Our online training course will allow you to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is honored in North Dakota.
While North Dakota issues carry permit/licenses to both residents and nonresidents, nonresidents need to hold a carry permit/license in their home state as defined by their driver’s license.
Our online training course will allow you to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is honored in North Dakota for residents and nonresidents, as well as honored in many other states.
North Dakota Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding North Dakota’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020*
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state where you reside. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in North Dakota as a valid concealed carry permit.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/Licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
North Dakota Conceal Carry Laws Updated As of 2020.*
North Dakota CCW Pamphlet
CCW Administrative Rules
How to Apply
Laws on Firearms
North Dakota Statutes
North Dakota Administrative Rules
North Dakota Attorney General
Reciprocity Guidelines for North Dakota
North Dakota is a Shall Issue State that honors carry permits/licenses issued by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
Note: There is a map at the bottom of this page that shows the states that recognize Class 2 permits from North Dakota. There is also a list of the states here,
Applying for a Permit in North Dakota
Obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit
The attorney general offers class 1 and class 2 permits to carry concealed weapons in North Dakota.
For a class 1 license, these are the requirements:
a. Completion of an open book test based on a manual
b. Proof of completion of training on the use of firearms and dangerous weapons from an instructor certified by the attorney general.
c. Carry permit/license issued by another state
d. Proof of qualification to operate a firearm or dangerous weapon for military members
For a class 2 license, the following should be accomplished:
a. Completion of an open book test based on a manual
Individuals who had been issued permits before August 1, 2009 shall have their class 2 permits renewed without the need for additional testing. Class 1 permit holders are required to complete the requirements for a class 1 license mentioned above within one year before the renewal application is submitted. Permits that are issued before August 1, 2009 and class 2 permits can be upgraded to class 1 permits if the requirements are accomplished.
Applications can either be mailed or filled up online.
a. Choose whether you will apply for a class 1 or class 2 permit. Have an appointment with a test administrator to know your schedule of completing the required testing for the permit.
b. There is a testing fee of up to $50 and other additional fees that may be charged by the test administrator. There is a Concealed Weapon License Manual that will be provided by the test administrator.
c. Obtain an application form. It must be completed and carried when taking the required testing because you have to make the test administrator sign on the form after the test. Make sure that all the fields in the form are completed. Failure to provide all the information asked may result to return of the application.
• Offenses of which you have been charged or convicted shall all be disclosed on the application form even if the case is dismissed. Write all the details about such. Failure to do this may result to a denied application.
d. After the test, you will have to accomplish the following:
• Submit 2 passport pictures with your name written at the back of every picture. Glasses, eyewears, hats and uniforms are allowed.
• Pay a processing fee of $60.00 to the office of the attorney general. Put your name on the cashier’s check. • Have your fingerprints taken by a law enforcement agency or other private companies. There may be a service fee for this. Make sure that the prints are clear. You will be notified if the set of fingerprints are not accepted. • Have a photocopy of the driver’s license or any other photo identification card issued by the state. If not issued by North Dakota, a photocopy of the valid carry permit of the state that issued those should also be attached.
The application form and the requirements should be mailed within 30 days after completing the test to the following:
ND BCI – CWL
PO BOX 1054
BISMARCK ND 58502-1054
Every application form must be in a separate envelope. Processing may take up to 60 days, but longer for application that has incomplete or missing documents.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
Carry Permit Limitations
62.1-02-04. Possession of Firearm or Dangerous Weapon in Liquor Establishment Prohibited – Penalty – Exceptions.
Possession of firearms on establishments that sell alcoholic beverages or those used as gaming sites where bingo is the primary activity is a class A misdemeanor. This is not applicable to the establishment’s restaurant part for individuals who are below 21 years old and are not prohibited in such part of establishment.
62.1-02-05. Possession of a firearm or dangerous weapon at a public gathering – Penalty – Application.
Possession of firearms at a public gathering is considered as class B misdemeanor. Under this section, “public gathering” refers to an athletic event, school, church or building that is publicly owned. This section is not applicable to an individual who is in a publicly owned restroom and an individual who has a valid concealed carry permit from North Dakota and is allowed to carry a dangerous weapon in a church by the leader or other officials.
62.1-02-10. Carrying loaded firearm in certain vehicles prohibited – Penalty – Exceptions.
Possession of loaded firearms in vehicles is considered as class B misdemeanor. This section is not applicable to individuals who possess valid concealed carry permits from North Dakota.
62.1-04-01. Definition of concealed.
A concealed firearm means that it is not visible with ordinary observation of the passersby. Concealed weapons are kept under garments and are carried by individuals or transported in vehicles accessible to the individuals. The following are not considered as concealed:
a. A firearm that is carried in a belt holster that is ordinarily discernible.
b. A firearm that is kept in the vehicle’s trunk or compartment
c. A firearm that is carried in the field during hunting and trapping, either visible or not.
62.1-04-03. Residents of North Dakota who are issued class 1 carry permits are allowed to carry class 2 weapons without the need for any testing.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
“No Firearm” signs in North Dakota do not have the force of the law, except if they are posted in areas that are listed under off limits in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section. If the property owner asks you to leave the premises, you must do so even if the property is not posted. Police officers who will respond may not know the trespass laws may arrest you if you do not leave even though you follow the law.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
62.1-04-04. Producing License on Demand.
Carriers are not obliged to inform police officers on contact about the firearm or ammunition they are carrying. However, the carry permit issued by North Dakota or another state shall always be in possession whenever carrying. This must be presented the officer when asked to do so. Failure to display the permit is an evidence that the individual in illegal possession of a firearm.
Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations
62.1-02-13 Possession of Secured Firearm – Prohibition by Employer Prohibited.
Public and private employers shall not:
a. Prohibit their employees from possessing firearms lawfully, as long as the firearms are kept in a locked vehicle in the employer’s parking lot.
b. Inquire among the employees regarding the presence of firearms in their vehicles
c. Make an actual search on the employees’ vehicles for the presence of firearms. This should only be done by a law enforcement officer.
d. Prohibit customers or employees from entering the parking lot for carrying firearms in their vehicles lawfully.
e. Terminate the employment of his workers for carrying firearms
Individuals who are aggrieved under this section may file charges for violation of their rights. The court may award all reasonable costs and attorney fees suffered by the aggrieved individuals when successfully proven that there is a violation of rights.
The prohibitions under this section is not applicable to the following:
a. Public and nonpublic elementary, middle and high school.
b. Correctional facilities
c. Properties where aerospace, national defense and homeland security activities are conducted
d. Properties used in manufacturing, using, storing and transporting explosive and combustible materials who had been issues permits to conduct such business
e. Motor vehicles owned or rented by public and private employers
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
Carrying of firearm in state parks, national forests, state WMA’s and road side rest areas is allowed in the state of North Dakota.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a North Dakota Permit
Traveling in any kind of vehicle with a loaded firearm without a carry permit is considered illegal in North Dakota.
62.1-01-01. General Definitions.
The following terms are defined in this section:
• “Plain view” refers to handgun that is placed or carried in a way that can easily be noticed by other people. When riding in a motor vehicle, this includes placing the firearm on the seat or in any area that does not cover the handgun.
• “Secured” means that the firearm is kept in the vehicle’s trunk or in a closed box or carrying device that is locked, making it difficult for the firearm to be accessed.
62.1-02-10. Carrying Loaded Firearm In Vehicle – Penalty – Exceptions.
Carrying a loaded firearm within the state is illegal. Violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor. The following is exempted from this section:
a. An individual carrying a concealed weapon with a valid North Dakota carry permit or a valid permit issued by another state.
62.1-01-01. General definitions.
“Unloaded firearm” means that the firearm’s chamber does not contain bullets or if the cylinder does not loaded shells on the chambers.
Note: North Dakota allows open carrying, but you must possess a permit.
Open Carry Laws for North Dakota
The state of North Dakota allows open carrying, but there must be a concealed carry permit. Open carriers should stay away from off-limits mentioned in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section. Check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a North Dakota Permit” section above.
State and local authorities are not allowed to establish laws and ordinances to regulate open carrying. Individuals who open carry should leave a property when asked by the owner. Failure to do so may result to Trespass Charges.
The minimum age required for open carrying is 18 years old.
Some states do not allow open carrying in places where concealed carrying is permitted. To know more information about open carrying, check the website at www.opencarry.org or search the keywords “North Dakota Open Carry” on Google. You may also check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of North Dakota AG” for court decisions regarding open carry.
Carry Law Preemptions for North Dakota
62.1-01-03. Limitation on Authority of Political Subdivision Regarding Firearms
Counties and cities are not allowed to establish ordinances and regulations concerning the ownership, possession, licensing, transportation and registration of firearms or ammunition. If there are existing ordinances implemented by such political subdivisions, they are considered null and void.
North Dakota Laws for Use of Deadly Force
12.1-05-02. Execution of public duty.
12.1-05-04. Defense of others.
12.1-05-05. Use of force by persons with parental, custodial, or similar responsibilities.
12.1-05-06. Use of force in defense of premises and property.
12.1-05-07. Limits on the use of force – Excessive force – Deadly force.
12.1-05-07.1. Use of deadly force – Presumption of fear of death or serious bodily injury.
12.1-05-07.2. Immunity from civil liability for justifiable use of force.
12.1-05-09. Mistake of law.
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
To know more about the laws concerning the use and possession of knives, click on this link.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
62.1-02-04. Possession of firearm or dangerous weapon in liquor establishment prohibited – Penalty – Exceptions.
Possession of firearms in establishments that allows sale and consumption of alcohol or places used as gaming site. Violation of this section is a class A misdemeanor. This section is not applicable to individuals who are below 21 years that are allowed to carry firearms in the said establishment
Restaurant carrying is allowed in the state of North Dakota. “Restaurant carrying” means carrying a firearm in a restaurant that serves alcohol. This may or may not mean that the carrier is allowed to sit at the bar area of the restaurant. Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you not to sit on the bar area because in some states, this is illegal.
There are some places that use “No Gun” signs like Friday’s and Red Lobster, and if you come across such places, you should leave immediately. When carrying, an individual should not consume alcohol because a single drink can be considered illegal in some states. For further information on restaurant carrying, check the laws that apply to your state.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
Stun Guns and Electric Weapons
62.1-04-02. Carrying Concealed Firearms or Dangerous Weapons Prohibited
Carrying of concealed firearms and other dangerous weapons is prohibited under this section. “Dangerous weapons” do not include defensive sprays and other irritating agents used by a person for self-defense nor do stun guns and other electric weapons.
Note: Because the law says that stun guns and defensive sprays are not included on the term “dangerous weapons”, this means that they can be carried legally.
North Dakota LEOSA Information
North Dakota Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act Information
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of North Dakota AG
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
The state of North Dakota does not allow carrying of firearms in public buildings. Airport terminals that are public-owned shall be considered off limits. It is hard to know whether an airport is publicly owned or not, so nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you not to carry firearms in airport terminals. Carrying in parking lots of airports is allowed.
There is no set time period for the validity of training in North Dakota, and there are no laws mentioning the time period to establish an individual’s residency.
The minimum age required to obtain a carry permit is 18 years old.
Laws on State Reciprocity: 62.1-04-03.1.
Laws on Using Firearms: 62.1-01-01 thru 62.1-05-12
Laws on Using Deadly Force: 12.1-05.01 thru 12.1-05-12
Laws on Using Knives: 62.1-01-01 and 62.1-04-02
Laws on Using Chemical and Electric Weapons: 62.1-01-01. and 62.1-04-02
Laws on Using Body Armor: 62.1-01-01
62.1-01-01. General Definitions.
An “unloaded firearm” means that the firearm’s firing chamber does not contain any bullet. For a revolver, there should be no loaded shell in the cylinder.
State of Emergency
37-17.1. Firearms in Emergencies
Officials of the state and any political subdivision should not exercise the following during a state of emergency: a. Restrict the possession, carrying, transporting, storing and use of firearms and ammunition. This shall not apply to an authority who is permitted to close a business or order and evacuation in an emergency area.
b. Confiscate firearms or ammunition which are lawfully carried except if the state or political subdivision authority is defending a person from an assault, is stopping another who is violating the law or is confiscating the weapon to be used as crime evidence in the court.
c. Mandate registration of the firearms or ammunition that is not required by the state law.
Individuals who are aggrieved by violations may file charges against the involved persons. Confiscated firearms and ammunition may be returned plaintiff costs and attorney fees shall be awarded if they are proven to be aggrieved.
37-17.1-05. The Governor and Disasters or Emergencies – Penalty.
The governor should take the necessary steps to minimize the adverse effects of a public crisis or natural disaster. Aside from the powers of the governor as conferred upon by the law, he or she may also suspend the sale and distribution of alcohol, explosives and combustibles.
Note: During a state of emergency, the federal law may be applicable if the state is receiving financial assistance from the federal government. To know more about the federal laws that apply during state of emergencies, check the US Code 42-5207.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age requirement to carry and transport a firearm in a vehicle within North Dakota without the need for any type of permit is 18 years old.
Note: Some states are restrictive when it comes to carrying and transporting of firearms that they only allow transporting to and from the gun shops, repair shops, shooting range, carrier’s own house, business or other property. Other states do not have restriction.
To know more about carrying and transporting handguns, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a North Dakota Permit” section above.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.