While our online training program may not allow you to apply for Hawaii’s permit/license to carry, nonresidents of Hawaii can utilize our online training program to apply for a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Hawaii’s permit alone. This course may also assist residents in getting the Hawaii Permit.
Hawaii does NOT recognize the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License as a legal way to concealed carry in their state. This course may however, assist you in gaining your Hawaii State Permit.
Also, by getting the State of New Hampshire’s Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you can INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.
Hawaii Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Hawaii’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020*
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in Hawaii. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in Hawaii. This is valid reciprocity with other states for Hawaii residents and nonresidents.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/Licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Hawaii Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2020*
Reciprocity Guidelines for Hawaii
The State of Hawaii does not honor any permits or licenses.
Applying for a Permit in Hawaii
Applying for a permit in the State of Hawaii is closely tied to the 9th Circuit court decision Christopher Baker v. Louis Kealoha, Police Chief of Honolulu.
Laws and statutes within the state have been continuously ruled to not impede the rights awarded by the second amendment.
Hawaii remains a may issue state until there are further rulings.
In order to apply for a permit applicants must fill out forms found at the following links. Note, a permit has not been granted for many years.
In order to apply for a permit you must contact the chief of police in your county of residence, the permit is only valid for one year, is only good for the county where it is issued, stipulations can be put on the permits, costs will vary for the permit.
§134-9 Licenses to Carry.
(a) In an exceptional case, when an applicant shows reason to fear injury to the applicant’s person or property, the chief of police of the appropriate county may grant a license to an applicant who is a citizen of the United States of the age of twenty-one years or more or to a duly accredited official representative of a foreign nation of the age of twenty-one years or more to carry a pistol or revolver and ammunition therefor concealed on the person within the county where the license is granted. Where the urgency or the need has been sufficiently indicated, the respective chief of police may grant to an applicant of good moral character who is a citizen of the United States of the age of twenty-one years or more, is engaged in the protection of life and property, and is not prohibited under section 134-7 from the ownership or possession of a firearm, a license to carry a pistol or revolver and ammunition therefor unconcealed on the person within the county where the license is granted. The chief of police of the appropriate county, or the chief’s designated representative, shall perform an inquiry on an applicant by using the National Instant Criminal Background Check System, to include a check of the Immigration and Customs Enforcement databases where the applicant is not a citizen of the United States, before any determination to grant a license is made. Unless renewed, the license shall expire one year from the date of issue.
(b) The chief of police of each county shall adopt procedures to require that any person granted a license to carry a concealed weapon on the person shall:
(1) Be qualified to use the firearm in a safe manner;
(2) Appear to be a suitable person to be so licensed;
(3) Not be prohibited under section 134-7 from the ownership or possession of a firearm; and
(4) Not have been adjudged insane or not appear to be mentally deranged.
Taking Firearms into Hawaii
§134-3 Registration, Mandatory, Exceptions. (a) Every person arriving in the State who brings or by any other manner causes to be brought into the State a firearm of any description, whether usable or unusable, serviceable or unserviceable, modern or antique, shall register the firearm within three days after arrival of the person or of the firearm, whichever arrives later, with the chief of police of the county of the person’s place of business or, if there is no place of business, the person’s residence or, if there is neither a place of business nor residence, the person’s place of sojourn. A nonresident alien may bring firearms not otherwise prohibited by law into the State for a continuous period not to exceed ninety days; provided that the person meets the registration requirement of this section
§134-7.3 Seizure of firearms upon disqualification. (a) If any applicant is denied a permit, the chiefs of police of the respective counties shall send, by certified mail, a notice setting forth the reasons for the denial and may require that the applicant voluntarily surrender all firearms and ammunition to the chief of police where the applicant resides or dispose of all firearms and ammunition. If an applicant fails to voluntarily www.handgunlaw.us 3 surrender or dispose of all firearms and ammunition within thirty days from the date notice was mailed, the chief of police may seize all firearms and ammunition.
Warning – Before taking a firearm to Hawaii you must read all the appropriate codes and requirements including those requirements for fingerprinting and any potential fees.
From the Hawaii Reporter (Newspaper) 2/17/06
In the last 15 years, no law abiding citizen applying for a permit to carry a concealed firearm in Honolulu has been granted one. Not one domestic violence victim, not one person whose life was in danger, not one person working where they may be robbed at gunpoint. And the police chief has no plans to change that under Hawaii’s current law, which says the police department’s highest officer “may issue” a concealed carry permit should he choose to do so. That’s according to Honolulu Police Department Captain Raymond Ancheta, who testified at the Senate Intergovernmental Affairs Committee hearing Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2006, in opposition to SB 2531, which changes Hawaii’s law to read “shall issue” and become the nation’s 39th state to allow concealed carry of a firearm. (The law did not pass.) A spokesman for the Hawaii AG stated that one permit had been issued in Kauai in 2013. Hawaii Permits are only valid in the county they are issued in. Each major island is a county. Hawaii has an issue law on the books but no one knows of any permits issued. From what I can find out PI’s may be able to carry and the local police who issue such permits may be able to put any restrictions on them they wish.
State statutes for Hawaii gun laws are numbers: 134-1 thru 134-54
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
The same rules apply for non-residents as residents.
Carry Permit Limitations
There are no specific limitations on where carrying is allowed in Hawaii. There are limitations on how firearms can be transported, however, so check the local laws to ensure you are in compliance.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
In the State of Hawaii, gun signs have the force of law.
§708-814 Criminal Trespass in the Second Degree.
(1) A person commits the offense of criminal trespass in the second degree if: (a) The person knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in or upon premises that are enclosed in a manner designed to exclude intruders or are fenced; www.handgunlaw.us 4 (b) The person enters or remains unlawfully in or upon commercial premises after a reasonable warning or request to leave by the owner or lessee of the commercial premises, the owner’s or lessee’s authorized agent, or a police officer; provided that this paragraph shall not apply to any conduct or activity subject to regulation by the National Labor Relations Act.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Land
Carrying is not allowed in state parks, state or national forests and state WMS per statutes 13-146-19, 13-121-3 and 13-125-4.
Carrying is permitted in road side rest areas but you may not enter any buildings on the rest area while carrying.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Hawaii Permit
A permit is required every time you carry a loaded firearm within a vehicle.
HRS 134-6 (c) Except as provided in sections 134-5 and 134-9, all firearms and ammunition shall be confined to the possessor’s place of business, residence, or sojourn; provided that it shall be lawful to carry unloaded firearms or ammunition or both in an enclosed container from the place of purchase to the purchaser’s place of business, residence, or sojourn, or between these places upon change of place of business, residence, or sojourn, or between these places and the following: a place of repair; a target range; a licensed dealer’s place of business; an organized, scheduled firearms show or exhibit; a place of formal hunter or firearm use training or instruction; or a police station. “Enclosed container” means a rigidly constructed receptacle, or a commercially manufactured gun case, or the equivalent thereof that completely encloses the firearm.
Open Carry Laws for Hawaii
It is illegal to carry openly in the State of Hawaii.
Carry Law Preemptions for Hawaii
§46-1.5 General Powers and Limitation of the Counties.
(13) Each county shall have the power to enact ordinances deemed necessary to protect health, life, and property, and to preserve the order and security of the county and its inhabitants on any subject or matter not inconsistent with, or tending to defeat, the intent of any state statute, provided also that the statute does not disclose an express or implied intent that the statute shall be exclusive or uniform throughout the State.
Hawaii Laws for Use of Deadly Force
Deadly force laws are outlined in the following statutes found in chapter 703 under General Principles and Justification.
§703-300 Definitions relating to justification.
§703-301 Justification a defense; civil remedies unaffected.
§703-302 Choice of evils.
§703-303 Execution of public duty.
§703-304 Use of force in self-protection.
§703-305 Use of force for the protection of other persons.
§703-306 Use of force for the protection of property.
§703-307 Use of force in law enforcement.
§703-308 Use of force to prevent suicide or the commission of a crime.
§703-309 Use of force by persons with special responsibility for care, discipline, or safety of others.
§703-310 Provisions generally applicable to justification.
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
State knife laws are not included in the permit statutes.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
It is permitted in the State of Hawaii to carry with a permit in establishments that serve alcohol.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
Additional carry information:
High capacity magazine restrictions: “The manufacture, possession, sale, barter, trade, gift, transfer, or acquisition of detachable ammunition magazines with a capacity in excess of ten rounds which are designed for or capable of use with a pistol is prohibited.” Haw. Rev. Stat. § 134-8(c).
Stun guns are in illegal in the State of Hawaii per §134-16.
Defensive chemical sprays are permitted for people 18 years of age and over but only those that can be sold legally and there are licensing and size limitations.
Hawaii LEOSA Information
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions
No specific cases were available for reference.
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
There are no specific laws available regarding airport carrying.
There were no time periods for training specified.
There are no residency requirements, applicants must be US citizens.
Permit requires that you be at least 21 years old.
Permit information is not public.
Firearms laws are included in statutes: §134-2 thru §134-9
Deadly force laws are in statutes: §703-300 thru §703-310
Knife laws are outlined in: 134-12.5 & 134-51 thru 134-53
Chemical weapons are in statutes: 134-1 & 16
There are no specific laws regarding body armor.
Permits only apply to firearms per HRS 134-9
It is not permitted to carry concealed while hunting. Only the hunting weapon is permitted per HI Dept. of Land and Nat Resources Rules Title 13 Chapter 123-22.
Loaded firearm definition:
§134-1 Definitions. “Firearm loaded with ammunition” and “loaded firearm” means a firearm with ammunition present within the firing chamber, revolving cylinder, or within a magazine which is inserted in a firearm.
State Emergency Powers:
§134-7.2 Prohibition Against Seizure of Firearms or Ammunition During Emergency or Disaster; Suspension of Permit or License.
(a) Notwithstanding any provision of chapter 128 or any other law to the contrary, no person or government entity shall seize or confiscate, under any civil defense, emergency, or disaster relief powers or functions conferred, or during any civil defense emergency period, as defined in section 128-2, or during any time of national emergency or crisis, as defined in section 134-34, any firearm or ammunition from any individual who is lawfully permitted to carry or possess the firearm or ammunition under part I of this chapter and who carries, possesses, or uses the firearm or ammunition in a lawful manner and in accordance with the criminal laws of this State.
(b) Notwithstanding any provision of chapter 128 or any other law to the contrary, no person or government entity shall suspend, revoke, or limit, under any civil defense, emergency, or disaster relief powers or functions conferred, any lawfully acquired and maintained permit or license obtained under and in accordance with part I of this chapter.
(c) For purposes of this section, “government entity” means any unit of government in this State, including the State and any county or combination of counties, department, agency, institution, board, commission, district, council, bureau, office, governing authority, or other instrumentality of state or county government, or corporation or other establishment owned, operated, or managed by or on behalf of this State or any county.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The State of Hawaii requires that you be 21 years of age to possess a firearm. This is defined in Statute §134-2 which also highlights the registration requirements.
21 years of age is the minimum age for both owning, having in your possession and transporting the firearm. Hawaii requires that all firearms be registered.
If you are traveling in a different county, state or region check local laws to ensure you are in compliance.
6/30/15 – Initial page created.