence
• Oregon Court of Appeals on Carrying on University and College Properties
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
Carrying of firearms on airport terminals and parking lots is allowed in Oregon. There is no set time period for the validity of training. An individual’s residency is established once a Driver’s License is obtained from the state.
The minimum age to obtain a carry permit is 21 years old.
Laws on Using Firearms: 166.170 thru 166.638
Laws on Using Deadly Force: 161.190 thru 161.270
Laws on Using Knives: 161.015 and 166.24
Laws on Using Chemical and Electric Weapons: 163.212 and 163.213
Laws on Using Body Armor: 166.641 thru 166.643
A “loaded firearm” means that the firearm has bullets or cartridge or the magazine attached to it.
State of Emergency
401.198 Seizure of Firearms During Emergency.
Under this section, “unit of government” refers to any organization or department of the federal government and other public bodies.
No unit of government shall be authorized to confiscate a firearm from a lawful individual who possesses it during an emergency. An aggrieved individual under this section may have his firearm returned and file charges on the court against the unit of government. The court may award the aggrieved with reasonable costs incurred for recovering the firearm.
Note: During a state of emergency, the federal laws may be applicable if the state is receiving financial assistance from the federal government. To know more about the federal laws for state of emergencies, check the US Code 42-5207.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age requirement to carry and transport a firearm in a vehicle within Oregon without the need for any type of permit is 18 years old.
Note: Some states are restrictive when it comes to carrying and transporting of firearms that they only allow transporting to and from the gun shops, repair shops, shooting range, carrier’s own house, business or other property. Other states do not have restriction.
To know more about carrying and transporting handguns, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without an Oregon Permit” section above.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.