sosmed here
Take The Course   |  Login  |  Contact |  320-738-1001

Concealed Carry 3 Step Sign Up

Our online training program will allow you to apply for your Iowa permit/license to carry.

Carrying a concealed weapon in the State of Iowa is possible with the help of our class. To carry a concealed weapon in Iowa, you will apply for an Iowa Permit to Carry.

Iowans looking to apply for their permit and  increase the number of states that they can legally carry in can apply for their Virginia Non-Resident Carry Permit/License are perfect for this class!

Iowa Concealed Carry Permit

Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Iowa's Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2016*
 

IMPORTANT!!

Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License?

No, you will use this class to get your Iowa Concealed Carry Permit/License directly. However, if you wish to get a Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License in addition to your Iowa carry permit, it will give you additional state reciprocity.

How Long Is The Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License Good For?

Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License are valid for 5 years.  We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the Virginia State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.

How to apply for your Virginia Non-Resident Permit:

To apply for your VA non-resident Permit visit: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_NonresidentConcealed.shtm

You can also go to www.vsp.state.va.us and on the left side of the page click the link for "firearms/concealed handguns" and then click on "Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits" link.This will bring you to a page that details the application process. You can begin the application process immediately by downloading their checklist of all the documents that need to be prepared to make your application.This webpage will give you everything you need to apply.

PLEASE NOTE:

To obtain your Virginia Non Resident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the Virginia Police.

This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit.  If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.

LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES

*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability. 

Iowa Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2016*


  • Reciprocity Guidelines for Iowa

    The State of Iowa will honor all other permits and licenses from all other states. The State of Nebraska will only honor one type of permit from Iowa which is the non-professional permit as long as the carrier is at least 21 years old.

    Reciprocity guidelines for the State of Iowa:
    724.11A Recognition.

    A valid permit or license issued by another state to any nonresident of this state shall be considered to be a valid permit or license to carry weapons issued pursuant to this chapter, except that such permit or license shall not be considered to be a substitute for an annual permit to acquire pistols or revolvers issued pursuant to section 724.15.

  • Applying for a Permit in Iowa

    The process for applying for a permit in the post 2011 era requires the applicant to go to the Sheriff in their own county. This applies to all permits except the professional permit for employees of the state that are required to be armed as part of their job.

    Permits are valid for a period of five years and applicants are not required to get fingerprints. When applying, the receiving body cannot require additional information or put any restrictions on the permit itself.

    Non-professional permits require the applicant to be at least 21 years of age and 18 years of age for the professional permit.

    The cost for the permit itself is $50.00 and the renewal cost is $25.00. There has been some discussion that there might be additional fees for the plastic permits but the fees will vary.

    Permits are issued by the Sheriff’s office where the applicant is living and you must go in person to the Sheriff’s Office. You must bring a picture ID such as a driver’s license that includes the county of residence. The application is completed while you are at the office.

    724.7 Nonprofessional Permit to Carry Weapons.

    Any person who is not disqualified under section 724.8, who satisfies the training requirements of section 724.9, and who files an application in accordance with section 724.10 shall be issued a nonprofessional permit to carry weapons. Such permits shall be on a form prescribed and published by the commissioner of public safety, which shall be readily distinguishable from the professional permit, and shall identify the holder of the permit. Such permits shall not be issued for a particular weapon and shall not contain information about a particular weapon including the make, model, or serial number of the weapon or any ammunition used in that weapon. All permits so issued shall be a period of five years and shall be valid throughout the state except where the possession or carrying of a firearm is prohibited by state or federal law.

    There is a variety of training that is acceptable to earn a permit including:

    • Completing the handgun safety training course as taught by the National Rifle Association (NRA)
    • Complete a safety training course on handguns that is offered by any law enforcement agency, college or institution, firearms training school or other certified bodies that offer firearms training.
    • Complete training courses offered to deputies or any branch of law enforcement, security guards, special deputies, or other law enforcement agencies.
    • Complete military firearms training for small firearms while serving in the armed forces and present proof including:
    o Papers showing honorable discharged, release from active duty or retirement in good status
    o Active duty personnel who are currently serving can show basic training certification including qualification on small arms
    o Proof of completion of the firearms training required for law enforcement personnel in the normal performance of their work

    Accepted documentation includes:

    • Copies of completion certificates for any of the above listed training which could include forms WP-0 for courses prior to January 1, 2011 along with permits to carry issued with this training requirement.
    • School, instructor or organization certificate of completion for any of the above courses
    • DD Form 214 from the government showing honorable discharge from military service

    Training may include range work but it is not mandatory for the permit.

    Permit renewal requires requalification on a firing range with a certified instructor and this applies to both professional and nonprofessional permits. This recertification must be done within the 12 month period following expiration of the old permit.

    When a permit expires you must reapply within 30 days to avoid additional fees for processing the application. Restricted permits are good until they expire and you can apply for a new 5 year unrestricted permit. All restrictions from old permit will carry over to the new one.

  • Applying for a Non-Resident Permit

    Nonresidents can apply for permits but the requirements are more stringent.

    Permits are evaluated by the Iowa Department of Public Safety and will look at the following criteria:

    • Nonresidents who must carry a firearm as part of their job for the state per statute 724.111

    • Provide justification of need

    o Professional employment that requires a handgun such as law enforcement or correctional officers

    o Nonresidents with a verifiable threat to their persons or family

    Statutes outlining licensing for those moving to Iowa:

    75-7c03. License to Carry Concealed Handgun; Issuance; Form; Display on Demand of Law Enforcement Officer; Reciprocity.

    (d) A person who establishes residency in this state may carry concealed handguns under the terms of this act until the person's application for a license under this act is approved or denied, provided that the person has been issued and possesses a valid license or permit to carry a firearm from a jurisdiction recognized by the attorney general under subsection (c) and carries with that license or permit a receipt issued by the attorney general, which states the person's application for licensure under this act has been received. For purposes of such application, possession of the valid nonresident license or permit to carry a firearm shall satisfy the requirements of subsection (b)(2) of K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 75-7c04, and amendments thereto.

  • Carry Permit Limitations

    Cities and counties within the state are passing ordinances that they do not allow carrying within their limits. Signs will be posted if this is the case. The Iowa Attorney General has supported these restrictions as long as it only places restrictions on those buildings directly owned and controlled by the city.

    Below are additional carry restriction statutes:

    724.4A Weapons Free Zones - Enhanced Penalties.

    1. As used in this section, "weapons free zone" means the area in or on, or within one thousand feet of, the real property comprising a public or private elementary or secondary school, or in or on the real property comprising a public park. A weapons free zone shall not include that portion of a public park designated as a hunting area under section 461A.42.

    2. Notwithstanding sections 902.9 and 903.1, a person who commits a public offense involving a firearm or offensive weapon, within a weapons free zone, in violation of this or any other chapter shall be subject to a fine of twice the maximum amount which may otherwise be imposed for the public offense.

    724.4A Weapons Free Zones - Enhanced Penalties.

    1. As used in this section, "weapons free zone" means the area in or on, or within one thousand feet of, the real property comprising a public or private elementary or secondary school, or in or on the real property comprising a public park. A weapons free zone shall not include that portion of a public park designated as a hunting area under section 461A.42.

    2. Notwithstanding sections 902.9 and 903.1, a person who commits a public offense involving a firearm or offensive weapon, within a weapons free zone, in violation of this or any other chapter shall be subject to a fine of twice the maximum amount which may otherwise be imposed for the public offense.

    281-43.38 Driver Restrictions. (No Firearms on a School Bus) 43.38(1) The driver of a school bus shall not smoke when there are passengers on the bus. 43.38(2) The driver shall not permit firearms to be carried in the bus.

    491-5.4(6) Firearms Possession Within Casino.

    a. No patron or employee of the licensee, including the security department members, shall possess or be permitted to possess any pistol or firearm within a casino without the express written approval of the administrator unless: (1) The person is a peace officer, on duty, acting in the peace officer’s official capacity; or (2) The person is a peace officer possessing a valid peace officer permit to carry weapons who is employed by the licensee and who is authorized by the administrator to possess such pistol or firearm while acting on behalf of the licensee within that casino.

    11-100.2(8A) Security. 100.2(1) Dangerous Weapons.

    No member of the public shall carry a dangerous weapon in state buildings on the capitol complex. This provision applies to any member of the public whether or not the individual possesses a valid Iowa permit to carry weapons. This provision does not apply to:
    a. A peace officer as defined in Iowa Code section 801.4 or a member of the armed forces of the United States or of the national guard, when the person’s duties or lawful activities require or permit possession of a dangerous weapon. b. A person possessing a valid Iowa professional permit to carry a weapon whose duties require that person to carry a dangerous weapon.
    c. A person who possesses a dangerous weapon for any purpose authorized by a state agency to further the statutory or regulatory responsibilities of that agency. An authorization issued pursuant to this paragraph shall not become effective until it has been issued in writing to the person or persons to whom it applies and until copies of the authorization have been received by the director and by the commissioner of public safety.
    d. Members of recognized military veterans organizations performing honor guard service as provided in 2001 Iowa Acts, chapter 96, section 1. Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations

    371-2.5 Public Safety—Weapons. (State Fair Grounds)

    The carrying or possession by any person other than a peace officer of any weapon, such as a dirk, dagger, hunting knife, buck knife, switch blade, or any knife with a blade of three inches in length or longer, pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, pellet or BB gun, blackjack, billy club or any other weapon is prohibited on the fairgrounds unless authorized by the board. Failure to comply with this rule shall be cause for expulsion from the fairgrounds or being charged under Iowa Code chapter 724. Kitchen knives and others purchased at the fair must be wrapped and not concealed.

    321G.13 Unlawful Operation.
    3. A person shall not operate or ride a snowmobile (& ATV’s) with a firearm in the person's possession unless it is unloaded and enclosed in a carrying case. However, a nonambulatory person may carry an uncased and unloaded firearm while operating or riding a snowmobile.

    v Note: Carrying on an ATV or snowmobile is not allowed even with a permit and the state will enforce this law.

    681-9.1(2)(g), 681.13.14(5) & 681-13.19(262) of the Iowa Administrative Code:

    State Universities. Prohibits use or possession of firearms, ammunition, or other dangerous weapons, substances, or materials (except as expressly authorized by the university), or of bombs, explosives, or explosive or incendiary devices prohibited by law on the campus of the three state universities (U of I, Iowa State, UNI) or at or during any university-authorized function or event by any person, student, member of the faculty or staff.

    Note: Administrative Rules defines person as any student, faculty, staff or visitor and is open to interpretation so take caution if carrying in these areas.

    724.29 Firearm Devices.

    A person who sells or offers for sale a manual or power-driven trigger activating device constructed and designed so that when attached to a firearm increases the rate of fire of the firearm is guilty of an aggravated misdemeanor.

  • Gun Signs Force of Law

    Gun signs do not have the force of law within the State of Iowa. If a property owner posts their property for no guns then it is the responsibility of the carrier to respect the property owner’s rights.

    Gun signs posted on property that is specifically mentioned in Iowa State laws do have the force of law. If in doubt and you are asked to leave it is best to leave rather than risk being charged or to face issues due to trespassing.

    Note that some counties and cities have passed laws prohibiting carrying in those areas. See the above carry restrictions.

  • Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements

    If you are contacted by police you are not required to notify them immediately that you are carrying per the below statute:

    Title 16 724.5 Duty to Carry Permit to Carry Weapons.

    A person armed with a revolver, pistol, or pocket billy concealed upon the person shall have in the person's immediate possession the permit provided for in section 724.4, subsection 4, paragraph "i", and shall produce the permit for inspection at the request of a peace officer. Failure to so produce a permit is a simple misdemeanor. [S13, §4775-8a; C24, 27, 31, 35, 39, §12947; C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, §695.15; C79, 81, §724.5] 90 Acts, ch 1168, §60

  • Personal Vehicle Storage Limitations

    Below are statutes regarding storing in a personal vehicle or RV. If the RV is a parked residence then a permit is not required but the firearm must be properly stored when moving.

    724.4 Carrying Weapons.

    1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person who goes armed with a dangerous weapon concealed on or about the person, or who, within the limits of any city, goes armed with a pistol or revolver, or any loaded firearm of any kind, whether concealed or not, or who knowingly carries or transports in a vehicle a pistol or revolver, commits an aggravated misdemeanor.

    f. A person who for any lawful purpose carries or transports an unloaded pistol or revolver in a vehicle inside a closed and fastened container or securely wrapped package which is too large to be concealed on the person or inside a cargo or luggage compartment where the pistol or revolver will not be readily accessible to any person riding in the vehicle or common carrier.

  • Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands

    Carrying is permitted in State Parks, State and National Forests, Preserves and Road Side Rest Areas.

  • Open Carry Laws for Iowa

    Open carry is allowed but with restrictions within the State of Iowa. If you are carrying a loaded firearm within a vehicle you are required to have a permit.

    There are many restrictions regarding carrying within the state so make sure to follow all signage and leave if asked to leave. Additionally, if you are traveling, check with the local authorities or the laws of that state to ensure you are legal to carry.

    724.4 Carrying Weapons.
    1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person who goes armed with a dangerous weapon concealed on or about the person, or who, within the limits of any city, goes armed with a pistol or revolver, or any loaded firearm of any kind, whether concealed or not, or who knowingly carries or transports in a vehicle a pistol or revolver, commits an aggravated misdemeanor.

    4. Subsections 1 through 3 do not apply to any of the following: i. A person who has in the person’s possession and who displays to a peace officer on demand a valid permit to carry weapons which has been issued to the person, and whose conduct is within the limits of that permit. A person shall not be convicted of a violation of this section if the person produces at the person’s trial a permit to carry weapons which was valid at the time of the alleged offense and which would have brought the person’s conduct within this exception if the permit had been produced at the time of the alleged offense.

  • Carry Law Preemptions for Iowa

    724.28 Prohibition of Regulation by Political Subdivisions.

    A political subdivision of the state shall not enact an ordinance regulating the ownership, possession, legal transfer, lawful transportation, registration, or licensing of firearms when the ownership, possession, transfer, or transportation is otherwise lawful under the laws of this state. An ordinance regulating firearms in violation of this section existing on or after April 5, 1990, is void.

  • Iowa Laws for Use of Deadly Force

    State statutes for use of deadly force:
    Chapter 704 Force - Reasonable or Deadly – Defenses
    704.1 Reasonable Force.
    704.2 Deadly Force.
    704.3 Defense Of Self Or Another.
    704.4 Defense Of Property.
    704.5 Aiding Another In The Defense Of Property.
    704.6 When Defense Not Available.
    704.7 Resisting Forcible Felony.
    704.8 Escape From Place Of Confinement.
    704.9 Death.
    704.10 Compulsion.
    704.11 Police Activity.
    704.12 Use Of Force In Making An Arrest.

  • Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served

    It is permissible to carry in restaurants where alcohol is served.

    Check the requirements for the establishment to ensure that you follow all appropriate requirements. Consuming alcohol while carrying is illegal even it is permissible to carry.

  • Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws

    Title XVI
    Chapter 702
    702.7 Dangerous weapon.

    A “dangerous weapon” is any instrument or device designed primarily for use in inflicting death or injury upon a human being or animal, and which is capable of inflicting death upon a human being when used in the manner for which it was designed, except a bow and arrow when possessed and used for hunting or any other lawful purpose. Additionally, any instrument or device of any sort whatsoever which is actually used in such a manner as to indicate that the defendant intends to inflict death or serious injury upon the other, and which, when so used, is capable of inflicting death upon a human being, is a dangerous weapon. Dangerous weapons include but are not limited to any offensive weapon, pistol, revolver, or other firearm, dagger, razor, stiletto, switchblade knife, knife having a blade exceeding five inches in length, or any portable device or weapon directing an electric current, impulse, wave, or beam that produces a high-voltage pulse designed to immobilize a person.
    Electric weapons fall under this law and would require a permit.

  • Iowa LEOSA Information

    No specific LEOSA information was available.

  • Relevant Court Cases and Opinions

    Check the Attorney General site for specific information regarding relevant cases.

  • Additional Information and Airport Requirements

    No specific laws were available for airport carrying.

    Training is valid for any time length before first application and 12 months prior to renewal.

    Residency is established when you obtain a state ID.

    Minimum license age is 18 if required for employment and 21 otherwise.

    Permit information is considered public information.

    State reciprocity statute: 724.11A

    State Fire arm Laws: Title 16-724.1 thru 724.30 & Iowa Admin Code 661-91.1 thru 661-91.9

    State Deadly Force Laws: Title 16-704.1 thru 704.12

    State Knife Laws: 16-702.7. & 16-724.1. & 16-724.4.

    Chemical/Electric Weapons Laws: 719.7

    Body Armor Laws: Title XVI Subtitle 1 724.31

    Permit Covers Other Weapons Besides Firearms? 724.4 & 661—4.1(724)

    It is legal to carry while hunting within the state except while bow hunting.

  • Supplemental Information

    Loaded firearm definition:

    483A.35 “Gun” defined. The word “gun” as used in this chapter shall include every kind of a gun or rifle, except a revolver or pistol, and shall include those provided with pistol mountings which are designed to shoot shot cartridges.

    483A.36 Manner of Conveyance. A person, except as permitted by law, shall not have or carry a gun in or on a vehicle on a public highway, unless the gun is taken down or totally contained in a securely fastened case, and its barrels and attached magazines are unloaded.

    State Emergency Powers:

    Title 1 - State Sovereignty & Management - Subtitle 12 - Chapter 29c 29C.

    6 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency by Governor. (Edited for Space Considerations) In exercising the governor's powers and duties under this chapter and to effect the policy and purpose, the governor may: 15. Control ingress and egress to and from a disaster area, the movement of persons within the area, and the occupancy of premises in such area. 16. Suspend or limit the sale, dispensing, or transportation of alcoholic beverages, firearms, explosives, and combustibles.

    Federal Law could apply if the state is receiving money or federal assistance from the government so check the requirements when you travel to that area.

  • Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms

    The minimum age for possessing and transporting a firearm is 21 years. This is for an unloaded and properly stored firearm only.

    If traveling, check the requirements for the area where you are traveling to stay within that state’s laws.

  • Revisions

    7/20/15 – Initial page created.

Scroll to Top