Contact Us     
sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia non-residents permit/licenses which is honored in Mississippi.

Mississippi does issue carry permit/licenses to residents, but not to non-residents.

Our online training course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is honored in Mississippi for residents and non-residents, as well as honored in many other states.

Mississippi Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Mississippi's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in the state you reside.  This is for you to obtain a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in Mississippi as a valid concealed carry permit.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Mississippi Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Mississippi

    Mississippi, carry permits issued by other states are honored as well as the non-resident carry permits released by other states.

    § 45-9-101. License to Carry Stun Gun, Concealed Pistol or Revolver
    An individual who was issued license by other states to carry stun guns, pistol and revolver is allowed to carry such within the state of Mississippi. The Department of Public Safety may enter into a mutual agreement with another state that requires written agreement to be able to accept licenses released by other states to carry stun guns, pistol and revolver.

  • Carrying without a permit within Mississippi

    § 97-37-1. Deadly weapons; carrying while concealed; use or attempt to use; penalties; “concealed” defined
    Any person above the age of eighteen (18) is allowed to carry a concealed firearm or other deadly weapons in his own home or business and in his vehicle.

    45-9-101. The state does not require any type of permit/license in carrying an unloaded or loaded pistol, stun gun or revolver in a handbag, satchel or other similar bag that can keep a weapon “fully enclosed”.

    Note: With “fully enclosed”, nationalcarryacademy.com believes that the law means that the firearm should not be on the body. It must be kept inside a closed container that meets their requirements. The weapon should not be easily visible even if the bag is not open.

  • Applying for a Permit in Mississippi

    • When applying for a permit in Mississippi, all the sections in the application form should be filled out by the applicant. Failure to complete all the requested information may result to a denial in the application.
    • The completed application form should be notarized and brought to the Department of Public Safety Headquarters in any location listed here.
    • When returning the application, an individual must present two other forms of identification. The first one should be a photo identification (driver’s license issued by Mississippi or identification card) and the second one can be any of the following:
    o Birth certificate
    o Marriage Certificate
    o Divorce Decree
    o Military ID
    o Military Discharge
    o Social Security Card
    o Passport
    o Other Identification Cards Issued by the Government
    • The applicant should attach a photo displaying full face and should not drop below the breast line. The photo can be color or black and white, but must be of high quality.
    • The carry permit which costs $100 and processing of fingerprints that costs $32 (for a total of $132) can be paid by cash, debit and credit cards.
    • Retired law enforcers must submit a notarized “Retired Law Enforcement Officer Only” affidavit. For more information about this, visit this link. To know more about new application and renewal of application, go to this link.
    • Retired law enforcement officers, members of the Armed Forces of the United States who are on active duty and disabled veterans are not required to pay the license fee and the renewal fee. Renewal fee for Mississippi residents who are 65 years old and above is $20 only.

    Enhanced Permit NRA Instructors
    According to the Mississippi Handgun Permit Unit, “enhanced endorsements are now valid indefinitely instead of 5 years.”

    The attorney general made an opinion on where the individuals with enhanced permits are allowed to carry their firearms. The opinion can be viewed in this link, or you can check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Mississippi AG” section below.

    The governor approved the House Bill 506. Beginning July 1, 2011, the State will implement certain procedures of license to carry holders for them to get an endorsement for training on the use of firearms and the safe handling. The training will be provided by an instructor who is recognized by the Department of Public Safety.

    Individuals who obtain the enhanced endorsements will be permitted to carry their firearms on the places which are declared as off limits under 45-9-101 except for police station, correctional facility or prison.

    The procedures to obtain an endorsement is as follow:
    • Take a class from an enhanced permit instructor that is recognized by the state. The list of the Mississippi DPS Certified Enhanced Permit Instructors is available in this link.
    • Upon finishing the program, the instructor will give the applicant a certificate to prove that you completed the class. The applicant then should bring and present it to the permit issuing office along with the current CCW permit. The office will copy the certificate and put an endorsement sticker on the applicant’s CCW permit.
    • At this time, there is no need for the applicant to complete an application form or any other form or pay additional fees.

    Senate Bill 2619
    • Under this bill, the active members of the military force should submit a copy of the active duty orders along with the application.
    • Veterans must present a DD214 with Honorable Discharge, have a “Veteran” on the driver’s license or a form obtained from the Veterans Affairs Board with the red stamp, to get an instructor certified sticker.
    • Retired members of the military must show a copy of the retired military ID or other official document to receive an instructor certified sticker.
    • Retired law enforcement officers must present a retirement letter from the agency to obtain an instructor certified sticker.
    For each of the situations mentioned above, an affidavit must be attached on the documents as well. The Enhanced Carry Affidavit is available here.

    Note: When carrying in off limits places in Mississippi, an individual must have the endorsement with the carry permit. Non-residents are not allowed to get an endorsement.

    97-37-1 (2)(b). Enhanced permit holders are also allowed to carry their firearms in courthouses, but not during judicial proceedings.

    97-37-7. An individual who has completed a training in the safe handling and use of firearms from an instructor in Mississippi certified by a nationally accredited organization offering firearms training or by the Department of Public Safety is also permitted to carry a firearm in courthouses but not during judicial proceedings. A trial judge has the right to restrict carrying of firearms inside the courtroom.

    SEC. 45-9-101. Places of Nuisance
    These are the places of nuisance; where even enhanced permit holders are not allowed to carry their pistols, stun guns or any other weapon:
    • Police or sheriff station
    • Detention facilities
    • Prison
    • Courthouses
    • Courtrooms
    • Athletic events
    • Buildings that serve alcoholic beverages
    • Voting locations
    • Meeting places of the government entities and Legislature
    • Elementary and secondary schools
    • College schools
    • Airport terminals
    • Churches or other places of worship
    • Other places where the federal law prohibits carrying of weapons
    Places mentioned should display signs restricting guns that should be noticeable for the visitors and can be read at a distance of ten feet.

    § 95-3-1. Definitions of Terms "Person," "Place" and "Nuisance."
    “Place” refers to any building, structure or separate portion.

    “Person” refers to an individual, organization, agent, corporation or trustee.

    “Nuisance” refers to any place mentioned above that restricts carrying of firearms.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    § 45-9-101.License to Carry Stun Gun, Concealed Pistol or Revolver
    The state of Mississippi shall issue a carry permit for a non-resident if he meets the following requirements:
    • Has established residency in the state (resident for 12 months or longer) before the submission of application. Exceptions for this requirement apply for those with valid permits issued by other states, members of the military force who are on active duty and retired law enforcement officers who are establishing residency in Mississippi.
    • At least 21 years of age or 18 years old for an active member or veteran of the US Armed Forces and has a valid driver’s license or identification card released by the Department of Public Safety.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    SEC. 45-9-101. Enhanced permit holders are allowed to carry in some of the places listed below:
    • Police or sheriff station
    • Detention facilities
    • Prison
    • Courthouses
    • Courtrooms
    • Athletic events
    • Buildings that serve alcoholic beverages
    • Voting locations
    • Meeting places of the government entities and Legislature
    • Elementary and secondary schools
    • College schools
    • Airport terminals
    • Churches or other places of worship
    • Other places where the federal law prohibits carrying of weapons
    Places mentioned above should display signs restricting guns that should be noticeable for the visitors and can be read at a distance of ten feet.

    97-37-17. Possession of weapons by students
    Possession of firearms within the school grounds, either open or concealed, should be allowed if:
    • An individual is not a student from any school.
    • The firearm is inside a vehicle.
    • The firearm is not displayed in a careless or threatening way.

    Under this section, “concealed” means “hidden or obscured from common observation”.

    45-9-51. Public housing authorities in Mississippi are not allowed to adopt or implement regulations to restrict the tenants of the property they owned from carrying and transporting firearms, ammunition or gun accessories within the place of dwelling.

  • Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    For non-enhanced permit holders, “no gun” signs for different places have the force of law.

    § 45-9-101. License to Carry Stun Gun, Concealed Pistol or Revolver
    Carrying of stun guns, pistols and revolvers may be prohibited by the owner of any property by putting a written sign stating that weapons are not allowed in the premises and it should be easy for the visitors to read at a distance of ten feet.

    § 97-37-7(2). It is not a violation of the concealed carry weapons law to possess a firearm in a place that is posted with no gun sign, but if an individual carrying his firearm is asked by the owner of the property to leave the premises but he failed to do so, he will be charged with trespassing, a crime punishable by a fine not exceeding $500 or imprisonment of not longer than six months.

  • Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements

    Concealed carriers are not obliged to inform police officers on contact for carrying weapons. However, when carrying a stun gun, pistol or revolver, individuals must also bring their licenses and identification cards. When asked by a law enforcement officer, identification cards and licenses should be presented. Failure to do so shall result to a violation with a penalty of $25 fine.

  • Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations

    § 45-9-55. Employer not Permitted to Prohibit Transportation or Storage of Firearms on Employer Property; Exceptions; Certain Immunity for Employer
    • Any public or private employer is not allowed to adopt or establish regulations to prohibit the employees from transporting or storing their firearms inside their vehicles in the business’ parking area.
    • A private employer is allowed to prohibit the employees from transporting and storing their firearms inside the vehicles when in his own parking lot by using gate and other means of securing an area and restricting public access to it.
    • This is not applicable to a vehicle that is owned by the employer and is used for business purposes.
    • This section does not allow individuals to carry and transport their firearms in their vehicles within areas that are restricted by the laws of the state.

  • Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands

    Carrying of weapons in state parks is allowed by the state. There are no references found regarding possession of firearms on state and national forests. When hunting, firearms should be carried only for the season.

  • Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Mississippi Permit

    § 97-37-1. Deadly Weapons; carrying while concealed; use or attempt to use; penalties; “concealed” defined
    Any person who is at least 18 years old should not be prohibited from carrying a firearm or any deadly weapon inside his own home or business, or vehicle.

    45-9-101. If an unloaded or loaded firearm is carried inside a purse, handbag, satchel or locked container, carry permit from an individual should not be required.

    Note: Because the law says that the firearm is carried inside a purse, handbag, satchel or locked container, this may mean that the firearm should not be carried on the body. It must be inside a thing that can provide concealment for the stun gun, pistol or revolver while you are carrying it.

  • Open Carry Laws for Mississippi

    Beginning July 1, 2013, open carrying in the state of Mississippi is permitted without the need for any type of license. However, places that are “off limits” are applicable to those who carry openly. To learn more about carrying a firearm in a vehicle, read the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Mississippi Permit” section above.

    45-9-101. Under this section, “concealed” is defined as “hidden or obscured from common observation”.

    No state or local authorities shall be allowed to pass laws/ordinances or establish regulations that may prohibit open carrying. Local authorities may prohibit open carrying only for municipal establishments and city parks. (Check the “Carry Law Preemptions for Mississippi” section below.)

    When asked by a property owner to leave because of open carrying, you must leave at once. If you fail to leave, you may be charged with Criminal Trespass. Open carrying is permitted for individuals who are 18 years of age and older.

    Some states do not allow open carrying for places that allow carrying for individuals with permit. To learn more information about this, visit the website at www.opencarry.org or search for the keywords “Mississippi Open Carry” on Google. Check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Mississippi AG” section below to know more about the opinions of the attorney general of Mississippi regarding open carrying.

  • Carry Law Preemptions for Mississippi

    SEC. 45-9-51. Prohibition Against Adoption of Certain Ordinances
    Counties and municipalities are not allowed to adopt ordinances/laws that prohibits carrying, transporting, transferring and selling and requires registration of firearms, ammunition and gun accessories.

    § 45-9-53.
    Counties and municipalities still have the authority for another law and they may regulate discharging of firearms within the place, transportation of firearms and explosives to ensure the safety of the residents and carrying of firearms on public parks, schools and athletic events.

    An individual who is aggrieved under this law may file a case in the court against a county or municipality for a violation.

  • Mississippi Laws for Use of Deadly Force

    § 97-3-15. Homicide; Justifiable Homicide
    § 97-3-17. Homicide; Excusable Homicide

  • State and City Laws for Carrying Knives

    To learn more about laws governing the use of knives within Mississippi, click here.

  • Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served

    The state of Mississippi allows “restaurant carrying”. Restaurant carrying means carrying a firearm in a place that serves alcohol. This may or may not mean that a person is allowed to sit at the bar area of the restaurant. Carrying a firearm is allowed as long as the person will just eat and will not drink alcohol.

    There are restaurants that put up “No Gun” signs like Friday’s and Red Lobster. Firearms are not allowed within such premises.

    As per recommendation of nationalcarryacademy.com, a person should not sit at the bar area of the restaurant when with carrying a pistol, revolver or stun gun. Some states consider this as illegal. Check with the laws of your state to know more about this.

  • Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws

    § 45-9-101. To be able to carry a stun gun within the state, an individual must have a carry permit.

  • Mississippi LEOSA Information

    45-9-101. This section is also called as the “HR218 Qualification Law.” This law states that retired law enforcement officers residing in Mississippi and those who retired from agencies that do not participate in the necessary certification for retired officers as stated in the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004, Title 18, Chapter 44, Section 926B, are allowed to apply for a certification from the Association of Chiefs of Police in the state of Mississippi.

    Any retired law enforcement officer who resides in this state and for whom the law enforcement agency from which the officer retired does not participate in the necessary certification for the retired officer to be certified according to the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004 found at Title 18, Chapter 44, Section 926B, USC, or who does not reside in convenient proximity to the law enforcement agency from which the officer retired, may obtain the necessary certification from the Mississippi Association of Chiefs of Police.

  • Additional Information and Airport Requirements

    Carrying inside the airport’s terminal is not allowed in Mississippi. There is no set time period for the validity of training of a carrier. To be able to establish residency in the state, the applicant must be in Mississippi for at least 12 months before the submission of application. No residency requirement for individuals who have permits issued by other states, members of the military force and are on active duty, or retired law enforcement officers.

    The minimum age to obtain a permit is 21 years old. For active military members, age must be at least 18 years old.

    Laws on State Reciprocity: § 45-9-101.
    Laws on Using Firearms: 45-9-31 thru 45-9-151 & 97-37-1 thru 97-37-37
    Laws on Using Deadly Force: 97-3-15
    Laws on Using Knives: 97-37-1 / 37-5 / 37-7 and 97-37-17 / 37-19
    Laws on Using Chemical and Electric Weapons: § 45-9-101
    Laws on Using Body Armors: Unknown

  • Supplemental Information

    How does Mississippi define “Unloaded”?
    “Unloaded” refers to a firearm whose bullet is not on the magazine or not attached to the firearm.

    Mississippi Wildlife, Fisheries & Parks – Rules on Hunting
    Hunting or killing game animals, furbearing animals and game birds from a motor vehicle or motor boat is not allowed by the state. Hunting for squirrels and game birds is allowed if the motor vehicle is not running.

    State of Emergency
    33-7-303. The Governor has the power to declare a martial law if it is necessary for peace and order within the state. It should be a written proclamation that discusses the limits of the martial law and identifies the resources and forces that will be used for such period.

    Under this section, “ammunition” refers to a bullet or shell or other explosive that is designed to be used for firearms. “Firearm” is any weapon that can expel projectile capable of exploding.

    Nothing in this section allows the Governor to confiscate a firearm from an individual is legally carrying such firearm.

    § 33-15-11. Emergency Management Powers of Governor
    The Governor, during a disaster or public crisis, may direct and control the Emergency Management Agency and Council. The following are the powers of a Governor during a state of emergency:
    • Delegating the authorities assigned to him under this section
    • Controlling and instructing the law enforcement officers on actions that are necessary to secure the safety of the residents
    • Suspending selling and transporting of firearms, ammunition and explosives.
    • Restricting the sale of food, fuel, clothes and other goods or services.
    • Performing other functions that are necessary to promote peace and order and to secure the safety of the population during the disaster or public crisis

    Note: The laws of the federal government may apply if the state is receiving financial assistance from them. Check the US Code 42-5207 to learn more about the federal laws for State of Emergencies.

  • Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms

    The minimum age to possess and transport unloaded firearms in a vehicle without the need for any type of license in the state of Mississippi is 18 years old.

    Note: For some states, there are restrictions in the possession and transportation of handguns in a vehicle that they only allow an individual to transport to and from the gun shops, shooting range, own business and house. Other states do not restrict transportation of firearms.

    To know more about transporting a firearm in a vehicle within Mississippi, read the “Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Mississippi Permit” section above.

  • Revisions

    4/12/15 – Initial page created.

Scroll to Top