Our online training course will allow you to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/Licenses which is honored in North Carolina.
While North Carolina issues carry permits/licenses to residents, the state does not issue carry permit/licenses to nonresidents.
Our online training course will allow you to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is honored in North Carolina for residents and nonresidents, as well as honored in many other states.
North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding North Carolina’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020*
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in North Carolina as a valid concealed carry permit.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
North Carolina Conceal Carry Laws Updated As of 2020.*
Reciprocity Guidelines for North Carolina
North Carolina is a Shall Issue state that recognizes carry permits/licenses from all other states.
§ 14-415.24. Reciprocity; out-of-state handgun permits.
A valid carry permit issued by another state is recognized in North Carolina. This became effective on December 1, 2011.
Applying for a Permit in North Carolina
Application shall be made to the office of the county’s sheriff of which the individual is residing. The applicant is required to have the following:
a. A completed application form provided by the sheriff
b. A permit fee which costs $80.00
c. Two sets of fingerprints taken in the sheriff’s office
d. Service fee of $10.00 for the fingerprints
e. Original copy of the proof of training completion obtained from a certified handgun instructor
f. Any record proving the applicant’s mental capacity
The North Carolina carry permit is valid for 5 years. The application may take up to 45 days to be approved or denied. All initial and renewing applicants are required to have National Instant Criminal Background Check.
Note: Some local sheriffs are providing application forms on their website, so check the website of your county sheriff first.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
The state of North Carolina does not issue carry permits/licenses to non-residents, but members of the military force who are on active duty may apply. Consult your Commanding Officer and the sheriff of your county. The commanding officer may give an endorsement letter for a member and it may serve as a background check and letter of residency. Same regulations apply as implemented by the Duty Station.
Carry Permit Limitations
The following are considered off-limits for individuals who are carrying firearms:
a. All school levels, private or public (including universities) and all the properties and facilities utilized by the school.
b. The Executive Mansion, State Capitol Building and the Western Residence of the Governor and the establishments used by the General Court of Justice.
c. Establishments used by the State officers
d. Correctional facilities
e. Law enforcement facilities
f. Places where public events are held
g. Places controlled by the state
h. Private properties where “No Firearms” signs are posted
G.S. 14-269.2. This section shall not be applicable to a person who is carrying a firearm in a public or private school of any level, or a university under the following conditions:
a. The firearm is kept on a locked container or compartment in a vehicle and is not directly accessible for the owner
b. The person possessing the firearm stays inside the locked vehicle and unlocks it only to allow another person to enter or exit.
c. The person possessing the firearm stays inside the locked vehicle and only moves the firearm to transfer from his possession to a locked container or compartment or vice versa.
Note: North Carolina’s Attorney General states that private educational institutions may prohibit possession of firearms in vehicles in their parking lots. Check it here. For more information on restricted places, check the “Carry Permit Limitations” section below.
§ 106-503.2. Regulation of firearms at State Fair.
The Commissioner of Agriculture has the right to prohibit possession of firearms in State Fairgrounds when the State Fair is being held. This section of the law is not applicable to the following:
a. Individuals exempted under G.S. 14-269.2
b. A person who possesses a concealed carry permit or who is exempted from obtaining a permit and has a firearm in a closed container or compartment in a locked vehicle. Such vehicle may be unlocked only to allow entrance or exit of another person.
§ 14-415.23. Statewide Uniformity.
The General Assembly prescribes a uniform system for carrying concealed firearms within the state. Because of this, the state does not allow the political subdivisions, boards, agencies, county, city, municipality, municipal corporation, towns, villages and any department to pass ordinances or regulations prohibiting the legal possession of firearms. A local government’s unit may be able to adopt an ordinance to allow posting of “No Firearm” signs on government buildings and recreational facilities.
Nevertheless, concealed carry permit holders may still carry their firearms in their locked vehicles provided that the firearms are in the trunk or locked compartment.
Under this section, “recreational facilities” refer to the following:
a. Sports field, including restrooms and other facilities, during athletic events
b. Swimming pools and other facilities used for storing personal things and for changing clothes
c. Gymnasium used for athletic events
Recreational facilities do not include walkways used as bike paths but are not specifically designed for such purpose and open fields for sports events that are not pursuant to this section.
§ 14-415.27. Expanded Permit Scope Certain Persons.
The following persons who possess concealed carry permits shall be exempted from the prohibitions listed on G.S. 14-415.11(c) and are allowed to carry concealed firearms in the areas mentioned in G.S. 14- 415.11(c):
a. District attorney
b. Assistant district attorney
c. Investigator hired by the district attorney’s office
d. North Carolina court judge
f. An individual who serves as a clerk of court
g. An individual who serves as a register of deeds
Carrying of firearms on Game Lands
Individuals are lawfully allowed to carry their firearms either openly or concealed on state-owned game lands provided that they have valid carry permits. A firearm should not be carried for hunting unless the firearm is authorized to be used for the season.
Concealed carrying is prohibited to the following game lands:
b. Sutton Lake
h. Pee Dee
l. Kerr Scott
m. Bladen Lakes
o. Wayne Bailey-Caswell
Possession of Firearms on Tennessee Valley Authority
TVA properties strictly prohibits the possession of firearms and other dangerous weapons, but during hunting seasons, carrying is allowed as long as the firearm is unloaded and secured in a container.
Note: Campgrounds, Day Use Areas and other recreational TVA lands are considered off-limits. Carrying is allowed on Boat Ramps, Boat Ramp Parking Areas, Underdeveloped Shorelines and Associated Roads.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
The “No Firearm” posts in North Carolina have the force of the law.
§ 14-415.11. Permit to Carry Concealed Handgun; Scope of Permit.
A concealed carry permit does not allow a person to carry a firearm on private properties where there are “No Firearm” signs posted.
§ 14-415.21. Violations of This Article Punishable as an Infraction
a. A valid permit holder who is found to be carrying a firearm without the carry permit in his person or who fails to inform a police officer on contact shall be guilty of an infarction.
b. A valid permit holder who is carrying a firearm on a property posted with “No Firearm” sign shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Note: Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends that when you come across a business posted with a “No Firearm” sign, you should hand a “No Firearms = No Money” card to the owner to let them know that they just lost your business.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
Individuals who are carrying their firearms within North Carolina must inform police officer on contact immediately.
§ 14-415.21. Violations of this Article punishable as an infraction.
Any individual who possesses a valid carry permit and is carrying a concealed firearm without the permit in his person or who fails to inform a police officer on contact that he is a permit holder and has a concealed handgun in his possession shall be guilty of infraction. This violation is punishable by up to $500.
A person who violates the G.S. 14-415.11 subsection c2 is guilty of Class 1 misdemeanor.
Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations
§ 14-269. Carrying Concealed Weapons.
Employees of correctional facilities and detention facilities are allowed to carry their firearms in their vehicles in parking lots of their employers during their duties as long as the firearms are kept in locked compartment or containers and the vehicles are locked as well.
§ 14-269.4. Weapons on Certain State Property and in Courthouses.
Possession or carrying of firearms in the State Capitol Building, the Executive Mansion and the Western Residence of the Governor is not allowed unless the firearm is used for court purposes. This section is not applicable to a permit holder in pursuant with the Article 54B of this Chapter and has his firearm in a secured compartment or container inside a locked vehicle. The vehicle may be unlocked only to allow entrance and exit of the passengers and the firearm should remain in the closed compartment. Violation of this section is considered as Class 1 misdemeanor.
§ 120-32.1. Use and Maintenance of Buildings and Grounds.
Under this section,
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
Carrying of firearms in state parks, national parks, state owned hunting and fishing reservation and road side rest areas within the state of North Carolina is legal.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a North Carolina Permit
Individuals who are transporting their firearms within North Carolina should make sure that they pay attention to the accessibility of the weapon while inside the vehicle. The firearm should not be readily accessible for the passengers of the vehicle. There is no specific law that is concerned about the transportation of firearms in vehicles, so it is not clear how North Carolina defines a concealed and readily accessible handgun.
But obviously, readily accessible handguns refer to firearms placed under the seat, in the back seat, inside the bag, in an unlocked container or other ways that will make it comfortable for the passenger to reach for it. A handgun is not readily accessible if it is kept in a locked container or compartment. Transporting a handgun in a vehicle is quite susceptible, so individuals are not encouraged to do this method of transporting.
There are other drawbacks for this method of carrying a firearm. When an individual is stopped by a law enforcement officer, he will not immediately be aware of the purpose of carrying such firearm. Because of this, the individual should be obliged to inform the police officer about the weapon. Carrying a concealed weapon in a vehicle within North Carolina is not permitted, and it applies to both handguns and long guns.
This can be a problem for those individuals whose vehicles do not have trunk areas like vans. This makes it difficult to define a concealed and readily accessible handgun. With such situation, an individual must make sure that the weapons inside the vehicle is locked and cannot be accessed easily by the driver and all the other passengers.
Note: North Carolina allows carrying of a firearm in a vehicle without the need for any type of permit provided that the firearm is carried openly.
Open Carry Laws for North Carolina
Open carrying in North Carolina is legally accepted, but there are some places that restrict carrying of firearms. Those who open carry shall stay away from the off-limits areas as listed in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section. For more information about carrying in a vehicle, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a North Carolina Permit” section above.
§ 160A-189. Firearms. Cities are allowed to establish orders and ordinances to restrict the discharge of handguns except when used for self-defense or defense of one’s property, or when used by police officers lawfully. They may also restrict the display of firearms on highways, streets and public properties.
§ 153A-129. Firearms. Counties are allowed to establish orders and ordinances to restrict the discharge of handguns except when the firearm is used for birds or animals as mentioned in Chapter 113, Subchapter IV, or when used by police officers lawfully. They may also restrict the display of firearms on highways, streets and public properties.
Note: Individuals are responsible in knowing the ordinances against open carrying of particular county or city they will enter into.
Other than those given by the Legislature to them, state and local officials are not allowed to establish laws or ordinances. Local governments can restrict the possession of firearms on some areas as listed in the “Carry Permit Limitations” section. It is important to remember that when a property owner asks you to leave, you must leave the premises. Failure to do so may result to trespass charges.
The minimum age required for open carrying is 18 years old.
Some states do not allow open carrying in places that permit concealed carrying. To know more information about open carrying, check the website at www.opencarry.org or search the keywords “North Carolina Open Carry” on Google. Also check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of North Carolina AG” section below.
Carry Law Preemptions for North Carolina
§ 14-409.40. Statewide Uniformity of Local Regulation.
It is a declaration from the General Assembly that the design, manufacture, sale and distribution of firearms and ammunition to the people are not harmful activities. Rather, it is the unlawful use that may cause injuries and harm.
Counties and municipalities are not allowed to establish ordinances to regulate the sale, purchase, possession, registration, ownership and licensing of firearms and ammunition. Nevertheless, they have the right to adopt a zoning plan to restrict the sale and distribution of firearms and ammunition within a certain distance from the school,
Counties and municipalities have the right to regulate the transportation and possession of firearms among the local government employees during their duties.
A county or municipality’s right to prohibit firearms in public-owned buildings and parking lots shall still be exercised.
North Carolina Laws for Use of Deadly Force
§ 14-51.2. Home, Workplace, and Motor Vehicle Protection; Presumption of Fear of Death or Serious Bodily Harm.
§ 14-51.3. Use of Force in Defense of Person; Relief from Criminal or Civil Liability.
§ 14-51.4. Justification for Defensive Force Not Available
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
To know more about the laws concerning the use and possession of knives, click on this link.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
Restaurant carrying is allowed in the state of North Carolina. “Restaurant carrying” means carrying a firearm in a restaurant that serves alcohol. This may or may not mean that the carrier is allowed to sit at the bar area of the restaurant. Nationalcarryacademy.com recommends you not to sit on the bar area because in some states, this is illegal.
There are some places that use “No Gun” signs like Friday’s and Red Lobster, and if you come across such places, you should leave immediately. When carrying, an individual should not consume alcohol because a single drink can be considered illegal in some states. For further information on restaurant carrying, check the laws that apply to your state.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
Stun Guns and Electric Weapons
§ 14-269. Carrying Concealed Weapons.
Carrying of concealed weapons including stun guns, bowie knife, razor, knuckles made of metals, loaded cane, slung shot, dagger, dirk and other deadly weapons is illegal except when an individual is in his own property.
Note: The law states that concealed carrying is not allowed. Therefore, open carrying of stun guns is likely allowed.
§ 14-269.2. Weapons on Campus or Other Educational Property.
Carrying a handgun, stun gun, rifle, shotgun, bowie knife, dagger, dirk, leaded cane metallic knuckles, fireworks or any other dangerous weapons, either openly or concealed, on educational properties is strictly prohibited. Violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
14-401.6. Individuals are allowed to carry defensive sprays as long as they have not been previously convicted with any criminal offense.
North Carolina LEOSA Information
Law enforcement officers who are out-of-state are allowed to carry concealed firearms on certain areas within North Carolina, provided that the criteria set by the federal law is met. The officers should be employees of governmental agencies and are permitted by their agencies to carry firearms. They should not be under the influence of drugs or alcohol and should not be prohibited by the federal law to carry handguns. When carrying, a photo identification as an officer must always be in possession. Places that do not allow possession of firearms, either private or public, apply to out-of-state officers as well.
Retired qualified officers are also allowed to carry their concealed handguns within the state of North Carolina, provided that they meet the certain criteria. They should be in good standing upon retirement from the agency as law enforcement officers and they should also have statutory powers of arrest. They should not be under the influence of drugs or alcohol and should not be prohibited by the federal law to carry handguns. Places that do not allow possession of firearms, either private or public, apply to retired law enforcement officers as well. Retired qualified officers shall obtain a certification from the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission by submitting the application forms to the Commission along with the proof of completion of training course conducted by a certified firearm instructor. A copy of the photo identification as a retired officer must be submitted as well.
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of North Carolina AG
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
Carrying of firearms is not allowed in Charles-Douglas International Airport, but storage of firearms in vehicles is allowed. There is no set time period for the validity of training in North Carolina. The time period to establish an individual’s residency is 30 days.
The minimum age for acquiring a carry permit/license is 21 years old.
Laws on State Reciprocity: § 14-415.24.
Laws on Using Firearms: 14-415-10 thru 14-415-24 and 14-269 thru 14-277.2
Laws on Using Deadly Force: 14-51.1 thru 14-51.4
Laws on Using Knives: 14-269(d) and 14-269.2(d)
Laws on Using Chemical and Electric Weapons: 14-269 & 14-401.6.
There are no laws found concerning the use of body armor.
The law of North Carolina does not have a definition for a loaded firearm. Without a definition, we should assume that an unloaded firearm should have no cartridge on the firing chamber or no magazine attached to the firearm.
State of Emergency
§ 166A-19.30. Additional Powers of the Governor During State of Emergency.
During a state of emergency, when the Governor finds it not sufficient to have a local control to ensure the safety and protection of the residents because the local authorities had not implemented the steps for the ordinances and regulations appropriate for the emergency or if the extent of the emergency exceeds the local authorities’ capability of coping, the Governor may exercise the following powers: to restrict and prohibit different activities as enumerated in G.S. 166A-19.31(b). Such prohibition or restriction should last after the termination of the state of emergency.
§ 166A-19.31. Power of Municipalities and Counties to Enact Ordinances To Deal With States of Emergency.
The officials of the counties and municipalities may implement ordinances and regulations so as to impose the prohibitions and restrictions on the affected areas. The governor may delegate the authority to impose prohibitions and restrictions to the mayor of municipalities or chair of the board of counties.
The governor has the power to exercise the following:
• Prohibit movement of the residents to and from the emergency area
• Direct a population to evacuate
• Prescribe routes, modes of transportation and destinations for the evacuees
• Prohibit the operation of establishments
• Restrict the possession, sale, purchase and transportation of alcoholic beverages, gasoline, substances and deadly weapons
Note: During a state of emergency, the federal law may be applicable if the state is receiving financial assistance from the federal government. To know more about the federal laws for State of Emergencies, check the U.S. Code 42-5207.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age requirement to carry and transport a firearm in a vehicle within North Carolina without the need for any type of permit is 18 years old.
Note: Some states are restrictive when it comes to carrying and transporting of firearms that they only allow transporting to and from the gun shops, repair shops, shooting range, carrier’s own house, business or other property. Other states do not have restriction.
To know more about carrying and transporting handguns, check the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a North Carolina Permit” section above.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.