Even though Maine is considered a permit-less state, Maine issues permits to both residents and nonresidents. While our online training program may not allow you to apply for Maine permit/license to carry, residents of Maine can utilize our online training program to apply for a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Maine’s permit alone.
While Maine does issue carry permit/licenses to residents, residents also have the option of permit-less carry.
Our online training course will allow you to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License. This is not honored in Maine for residents and nonresidents, but may assist you in gaining a permit in Maine as well as behonored in many other states.
Maine Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Maine’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in Maine. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in Maine. This is valid reciprocity with other states only for Maine residents and nonresidents.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Maine Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2020.
State CCW Information
State CCW Other Information
Application for a CCW License
Carrying Without Permit
Application for Non-residents
FAQs about CCW in Maine
Revised Statutes in Maine
Administrative Rules in Maine
Information regarding Maine Reciprocity
Attorney General in Maine
Department of the Secretary of Maine
Reciprocity Guidelines for Maine
Maine is one of the five states that do not require permit when carrying handguns along with Alaska, Arizona, Kansas and Vermont. Anyone who possess handguns and want to carry concealed can. Among the states recognized by Maine include Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, North Dakota, North Carolina, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Wyoming. These states are the only ones honored by Maine. Basically, Maine only accepts states that honor their state as well.
An individual who wants to carry handguns without permit should be at least 21 years old. If carrying with permit, he must be 18 years or older.
Carrying without a permit within Maine
Anyone who is 21 years old or older can carry a firearm in Maine without a permit. Veterans and active members of the military are allowed to carry concealed.
For individuals on motor vehicles or motorboats (12 MRSA §11212), they should not have their loaded firearms on them except if they are at least 21 years old and is legally allowed to possess firearms or at least 18 years old and is on-duty for the military force, or veterans of the armed forces.
Individuals who are carrying firearms without permit but are legally allowed to do so should inform the law enforcement officers of Maine (25 MRSA §2003-A). All information regarding carrying concealed firearms without permits are summarized in this link.
There are places which are off-limits for individuals who are carrying firearms without permit. They should first obtain a permit from Maine to be able to carry concealed. The locations include the following:
• Acadia National Park (They should obtain a permit from Maine. For more information, visit the Maine State Police website through this link.)
• State Parks (Open carrying is not allowed and state permit is required)
• Vehicles of employees (There should be a permit and the vehicle should kept locked. Firearms should be hidden.)
• Starting October 15, 2015, Maine residents can carry concealed handguns in Oklahoma without the need for any permit. They just have to bring their valid license released by the state of Maine when carrying firearms. For more information about this, visit the Oklahoma page at www.nationalcarryacademy.com.
Applying for a Permit in Maine
To know if the state Maine releases concealed carry licenses to the state where you live in by clicking on this link. If your town/city is not included on the list, consult the respective on your city/town to know how you can apply for a Maine permit.
When applying for a permit in Maine, individuals must submit the following items:
Application for a license to carry concealed firearms.
• 2 Authority to Release Information Forms
• $35.00 fee for first-time applicants and individuals with permits that are expired for more than six months) or $20 for renewal which will be paid to the Treasurer of Maine.
• Photocopy of carry license issue by your state.
• DD-214 form for previous members of the military.
• Photocopy of birth certificate.
• One 2” x 2” color passport-sized picture
• Copies of all concealed firearm permits issued by other states or municipalities within this state.
• Original copies of the required documents will not be returned to the applicants.
• Processing times usually take thirty days. For more information about this, check the State CCW pamphlet.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
Non-residents who wish to apply for a carry permit in Maine should complete and submit the following requirements:
• Application for Concealed Carry Permit
• 2 Forms for Authority to Release
• Payment of $60 which should be paid to the Treasurer of the state of Maine
• Permits/licenses obtained from other states
• DD-214 form for the previous members of the Armed Forces of the United States
• Photocopy of birth certificate
• One 2” x 2” passport-sized photo
• Proof of the applicant’s knowledge on using firearms
Please review the “Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Handguns” pamphlet.
If you need to renew a permit issued by Maines, and have already provided previously all the items mentioned above, you do not need to submit those again. Original copies of the documents submitted by applicants will not be returned by the office. The usual processing times can take up to sixty (60) days.
Carry Permit Limitations
Illegal possession of a firearm can be charged to an individual who carries his handgun when he:
a. Consumes alcohol.
b. Is inside a public school (discharging of firearms within 500 feet from school is also not permitted)
c. Enters a court facility or any establishment controlled by the Maine Judicial Branch
d. Is inside a place which is designated by the federal law as “gun free” zone
§10009. Regulation of Public Safety on College and University Campuses Colleges and universities have the right to establish regulations on possession of firearms inside the campus.
The following regulations apply to the possession of weapons in any licensed slot machine facility. “Weapons” refer to stun guns, sling shot, taser, firearms, knives, stiletto, dirk and other deadly tools that can be used against an attacker.
Firearms and other deadly weapons are not allowed in the Capitol area. “Capitol area” refers to buildings and other personal property including the following:
o The Capitol Area as per description of the I M.R.S.A., Section 814
o Blaine House Complex
o Blaine Memorial
o The Augusta Mental Health Institute Complex
o The District Court Building
o State Police Barracks
o Lands used by the state
Police officers on-duty are exempted on this rule.
Baxter State Park
Carriers with permit are not permitted to bring their firearms and other dangerous tools within the park. Trapping and hunting are not allowed. However, if the weapon is transported in the park through a vehicle, the owner must keep it inside the and put it in a case.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
§402. Criminal Trespass
An individual who does or does not own a permit can be charged with criminal trespass if:
a. He enters a posted property of which he was restricted to do so for carrying a firearm. This violation is considered as a crime. Property that is posted shall have signage or paint in accordance with the subsection 4. The accuser should provide a proof that the posted sign is visible for the intruders.
17-A M.R.S.A. § 1057, Possession of Firearms in an Establishment Licensed for On Premises Consumption of Liquor
Criminal possession of a firearm can be charged to a person who is not a law enforcer or a private investigator but performs like one or if an individual enters an establishment which prohibits the possession of firearms under the influence of alcohol and drugs.
A person who is guilty of criminal possession of a firearm is not allowed to apply for a concealed carry permit in Maine for the next 5 years after the conviction.
It is highly recommended by the www.nationalcarryacademy.com that carriers should stay away from establishments that are posted.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
25 MRSA §2003. Permits to carry concealed handguns
Every carrier in Maine must always bring with him his permit at all times including the Maine non-resident permit whenever he carries his firearm. This should be presented to any law enforcement officer when asked to do so. A civil violation may not be charged from a person who does not present his permit when he shows in court a valid concealed handgun permit or if he was able to show his permit to the law enforcement officer within 24 hours before the court appearance.
25 MRSA §2003-A. Duty to inform law enforcement
If a person is carrying a concealed firearm, with or without permit, and comes into contact with a law enforcer of the state of Maine or other federal law enforcement officer, he should immediately disclose his possession of a firearm.
25 MRSA §2004. Failure to inform law enforcement.
Failure to inform the law enforcement officer is considered as a civil violation and requires a penalty of more than $100 fine.
Carriers without permit should notify the authorities immediately, while carriers with permit should present their license and identification card when asked by a law enforcement officer.
Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations
Sec. 1. 26 MRSA §600, sub-§1
An employer should not discourage the employee to keep his firearm inside the vehicle even if it is parked on the employer’s premises, as long as he has a valid carry permit and the firearm is kept in a container inside the vehicle not visible for others.
However, this subsection does not allow the employee to carry his firearm in an establishment that legally prohibits weapons.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
Carrying of firearms on state, national and other public lands is allowed by the law in Maine, but open carry is not permitted. Carriers should possess a valid license when going to St. Parks. Baxter Street Park does not allow carrying of firearms. Maine resident or non-resident permit is needed when carrying in Acadia National Park.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Maine Permit
Individuals who are 21 years old and above, or 18 to 20 years old for the members of the military, or Veterans can carry firearms either loaded or unloaded anywhere in Maine that allows carrying without the need for a permit. You can also check the “Carrying without a permit within Maine” section above to know more about the restrictions for permitless carrying.
12 MRSA §11212, Motor vehicles and motorboats
When riding a motor vehicle or motorboats, carriers should not have their firearms cocked or armed with the bullets and the magazine on, except if they are on active duty for the military force or are 21 years of age or older and not prohibited by the law to carry their firearms.
25 MRSA §2001-A, Exceptions.
This section is not applicable to the following:
a. A carrier who is 21 years old and is not prohibited from possessing a firearm
b. A carrier who is 18 to 20 years old and is on-duty for the Armed Forces of the United States or the National Guard
c. A veteran of the Armed Forces of the United States or the National Guard who is not prohibited by the law to carry a firearm
Open Carry Laws for Maine
Open carrying in Maine is considered legal. However, the same rule for “off-limits” places apply for open carriers. Open carry in state parks is not allowed. Check the “Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations” section to know more about carrying a firearm inside the vehicle.
No regulations shall be implemented by the state and local authorities to restrict open carrying. When entering a private property, an individual who is asked by the owner to leave because of open carrying must leave immediately or he will be charged with Criminal Trespass.
Open carrying is allowed for 18 years and older. For some states, open carrying is not permitted on places where one can carry concealed. To know more about this, visit www.opencarry.org or search using the keywords “State Name Open Carry” on Google.
For legal opinions, check the “Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Maine AG” section of this page.
Carry Law Preemptions for Maine
The State does not allow any body to implement regulations concerning the licensing, registration, taxation, use and transportation of firearms, ammunition and other gun supplies. Any order or rule on this field implemented by any political subdivision of the state including counties, municipalities, village corporations and townships, is void, except as provided in subsection 3.
2. Regulation restricted. Except as provided in subsection 3, no political subdivision of the State, including,
but not limited to, municipalities, counties, townships and village corporations, may adopt any order,
ordinance, rule or regulation concerning the sale, purchase, purchase delay, transfer,
Maine Laws for Use of Deadly Force
Title 17-A: Maine Criminal Code
Part 1: General Principles
Chapter 5: Defenses and Affirmative Defenses; Justification
§101. General rules for defenses and affirmative defenses; justification
§102. Public duty
§102-A. Military orders
§103. Competing harms
§103-B. Involuntary conduct
§104. Use of force in defense of premises
§105. Use of force in property offenses
§106. Physical force by persons with special responsibilitiesv
§107. Physical force in law enforcement
§108. Physical force in defense of a person
§110. Threat to use deadly force against a law enforcement officer
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
To know more about the laws governing the use of knife in Maine for defensive purposes, visit this link.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
If there are no signs in restaurants indicating the prohibition of guns, then firearms are allowed. Carriers may sit on the bar or the bar area of the restaurant. Check the laws of your state to find out more about alcohol consumption while carrying firearms.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
The use of electric weapons and defensive sprays for self-defense is allowed by the state. To know more information about the laws that cover each weapon, check the links below:
Title 17-A Part 2 Chap. 41 §1002. Criminal Use of Disabling Chemicals
Title 17-A Part 2 Chap. 41 §1003. Criminal Use of Noxious Substance
Title 17-A Part 2 Chap. 41 §1004. Criminal Use of Electronic Weapon
Maine LEOSA Information
No information about Maine is found. Visit the LEOSA section in the www.nationalcarryacademy.com for more information.
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions of Maine AG
No attorney general opinions and court cases related to carrying of firearms in Maine are found, but this does not mean that there are no opinions and court cases.
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
Airport Carry: Augusta State Airport: Parking Lot OK. Terminal ?? ME Administrative
Code 17- 229-400: .01 & .08
Training Valid for: Within 5 years of application.
Time Period to Establish Residency: 3 Months
Minimum Age for Permit/License: 18
Permit/License Info Public Information: NO
State Reciprocity/How They Honor Other States Statute: Title 25: Part 5 Chapter 252: §2001-A.
State Fire arm Laws: 25-252 thru 25-254
State Deadly Force Laws: 17A-5-102 thru 17A-5-110
State Knife Laws: 25-252-2001 & 17A-43-1055
Chemical/Electric Weapons Laws: 17A-41-1002 & 1003 & 1004
Body Armor Laws: No Law Found
Does Your Permit Cover Other Weapons Besides Handguns? NO §2003
Is carrying of a Concealed Handgun with Permit/License
for Defensive Purposes Only While Hunting Legal? YES
§11212. Motor Vehicles and Motorboats
Under this section, an individual is not allowed to carry a firearm with the bullets and magazine on when riding a motor vehicle or any vehicle controlled by a motor, except if his valid license covers the permission to shoot from a motor vehicle using the firearm in his possession. Violation of this subsection is considered as a Class E crime.
Sec. 1. 25 MRSA §2011. Prohibition of Firearms During State of Emergency
Under this section, a person who acts under the permission of the State or subdivision of the State should not prohibit an individual who is carrying, transporting and using his firearm legally. He should not require a carrier to register his firearm on a registration which is not required by the law. Firearms should be confiscated only on the following conditions:
a. The carrier uses his firearm for self-defense
b. The carrier defends another person from an attacker
c. The carrier who possesses a firearm or ammunition violates the law
d. The firearm or ammunition will be used in the court as an evidence or a crime
An individual whose firearm is confiscated or who is aggrieved by such violation may file charges in the court against the involved person. A carrier aggrieved by the confiscation can also ask for the return of his firearm or ammunition in the Superior Court of which he lives.
37-B §742. Emergency Proclamation
A. During a disaster or civil emergency, the Governor shall proclaim a state of emergency orally. If he is not available or is currently not on town to do this, the next person shall be in-charge of doing this. A written proclamation of the state of emergency must be made with the State Secretary within the next 24 hours.
B. After the proclamation of the state of emergency, affected areas must activate their emergency plans and deploy the use of necessary forces and tools that are needed for the plans.
C. After filing the written proclamation, the Governor has the power to:
• Temporarily suspend statutes for businesses or agencies that prevent the state from proceeding with the plans as their emergency response.
• Use all resources from the State Government or political subdivision of the State necessary for coping with the emergency
• Allow the use of supplies and materials pursuant to section 821
• Pass on to other agencies the functions for effective facilitation during emergency
• Instruct any population to evacuate from a threatened area to preserve the lives of the people
• Determine modes of transportation and routes for the evacuees to follow
• Suspend the alcoholic beverages sales
• Provide temporary housing for evacuees
• Terminate either temporarily or permanently any operation or process which may be the cause of the emergency
• Do all actions needed to deal with the situation.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
Possession and transporting of firearms without permit/license are allowed only for individuals 18 years old and above. For some states, there are restrictions with the possession and transportation of handguns to and from gun shops, own properties and shooting ranges. Some states do not impose restrictions.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.