While our online training program may not allow you to apply for a Connecticut permit/license to carry,nonresidents of Connecticut can utilize our online training program to apply for a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Connecticut’s permit alone.
Connecticut does not honor permit/licenses from any other states. Connecticut does NOT recognize the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License as a legal way to concealed carry in their state.
However, by getting the State of New Hampshire’s Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you can INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.
Connecticut Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Connecticut’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020*
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in Connecticut. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in Connecticut. This is valid reciprocity with other states only for Connecticut nonresidents and nonresidents.
How Long is the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/Licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
How to apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit:
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). For details.
- If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of the New Hampshire State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
LAWS, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
*Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Connecticut Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2020*
Connecticut State Pistol Permit
Connecticut Law about Firearms Law
Pistol Permit/Eligibility Certificate Application
Connecticut Department of Emergency Services
FAQ – Pistol Permits
Connecticut General Statues
Guide to Permits and Firearms
Connecticut Firearms Reference Guide
Summary of State Gun laws in Connecticut
Connecticut Attorney General
Connecticut Secretary of State
Reciprocity Guidelines for Connecticut
Carrying without a permit within Connecticut
Connecticut will not honor the permits of other states.
Connecticut says that it is a may issue state but it tends to grant permits more as a ‘shall issue’ state does when all requirements have been met, this applies for non-residents as well.
Connecticut has very restrictive guns laws as well as carrying chemical sprays, stun guns and high capacity magazines. Check local state pages for the most current laws.
Applying for a Permit in Connecticut
To apply for a permit applications can be obtained at the police department or at the first selectman’s office in your town. The application will contain instructions for how to complete the application process which will take approximately 8 weeks to receive. Specific instructions for application are available at this link.
Permits are valid for a period of five years in the State of Connecticut.
Costs for a temporary permit are $70.00 and $70.00 for a state permit or renewal.
Sec. 29-28a. Application for Permit. Notice of Decision to Applicant. (a) Requests for temporary state permits under section 29-28 shall be submitted to the chief of police, or, where there is no chief of police, to the warden of the borough or the first selectman of the town, as the case may be, on application forms prescribed by the Commissioner of Emergency Services & Public Protection. Upon written request by any person for a temporary state permit not on a prescribed application form, or Links State CCW Site State Firearm Laws CCW Application Application Instructions State FAQ Site State Statutes State Admin Rules Guide to Firearms & Permits in CT CT Gun Law Guide 2012 CT Gun Law Summary State Attorney General Secretary of State Last Updated: 3/23/15 www.handgunlaw.us 2 upon request by any person for such application form, the local authority shall supply such forms. When any such request is made in person at the office of the local authority, the local authority shall supply such application form immediately. When any such request is made in any other manner, the local authority shall supply such application form not later than one week after receiving such request. If such application form is not supplied within the time limits required by this section, the request there for shall constitute a sufficient application. If any local authority fails to supply an application form upon the request of any person, such person may request an application form from the Commissioner of Emergency Services & Public Protection or any barracks of the Division of State Police, and the time limits and procedures set forth in this section for handling requests for such forms shall be applicable. (b) The local authority shall, not later than eight weeks after a sufficient application for a temporary state permit has been made, inform the applicant that such applicant’s request for a temporary state permit has been approved or denied. The local authority shall forward a copy of the application indicating approval or denial of the temporary state permit to the Commissioner of Emergency Services & Public Protection. If the local authority has denied the application for a temporary state permit, no state permit may be issued. The commissioner shall, not later than eight weeks after receiving an application indicating approval from the local authority, inform the applicant in writing that the applicant’s application for a state permit has been approved or denied, or that the results of the national criminal history records check have not been received. If grounds for denial become known after a temporary state permit has been obtained, the temporary state permit shall be immediately revoked pursuant to section 29-32.
History: P.A. 77-614 replaced commissioner of state police with commissioner of public safety, effective January 1, 1979; P.A. 81-342 amended Subsec. (a) by adding the provision that a person may request an application from the commissioner of public safety or a state police barracks if the issuing authority fails to supply an application upon request; P.A. 84-60 amended Subsec. (b), extending the notification period for the granting or denial of a permit from six to eight weeks; P.A. 01-130 amended Subsecs. (a) and (b) to substitute “local” authority for “issuing” authority to reflect change from local to state permit and make technical and conforming changes, added provisions re chief of police, warden and first selectman in Subsec. (a) and added provisions re forwarding of copy of application to and notice to applicant from Commissioner of Public Safety in Subsec. (b).
The State of Connecticut has very specific requirements regarding the training that they will accept for concealed weapons permits. The requirements state that a handgun safety course must be completed and includes reference to the NRA course as well. These courses must be completed prior to submitting the application. Unless the course is expressly outlined it is not an approved course.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
The application for a permit that allows you to carry within the state can be obtained at one of the permit locations listed on instruction sheet DPS-769-C. Also, you can call 1-860-685-8290 and an application will be sent to you. Online forms are available at this link.
The cost for non-residents to apply will be $70.00 including the cost of fingerprints and background checks which is also around $70.00.
Instructions to apply are available at the emergency services and site.
Out of State Resident Permit Process:
Any United States citizen who meets the requirements of the state where they live, may apply to the Connecticut state licensing and firearms unit for a pistol permit.
Non-resident permit instructions:
If you are a valid permit or license holder from a state within the United States then you should follow the below steps to obtain a permit:
• Complete the Connecticut application and fingerprint requirements and pay the applicable fees
• Provide certification of firearms safety training course completion certificate
• Provide the appropriate fee payable to the Treasurer, State of Connecticut
• Completed application (DPS-46-C)
• Complete form DPS-129-C and provide a passport style color photography with a signed and notarized form
• Provide a copy of the license from a recognized state or jurisdiction within the United States
• Provide a passport or other proof of legal residence within the United States
• Provide a copy of your out of state permit
ALL INFORMATION MUST BE COMPLETED IN ORDER FOR YOUR APPLICATION TO BE PROCESSED. All documents must include full, legal signature of applicant as appears on citizenship (middle name/initials optional), abbreviations or initials only are not acceptable. *****INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONPACKAGES WILL BE RETURNED*****
Connecticut General Statute Sec 29-28a(b) allows 8 weeks to process an application. Upon receipt of the complete package. the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit will process the fingerprints and perform a background investigation consisting of verification of the application and criminal history check. Upon approval, the state permit will be mailed to the applicant. Questions can be directed to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit at the address or numbers below. Department of Emergency Services & Public Protection Division of State Police Special Licensing and Firearms Unit 1111 Country Club Road Middletown, CT 06457 Telephone: (860)685-8494 Fax: (860)685-8496
Note – Training requirements for the State of Connecticut are very specific. The requirements specify you must take a handgun safety course, take part in live fire training and other basic requirements.
Carry Permit Limitations
Sec. 53a-217b Possession of A Weapon on School Grounds: Class D Felony. (a) A person is guilty of possession of a weapon on school grounds when, knowing that he is not licensed or privileged to do so, he possesses a firearm or deadly weapon, as defined in section 53a-3, (1) in or on the real property comprising a public or private elementary or secondary school or (2) at a school-sponsored activity as defined in subsection (h) of section 10-233a. Sec. 2-1e (C) Interference With The Legislative Process; Firearms; Dangerous or Deadly Weapons; Explosives; Felony Any building in which the chamber of either house of the General Assembly is located or in which the official office of any member, officer or employee of the General Assembly or the office of any committee of the General Assembly or either house thereof is located or any building in which a committee of the General Assembly is holding a public hearing,
Firearms are banned from courthouses per the Judicial Branch requirements.
Governor John Rowland issued an executive order in 1999 that limited bringing firearms, weapons, and other state worksites per executive order number 16.
The city of WoodBridge has specific bans on firearms on city property.
§ 231-3. Town property. No hunting or target shooting or any other activity involving the discharge of a firearm, air gun, air rifle or crossbow, longbow or other weapon shall be permitted on any Town-owned property. The possession of any loaded firearm, air gun, air rifle or crossbow, longbow or other weapon on Town-owned property shall be prima facie evidence of a violation of this section.
§ 231-4. Penalties for offenses. Editor’s Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 1, General Provisions, Art. II). Any violation of § 231-2 or 231-3 of this chapter shall be a violation punishable by a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or both.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
Gun signs have the force of law within the State of Connecticut.
Sec. 29-28 …Permit to Carry Pistol or Revolver… (e) The issuance of any permit to carry a pistol or revolver does not thereby authorize the possession or carrying of a pistol or revolver in any premises where the possession or carrying of a pistol or revolver is otherwise prohibited by law or is prohibited by the person who owns or exercises control over such premises.
Sec. 29-37. Penalties. (a) Any person violating any provision of section 29-28 or 29-31 shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than three years or both, and any pistol or revolver found in the possession of any person in violation of any of said provisions shall be forfeited.
Concealed Carry Restrictions by City on Concealed Carry
There are no preemptions by the State of Connecticut on whether or not cities or towns can pass laws or ordinances that restrict carrying firearms. As a result some cities have passed laws regarding how you can carry. Cities including New London and New Britain had ordinances at one time but they have been repealed.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
If you are stopped by the police and are carrying you are not obligated to inform the police that you are carrying.
Chapter 529 Sec. 29-35. (b) The holder of a permit issued pursuant to section 29-28 shall carry such permit upon one’s person while carrying such pistol or revolver.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
It is not permitted to carry in state parks, state or national forests or state WMAs. It is permitted to carry in road side rest areas.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Connecticut Permit
A permit is required to carry a handgun in any vehicle.
Sec. 29-38d. Interstate Transportation of Firearms Through State. www.handgunlaw.us 6 (a) The provisions of sections 29-35 and 29-38 shall not apply to the interstate transportation of firearms through this state in accordance with 18 USC 926A and 927, as amended from time to time, by any person who is not otherwise prohibited from shipping, transporting, receiving or possessing a firearm. Such person may transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from any place where such person may lawfully possess and carry such firearm through this state to any other place where such person may lawfully possess and carry such firearm provided such transportation is in accordance with subsection (b) of this section. (b) During the transportation of a firearm through this state as authorized in subsection (a) of this section, such firearm shall be unloaded and neither such firearm nor any ammunition being transported shall be readily accessible or directly accessible from the passenger compartment of the vehicle. If the vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the passenger compartment, such firearm shall be unloaded and such firearm and any ammunition being transported shall be contained in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console
Open Carry Laws for Connecticut
Open carry is permitted as long as you have a Connecticut permit to carry which allows open carry within the state. There are preemptions for cities and counties that have ordinances. The Connecticut State Police website will have the specific requirements regarding concealed carry.
Carry Law Preemptions for Connecticut
There are no preemption laws.
Connecticut Laws for Use of Deadly Force
Sec. 53a-16. Justification as defense.
Sec. 53a-16a. Affirmative defense in certain situations involving firearms; exceptions.
Sec. 53a-16b. Affirmative defense of co-participant to offense with firearm.
Sec. 53a-17. Conduct required or authorized by law or judicial decree.
Sec. 53a-18. Use of reasonable physical force or deadly physical force generally.
Sec. 53a-19. Use of physical force in defense of person.
Sec. 53a-20. Use of physical force in defense of premises.
Sec. 53a-21. Use of physical force in defense of property.
Sec. 53a-22. Use of physical force in making arrest or preventing escape.
Sec. 53a-23. Use of physical force to resist arrest not justified.
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
For state laws regarding carrying knives visit the state statutes page.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
It is permitted to carry concealed in restaurants that serve alcohol.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
Laws around high capacity magazines can be found here:
29-37a Sec. 14. …. “magazine” means any firearm magazine, belt, drum, feed strip or similar device that accepts ammunition….. Sec. 23. (a) As used in this section and section 24 of this act: (1) “Large capacity magazine” means any firearm magazine, belt, drum, feed strip or similar device that has the capacity of, or can be readily restored or converted to accept, more than ten rounds of ammunition, but does not include: (A) A feeding device that has been permanently altered so that it cannot accommodate more than ten rounds of ammunition, (B) a .22 caliber tube ammunition feeding device, (C) a tubular magazine that is contained in a lever-action firearm, or (D) a magazine that is permanently inoperable; (b) Except as provided in this section, on and after the effective date of this section, any person who, within this state, distributes, imports into this state, keeps for sale, offers or exposes for sale, or purchases a large capacity magazine shall be guilty of a class D felony. On and after the effective date of this section, any person who, within this state, transfers a large capacity magazine, except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, shall be guilty of a class D felony. (c) Except as provided in this section and section 24 of this act:
(1) Any person who possesses a large capacity magazine on or after January 1, 2014, that was obtained prior to the effective date of this section shall commit an infraction and be fined not more than ninety dollars for a first offense and shall be guilty of a class D felony for any subsequent offense, and (2) any person who possesses a large capacity magazine on or after January 1, 2014, that was obtained on or after the effective date of this section shall be guilty of a class D felony. (d) A large capacity magazine may be possessed, purchased or imported by: (3) Any person who has declared possession of the magazine pursuant to section 24 of this act; (Means Registered it with Authorities)
Sec. 24. (d) Any person who moves into the state in lawful possession of a large capacity magazine shall, within ninety days, either render the large capacity magazine permanently inoperable, sell the large capacity www.handgunlaw.us 8 magazine to a licensed gun dealer or remove the large capacity magazine from this state, except that any person who is a member of the military or naval forces of this state or of the United States, is in lawful possession of a large capacity magazine and has been transferred into the state after January 1, 2014, may, within ninety days of arriving in the state, apply to the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection to declare possession of such large capacity magazine. (f) Any person who declared possession of a large capacity magazine under this section may possess the large capacity magazine only under the following conditions: (1) At that person’s residence; (2) At that person’s place of business or other property owned by that person, provided such large capacity magazine contains not more than ten bullets; (3) While on the premises of a target range of a public or private club or organization organized for the purpose of practicing shooting at targets; (4) While on a target range which holds a regulatory or business license for the purpose of practicing shooting at that target range; (5) While on the premises of a licensed shooting club; (6) While transporting the large capacity magazine between any of the places set forth in this subsection, or to any licensed gun dealer, provided (A) such large capacity magazine contains not more than ten bullets, and (B) the large capacity magazine is transported in the manner required for an assault weapon under subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of section 53-202f of the general statutes, as amended by this act; or (7) Pursuant to a valid permit to carry a pistol or revolver, provided such large capacity magazine (A) is within a pistol or revolver that was lawfully possessed by the person prior to the effective date of this section, (B) does not extend beyond the bottom of the pistol grip, and (C) contains not more than ten bullets.
Note – Reference the bill for the specific restrictions regarding what is allowed and what is not. There are restrictions regarding magazines which can be found on the state statute sites.
Note – High capacity laws and restrictions can be worded in a very confusing manner. Refer to the specific law regarding what is allowed and be careful on the wording to ensure that you are within the requirements of the law.
Stun Guns/Electric Weapons: Title 53 Chapter 943 Sec. 53-206. Legal for Home/Business use, carrying prohibited. Title 29 Chapter 529 Sec. 29-39 Illegal to have an electronic defense weapon in a vehicle. Specific city requirements regarding bans on firearms on city property.
§ 231-3. Town property. No hunting or target shooting or any other activity involving the discharge of a firearm, air gun, air rifle or crossbow, longbow or other weapon shall be permitted on any Town-owned property. The possession of any loaded firearm, air gun, air rifle or crossbow, longbow or other weapon on Town-owned property shall be prima facie evidence of a violation of this section. § 231-4. Penalties for offenses. Editor’s Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 1, General Provisions, Art. II). Any violation of § 231-2 or 231-3 of this chapter shall be a violation punishable by a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or both.
Connecticut LEOSA Information
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions
Cases regarding the Castle Doctrine, Weapons on School grounds, carrying in state parks while hunting and magazine restrictions are available on the state’s judicial site.
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
There are no specific laws regarding carrying in airports.
No specific timeframe is outlined for how long training is valid.
Residency restrictions are defined by jurisdiction.
The minimum age for a permit is 21.
Permit information is not public.
Firearms laws are defined in sections 529-29-27 thru 529-29-38 & 943-53-202 thru 943-52-206d
Deadly force laws are defined in sections 951-53a-16 thru 53a-23
Knife laws are defined in section 946-53-341b
Chemical and electrical weapons laws are outlined in 53-206
Body armor laws are outlined in sections 946-53-341b
Concealed carry permits only apply to firearms per Sec 29-28
Carrying concealed while hunting for defense is not permitted.
Loaded firearm definition:
943-53-205 Shotguns, Rifles and Muzzleloaders in Vehicles and Snowmobiles. No person shall carry or possess in any vehicle or snowmobile any shotgun or rifle or muzzleloader of any gauge or caliber while such shotgun or rifle or muzzleloader contains in the barrel, chamber or magazine any loaded shell or cartridge capable of being discharged or when such muzzleloader has a percussion cap in place or when the powder pan of a flint lock contains powder. Muzzleloader as used in this section means a rifle or shotgun, incapable of firing a self-contained cartridge and which must be loaded at the muzzle end. The enforcement officers of the Department of Environmental Protection are empowered to enforce this section. The provisions of this section shall not apply to members of the military departments of the government or state while on duty or while traveling to or from assignments, or to enforcement officers, security guards or other persons employed to protect public or private property while in the performance of such duties. Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be fined not less than ten nor more than one hundred dollars or be imprisoned not more than thirty days or be both fined and imprisoned.
Note – no specific statute is available regarding handguns.
State Emergency Powers
Sec. 28-9. Civil preparedness or public health emergency; Governor’s powers. Modification or suspension of statutes, regulations or other requirements.
(a) In the event of serious disaster, enemy attack, sabotage or other hostile action or in the event of the imminence thereof, the Governor may proclaim that a state of civil preparedness emergency exists, in which www.handgunlaw.us 11 event the Governor may personally take direct operational control of any or all parts of the civil preparedness forces and functions in the state. Any such proclamation shall be effective upon filing with the Secretary of the State. Any such proclamation, or order issued pursuant thereto, issued by the Governor because of a disaster resulting from man-made cause may be disapproved by majority vote of a joint legislative committee consisting of the president pro tempore of the Senate, the speaker of the House of Representatives and the majority and minority leaders of both houses of the General Assembly, provided at least one of the minority leaders votes for such disapproval. Such disapproval shall not be effective unless filed with the Secretary of the State not later than seventy-two hours after the filing of the Governor’s proclamation with the Secretary of the State. As soon as possible after such proclamation, if the General Assembly is not then in session, the Governor shall meet with the president pro tempore of the Senate, the speaker of the House of Representatives, and the majority and minority leaders of both houses of the General Assembly and shall confer with them on the advisability of calling a special session of the General Assembly.
(b) Upon such proclamation, the following provisions of this section and the provisions of section 28-11 shall immediately become effective and shall continue in effect until the Governor proclaims the end of the civil preparedness emergency:
(1) Following the Governor’s proclamation of a civil preparedness emergency pursuant to subsection (a) of this section or declaration of a public health emergency pursuant to section 19a-131a, the Governor may modify or suspend in whole or in part, by order as hereinafter provided, any statute, regulation or requirement or part thereof whenever the Governor finds such statute, regulation or requirement, or part thereof, is in conflict with the efficient and expeditious execution of civil preparedness functions or the protection of the public health. The Governor shall specify in such order the reason or reasons therefor and any statute, regulation or requirement or part thereof to be modified or suspended and the period, not exceeding six months unless sooner revoked, during which such order shall be enforced. Any such order shall have the full force and effect of law upon the filing of the full text of such order in the office of the Secretary of the State. The Secretary of the State shall, not later than four days after receipt of the order, cause such order to be printed and published in full in at least one issue of a newspaper published in each county and having general circulation therein, but failure to publish shall not impair the validity of such order. Any statute, regulation or requirement, or part thereof, inconsistent with such order shall be inoperative for the effective period of such order. Any such order shall be communicated by the Governor at the earliest date to both houses of the General Assembly.
(2) The Governor may order into action all or any part of the department or local or joint organizations for civil preparedness mobile support units or any other civil preparedness forces.
(3) The Governor shall order and enforce such blackouts and radio silences as are authorized by the United States Army or its duly designated agency and may take any other precautionary measures reasonably necessary in the light of the emergency.
(4) The Governor may designate such vehicles and persons as shall be permitted to move and the routes which they shall follow.
(5) The Governor shall take appropriate measures for protecting the health and safety of inmates of state institutions and children in schools.
(6) The Governor may order the evacuation of all or part of the population of stricken or threatened areas and may take such steps as are necessary for the receipt and care of such evacuees.
(7) The Governor may take such other steps as are reasonably necessary in the light of the emergency to protect the health, safety and welfare of the people of the state, to prevent or minimize loss or destruction of property and to minimize the effects of hostile action. www.handgunlaw.us 12
(8) In order to ensure the automatic and effective operation of civil preparedness in the event of enemy attack, sabotage or other hostile action, or in the event of the imminence thereof, the Governor may, at the Governor’s discretion, at any time prior to actual development of such conditions, issue such proclamations and executive orders as the Governor deems necessary, such proclamations and orders to become effective only under such conditions. Different laws will come into play if the state is receiving federal aid.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age for possessing and transporting firearms in the state is 21 years of age.
Title 29, Chapter 529, Sec. 29-34. & 29-36f
There are some states with different requirements for carrying and transporting firearms both on your person and within a vehicle. Check the requirements for the state in which you are traveling for specific requirements. Some of these requirements can be more or less restrictive than the state in which you have a permit so be sure to check the state where you are for local laws and restrictions.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.