sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Oklahoma.

While Oklahoma does issue carry permit/licenses to residents, many non-residents will be ineligible.

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Oklahoma for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.

Oklahoma Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Oklahoma's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in Oklahoma as a valid concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Oklahoma Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Oklahoma

    Oklahoma is a Shall Issue state that honors resident and non-resident carry permits issued by all other states.

    Notice: Illinois only accepts a resident permit issued by Oklahoma if the permit holder is in a vehicle. Check the Illinois page here at nationalcarryacademy.com to know more about the laws of the state.

  • Carrying without a permit within Oklahoma

    21 O.S. Section 1290.26
    Residents of permitless carry states are allowed to carry their firearms in Oklahoma, but they must keep the firearms concealed and not visible from ordinary observation. They must inform a police officer on contact immediately about the carried weapon. Upon request of the police officer, the photo identification card shall be presented to prove that he or she is a resident of a permitless carry state.

    Note: Residents of Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Vermont and Wyoming shall be covered by this law. Before you can carry a firearm in Oklahoma, your state should allow you to carry legally.

  • Applying for a Permit in Oklahoma

    Application for a carry permit in Oklahoma can be done online. You may also go the office of the sheriff county where you reside to obtain an application form.

    • Before submitting the application, determine if you are eligible to apply for a carry permit based on the requirements, mandatory preclusions and other preclusions. Make sure that you complete a training course on the safe handling of firearms from a certified handgun instructor. The list of the certified instructors can be seen in this link.
    • If you have already completed the training, make sure to obtain a certificate of completion with the instructor’s signature.
    • Obtain an application form from the sheriff of your county or apply online.
    • For online application, upload a color photo of yourself. For a written application, attach 2 color passport photos to the form.
    • Bring the completed application form or summary sheet if you applied online along with your photo and processing fee.

    At the sheriff’s office, the documents will be checked and you will be identified against the photos and Driver’s License or other identification card issued by Oklahoma. Two sets of fingerprints will also be taken.

    All the documents including the completed application form or summary sheet for online application, proof of training completion, photographs, processing fee and Self-Defense Act Applicant Local Agency Report which will be completed by the sheriff should be submitted to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation within fourteen days after the collection of your fingerprints.

    1290.12 (A) (4) (c). By Electronic Funds Transfer.
    Applicants who are paying the application fees through credit card or electronic funds transfer are required to submit their application online. The processing fees cost $100 (valid for 5 years) and $200 (valid for 10 years) for initial applicants, and $85 (valid for 5 years) and $170 (valid for 10 years).

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    Members of the military force who are stationed in Oklahoma may apply for carry permits. The process will be the same as the residents.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    §21-1277. Unlawful Carry in Certain Places.
    The following places do not allow carrying of firearms even for individuals who possess valid carry permits:
    a. Structures and buildings operated by the city, town, county, state and federal government for public businesses
    b. Facilities used by the city, town, county, state and federal officials for meetings
    c. Detention centers, correctional facilities, jail or prison
    d. Elementary and secondary schools
    e. Arena used for athletic events
    f. Establishments used for pari-mutuel wagering
    g. Other areas prohibited by the law

    The following properties are not included in the off limits mentioned above:
    a. Parking lots of establishments used by cities, towns, counties, state and federal government
    b. Parking lots of establishments used for athletic events and pari-mutuel wagering
    c. Park, recreational areas and fairgrounds designed by the cities, towns, counties, state and federal government
    d. Parking lots of public or private elementary and secondary schools, provided that the firearm is inside a locked vehicle and not visible from ordinary observation when left unattended.

    Individuals who possess carry permits pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act are allowed to carry concealed or unconcealed firearms in private school properties and school bus.

    Violation of this section shall be considered as misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of not more than $250.

    No individual issued with valid carry permit in pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall be allowed to carry a firearm in any college or university property except for the following:
    a. Parking lots of any property, provided that the firearm is inside a locked vehicle and not visible from ordinary observation when left unattended.
    b. Individuals authorized by the college or university to possess firearms
    c. An individual who is authorized by a written consent from the college, university or technology center school, provided that the written consent and carry permit are carried along with the firearm.

    This section is not applicable to law enforcement officers or other individuals permitted by the law to carry firearms as part of their official duties. Exceptions also apply to the district judges, associate district judges and special district judges who possess valid carry permits pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. Private investigators shall be exempted as well when they are carrying firearms as a scope of their employment.
    §21-1280.1 Possession of Firearm on School Property
    It is illegal for an individual to carry a firearm on any private or public school property or vehicle used by the students and teachers for transportation.

    Under this section, “school property” means any property used by a private or public school for any educational activity.
    This does not include the properties owned by public school districts and private educational entities.

    Firearms and weapons that are kept in vehicles pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall be exempted from this section, provided that the vehicles are used as transportation of the students or teachers only.

    §21-1272.1 Carrying Firearms Where Liquor Is Consumed
    It is illegal to carry firearms on establishments that allow consumption of alcoholic beverages and beer. This section is not applicable to law enforcement officers and private investigators who possess firearms as part of their official duties. The owner of an establishment where alcoholic beverages are served shall be exempted from this section as well, provided that person has a valid carry permit pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

    §21-1903. No individual should be allowed to ride a bus while carrying a concealed weapon. Violation of this law may result to a confiscation of the weapon and commission of felony, which is punishable by a fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not more than 10 years, or both.

    §21-1289.13. Transporting A Loaded Firearm
    The law does not allow transportation of loaded firearms in motor vehicles over public highways. The firearm must have the chamber unloaded or magazine unattached and kept in a separate compartment or the vehicle’s trunk. The person carrying the firearm must also possess a valid carry permit.

    §21-1290.6. Prohibited Ammunition
    Possession of firearm which is loaded with a restricted ammunition or bullet that is larger than .45 caliber is prohibited in Oklahoma.

    §21-1289.19. Restricted Bullet and Body Armor Defined.
    Under this section, “restricted bullet” refers to a round or elongated missile that can travel at high speed and can penetrate the body armor.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    “No Firearm” signs in Oklahoma do not have the force of the law, unless the property is among the off limits places mentioned in “Carry Permit Limitations” section of this page. If you come across a building that is posted but not included on the off limits places, you should leave the property.

    Section 1290.22. Property owners, employers, tenants, and places of worship are allowed to regulate the possession of firearms either concealed or unconcealed on their premises. Public properties and buildings should “No Firearm” signs shall be posted.
    Carrying of a firearm in a property with a “No Firearm” sign posted will not be a criminal offense, but the owner has the right to deny entrance of the person. Failure to leave the premises may result to trespass charges and may subject the person to a penalty of not more than $250.00 fine. Responsible permit holders should also respect the right of the property owner.

    Nationalcarryacademy.com strongly recommends that you produce “No Firearm = No Money” cards for you to hand to the owner of a posted property.

  • Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements

    Individuals who are carrying firearms should immediately inform officer on contact about it.

    21 § 1290.8. Possession of License Required-Notification to Police of Gun
    If not prohibited by the law, an individual may carry a concealed or unconcealed firearm within Oklahoma if he or she possesses a firearm license issued by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation in adherence to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, provided that the license is not revoked or expired. The individual should be allowed as well to carry the firearm when fishing or bow hunting.

    Whenever an individual is carrying a firearm, he must have his or her valid carry permit and Oklahoma Driver’s license or a photo identification card issued by Oklahoma. The permit should be presented upon the request of a law enforcement officer. Violation of this section is considered as a criminal offense with a penalty of $50.00 fine. The individual who violates the law will be assessed by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.

    Second violation may result to suspension of the handgun license for 6 months along with other penalties.

    Upon the individual’s arrest he or she should show the valid carry permit and identification card within 10 days and the reasons for not being able to present the permit should be stated.

    It is unlawful for an individual not to inform a police officer or local officials immediately when carrying a firearm. Individuals who are not carrying handguns shall not be required to identify themselves as permit holders.

  • Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations

    §21-1289.7a. Transporting or Storing Firearms in Locked Motor Vehicle on Private Premises – Prohibition Proscribed – Liability Enforcement.
    No one is allowed to establish laws and ordinances to regulate the lawful transportation and storage of firearms or ammunition in locked motor vehicles. An aggrieved individual under this section may bring a civil action to the court. If the violation is proven, the court shall award reasonable costs for the damages and the attorney fees.

    “Motor vehicles” refer to trucks, automobile, vans, motorcycles, sports utility vehicles, or other vehicles that are licensed under Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act.

  • Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands

    Carrying of firearms in state parks, national forests and road side rest areas is allowed in Oklahoma.

  • Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without an Oklahoma Permit

    Carrying of loaded firearms in vehicles without a valid carry permit is illegal.

    §21-1289.7. Firearms in Vehicles.
    Any individual, except one who was previously convicted of felony, shall be allowed to transport a shotgun or rifle in a vehicle provided that the firearm is unloaded and placed on the back seat or the trunk of the vehicle.

    §21-1289.13. Transporting a loaded firearm.
    It is illegal to transport a loaded rifle, pistol or shotgun in a vehicle over a public highway within the state of Oklahoma. Transporting the firearm with a loaded magazine but unloaded chamber is allowed provided that the firearm is stored in vehicle’s trunk or a locked container inside the vehicle.

    Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
    Chapter 53 - Manufacture, Sale, and Wearing of Weapons
    Oklahoma Self-Defense Act
    Section 1290.2. Under this section, the following terms are defined:
    • “Concealed handgun” refers to a firearm, either concealed or unconcealed, that is kept in one’s person, in a bag, purse or container so that it is not visible upon ordinary observation of other people.
    • “Pistol” refers to a revolver or semiautomatic firearm that:
    o has a length of not more than 16 inches and can be easily concealed.
    o can discharge a projectile to cause bodily injuries
    o can be fired by one hand
    o uses gas or gunpowder on discharging the projectile

  • Open Carry Laws for Oklahoma

    Open Carrying in Oklahoma is permitted only for those who are permit holders or those individuals who are from permitless carry states including Arkansas, Arizona, Vermont and Wyoming. Places considered as off limits also apply to those who open carry. To know more about carrying in a vehicle, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without an Oklahoma Permit” section above.

    State and local authorities are not allowed to establish laws and ordinances that will regulate open carrying. When a property owner asks you to leave his premises, you must do so immediately. Failure to leave may result to Criminal Trespass. The minimum age required for open carrying is 21 years old.

    There are some states that do not allow open carrying in places that allow concealed carrying for those with valid permits. To know more about open carrying, visit the website at www.opencarry.org or search the keywords “Oklahoma Open Carry” on Google. You may also see the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Oklahoma AG” section below.

    §21-1290.5. Term of license and renewal.
    A person who possess a handgun permit shall be authorized to carry a firearm, either loaded or unloaded, concealed or unconcealed.

  • Carry Law Preemptions for Oklahoma

    §21-1289.24. Firearm Regulation - State Preemption
    The orders, ordinances and regulations established by municipalities and other local governments that regulate the possession, storage, purchase, use and transportation of firearms, ammunition, knives, and other related supplies shall be considered null and void.

    Municipalities are allowed to adopt ordinances to regulate the discharge of firearms, but the penalties for the violation must not exceed penalties provided in the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

    Municipalities and other political subdivisions should not give punishments to lawful individuals who are open carrying under the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.

    Public and private schools may regulate the possession of knives among students while on school properties or school bus.

    Aggrieved individuals may bring a civil action to the court against the involved persons, municipality or political subdivision.

  • Oklahoma Laws for Use of Deadly Force

    §21-643. Force Against Another Not Unlawful, When - Self-Defense - Defense Of Property.
    §21-731. Excusable Homicide
    §21-733. Justifiable Homicide by Any Person
    §21-1289.25. Physical or Deadly Force Against Intruder

  • State and City Laws for Carrying Knives

    To know more about the laws concerning the use and possession of knives, click on this link.

  • Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served

    Restaurant carrying is allowed in the state of Oklahoma. “Restaurant carrying” means carrying a firearm in a restaurant that serves alcohol. This may or may not mean that the carrier is allowed to sit at the bar area of the restaurant. Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you not to sit on the bar area because in some states, this is illegal.

    There are some places that use “No Gun” signs like Friday’s and Red Lobster, and if you come across such places, you should leave immediately. When carrying, an individual should not consume alcohol because a single drink can be considered illegal in some states. For further information on restaurant carrying, check the laws that apply to your state.

  • Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws

    There are no laws found concerning the use of electric weapons, defensive sprays and high capacity magazines in the state of Oklahoma.

  • Additional Information and Airport Requirements

    Terminals of airports owned by the government is considered off limits. Carrying of firearms in airport parking lots is allowed. The time period for the training’s validity is 3 years. An individual’s residency is established once he obtains his Oklahoma Driver’s License.

    The minimum age required for obtaining a carry permit is 21 years old.

    Laws on State Reciprocity: §21-1290.26v1
    Laws on Using Firearms: 21-1271.1 thru 21-1290.26
    Laws on Using Deadly Force: 21-1289.25
    Laws on Using Knives: 21-1272
    Laws on Using Body Armor: §21-1289.26

    There are no laws found concerning the use of chemical and electric weapons.

  • Supplemental Information

    §21-1289.7. Firearms in Vehicles.
    Any individual, except one who was previously convicted of felony, shall be allowed to transport a shotgun or rifle in a vehicle provided that the firearm is unloaded and placed on the back seat or the trunk of the vehicle.

    §21-1289.13. Transporting a loaded firearm.
    It is illegal to transport a loaded rifle, pistol or shotgun in a vehicle over a public highway within the state of Oklahoma. Transporting the firearm with a loaded magazine but unloaded chamber is allowed provided that the firearm is stored in vehicle’s trunk or a locked container inside the vehicle.

    State of Emergency
    §21 1321.1.
    This section is also called as the Oklahoma Riot Control and Prevention Act.

    §21 1321.2. Definitions.
    Under this section, the following terms are defined:
    • “State of emergency” refers to a proclaimed emergency by the Governor.
    • “Governor” refers to the State Governor or a person who has the right to exercise the powers of the Governor in case the Governor dies, resigns or is not able to perform his duties.

      §21 1321.3.Proclamation of State of Emergency
    If the Governor discovers that there is a public crisis or natural disaster that may affect the health, lives and property of the residents of the state is allowed to declare a state of emergency in the areas involved. Following an oral proclamation, there should be written proclamation done and signed by the Governor as well. This document should be filed by the State Secretary. When peace and order are restored in the affected areas, the Governor shall proclaim a termination of the emergency.

    §21-1321.4. Acts Which May be Proclaimed Prohibited.
    During a state of emergency, the Governor has the power to restrict the following:
    a. Movement of the people on public streets and public places
    b Gathering of people on public places, parks and private or public open areas
    c. Carrying, use, sale, storage and use of explosive devices
    d. Transportation, carrying and use of kerosene, gasoline and flammable materials
    e. Purchase and sale of alcoholic beverages
    f. Purchase and sale of other goods if it is necessary so as not to endanger the safety of the public g. Activities that should be prohibited so as not to put the lives of the people in danger

    §21 1321.6. General Penalty.
    Any individual who commits a violation of this act is considered as guilty of misdemeanor.
    Note: During a state of emergency, the federal laws may be applicable if the state is receiving financial assistance from the federal government. To know more about the federal laws for state of emergencies, check the US Code 42.-5207.

  • Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms

    The minimum age requirement to carry and transport a firearm in a vehicle within Oklahoma without the need for any type of permit is 18 years old.

    Note: Some states are restrictive when it comes to carrying and transporting of firearms that they only allow transporting to and from the gun shops, repair shops, shooting range, carrier’s own house, business or other property. Other states do not have restriction.

    To know more about carrying and transporting handguns, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without an Oklahoma Permit” section above.

  • Revisions

    4/12/15 – Initial page created.

Scroll to Top