While our online training program may not allow you to apply for Colorado permit/license to carry, nonresidents of Colorado can utilize our online training program to apply for a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License to ADD to the number of states they can carry in than with Colorado’s permit alone.
Colorado issues carry permits/licenses to nonresidents through the Sheriff’s department. Colorado does NOT accept any nonresident carry permit/licenses at this time but will accept certain carry permit/licenses issued to nonresidents of other states, as long as you are a nonresident of the issuing state. Colorado does NOT recognize the New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License as a legal way to concealed carry in Colorado State.
However, whether you are a Colorado nonresident or a nonresident, by getting the State of New Hampshire’s Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you can INCREASE the number of states you CAN carry in.
Colorado Concealed Carry Permit
Read below to view the most recent laws, regulations and guidelines regarding Colorado’s Concealed Carry Laws As Of 2020*
Does This Course Qualify Me To Obtain A New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License?
Yes. You will NOT be applying for your permit in Colorado. This is for you to obtain a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License which is accepted in many states as a valid concealed carry permit, but NOT in Colorado. This is valid reciprocity with other states for Colorado nonresidents and nonresidents.
How Long Is a New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License Valid?
New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permits/Licenses are valid for 5 years. We suggest you apply at least 90 days before the expiration of your permit to be sure you have plenty of time to submit it to the New Hampshire State Police to be renewed to allow enough time for you to get your new permit before the old one expires.
To apply for your New Hampshire Nonresident Permit: As a nonresident, you can take the online CCW permit from New Hampshire.
- Complete firearms training course at an accredited site like National Carry Academy (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com).
- Download and print a certificate of successful completion.
- Apply to New Hampshire website. See (https://www.nationalcarryacademy.com). If you have questions, contact the state of New Hampshire (https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/plupr.html).
- Download an application at: https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/jib/permitslicensing/documents/dssp260.pdf
- Send application with a check for $100 to:
Department of Safety
Division of the New Hampshire State Police
Permits and Licensing Unit
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
To obtain your New Hampshire Nonresident Carry Permit/License, you will need to submit an additional $100 made payable to the New Hampshire Police.
This class/training is only valid for one year before you apply for your permit. If you do not apply within one year, your training will not be valid and you will have to retake training per state law.
Laws and outlines are updated to the best of our ability.
Colorado Conceal Carry Laws Updated As Of 2020*
Colorado Bureau of Investigation – Firearms FAQs
Concealed Handgun Permit Information Packet
Application for Concealed Weapons Permit
Frequently Asked Questions for the State
State Statutes for Colorado
Colorado Reciprocity Guidelines
State Attorney General Page
Boulder County Concealed Handgun Permit Information
Concealed Handgun Permit Information for Pueblo County
Department of Public Safety for Colorado
Colorado Secretary of State
Reciprocity Guidelines for Colorado
The State of Colorado honors resident permits in the following states: Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Alaska, Idaho, Michigan, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wyoming, Arizona, Indiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee, Arkansas, Iowa, Missouri, North Dakota, Texas, Delaware, Kansas, Montana, Ohio, Utah, Florida, Kentucky, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and West Virginia
Note – The State of Colorado only honors permits of residents of the states where the permit is issued, they do not honor non-resident permits and be 21 years of age.
(1) A permit to carry a concealed handgun or a concealed weapon that is issued by a state that recognizes the validity of permits issued pursuant to this part 2 shall be valid in this state in all respects as a permit issued pursuant to this part 2 if the permit is issued to a person who is: (a) Twenty-one years of age or older; and (b) (I) A resident of the state that issued the permit, as demonstrated by the address stated on a valid picture identification that is issued by the state that issued the permit and is carried by the permit holder; or (II) A resident of Colorado for no more than ninety days, as determined by the date of issuance on a valid picture identification issued by Colorado and carried by the permit holder. (2) For purposes of this section, a “valid picture identification” means a driver’s license or a state identification issued in lieu of a driver’s license.
Applying for a Permit in Colorado
To apply for a permit you will have to bring an application to the local sheriff department. Find the local sheriff for your area at this link.
Colorado permit is good for 5 years and the fee for the permit is $50.00.
18-12-205. Sheriff – Application – Procedure – Background Check.
(1) (a) To obtain a permit, a person shall submit a permit application on a statewide standardized form developed by the sheriffs and available from each sheriff. The permit application form shall solicit only the following information from the applicant: (I) The applicant’s full name, date of birth, and address; (II) The applicant’s birth name, if different from the name provided pursuant to subparagraph (I) of this paragraph (a), and any other names the applicant may have used or by which the applicant may have been known; (III) The applicant’s home address or addresses for the ten-year period immediately preceding submittal of the application; (IV) Whether the applicant is a resident of this state as of the date of application and whether the applicant has a valid driver’s license or other state-issued photo identification or military order proving residence; and (V) Whether the applicant meets the criteria for obtaining a permit specified in section 18-12-203 (1). (b) The permit application form shall not require the applicant to waive or release a right or privilege, including but not limited to waiver or release of privileged or confidential information contained in medical records.
(2) (a) An applicant shall complete the permit application form and return it, in person, to the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the applicant resides, to the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the applicant maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the applicant in a business, or to the sheriff that previously issued a permit to the applicant. The applicant shall sign the completed permit application form in person before the sheriff. The applicant shall provide his or her signature voluntarily upon a sworn oath that the applicant knows the contents of the permit application and that the information contained in the permit application is true and correct. An applicant who knowingly and intentionally makes a false or misleading statement on a permit application or deliberately omits any material information requested on the application commits perjury as described in section 18-8-503. Upon conviction, the applicant shall be punished as provided in section
18-1.3-501. In addition, the applicant shall be denied the right to obtain or possess a permit, and the sheriff shall revoke the applicant’s permit if issued prior to conviction. (b) An applicant shall also submit to the sheriff a permit fee not to exceed one hundred dollars for processing the permit application. The sheriff shall set the amount of the permit fee as provided in subsection
(5) of this section. In addition, the applicant shall submit an amount specified by the director of the bureau, pursuant to section 24-72-306, C.R.S., for processing the applicant’s fingerprints through the bureau and through the federal bureau of investigation. Neither the permit fee nor the fingerprint processing fee shall be refundable in the event the sheriff denies the applicant’s permit application or suspends or revokes the permit subsequent to issuance.
(3) In addition to the items specified in subsection (2) of this section, an applicant, when submitting the completed permit application, shall submit the following items to the sheriff. 3 (a) Documentary evidence demonstrating competence with a handgun as specified in section 18-12-203 (1) (h); and (b) A full frontal view color photograph of the applicant’s head taken within the thirty days immediately preceding submittal of the permit application; except that the applicant need not submit a photograph if the sheriff photographs the applicant for purposes of issuing a permit. Any photograph submitted shall show the applicant’s full head, including hair and facial features, and the depiction of the applicant’s head shall measure one and one-eighth inches wide and one and one-fourth inches high.
(4) (a) The sheriff shall witness an applicant’s signature on the permit application as provided in subsection (2) of this section and verify that the person making application for a permit is the same person who appears in any photograph submitted and the same person who signed the permit application form. To verify the applicant’s identity, the applicant shall present to the sheriff the applicant’s valid Colorado driver’s license or valid Colorado or military photo identification. (b) After verifying the applicant’s identity, the sheriff shall take two complete sets of the applicant’s fingerprints. The sheriff shall submit both sets of fingerprints to the bureau, and the sheriff shall not retain a set of the applicant’s fingerprints. (c) After receipt of a permit application and the items specified in this section, the sheriff shall verify that the applicant meets the criteria specified in section 18-12-203 (1) and is not a danger as described in section 18- 12-203 (2). The verification at a minimum shall include requesting the bureau to conduct a search of the national instant criminal background check system and a search of the state integrated criminal justice information system to determine whether the applicant meets the criteria specified in section 18-12-203 (1). In addition, if the applicant resides in a municipality or town, the sheriff shall consult with the police department of the municipality or town in which the applicant resides, and the sheriff may consult with other local law enforcement agencies.
(5) The sheriff in each county or city and county in the state shall establish the amount of the new and renewal permit fees within his or her jurisdiction. The amount of the new and renewal permit fees shall comply with the limits specified in paragraph (b) of subsection (2) of this section and section 18-12-211 (1), respectively. The fee amounts shall reflect the actual direct and indirect costs to the sheriff of processing permit applications and renewal applications pursuant to this part 2.
Renewal laws are outlined in HB-14-1166 which went into effect as of 3/14/14 gives permit holders the opportunities to renew their permits in the county where they live.
The new laws require training to be done in person.
Applying for a Non-Resident Permit
Criteria for obtaining a permit are outline in section 18-12-203:
18-12-203. Criteria For Obtaining A Permit. (a) Is a legal resident of the state of Colorado. For purposes of this part 2, a person who is a member of the armed forces and is stationed pursuant to permanent duty station orders at a military installation in this www.handgunlaw.us 4 state, and a member of the person’s immediate family living in Colorado, shall be deemed to be a legal resident of the state of Colorado.
Military personnel stationed in Colorado are permitted to obtain a permit as residents.
The application for a permit in the State of Colorado has a section where you must identify the county of residence or the business that you own within the state.
The laws of Colorado require permit holders to be residents but business and property owners who are not technically residents are allowed to apply.
Carry Permit Limitations
18-12-214. Authority Granted By Permit – Carrying Restrictions.
(1) (a) A permit to carry a concealed handgun authorizes the permittee to carry a concealed handgun in all areas of the state, except as specifically limited in this section. A permit does not authorize the permittee to use a handgun in a manner that would violate a provision of state law. A local government does not have authority to adopt or enforce an ordinance or resolution that would conflict with any provision of this part 2. (b) A peace officer may temporarily disarm a permittee, incident to a lawful stop of the permittee. The peace officer shall return the handgun to the permittee prior to discharging the permittee from the scene.
(2) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun into a place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law. Page 18-senate bill 03-024
(3) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun onto the real property, or into any improvements erected thereon, of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school; except that: (a) A permittee may have a handgun on the real property of the public school so long as the handgun remains in his or her vehicle and, if the permittee is not in the vehicle, the handgun is in a compartment within the vehicle and the vehicle is locked. (b) A permittee who is employed or retained by contract by a school district as a school security officer may carry a concealed handgun onto the real property, or into any improvement erected thereon, of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school while the permittee is on duty. (c) A permittee may carry a concealed handgun on undeveloped real property owned by a school district that is used for hunting or other shooting sports.
(4) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun into a public building at which: (a) Security personnel and electronic weapons screening devices are permanently in place at each entrance to the building; (b) Security personnel electronically screen each person who enters the building to determine whether the person is carrying a weapon of any kind; and (c) Security personnel require each person who is carrying a weapon of any kind to leave the weapon in possession of security personnel while the person is in the building. www.handgunlaw.us 5
(5) Nothing in this part 2 shall be construed to limit, restrict, or prohibit in any manner the existing rights of a private property owner, private tenant, private employer, or private business entity. (6) the provisions of this section apply to temporary emergency permits issued pursuant to section 18-12- 209.
33-14-117. Hunting, Carrying Weapons on Snowmobiles – Prohibitions (1) It is unlawful for any person to: (a) Hunt any wildlife from a snowmobile; (b) Operate or ride on any snowmobile with any firearm in his or her possession, unless such firearm is unloaded and enclosed in a carrying case or inserted in a scabbard, or with any bow unless it is unstrung or cased, but this paragraph (b) does not apply to any person to whom the division has issued a permit for the control of predators such as coyotes, foxes, bobcats, and the like;
A special law exists called Saturday Night Specials and Assault Weapons which ban specific firearms and carrying.
Note – There are reports that some firearms are not permitted on public transportation, some say it is valid with a permit.
18-9-118. Firearms, Explosives, or Incendiary Devices In Facilities of Public Transportation A person commits a class 6 felony if, without legal authority, he has any loaded firearm or explosive or incendiary device, as defined in section 9-7-103, C.R.S., in his possession in, or carries, brings, or causes to be carried or brought any of such items into, any facility of public transportation, as defined in section 18-9- 115 (4).
Notes on carrying the State of Colorado specifically around carrying in the Colorado airport in Denver are that a sign is posted saying it is a felony to carry a loaded firearm or incendiary device on a commercial aircraft. If you are caught breaking this law you well be fined and possible imprisoned.
If you have a valid permit you are allowed to carry in certain locations of the airport as long as you do not carry in secure areas such as beyond the security check points.
Gun Sign Requirements and Limitations
Colorado no gun signs do not carry the force of law with the state.
Police Contact Carry Inform Requirements
If you are contacted by a law enforcement officer you are not obligated to notify them that you have a firearm.
18-12-204. (2) (a) A permittee, in compliance with the terms of a permit, may carry a concealed handgun as allowed by state law. The permittee shall carry the permit, together with valid photo identification, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun and shall produce both documents upon demand by a law enforcement officer. Failure to produce a permit upon demand by a law enforcement officer raises a rebuttable presumption that the person does not have a permit. Failure to carry and produce a permit and valid photo identification upon demand as required in this subsection (2) is a class 1 petty offense. A charge of failure to carry and produce a permit and valid photo identification upon demand pursuant to this subsection (2) shall be dismissed by the court if, at or before the permittee’s scheduled court appearance, the permittee exhibits to the court a valid permit and valid photo identification, both of which were issued to the permittee prior to the date on which the permittee was charged with failure to carry and produce a permit and valid photo identification upon demand.
Carry Restrictions for State, National and other Public Lands
Carrying in state parks, state WMAs, road side rest areas and both state and national forests is allowed per CRS 18-12-214.
Traveling in a Vehicle with a Firearm without a Colorado Permit
18-12-204. Permit Contents – Validity – Carrying Requirements.
(3) (a) a person who may lawfully possess a handgun may carry a handgun under the following circumstances without obtaining a permit and the handgun shall not be considered concealed: (I) the handgun is in the possession of a person who is in a private automobile or in some other private means of conveyance and who carries the handgun for a legal use, including self-defense.
Open Carry Laws for Colorado
In the State of Colorado open carry is permitted with some exceptions. If a location is identified and has signage that says ‘no guns’ then you are not permitted to carry. Open carry is more restrictive than if you have a concealed carry permit.
Public transportation is off limits for open carry. Open carry is illegal in Denver and many cities per specific rules and limitations.
29-11.7-104. Regulation – Carrying – Posting
A local government may enact an ordinance, regulation, or other law that prohibits the open carrying of a firearm in a building or specific area within the local government’s jurisdiction. If a local government enacts an ordinance, regulation, or other law that prohibits the open carrying of a firearm in a building or specific area, the local government shall post signs at the public entrances to the building or specific area informing persons that the open carrying of firearms is prohibited in the building or specific area.
Note – when you are carrying in other states the laws will differ so check the laws of the states where you are traveling to avoid any issues.
Carry Law Preemptions for Colorado
Below are the preemptions for the State of Colorado:
18-12-105.6. Limitation On Local Ordinances Regarding Firearms In Private Vehicles.
(1) The general assembly hereby finds that: (a) A person carrying a weapon in a private automobile or other Private means of conveyance for hunting or for lawful protection of such Person’s or another’s person or property, as permitted in sections 18-12-105
(2) (b) and 18-12-105.5 (3) (c), may tend to travel within a county, city and county, or municipal jurisdiction or in or through different County, city and county, and municipal jurisdictions, en route to the Person’s destination; (b) Inconsistent laws exist in local jurisdictions with regard to the Circumstances under which weapons may be carried in automobiles and Other private means of conveyance; (c) This inconsistency creates a confusing patchwork of laws that Unfairly subjects a person who lawfully travels with a weapon in or through One jurisdiction to criminal penalties because he or she travels within a jurisdiction or into or through another jurisdiction; (d) This inconsistency places citizens in the position of not knowing When they may be violating local laws while traveling within a jurisdiction or in, through, or between different jurisdictions, and Therefore being unable to avoid committing a crime.
(2) (a)Based on the findings specified in subsection (1) of this Section, the general assembly concludes that the carrying of weapons in Private automobiles or other private means of conveyance for hunting or For lawful protection of a person’s or another’s person or property while Traveling into, or through, or within, a municipal, county, or city and County jurisdiction, regardless of the number of times the person stops in A jurisdiction, is a matter of statewide concern and is not an offense. (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no municipality, County, or city and county shall have the authority to enact or enforce any Ordinance or resolution that would restrict a person’s ability to travel with A weapon in a private automobile or other private means of conveyance FOR HUNTING OR for lawful protection of a person’s or another’s person or Property while traveling into, or through, or within, a municipal, county, Or city and county jurisdiction, regardless of the www.handgunlaw.us 8 number of times the person Stops in a jurisdiction.
Note – there are many law reviews and wording rulings that clarify the above preemptions.
29-11.7-101. Legislative Declaration.
(1) The general assembly hereby finds that: (a) Section 3 of article II of the state constitution, the article referred to as the state bill of rights, declares that all persons have certain inalienable rights, which include the right to defend their lives and liberties; (b) Section 13 of article II of the state constitution protects the fundamental right of a person to keep and bear arms and implements section 3 of article II of the state constitution; (c) The general assembly recognizes a duty to protect and defend the fundamental civil rights set forth in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this subsection
(1); (d) There exists a widespread inconsistency among jurisdictions within the state with regard to firearms regulations; (e) This inconsistency among local government laws regulating lawful firearm possession and ownership has extraterritorial impact on state citizens and the general public by subjecting them to criminal and civil penalties in some jurisdictions for conduct wholly lawful in other jurisdictions; (f) Inconsistency among local governments of laws regulating the possession and ownership of firearms results in persons being treated differently under the law solely on the basis of where they reside, and a person’s residence in a particular county or city or city and county is not a rational classification when it is the basis for denial of equal treatment under the law;
(g) This inconsistency places citizens in the position of not knowing when they may be violating the local laws and therefore being unable to avoid violating the law and becoming subject to criminal and other penalties.
(2) Based on the findings specified in subsection (1) of this section, the general assembly concludes that: (a) The regulation of firearms is a matter of statewide concern; (b) It is necessary to provide statewide laws concerning the possession and ownership of a firearm to ensure that law-abiding persons are not unfairly placed in the position of unknowingly committing crimes involving firearms. 29-11.7-102. Firearms Database – Prohibited. (1) A local government, including a law enforcement agency, shall not maintain a list or other form of record or database of: (a) Persons who purchase or exchange firearms or who leave firearms for repair or sale on consignment; (b) Persons who transfer firearms, unless the persons are federally licensed firearms dealers; www.handgunlaw.us 9 (c) The descriptions, including serial numbers, of firearms purchased, transferred, exchanged, or left for repair or sale on consignment. 29-11.7-103. Regulation – Type Of Firearm – Prohibited. A local government may not enact an ordinance, regulation, or other law that prohibits the sale, purchase, or possession of a firearm that a person may lawfully sell, purchase, or possess under state or federal law. Any such ordinance, regulation, or other law enacted by a local government prior to March 18, 2003, is void and unenforceable. 29-11.7-104. Regulation – Carrying – Posting. A local government may enact an ordinance, regulation, or other law that prohibits the open carrying of a firearm in a building or specific area within the local government’s jurisdiction. If a local government enacts an ordinance, regulation, or other law that prohibits the open carrying of a firearm in a building or specific area, the local government shall post signs at the public entrances to the building or specific area informing persons that the open carrying of firearms is prohibited in the building or specific area.
Colorado Laws for Use of Deadly Force
Title 18, Article 1, Part 7
18-1-701. Execution of public duty.
18-1-702. Choice of evils.
18-1-703. Use of physical force – special relationships.
18-1-704. Use of physical force in defense of a person.
18-1-704.5. Use of deadly physical force against an intruder.
18-1-705. Use of physical force in defense of premises.
18-1-706. Use of physical force in defense of property.
18-1-707. Use of physical force in making an arrest or in preventing an escape.
18-1-710. Affirmative defense.
State and City Laws for Carrying Knives
Check with local authorities for the current laws regarding carrying knives.
Laws for Carrying Where Alcohol is Served
Carrying firearms where alcohol is being served is permitted in the State of Colorado. For specific requirements check local laws and review available signage.
Electric Weapons, Defensive Sprays and High Capacity Laws
18-12-301. Definitions. As Used In This Part 3, Unless the Context Otherwise Requires:
(1) “Bureau” means the Colorado Bureau of Investigation created and existing pursuant to section 24-33.5- 401, C.R.S.
(2) (a) “large-capacity magazine means: (I) a fixed or detachable magazine, box, drum, feed strip, or similar device capable of accepting, or that is designed to be readily converted to accept, more than fifteen rounds or ammunition; (II) a fixed, tubular shotgun magazine that holds more than twenty-eight inches of shotgun shells, including any extension device that is attached to the magazine and holds additional shotgun shells; or (III) a nontubular, detachable magazine, box, drum, feed strip, or similar device that is capable of accepting more than eight shotgun shells when combined with a fixed magazine. (b) “large-capacity magazine” does not mean: (I) a feeding device that has been permanently altered so that it cannot accommodate more than fifteen rounds of ammunition; (II) an attached tubular device designed to accept, and capable of operating only with, .22 caliber rimfire ammunition; or (III) a tubular magazine that is contained in a lever-action firearm.
18-12-302. Large-Capacity Magazines Prohibited – Penalties – Exceptions.
(1) (a) except as otherwise provided in this section, on and after July 1,2013, a person who sells, transfers, or possesses a large-capacity magazine commits a class 2 misdemeanor. (b) any person who violates subsection (1) of this section after having been convicted of a prior violation of said subsection (1) commits a class 1 misdemeanor. (c) any person who violates subsection (1) of this section commits a class 6 felony if the person possessed a large-capacity magazine during the commission of a felony or any crime of violence, as defined in section 18-1.3-406.
(2) (a) a person may possess a large-capacity magazine if he or she: (I) owns the large capacity magazine on the effective date of this section; and (II) maintains continuous possession of the large-capacity magazine. (b) if a person who is alleged to have violated subsection (1) of this section asserts that he or she is permitted to legally possess a large-capacity magazine pursuant to paragraph (a) of this subsection (2), the prosecution has the burden of proof to refute the assertion.
Guidelines from the Colorado Attorney general have been published with request guidelines for a magazine ban.
Assault weapon guidelines:
Sec. 38-130. – Assault Weapons.
(b)(1) Assault weapon shall include all firearms with any of the following characteristics: www.handgunlaw.us 11 d. Any firearm which has been modified to be operable as an assault weapon as defined herein. e. Any part or combination of parts designed or intended to convert a firearm into an assault weapon, including a detachable magazine with a capacity of twenty-one (21) or more rounds, or any combination of parts from which an assault weapon may be readily assembled if those parts are in the possession or under the control of the same person.
Colorado LEOSA Information
Relevant Court Cases and Opinions
There are numerous cases regarding interpretation of concealed carry laws available for review. Contact your state court states for accurate information regarding these judgements.
Additional Information and Airport Requirements
There are no specific laws regarding carrying in an airport.
Concealed carry training is valid for ten years and three years for military training.
The law does not have specific requirements for residency, check with the county sheriff if there are questions.
The minimum age for a permit is 21 years of age.
Permit and carrying information is not public information.
State reciprocity information is outline in statute 18-12-213
Firearms laws are outlined in sections: CRS 18-12-201 thru 216 & CRS 29-11.7-101 thru 104 & CRS 18-12-101 Thru 111 & CRS 33-14-117 & CRS 33-6-125
State deadly force laws are outlined in 18-1-701 to 18-1-710
Knife laws are outlined in 18-12-101 to 18-12-111
Chemical weapons laws are outlined in 18-12-106.5 and 107
No laws were available regarding body armor.
Concealed carry permits only apply to firearms per 18-12-204
There are specific regulations regarding firearms that vary by city.
Carrying is permitted while hunting for defensive purposes.
Below are specifications regarding when the State of Colorado considers a firearm is loaded:
33-6-125. Possession Of A Loaded Firearm In A Motor Vehicle. It is unlawful for any person, except a person authorized by law or by the division, to possess or have under his control any firearm, other than a pistol or revolver, in or on any motor vehicle unless the chamber of such firearm is unloaded. Any person in possession or in control of a rifle or shotgun in a motor vehicle shall allow any peace officer, as defined in section 33-1-102 (32), who is empowered and acting under the authority granted in section 33-6-101 to enforce articles 1 to 6 of this title to inspect the chamber of any rifle or shotgun in the motor vehicle. For the purposes of this section, a “muzzle-loader” shall be considered unloaded if it is not primed, and, for such purpose, “primed” means having a percussion cap on the nipple or flint in the striker and powder in the flash pan. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of fifty dollars and an assessment of fifteen license suspension points.
33-6-125. Possession of a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle It is unlawful for any person, except a person authorized by law or by the division, to possess or have under his control any firearm, other than a pistol or revolver, in or on any motor vehicle unless the chamber of such firearm is unloaded. Any person in possession or in control of a rifle or shotgun in a motor vehicle shall allow any peace officer, as defined in section 33-1-102 (32), who is empowered and acting under the authority granted in section 33-6-101 to enforce articles 1 to 6 of this title to inspect the chamber of any rifle or shotgun in the motor vehicle. For the purposes of this section, a “muzzle-loader” shall be considered unloaded if it is not primed, and, for such purpose, “primed” means having a percussion cap on the nipple or flint in the striker and powder in the flash pan. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of fifty dollars and an assessment of fifteen license suspension points.
18-12-108.5. Possession of Handguns by Juveniles – Prohibited – Exceptions – Penalty (1) (a) Except as provided in this section, it is unlawful for any person who has not attained the age of eighteen years knowingly to have any handgun in such person’s possession. (b) Any person possessing any handgun in violation of paragraph (a) of this subsection (1) commits the offense of illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile. (c) (I) Illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile is a class 2 misdemeanor. (II) For any second or subsequent offense, illegal possession of a handgun by a juvenile is a class 5 felony. (d) Any person under the age of eighteen years who is taken into custody by a law enforcement officer for an offense pursuant to this section shall be taken into temporary custody in the manner described in section 19-2-508, C.R.S. www.handgunlaw.us 13 (2) This section shall not apply to: (a) Any person under the age of eighteen years who is: (I) In attendance at a hunter’s safety course or a firearms safety course; or (II) Engaging in practice in the use of a firearm or target shooting at an established range authorized by the governing body of the jurisdiction in which such range is located or any other area where the discharge of a firearm is not prohibited; or (III) Engaging in an organized competition involving the use of a firearm or participating in or practicing for a performance by an organized group under 501 (c) (3) as determined by the federal internal revenue service which uses firearms as a part of such performance; or (IV) Hunting or trapping pursuant to a valid license issued to such person pursuant to article 4 of title 33, C.R.S.; or (V) Traveling with any handgun in such person’s possession being unloaded to or from any activity described in subparagraph (I), (II), (III), or (IV) of this paragraph (a);
(b) Any person under the age of eighteen years who is on real property under the control of such person’s parent, legal guardian, or grandparent and who has the permission of such person’s parent or legal guardian to possess a handgun; (c) Any person under the age of eighteen years who is at such person’s residence and who, with the permission of such person’s parent or legal guardian, possesses a handgun for the purpose of exercising the rights contained in section 18-1-704 or section 18-1-704.5. (3) For the purposes of subsection (2) of this section, a handgun is “loaded” if: (a) There is a cartridge in the chamber of the handgun; or (b) There is a cartridge in the cylinder of the handgun, if the handgun is a revolver; or (c) The handgun, and the ammunition for such handgun, is carried on the person of a person under the age of eighteen years or is in such close proximity to such person that such person could readily gain access to the handgun and the ammunition and load the handgun.
Note – these carry laws include carrying in a purse, fanny pack, glove compartment or console especially if a person under the age of 18 is within the vehicle.
State Emergency Powers
24-32-2104. The Governor and Disaster Emergencies. (Edited for Space Considerations) (1) The governor is responsible for meeting the dangers to the state and people presented by disasters. (2) Under this part 21, the governor may issue executive orders, proclamations, and regulations and amend or rescind them. Executive orders, proclamations, and regulations have the force and effect of law. www.handgunlaw.us 14 (7) In addition to any other powers conferred upon the governor by law, the governor may: (a) Suspend the provisions of any regulatory statute prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business or the orders, rules, or regulations of any state agency, if strict compliance with the provisions of any statute, order, rule, or regulation would in any way prevent, hinder, or delay necessary action in coping with the emergency; (b) Utilize all available resources of the state government and of each political subdivision of the state as reasonably necessary to cope with the disaster emergency; (c) Transfer the direction, personnel, or functions of state departments and agencies or units thereof for the purpose of performing or facilitating emergency services; (d) Subject to any applicable requirements for compensation under section 24-32-2111, commandeer or utilize any private property if the governor finds this necessary to cope with the disaster emergency; (e) Direct and compel the evacuation of all or part of the population from any stricken or threatened area within the state if the governor deems this action necessary for the preservation of life or other disaster mitigation, response, or recovery; (f) Prescribe routes, modes of transportation, and destinations in connection with evacuation; (g) Control ingress to and egress from a disaster area, the movement of persons within the area, and the occupancy of premises therein; (h) Suspend or limit the sale, dispensing, or transportation of alcoholic beverages, firearms, explosives, or combustibles; and (i) Make provision for the availability and use of temporary emergency housing.
Age Requirements for Carrying or Moving Firearms
The minimum age for carrying in Colorado is 18 years of age and is outline in 18-12-108.5 and 18-12-108.7.
18 years old is the minimum age for carrying and transporting handguns in vehicles without a permit.
Note – check the specific requirements for whatever state you are traveling within to ensure you understand where you can legally carry.
4/12/15 – Initial page created.